(2002) Any 2002 babies?

fz

must serve notice lor. I serve notice in beginning Oct but the instructor said must pay 1 more month till Nov

hehe, dd2 is more receptive to Chinese than dd1. dd1 only knows how to read if there's hanyu pinyin. I don't use Kumon to teach her, too much hanyu pinyin, my hanyu pinyin hopeless. I use flash card

dd1 is the same as your boy. she can sit for hours at her desk 'day-dream, fiddle with pencil, eraser, doodle etc etc..anything but do her worksheets'

Jasmine

dd1 doesn't take nap although I will make her sleep on days that she has activities in the evening

Jasmine
My 2 children nap in the afternoon. I don't think it is bad habit. I used to sleep in my young days. They need to have sufficient sleep. Elder one upper primary gets up 5.55am for sch. Younger one gets up 7am. Even weekends, they wake up at 8 - 9am, I make sure younger one has afternoon nap.

fz
my boy, ah, put his toy next to him whenever do homework, sleep, eat. Do homework only 5 min. Very difficult to teach. But he learns through play. I don't know how to teach through play. Also difficult to find enrichment centre that is teach through play. Comtemplating to stop Tienhsia after 5 lessons coz very expensive for 2 children, but he likes it.

ssmummy
I also like to buy assessement books. Need discipline to complete. So far, all are for my elder one.

The coloured ones are very expensive, $4 per book. Those are the ones that catch kids attention and would tend to finish. Waiting for the Popular 20% to get for my younger one.

<font color="ff0000">jasmine,</font>
my k1 son still nap most of the time. Bad habit? in what sense?

<font color="119911">fz,</font>
oic, i know what u mean by difficult to relate. even i myself hv not seen a cotton plant before. keke....well, i wl still try my best, to explain to him. Talking abt reasoning, sometimes really dont know if i shd laugh over their reasons cos it can be quite funny at times. btw, since yr son doesnt hv spelling in sch, do u plan to start one on yr own? at least to prepare him for P1?

<font color="aa00aa">hippo,</font>
actually what did yr dd achieve from going to kumon classes? i would think my son would improve on his speed in finishing his assignments as well as better knowledge in that particular subject? Am I right to say that? Since my son likes to daydream and dilly dally, I thought by sending him for kumon class, he should be more discipline?

<font color="0000ff">jan,</font>
yr kids are in full day school? actually u dont really need alot assessments books to coach yr kids. u can make use of exerise or jotter book, create yr own assignments for them to do. this is what i do sometimes.

BTW mummies, are yr kids curious and like to try out new things? i.e. chillies, u know its hot but if they want to try, will u let them try?

caroline3sg,
yr children are in Tienhsia? how u find Tienhsia? I'm switching my kids fm berries to tienhsia next jan.

Jasmine,
ds1 doesn't nap. he said it is a waste of time...same thinking as his dad. he is in the afternoon session, so his bedtime is 9pm and he wakes up at 8/9am.
I still nap at this age. has been doing so throughout my Pri and Sec Sch days. ;P

caroline3sg,
I guess those teach through play classes are also pretty expensive as there are only a few around ba. ya. i was thinking when ds2 reach K1 in 3 yrs time, the thought of sending 2 kids through enrichment can really burn a hole in the pocket. guess that is why most eldest kids get to enjoy a variety of enrichment while their younger siblings just learns from the 'recycled' materials. (it happens when I was younger...my mum recycle assessment books for us...so my bro gets to have everything brand new and also gets to go tuition etc. Guess first kid, parents more kan cheong ba. ;P)

ssm,
i think my boy's phonics class may have spelling next year. will wait and see.

btw mummies, just a suggestion, do u think we shd compile a list of who's who, bday mth, etc here? cos honestly i m getting abit confused as in, who is who and how many kids, etc etc....(sorry, my memory space is very limited!) I dont mind doing the job. Pls ignore me if this request is deemed to be inappropriate. tks!

ssm

Why are you switching from Berries to Tien Hsia?

speed & discipline - aiyo, she sits for hours at her desk. Where got speed? I need to nag constantly. Where got discipline? everyday daydream and dilly dally

Better knowledge - Yes because Kumon progresses the child once she finishes a level. Age is not a consideration. That's why there are kids doing 8 to 9 years more advanced than their school levels.

I bought some P1 Maths assessment books for dd1. She doesn't really know how to do even though she completed addition & subtraction level at Kumon. The way the books phrase the question is not the same as Kumon. Also, kumon only covers addition subtraction. But MOE syllabus has much more. Need to learn time, money, etc etc. So parents still need to fill the gap

The main benefit I can see is she is a confident child. But Kumon doesn't solve her dilly dally issue. That's why I was so frustrated. Too much nagging is driving me up the wall

fz

I love to take nap too. I asked dd2 to describe her parents. She summarise in one word 'working daddy', 'sleeping mommy'

I recycle the material too. dd2 loves reading dd1's PAP readers & drawing on dd1's PAP homework books

As for enrichment classes, I use the one-in-one-out approach. Withdraw dd1, send dd2. And I try to send them to different classes so that I have 2 sets of material to teach them both.

dd2 teaches dd1 abacus so dd1 doesn't need to attend classes. dd2 will tell dd1 what she learn that day & show dd1 on the abacus. Very cute hor

hippo,
the reason i m switching is becos 1stly i will be shifting out of kembangan area and 2ndly they dont have the same timing for both K2 and N2. so thought of trying tienhsia. tienhsia no good?

Tks for the advice. Looks like I have to reconsider sending ds1 for kumon classes.

CarolineSg

how old is your ds2? I sent both my kids to Shichida when they were toddlers (one-in one-out of course).

It's learning through a series of activities & play. Parents need to do some activities with them during the week. They use interesting tools & concept.

I have the impression Shichida is more suitable for toddlers but I heard from teachers they actually teach till 7 years old. You can call them direct. I think they can explain better what do they teach in your ds2 age group

My kids love Shichida but too expensive for me so cannot substain for too long. I withdraw dd1 after 5 terms & dd2 after 7 terms, when they are old enough to attend other enrichment classes

ssm
TienHsia extremely good. I speak from experience (ie my girl in P4, this whole year with TienHsia). First, all teachers are China teachers. Second, they are very well versed in MOE requirements. Third, they are very experienced (they know what type of questions come out in exams - I would elaborate below).

TienHsia has 2 courses, enrichment and compo. Enrichment teach textbook's vocab, how it is used, spelling, worksheets. Oral and listening (one or 2 practise) nearer to exams. Once or twice a term is compo. Before SA1 & SA2, they have mock. The marks your child get is very close to what he/she would get in school results. The revision before exams, highlight what is important / need to know. When my girl first started, according to teacher, don't care spelling wrong or not getting full marks. After half yr, attitude improve, she wants to do better, she paiseh if she slacks behind. After one yr, very motivated, learn spelling on her own, get 98 or 100 marks for spelling. For oral in SA2, exactly same picture come out!

For compo, it is weekly and have lots of chengyu and phrases. In mid yr, the teacher asked the class to memorise introduction of a rainy day. It came out in exams!

For me, a great change in attitude is a great step forward coz she hasn't kai qiao at this age yet. Still need me to nag to study.

There might be slight difference in fees between lower & higher primary. But just a gauge, enrichment is $310 per term of 10 lessons & compo $270, all subject to 7%GST. There is discount of $64 if sign up both. This is weekend rate. Weekday rate cheaper.

For my younger one, I only completed 5 lessons coz I find that he is not learning much in St. James Church as compared to previous Kinderland Child Care (we switched in July coz he keeps falling sick). His is $278 per term. So you see, it is very expensive to send 2 children to TienHsia. I asked my boy want to go Tienhsia or I teach. He chooses TienHsia and ask me going tonight or not (ie Fri night); now holiday for preschoolers.

Some of you may have read about my posts on Berries. For the benefit of those who didn't, my boy just sat one corner when trial at Berries Woodlands. But he participated on 1st lesson at TienHsia. And subsequently looks forward to it. Not only it has teaching of stokes on whiteboard, small flash cards (for home use), A4 size flash cards (use by teacher), worksheets to recognise the words taught and also rhymes (with drama / story telling).

The children put up many small drama / singing at the last lesson. Happen only 2 boys (incl my boy) and 2 girls. The boys wore fox's mask, the girls wore sheep's mask and there was a door made by cardboard. The children sang something like "open the door", "my mummy said cannot open the door" and then somehow the boys (fox) would get the girls (sheep). The other boy just run around like catching. But my boy actually go grab the girls. He was very good, caught one girl first, then caught another one. So he is really enjoying himself. As I said, such learn through play interest for him.

Sorry for writing so long. I am happy to share with you.

CarolineSg

Thanks for sharing. Do you think it's better to start at preschool or wait till P1?
when do the kids start doing compo? at P1?

caroline3sg,
thanks for sharing! at least i know what to expect from tienhsia. my son is not keen in learning chinese at all, i hope his attitude will change just like yr girl. As for my girl, this will be her 1st time attending a chinese class and I hope she will enjoy it.

hippo
My younger one is K1 this yr (this thread for 2002 babies). Not spending that kind of money on Shichida. He was with Kinderland for 2 yrs (ie at the turn of age 3) and good enough on learn through play. We still miss Kinderland.

fz
When it comes to education, 2nd kid also kan cheong. It is just not enough money to send for the type of enrichment same as first kid. Every parent also want the best for their kids. If they can learn something, we give them, isn't it? That's why need to work. How to survive with one income? And when comes to upper primary, seems need tuition on almost all subjects. No choice, Maths very difficult and and Science (too) needs a lot of time. We S'poreans not professional in Chinese as compared to the China people.

Does anybody know where has creative learning for Maths?

caroline3sg,
just did a search..is this what you are looking for?

http://www.sportingsingapore.com/ttd_bizenterprise/CompanyProfile_MG.aspx?DirID=53&cocode=80089633&coname=WUFANG+BY+VINCENT+NG
http://www.wufangsingapore.com/

looks like tienhsia is pretty good. hm...may switch ds1 to tienshia when he is bigger or might send ds2 to tienshia when the time comes...so have 2 different sets of materials. but then again, have to see the timing and venue again. ferrying 2 kids, scheduling can kill. :p

hippo2002,
your girl used to be in gym, right? is it good for boys? thinking to 'tapping' on ds2's excessive energy (when he gets bigger). saw a short workshop on rock climbing for 6yrs old, told ds1 and he goes 'so dangerous!'. heehee. think ds2 will love this type of 'enrichment' coz he is really very active.

your dd2 teaching dd1? so cute. i love to see my boys interact too. ds2 is still too young to get on ds1's nerves, so they are still pretty happy together.

caroline3sg,
ya. money no enough. my dh said if need to spend on education, just spend. :p was initially thinking maybe when ds2 is older say K1, i will go back to work. but then again, by then, ds1 will be in P3, so thought of maybe he needs parental guidance in juggling with his school work.

haiz.

what is your opinion on having tuition? below 80marks have tuition? or fail then tuition?

I was thinking if i have the stamina to coach ds1 throughout his Primary school years with minimal tuition/enrichment (chinese definitely need tuition/enrichment), and was also thinking if by doing so, will it make my child less responsible for his own learning.

hippo
P1 compo only 1 paragraph. My girl's sch's Chinese compo has guiding questions. So if you know how to write the chinese characters, it should be okay. They don't expect chengyu at P1 or even P2. For English, it is very expensive at Lorna Whiston, I find their compo very good. Cannot sustain for long. So I bought many model compo books but marks didn't improve coz never read enough (not books but storybooks & newspapers) and learn how to use vocab.

ssm
my son likes chinese & maths. he doesn't like english. Everyday watch tom & jerry, thomas train, play transformer, cars, lorry, trains, trucks many types of transport vehicles. he learns through meddling with toys. Why this toy doesn't have hook? Why this one cannot turn? he likes to sit long bus (ie trans island bus) and see the rubber turn. he likes to see train tracks. So for eng, send him to zoophonics. Has singing and hands action, at least something for him to move around rather than traditional sit down approach.

Regarding Tienhsia, or whatever course/centre, you have to choose the right teacher. Only right teacher can motivate the child to learn.

fz

Tell you my plan, I intend to teach dd1 personally starting next year, using assessment books. Try out a few months first. If too ambitious (ie. I cannot cope), then I will send her for enrichment classes again lor. If ok, then continue all the way to primary school. Do a trial run next year

dd2 loves gymnastic. dd1 only participates selectively if she likes that particular activity. Otherwise she just sits down there & stone, waste money. But hubby said not worth the time & effort travelling & hanging around to wait if only sending 1 kid. So while dd2 is still very interested, we continue to send both lor. dd1 is happy to go gym with her sister, at least no need to force her. By the way, more girls in gym, don't know why

hippo2002,
i have pretty short-temper. and when ds2 messes around and ds1 not paying attention, i can blow my top easily. :p

i find that the gym costumes should be more unisex.

fz
Thank you for the web regarding wushu! Yes this is the one my husband is looking for our son.

Tuition is given when child cannot cope or sch doesn't teach. For elite sch, they assume you have the money to send for enrichment so in sch, they tough & go very fast. If fail then take tuition, it is too late and catch up may take longer time.

Regarding responsibility in self study, now I am telling my girl how to study (ie from the way Tienhsia teach) so that she can self study when comes sec1 then I can direct my time for younger kid.

Hi fz, hippo2002

Both my kids go for gymnastics. Surprisingly, my boy's class (5 to 7 yrs) has more boys than girls. For my gal (2003), there are only 2 boys in her class. It's a good form of overall exercise and discipline. fz, you can go for a trial and see if your ds enjoys it.

Re nap, thought it's a good habit! Can focus better after rest. For my ds, he must nap by 4pm. He has another year to enjoy nap then no more when go to P1.

can i join this thread? I have a girl who was born in April 1999 and a boy born March 2002.

Re: Tuition
Most of my girl's friends have tuitions and enrichment classes. Even top students in the school have lots of tuitions. My girl has enrichment classes as well (2 english enrichment classes, abacus, speech & drama, piano, chinese compo which will start next year). My girl was attending creative writing class at Lorna Whiston since June, but she said it is quite easy, so i had withdrawn her. Maths is the only tuition that she doesn't need to have.

My boy used to attend I Can Read early this year, but he kept complaining and didn't enjoy the class so i withdrawn him as well. Now he is attending phonic class, British Council creative english class, piano, speech & drama and abacus class. I bought assessment books for him to do, but he complains about why does he need to do worksheets everyday. Sometimes, i felt that childrens nowadays are pity, like my boy, he is attending his full day childcare and after those enrichment classes, there is not much time left for him to play. It is the same for my girl.

caroline3sg,
Sec 1 should be able to handle her own work. girls are more discipline too.

jan
ds2 only turn 1. earliest is 3 yrs to join? besides community centres, are there any other good centres specialising in gym? just curious.

orange
welcome.

both your kid seems to have quite a lot of enrichment going on. how do you handle the timing/scheduling?!

we are keeping sundays strictly no classes so that ds1 can catch up on his hmwk and also we can go for outing.

fz,
i also keep sunday as "free" day so i dont schedule any classes on that day. To be fair to the kids, they need some playtime n rest and I need rest too! :p

Not sure when is the right time to send the kids for tuition. I guess based on individual needs and expectation?

<font color="ff6000">orange,</font>

<font color="0000ff">caroline3sg,</font>
where is zoophonics?

I am not sure if the centre the kids are going to attend at tienhsia is good or not. Hv to try it out to know. Just hope both will enjoy the class.

ssm
zoophonics has several locations.
http://www.zoophonics.com.sg
You staying in east, right? Is siglap near?

You can ask the counter at tienhsia, who are the teachers for the various time slots. Which teacher is teaching now when you visit the centre and peep inside the room. Depending on the counter girl, if you get new one, she would tell you the profile of teacher. But most of the counter girl won't share such info to avoid biasedness

hehe, our weekends used to be jam packed. I find it more tiring for the parents than kids.

Now quite relaxed liao. Only 1.5 hour on Sat & 2 hour on Sun. Both kids go classes together at same timing so hubby & I can do grocery shopping or drink coffee during that 'free' time

Hi fz, oic 1 yr old just bring him to the playground good enuf! The gym club does have classes starting from less than a year though. My dd joined at 2+ which requires parent participation. This is mainly free play using the equipment under guidance and some time with the coach for stretching exercises, learn a 'stunt'. From 3 yrs onwards, then the child attends on his own.

Welcome orange! My kids also on full day childcare and most enrichment classes are on weekend. Only for the term breaks or public holidays, then can take a breather. But I make sure they want to attend the classes and enjoy the activity.

Hi hippo2002, hehee it's a good chance to have couple time. My dh says enjoy the peace and clear his mind!

hippo
your plan to teach your children at primary level is good. I teach my girl since P1 (all subjects). She started tuition (Chinese compo) in P3 at Xueni (switched to TienHsia at P4). Couldn't find suitable English compo till now.

So generally, compo is a must to go for tuition coz don't know how to teach. I remembered in P1/P2 time, her compo I wrote for her, both Eng & Chinese. Not suprising, everyone in class, all are parents' work.

fz,
i am a sahm and my maid also helps me to fetch my boy to acabus classes on weekdays. Piano lessons are conducted at home. Phonics and speech & drama classes are on Saturday.

hippo,
Me too, weekends used to be jam packed especially on Saturday.

caroline3sg,
Thanks for sharing about how the class is conducted at TienHsia.
My kids attend english speech & drama classes at Lorna Whiston. The course fees will increase next year, but if payments are made by 30 Nov, then we can enjoy current rates for next year Term 1.
Next year P3: $263.43 (after increasing)
Next year K2: $274.13 (after increasing)

orange,
I've never send my son for S&D class. How can a child benefit from attending the course? Became more vocal and confident? The fees stated is for per term, right?

Orange
Thank you for replying. I find Lorna Whiston speech & drama very school based (not that it is not good), meaning gearing to become actors, and instil confidence in public speaking and no stage fright, similar to Act3.

Actually I am looking at something cheaper,like Crestar. When my boy was with Kinderland, they have it during curriculum time. Now seems it is a luxury enrichment as need to allocate funds wisely.

speech & drama, my objective, is to speak properly (ie not broken english), fun time interacting. My son no problem with being vocal.

orange
what are your views regarding boys learning piano? My husband wants our son to learn piano. He "booked" our girl's piano teacher. I told him boys don't need to learn piano.

caroline3sg,
thanks for sharing. For kinderland, how much is the sch fee? BTW heard of this NAFA arts kindergarten? Music (twice a wk), arts (twice a wk) and dance (once a wk) are part of the curriculum but sch fee is $500 a mth. Also other fees to be paid yearly, i.e arts material, etc. Quite exp right?

caroline3sg,
I thought piano is ok for boys? I find boys who can play piano can appear quite charming...keke. Yr son keen on learning piano? My son is more interested in drum but I doubt can learn at such a young age right? Not sure what u mummies think, I saw a boy learning ballet. My hubby and my reaction were like "huh?" Nothing wrong with boys learning ballet, just find abit weird.

ssm
Mine was with Kinderland Child Care, not kindergarten. During curriculum time, they have eng speech & drama (Crestar, once a week, $60 per mth), music (not sure by who, once a week, free, just pay for instruments). No arts, no dance. Arts & Ballet is out of curriculum time.

Different CC different fees. Last time I paid $660 (after $150 govt subsidy) excl speech & drama. Other fees, transport to park ($36 per yr, pay lump sum). Excursions, pay as and when.

caroline3sg,
OIC. Seems like got lotsa stuff to pay.

haha, then let him learn piano and go charm the girls! keke

caroline3sg and ssm,

Yes, the fees stated is for per term (including GST).
I send them to speech & drama classes simply because I come from M'sia and I study at Chinese High School during my primary and secondary. All subjects taught are in Chinese except for english and malay lessons. We never speak english at all both in school and at home! That is the reason why I can't teach my girl english and science.

Yes, I have decided to reduce the no. of tuitions for them as $$$ is a big issue.

Regarding piano, for convenient reason (we have a piano at home) so just let him to have a try. My boy loves playing piano but doesn't like to practice and follow the 'rule' eg. count the beats, etc, I will monitor first before terminating the lesson. I find it is ok for boys to learn piano as long as he is interested, enjoys and is willing to learn.

ssm,
My mother-in-law reaction was also like "huh, boy learning piano?" when she knew that my boy has piano lesson.

orange

Famous pianists are mostly men

dd1 took piano lesson for 1 year. She didn't like to practice leh. I hope to start her on piano again, still seeking her consent. She has a mind of her own, must ask her nicely, sweet talk, subtlely influence....and she can still say no to me. So tough to be a mommy nowsaday.

According to research, music is good for brain development. I don't even expect her to go for graded exams. As long she can have some basic knowledge, play nursery rhymes & some simple songs, I am satisfied liao.

By the way, where is your boy taking abacus?

CarolineSg

thanks for your assurance about my plan

I attended a storytelling session by Julia Grabiel last month. Impressive, well spoken English. Not sure about the fees though

you can also consider speech & drama at community center. Very affordable, usually around $90+ for 12 lessons. dd1 took speech & drama for almost 1 year. She enjoyed the lesson very much. I withdrew her because I wanted to reduce her weekend classes
Now I sent her for speech & drama camp organisd by community center during school holidays. Less commitment, done in 3 days.

ssm

I don't see dd1 becoming more confident or vocal as a result of attending speech & drama. She basically just went there for fun. Still freeze up in the presence of strangers although she is very outspoken in familar environment like PAP

I enquired at Nafa Art kindergarten beginning of this year. Scared off by their school fees & miscellaneous fees. Have you visited Soka at Tampines? I went for their open house in Mar this year, quite impressive with a large gym room. Fees is $350 per month. However, I can send my girl to PAP & give her gym lesson, doesn't cost me $350

hehe, no choice, $$ is indeed a big issue for SAHMs

Jan

hehe, I am slowly learning to let go, don't be so overwhelmed by their enrichments. Otherwise too stressful for me.

hippo,
i heard alot abt JG thru some of the mummies and all sang praises abt it. But i reckon the fee is not cheap bah?

I still thinking what other courses to send my child to. I will still send him for phonics class as ds has improved tremendously and able to make up words better. Still trying to psycho my ds to take up piano but he dont seems to be keen. He still say he likes golf and drum....hmm.....

I also enquired abt NAFA, their waiting list is very long. Since dancing and music are part of the curriculum, at least i dont hv to send my girl for extra dancing or music class during wkends. But like u said, the fee very scary!

$$ is not only a big issue to SAHMs, even for FTWMs too!!!!