(2002) Any 2002 babies?

fz

school bus very expensive leh. If you are buying a resale flat, you have the flexibility to choose one next to the school of your choice, just walk

my friend's kid is transferring to Red Swastika next year P3. She said P3 got chance because the school increase the number of student from 30 (P1/P2) to 40 (P3 onwards)

hubby friend's son also managed to transfer after P1. He's on wait list, somehow got vacancy for P2. luckily can transfer at P2 because he purposely bought a condo in Bishan, direcly opposite the school but ballot not in

So I guess if didn't get the 1st choice school, can still request for transfer subsequently

caroline3sg,
went to popular and this is what the staff told me. The guidebook is based on the old syllabus and since next yr's P1 maths has changed to new syllabus, hence this guidebook is not that useful anymore. Gotta wait for the new one to come out.

j0L,
haha, i guess all boys like thomas hor? my friend said thomas is violent! cos the trains always bang each other! :p

hippo2002,
thanks a lot for the info! any idea school bus fees roughly how much? have thought about it...if can't get into BPPS, we choose a neighbourhood school (still need to take bus though...but only 15min ride) then transfer school when we settled on the location we are going to move. only worry about the transfer is whether the boy can adapt to the change in environment after settling down in the initial school..i was a 'transfer student' myself too during primary school...and it is pretty difficult to break into the circle of friends, and at times, subject to bullying too. haiz.

do not have the luxury to choose flat based on school, cos ILs have the major say in where we will reside. -_-"

ssm,
thanks for the update on the guidebook.

ssm, j0L,
my boy not into thomas. he only likes to play with anything cars related....no special cartoon theme.

I saw mummies talking about sch bag. My friend bot from Popular a Ergonomic bag only $35. She said that in Taka, 'branded' ergo bag like LEGO selling >$100. She feels that it's the same except for the 'brand'. Do you know what's the difference? Am planning in advance for next year when I need to buy for dd1.

jol
I enquired blk 456/457 in Clementi (the few blks of tall yellow flats). Ridiculously expensive. $80K above valuation (ie $400K for 4 room). Not worth to pay 80K cash after selling 5 room.

ssm
did the staff mention when the revised edition would be available?

Ya, my boy also loves Thomas. Many Thomas VCD & toys. Last time he had one train. Now he has Thomas & Gordon. So he would let them bang together by changing the train track. He can spend hours playing cars/trucks (those join together by magnets). from my observation, I can see he learns through play, why turn this side the magnet can stick and turn other side the magnet cannot stick? 2 engines (Thomas & Gordon) with batteries carrying trucks. He would in a way change position of the enginees to push the trucks (instead of pull) if the batteries turn weaker. So you see, all these are Science topics (magnetism in P3, forces in P5).

caroline3sg,
she said she has not heard from any publisher coming out with the new edition yet. So gotta check with them again next year.

caroline3sg, fz, j0L,
didnt know the kids can learn magnetism through thomas & gang. My boy used to be very crazy over thomas but i noticed since this year, his craze has gone and I managed to persuade him to give some of his trains and trains and shed, etc to my friend's son who likes thomas very much. Not sure if yr kids once like movie "The Cars". My son was crazy over it and i went crazy with him by buying all the characters cars for him. He treated them like treasure and we didnt expect that he's willing to give the whole box away (and he really did) to my friend's son. Now I still have alot hotwheels cars and still trying to get him to give it away cos I think he's too big for such toys already.

ssm,
my boy likes cars in general...no specific cartoons. 2 weeks back, disney channel screen Cars the cartoon, my boy not even interested.

5 yr old too old for hotwheels? hm....

i realised my boy's hand-eye coordination is not so good. let him played with my handphone games...car rally..he has difficulty controlling the car. time to introduce such computer games/gameboy to him?

ssm/fz
talking about cars, my boy very observant on cars on the road, especially red ones as it symbolises lightning mcqueen.

fz,
dont know leh, just feel that he shd stop playing them. But this is just my own opinion lah.

I have exposed my son to computer games (educational ones) and XBox driving games with the steering wheels. Lately let him tried on DS Nintendo and so far, i noticed his coordination has improved but the downside is, he keep bugging me to let him play during weekdays too! I refused to compromise cos our arrangement is that he can only play during weekends. Actually to be honest, I am not sure if it is good to expose him to such electronic games at such a young age. <font color="ff0000">Mummies,</font> whats yr take?

Some time ago, we went to watch transformers, the movie, from then onwards, buy transformers toys. Daddy bought for him power ranger VCD because doesn't want him to always watch Thomas, coz daddy said boring. But I don't like Power Ranger, always fighting. But kids pick up names very fast, I also don't know what is he talking about. So when we introduce wushu to him (he is weak in immune system), so tell thim wushu is like power ranger.

caroline3sg,
haha, he also like lightning mcqueen?

hotwheels are die-cast cars, to be precise shd be vehicles. take a look at the web.
http://www.hotwheels.com/index_hwkids.aspx

strangely, my son didnt mention abt transformers. Maybe he dont like robots? I also dont like Power Rangers or Pokemon, just find them violent too. Come to think of it, isnt Tom & Jerry, Thomas are violent too? I think its how the child perceive it bah.

ssm
my boy knows how to use the mouse & navigate photos store in computer. That's all. we don't have games. But can see the interest in him "playing with computer". We adults also can get hook on games, let alone kids.

ssm
my boy has a lot of cars (no brand), those buy from pasar malam or HDB shops. Interest level low compared to Thomas. Hotwheels? don't seem interesting.

caroline3sg,
hotwheels is a brand of the toy cars. your boy must have love transformers the movie. my boy is not interested. not keen on movies. wanted to bring him to movies as an excuse for myself to take a break and he said no...not fun. :p

ssm,
my boy does play educational games. he seems to prefer stuff like memory games, maze etc, but not action type of games. that is why my husband said that my son is going to be the nerdy one around the house. :p i think games is good to 'train' thinking skills for strategy type and coordination skills for driving type. it also let the kid have a taste of 'losing' and trying again and learning from your mistakes. but i do worry about addiction and myopia. my husband was introduced to games at a young age too...still playing now. :p

fz
before the movie (ie advertisement or previews of other shows), he kept asking, why transformer hasn't come out ah? then when the show started, he asked this one bad guy ah? why he never transform ah? (after transform to robot then back to trucks again). He wants to see them in robots and fighting. The whole cinema can hear his voice.

caroline3sg,
haha, actually i myself am guilty too cos I am very hooked on to the handheld games! :p

fz,
same here, my hb was also introduced to games at a young age and furthermore he's a very gadget person. So he has no issue in letting his son play at this age.

gin,
my boy wants those with design de leh..

caroline3sg,
u mean those opp the central ntuc right? those are new flats - abt 5-6 yrs. thats y more ex. but on the whole, the resale mkt at clementi is all asking for high cash abv valuation. maybe u could consider clementi west/ west coast area. but make sure its within 1km to nan hua.

not sure abt wait listing at nan hua. but the balloting is conducted for those within 1km only.

btw, does yr gal take sch bus? hw much is the bus fare per mth?

hippo2002, fz
my friends also said the chances to transfer to popular sch are quite good. my boss managed to transfer her gal to kong hwa last yr when they shifted to the east.

ssm,
he was very into Thomas when he's younger - ard 2/3 yr old. at that time, its not so popular yet.. and the show is not air on tv yet. i went ard hunting for the vcd and bot loads of the engines n trucks for him..

wow, boys & girls so different hor

my girls like kitchen set from 2 to 3 years old, can 'cook' for hours on the stove. Now they like board games like soduku, scrabble, snake & ladder, puzzles. suprisingly, they are not interested in dolls or soft toys

hippo,
Yalor! But sometimes my boy wl entertain his sister and play cooking with her too. same here, my ds likes to "cook" for hours too and always "force" me to eat her stuff! :p She also likes role playing and she is mummy to all her dolls and soft toys.

BTW yr girls like soduku? where did u get it? I saw this brand "kudo" and it looks kinda fun. My son likes it, so thought of getting one for him.

hubby's colleague has a girl in P1 this year. He received a letter from MOE listing the schools with vacancies for transfer.

caroline3sg
did you receive such letters from MOE? every year?

ssm,
I think occasionally use of handheld games should be ok. But prolong use may not be good for eyesight? I recently ordered Leapster from Toysrus spree. After that regret that they'll become addicted. My ds likes Gameboy very much whereas my dd not interested at all. I did notice ds has better eye-hand coordination & logic thinking than dd. I bot those IQ books from Popular for them to try. Ds could do those logic games better than dd when he was her age. Different kids have different strengths.

hippo
my girl didn't receive such letter. I think maybe those in P1 only and through the sch's waiting list that MOE has records on who wants transfer. Can you ask your hubby to photocopy?

jol
those who bought house purposely for P1 registration and didn't get in during ballot are the ones who are given priority at waiting list, not first come first serve. Someone in this forum told me this. So it does not apply to everybody that is on the waiting list. Based on what criteria your friends say transfer to popular sch chances quite good?

hippo,

You homeschool you dd2? What timetable did you set for her? Please share. Cos i have been contemplating to do that for me dd2 as she has been falling sick very often since she started childcare this year. I feel its not easy to teach our own children. Need your advise. Thank you

hippo,

You homeschool you dd2? What timetable did you set for her? Please share. Cos i have been contemplating to do that for me dd2 as she has been falling sick very often since she started childcare this year. I feel its not easy to teach our own children. Need your advise. Thank you

Hi I'm back. :)

Been so busy with my ds. Just started him on sch bus... and been following behind the bus... to ensure that he is fine. :)

Oh yes, my son "quite" addicted to PSP too... but we set rules for him and I must say so far he's been quite cooperative. :)

ssm:
Can you help me to add the information? Thanks^^

Orange
Enrichment Classes: Abacus/ Swimming/ Phonics
Choice of School: Chongfu Primary School
Phase: 1

caroline3sg,
I put my girl on waiting list at your girl school cos we are moving in the next two years. After two days, the school called us informing us to collect the letter as the application have been successfully accepted.
I must admit that I made the decision without properly evaluate the consequences, such as:
1. will she be happy after the transfer?
2. she will not attend top classes (E or F) in RGPS (she will attend the top class next year in her current school cos she is the top student in the level both in P1 and P2). My friend told me that in branded schools and some other schools, the teachers in normal classes are not good/resposible as compared to the top class's teachers.
3. as we are not moving now, so the distance is indeed a big problem (at least for the next two years)(though my husband can send her to school, but I need to take cab to fetch her after school everyday, time and $$ are big commitments).
4. transfer to branded school may face a problem of "comparison" of wealth among students. She is doing very well in her current school, but when going to such a high standard school, will she be able to maintain her confidence and self esteem?

After considering the problems of transfer, we decided to stay at her current school.

ssm
Ha ha it is my hb who is addicted to psp. not yet introduce to my gal. He has so many games.

Orange,
My hb has the same concern for my gal. He feels if I sign my gal up in Nanyang she will lose that confidence. But to me never try never know.

<table border=1><tr><td>ssm</TD><TD>Apr 02</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Sept 04</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Mandarin/Swimming</TD><TD>Kembangan</TD><TD>Temasek</TD><TD>2C </TD></TR><TR><TD>hippo2002</TD><TD>Jan 02</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Feb 04</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Arts/Gym/Abacus</TD><TD>Bedok</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>fz</TD><TD>Aug 02</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> Nov 06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Phonics/Abacus/Mandarin/Swimming</TD><TD>Bukit Batok</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD>2C </TD></TR><TR><TD>caroline3sg</TD><TD>Sept 97</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Jul 02</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Phonics/Wushu/Mandarin</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>De La Salle</TD><TD>2C </TD></TR><TR><TD>jh</TD><TD>Nov 02</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Aug 05</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Acts of Life/Art/Ballet/Kindermusik/Swimming</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mama_jay</TD><TD>Sept 02</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Dec 05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Swimming</TD><TD>SengKang</TD><TD>Holy Innocents'</TD><TD>2A2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>lwg26</TD><TD>Apr 02</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Dec 03</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Mandarin/Phonics/Music/Sp & Dr/Soccer</TD><TD>Tanah Merah</TD><TD>Red Swastika</TD><TD>2B </TD></TR><TR><TD>orange</TD><TD>Apr 99</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Mar 02</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Abacus/Swimming/Phonics</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>ChongFu</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>j0L</TD><TD>Jun 01</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Aug 04</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Phonics/Mandarin</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD>Nan Hua</TD><TD>2C </TD></TR><TR><TD>2galswithlove</TD><TD>Oct 02</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Apr 05</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Piano/Ballet (02) / MMI Playgroup (05)</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD>CHIJ Bukit Timah</TD><TD>2C </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chicken Little</TD><TD> Aug 02</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Jan 06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Mandarin</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>Nanyang</TD><TD>2A2 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<font color="ff0000">ssmummy, chicken_little</font>
i find psp abit too chim for the kids, and the only game they can play or in fact i can play is the taiko drum aka japanese drumming. But I am more concerned for eyesight and self-discipline problem.

<font color="0000ff">mummies</font>
my girl is gg nursery next year and she is very hooked onto her pacifier. Any idea how to wean her fm it? We tried putting lemon (instead of chilli) and it didnt worked. Recently the rubber part came off and we told her that there's no spare pacifier at home and we thought by telling her that, she would not ask for it but she insisted that we get her a new one fm the minimart downstairs

Hi, been busy and didn't login to chat. wow, got table of particulars. Please add mine. Thanks for the effort ssm!

nick: jan
1st boy March 2002, 2nd gal April 2003
Enrichment for boy - swimming, gym, art, abacus and music
Location - Bt Gombak

orange
If you have transferred your girl to RGPS, you would have headache for your boy when P1 registration for him comes. Actually ChongFu is popular in Yishun, I don't understand why you want to transfer in the first place. Moreover, you can register your boy in phase 1A.

If you are moving in 2 yrs' time, then by the time your boy enters ChongFu, travelling is an issue again.

Anyway, it is good to hear that your girl is doing very well in ChongFu.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>1st Child</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>2nd Child</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Enrichment Classes</TD><TD>Location</TD><TD>Choice of School</TD><TD>Phrase </TD></TR><TR><TD>ssm</TD><TD>Apr 02</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Sept 04</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Mandarin/Swimming</TD><TD>Kembangan</TD><TD>Temasek</TD><TD>2C </TD></TR><TR><TD>hippo2002</TD><TD>Jan 02</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Feb 04</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Arts/Gym/Abacus</TD><TD>Bedok</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>fz</TD><TD>Aug 02</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> Nov 06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Phonics/Abacus/Mandarin/Swimming</TD><TD>Bukit Batok</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD>2C </TD></TR><TR><TD>caroline3sg</TD><TD>Sept 97</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Jul 02</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Phonics/Wushu/Mandarin</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>De La Salle</TD><TD>2C </TD></TR><TR><TD>jh</TD><TD>Nov 02</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Aug 05</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Acts of Life/Art/Ballet/Kindermusik/Swimming</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mama_jay</TD><TD>Sept 02</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Dec 05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Swimming</TD><TD>SengKang</TD><TD>Holy Innocents'</TD><TD>2A2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>lwg26</TD><TD>Apr 02</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Dec 03</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Mandarin/Phonics/Music/Sp & Dr/Soccer</TD><TD>Tanah Merah</TD><TD>Red Swastika</TD><TD>2B </TD></TR><TR><TD>orange</TD><TD>Apr 99</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Mar 02</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Abacus/Swimming/Phonics/Piano</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>ChongFu</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>j0L</TD><TD>Jun 01</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Aug 04</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Phonics/Mandarin</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD>Nan Hua</TD><TD>2C </TD></TR><TR><TD>2galswithlove</TD><TD>Oct 02</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Apr 05</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Piano/Ballet (02) / MMI Playgroup (05)</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD>CHIJ Bukit Timah</TD><TD>2C </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chicken Little</TD><TD> Aug 02</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Jan 06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Mandarin</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>Nanyang</TD><TD>2A2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>jan</TD><TD>Mar 02</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Apr 03</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Swimming/Gym/Arts/Abacus/Music</TD><TD>Bukit Gombak</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<font color="0000ff">caroline3sg</font>,
If my girl transfers to RGPS, my boy would be registered under phase 2A2 which doesn't need to ballot based on the school's past year primary one registration statistics.
Initially, I am thinking of transfering my girl first, after moving, then transfering my boy to preferably Bishan area mixed or boys school.

2galswithlove

I didn't have a fixed timetable. Basically I will revise abacus & Chinese flash card with dd2 from Mon-Fri morning while dd1 is in kindergarten. She's still young so must catch her mood. Sometimes she just want to practice colouring or play puzzles

caroline3sg,
my boss transfer her gal cos they moved to the east. she sent in application to 6 sch and was accepted by 5 of them!

ssm,
my hubby juz introduce ds1 to gameboy. the reason for buying the gameboy was very silly - he went on a biz trip to china and bot back the game cartridges bcos his colleague said its very cheap, worth buying! he bot the games before we even hv the gameboy set! *faint*

ssm,
i think u shld be firm n simply dun buy her a new pacifier - cold turkey! haha.. i did that to ds1 when he's 1. BUT.. until nw he's still drinking milk from a bottle!

Me still dunno where to enrol my gal for English course. Is I can read good enuff to prepare her for pri 1 ? Or I should go for British council ?

2galswithlove and jan,
Hey are you interested for Chinese Enrichment class ? The chinese class is conducted at my house by a native chinese. Class every sat 1.30 pm to 3 pm. Time maybe adjusted from next year. If you are interested, do email me at [email protected] for more information.

Caroline2sg
So how is your boy at TienHsia ?

Pacifier
I wean both kids before they turn 1 when they cannot speak and tell me what they want. For my nephew, he hates medicine, one day his grandmother put medication on his pacifier, he tasted and reject pacifier from then on.

<font color="0000ff">mummies,</font>
tuition vs enrichment - whats the main difference? hw does each benefit the child?

<font color="aa00aa">chicken little,</font>
i'm also looking for english enrichment for ds1. his current icreative teacher only teaches pre-schooler. hubby feels that we shld wait n see hw he fares in the first semester before we decide if shld send him to tuition. but i'm quite worried that he cant cope and it would be too late to seek help by then.

chicken little
My boy likes TienHsia, I feel he can learn more than St. James Kindergarten. My slot is JE Fri 7.30pm.

jol
tuition means revise what sch has taught. enrichment is outside sch's syllabus. eg of enrichment is learning lab, lorna whiston, moris allen. eg of tuition is just education. in the market, many centres are a mixture of tuition & enrichment.

j0L, chicken_little
cold turkey no use, she will be like a broken recorder and whine the whole day and trust me, yr ear drums will be damaged! as for medicines, she's a weirdo, she likes to take medicines, no matter how difficult it may taste.

ssm
nursery is child care or kindergarten? Anyway, just don't bring pacifier to sch. If childcare (ie need pacifier to sleep), may get HFMD. if kindergarten, her attention may not be on pacifier since there are lessons / activities going on. I think children can understand they 'grow up' already, no need pacifier, when go to nursery sch (as compared to at home) of course, you need to tell her so.

caroline3sg,
just kindergarten, not CC. i dont think she wl bring pacifier to sch cos like u said, she will be occupied by the activities in sch, hence she will not rem her pacifier. Just hope to wean her totally, dont even need it during bedtime.

ssm,
Then you also broken recorder and keep nagging at her lah. Go outside point at those younger than hr tell her that didi or meimei also never use pacifier. Start by limiting to sleep time only slowly cut it down?

Caroline3sg,
Thanks. Hmm I headache must make sure put my gal in the right and suitable one for her otherwise $$ down the drain.