(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Jan

me too. I usually redeem movie vouchers using credit card points or link points
by the way, HSBC credit card has $1 discount per ticket for GV. I use credit card if watching on weekdays & vouchers for weekends show

ssm

GV is $9.50 on weekends. We hardly bring the kids. must pay for dd2 too because above 90 cm
very happy to discover that Cathay promo

hippo
I very kiasu, during exam time, already reserve assessment books at Popular. I even went to Woodlands & Lot 1 & ask them transfer books to Jurong East. I asked the staff when the magazine is coming out. On 16 Nov, first day, I already made use of the 20% discount coupon. Spent total $200 including textbooks.

ssm
Also never go anywhere during the hols coz no leave. The recent weekend, we went to T3. Not worth going as some places still under construction and only a 2-3 shops open.

ssm
a bowl of noodle in sch canteen about 60 - 80 cents. I think it comes with fishball &/or fishcake. Don't know how many pieces.

My girl likes her sch's mixed rice. She only ordered 1 dish, tofu with rice and it costs 80 cents. I told her to order as much as she would like to eat, she said one type of dish cost 40 cents, if 3 types of dish, it would cost close to $2. I told her is already cheap compare to outside hawker centre / food court.

caroline3sg

wow! I said before, must say again, you are very resourceful

by the way, why must reserve assessment books? the more popular authors sold out faster? which are the more popular assessment books or 'must have' assessment books?

I see until eyes got stars. Can't tell which is better, just anyhow grab a few

I bought P1 & P2 Maths & P1 Chinese assessment books so that I can have some idea what dd1 needs to know. P1 Chinese very chim, luckily answers are provided. Maths questions very tricky & mostly not taught in Kumon. Must cover with her so many areas to bridge the gap

hippo
It is not that popular authors are sold out faster. It is just that I have many books to buy and Jurong East doesn't have all the books I want. 20% can only be used once so better to gather all the books in 1 location.

If the Maths assessment questions are not taught in Kumon, then isn't a waste to attend Kumon?

hippo / fz
Do you know where is chocolate house? My husband and daughter said advertise in TV (ie 2 wks ago) but don't know where. It is actually for Christmas viewing.

caroline3sg

Yes & No.

Yes - I wasn't familar with MOE syllabus when I started dd1 on Kumon 3 years ago. I had the false sense of security that as long as she does well in Kumon, she's well prepared for P1. Didn't expect I have to personally fill in so much gap in MOE syllabus

No - not entirely wasted because dd1 does have strong foundation in addition, subtraction, multiplication & some exposure to division

hippo
For Maths, usually I go for EPH. Since there are so many, it is better for you to look at the questions (ie level of difficulty that matches the school's standard).

For Eng, I only buy compre & vocab, separate books.

For Chinese, don't buy the $5 per book - CA/SA(Eng & Maths also have). They are too easy. Go for topical tests ones (I think also EPH). This is very close to sch text.

jol
I ever saw one book in popular, something like parents guide to primary maths. You may like to ask the staff there? Or ask the sch maths teacher how they teach so that you can use the same method to teach at home. Then not confusing for your child.

caroline3sg
not sure about the chocolate house. has not been watching tv cos no good shows around lately. :p

j0l,
for maths, i let my boy attempt the assessment books. if he is in doubt, then i go thru with him. sometimes when he doesn't understand what i saying, then i ask the dad to explain.... :p

hippo2002,
already bought Pri2 maths?! wa...very advanced leh. i was wondering now i preparing ds1 for P1, when he is in P1, how can i prepare him for P2? using only the Dec holidays?

caroline3sg,
do u know the parent's guide for math is by which publisher? Cos I heard abt this guide but no one seems to know which publisher. And also, I have no idea where this chocolate house is.

caroline3sg

thanks for the advice on assessment books

For Chinese, I was looking for one without hanyu pinyin but seems that all the Chinese assessment books have plenty of hanyu pinyin

never heard about the chocolate house leh

fz

got 20% discount mah, so just buy 2 P2 books to standby, won't touch them yet because I haven't even started with the P1 books.

Your boy also doing P1 assessment books? he's so cooperative, willing to do himself?
my girl wants me to sit right next to her otherwise refuse to do anything

hippo2002,
funny thing is that he seems cooperative during term time than holidays.
i can only sit beside him when i 'marked' the answers and go thru with him. of course he prefers that i sit with him thru out, but i can't coz got to attend to a younger one.

wow... mummies... you all very on. :)

I always find Maths interesting. :) Most important, cultivate the interest in your child in Maths... it'll go a long way. Make them see that Maths is fun and how we can use it in our daily lives. :)

hippo
the 20% discount coupon is twice a yr. You need not get P2 assessment books now. Unless like me, kiasu, know the book is getting out of print, then buy & keep. if you happen to bump into extremely helpful staff, he/she would tell you which one is good, which one would soon out of print. Also I usually buy books during "down" season to avoid crowds. That's when "hot" books are usually available.

hanyu pin yin is one section of exam paper, even up till P4. I have yet to see P5 syllabus. So naturally assessment books have to have hanyu pin yin.

caroline3sg

I noticed the assessment books are mostly published in 2007. If they come out with new edition 2008 incorporating 2008 MOE syllabus, do we need to get the latest print again (assuming same assessment book but printed in different year)?

My son is afraid when I buy assessment books... he always complain lah.

Haha... I have a wide range of assessment books at home... so no need to buy for him yet, but then, I love to visit bookstores... poor boy.

hippo,
when publishers come out with new edition, usually they would remove content that's not in the latest syllabus...

e.g. <> or = signs are no longer in Pri Syllabus.

mommies

how do you get your child to practice abacus at home?

aiyo, dd2 concentration waning. Teacher complained, in class she just sit down there refused to do her classwork. Over the week, very hard to get her to do her homework (classwork didn't finish become homework)

she was so excited to go abacus initially but now attitude change. Sigh....how how how?

hippo2002,
maybe the abacus teacher is not motivating enough?
my ds1 also need some amount of nagging to do his homework, but whenever i check for him, he will keep telling me how fast his teacher can check...how good his teacher is. he enjoys the class because of the teacher and not the work itself. need a lot of praising to get his engine going and also keep telling him that he must pay attention in class so that he can come back and teach me. he likes to see me struggling and making mistakes when checking his work...as it shows that he is 'more superior' than me in abacus. LOL.

guess your dd2 is still quite young..so maybe she get distracted in class?

Hippo
Your question regarding assessment book's published yr & revised edition, sorry I can't answer.

I heard people say textbooks change every 2 yrs, but seems 4 - 5 yrs as those going to P1 next yr, their textbooks are changed. But for those P4 & above, they stick to old textbooks.

But I do know what assessment books suit my girl's sch. It depends on which year the child is in & what sch. For example, the so call teach less learn more for Chinese, some sch implement immediately for their P4 (I am referring to this yr's P4 students) which this cohort would only do the new syllabus when in P5. So these sch's students did badly for their SA1. While other sch implement a few changes in P4 instead of complete switch in P4. Also, exam paper is set by the sch teachers. Even with latest edition of assessment book, not all sections are exactly the same. I have to select some section from one assessment book and another section from another assessment book. To be more specific, same P4 level, one sch may have re-arrange the words while another sch doesn't have.

For Maths, I didn't go to the details as to the signs are excluded. Usually these signs come with algebra which is P6 syllabus. Since MOE exclude it, so be it. It is not big issue. Section C problem sums at PSLE is 12 questions (if I am not wrong). Some sch remain 6 questions at P4, my girl's sch increase to 9 questions. Maybe to 12 questions in P5 to gear them for P6. They say elite sch maths questions more difficult, the no. of problem sums also make it impossible to compare marks as children tend to be weak in problem sums.

One observation for Maths in my girl's sch. Exam questions not taught in class come out (same like people complain in ST forum that some questions not taught in sch come out). This trend begin from P3. I commented not fair during parent teacher conference (P4 syllabus of quotient come out in P3 SA1). teacher same reply as MOE, to sieve out the very good ones. P4 syllabus in P3 SA1 is sieve out good ones? And in P4, not using Maths text to teach. Purely worksheets do do do. So it depends on how the questions are phrased by the teachers. To majority, it is like never teach before.

Recent 2 yrs, we see changes. First the class size from 40 to 30. Then to the teach less learn more. Now the modular system.

Anyway, usually I buy 2-3 assessment books for a subject. That why I need to transfer books.

ssmummy
If you don't compare, how you know signs were previously in and now excluded? That is my point.

I only notice the sequence of topics if print in different year. Or worse, some topics included / excluded. Anyway, P1 & P2 are same, P3 & P4 are same. Topics learnt in P3 but never learn in P4 would come out in exam. Example money. Because this topic can come out in problem sums.

caroline3sg,
Tks for sharing. Mind if i ask which school is yr girl studying? There's no more streaming at P4 right?

ssm
My example above is comparing Chinese exam format in South View & RGPS.

If you are enquiring on textbooks, only Social Studies & Health change (I guess all levels). Those taking normal chinese at P5 still buy primary chinese and just A & B textbook for Science (those P1 booklist is New Chinese and P3 Science is many textbooks according to topics).

I think they disguise streaming. At end of P4, depending on results, children would take normal or foundation subjects or higher MT. This is streaming, isn't it?

Your earlier mail regarding whose who & how many kids / what age, do you have the list? May I have it?

caroline3sg,
Ok noted. So in short, there's still kinda like streaming at P4 lor. Cos i thought MOE abolish the system.

I dont have any list cos no mummies responded.

ssm, caroline3sg,
they supposedly abolished streaming...now is call subject banding... i guess it make some difference in the sense that kids that are poor in one subject can sit for foundation level and if good in another subject, can sit for normal level at that subject.

<font color="ff6000">fz</font>
I think it is better for the kids?

<font color="0000ff">caroline3sg</font>
no worries, i cant find on the popular website too. i wl make a trip dw to bras basah and check it out.

caroline3sg,
May I know in your girl's school, do Chinese and English P4 syllabus come out in P3 SA1 or SA2?

ssmummy, caroline3sg

I know P1 & P2 only 30 kids a class
P3 onwards become 40 kids a class, right?

or now change again, going to maintain 30 a class even from P3 onwards? or depends on individual school?

read in newspapers, GEP is 25 kids a class. So without GEP programme, no more GEP schools lor. When are they abolishing GEP?

testing 1, 2, 3.....is it something like this?

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD> 1st Child / B'day Month & Year</TD><TD> 2nd Child / B'day Month & Year</TD><TD> 3rd Child / B'day Month & Year</TD><TD> Enrichment Classes </TD></TR><TR><TD>SSM</TD><TD> April 2002</TD><TD> Sept 2004</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> Phonics Mandarin</td></tr></table>

if the table is ok, then u can pass me the info and i will tabulate it. What other info u mummies want to put in?

here's mine:

hippo2002
Jan 2002 girl
Feb 2004 girl
Arts, Gym, Abacus

I think can add gender of the child too.
Thanks for compiling the table

<table border=1><tr><td><center>Nick</center></TD><TD> <center>1st Child</center></TD><TD> <center>G</center></TD><TD> <center>2nd Child</center></TD><TD> <center>G</center></TD><TD> <center>3rd Child</center></TD><TD> <center>G</center></TD><TD> <center>Enrichment Classes</center> </TD></TR><TR><TD><center>SSM</center></TD><TD> <center>April 2002</center></TD><TD> <center>Boy</center></TD><TD> <center>Sept 2004</center></TD><TD> <center>Girl</center></TD><TD> <center>-</center></TD><TD> <center>-</center></TD><TD> <center>Mandarin</center> </TD></TR><TR><TD><center>hippo2002</center></TD><TD> <center>Jan 2002</center></TD><TD> <center>Girl</center></TD><TD> <center>Feb 2004</center></TD><TD> <center>Girl</center></TD><TD> <center>-</center></TD><TD> <center>-</center></TD><TD> <center>Arts Gym Abacus</center></td></tr></table>

hippo2002,
i thought still have GEP programme?
what is abolished is the streaming programme...not the gifted programme.
am i right?