(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Kumon award

We attended the ceremony at NUS today. Gosh! feel so inferior, so many kids are doing 8 to 9 years more advanced than their school level

eg. a P3 boy completed Pre-University English & Maths. a K2 girl doing secondary school level & is the youngest record holder for all 3 subjects. She even went on stage to give a public speech. So impressive! jaw drop

I hope my girl is motivated by all these real examples. I don't expect her to be equally good as those kids. I am very grateful if she can be automatic in doing her homework

Hi mummies, may i ask where do u send yr kids for abacus. any gd recommendation in the west? i'm stayin at clementi.

Any comment/ feedback on Just Education & CMA?

hi hippo,

havent found 1 yet as we were also very busy on weekends. congrats that your dd had obtained an award... good achievment already!

hippo2002,
My son doing the English one. Heehee... he started at the lowest level, 7.

jOL,
Just Education uses only trained teachers (from NIE) with at least 3 years of trained teaching experience in school. :)

hippo2002,
went for the kumon parent meeting today. sounds quite good. 10 worksheets per day...looks quite a lot
may try it out though.

ssmummy,
my youngest son also started at the lowest level 7. i think they will normally get them to do a lower level first to build up their confidence.

hi ssmummy,
does it mean Just Education follow the MOE syllabus closely? hv yr kid tried the classes there? ^-^

Jasmine

10 pages a lot!
dd1 only does 3 pages for Maths & 4 pages for English.
Used to be 5 pages each but she didn't want to do so teacher kept reducing the pages lor

ssmummy

I noticed some bookshops selling Just Education assessment books. Are those the same ones used in class too?

Hippo and jOL,
Yes,... Just Edu follows MOE syllabus. Heehee, not doing promo for them. :) As for their WS, then it's different from their assessment book.

Jasmine,
My son also doing 10 pages everyday. So far so good... he is enjoying it. :)

Hi jOL

My girl is with CMA (just finish 1 term) and she enjoys her class very much. You can read up more from their website http://www.cma-sg.com. If you intend to sign up for your child, do PM me. I can be your referral and both party can get discount for the term fee (8% I think).

Sorry I am back again. Almost lost this thread.

Now my girl is only doing Chinese every Sat. Wondering what else I should get her started in preparing for pri 1.

Is kumon good ? I feel like trying out the kent ridge tuition centre ? Anyone has feedback on the one near lot 1 CCK ?

hi ssmummy,
my elder boy is goin P1 nx yr. really thinkin hard of what classes to send him. what shld be the top priority!! dun think kumon would suit him cos he's the type who dread doing worksheet. think 10 pages per day would really be torture to ME! cant imagine the amt of nagging needed to get the wrk done!

hi clare,
which centre does yr gal go. does it really help in her mathematics. hv u seen improvement after 1 term?

jOL,
My son also hates doing WS.. but no choice lah, need to prepare him for P1. He is in K1 this year. Actually the 10 pages quite easy leh.

P1 next year?? Which school/area?

ssmummy,
yea, he is born jun 01 and my younger boy is aug 04. he's goin nan hua. do u stay in the west too?

ssmummy,
my boy also dislikes doing WS. as i don't want to 'burn' him out at this stage, i tried to stretch his homework so that he won't spent more than an hour per day on his work...am i too lenient?

his 'homework' schedule goes something like this...Fri to Mon he has to finish his phonics, chinese and abacus homework (if he finish it earlier, he gets to enjoy the remaining days free of hmwork), Tue Math and English assessment (1-2 pgs each), Wed practise chinese character writing (about 5 lines) and chinese booklet reading, Thur Math...and the cycle goes on...

no spelling, tingxie or hmwork from his daily pcf yet.

fz,
Wow... that's quite a lot leh... haha, I gave my son 3 pages of work and he is already complaining. Maybe it's time to give him more. :)

Haha... but actually, the 10 pages from Kumon takes about 10 mins to complete.

My son also don't have spelling at this time.

Regarding homework from school.... so far my son also don't have any hw... unlike his cousin. SO no choice lah... I must source assessment books for him which he always grumble.

CMA also needs to do homework. 5 assessment books per term. Sian lor....when I hear homework.

Withdrew dd1 from Kumon precisely because she didnt' want to do homework. Don't want to jump into another pot of boiling water

Haven't found any alternative. British council good?

ssmummy

saw your posting in another thread. I used to live in Sembawang too. You are at which cluster? Going to enrol your boy in Canberra primary? top in Sembawang estate

your son is also doing assessment books besides attending kumon? Wellington Kumon center?

Do you have to nag him a lot?
I nag until vomit blood, that's why give up. Let her shake legs next year

fz

How you make your son do homework? he's cooperative?
I also told my girl she can go play after she finishes her kumon homework, but doesn't work. Kept dragging her feet

Seeing all the posting make me worried now.

My girl is with childcare, no spelling no tingxie. Oops and no homework.

Hmm really must enrol her somewhere to gear up

ssmummy,
i think 30min to an hr a day is just nice. if not, my boy will just waste it away watching tv. for his hmwork, his phonics, chinese enrichment and especially abacus have quite a fair bit of hmwrk. it is his teachers that keeps him motivated to finish them as he really likes them. i usually let him 'plan' how to space out his hmwork, latest to be completed by monday, so he can't complain about the load for the day. but his 'plan' will be subject to my approval else he will tend to leave everything til the last day.

hippo2002,
i think it has become a routine..after breakfast do hmwork/worksheet. 1 hr of breakfast including tv, then worksheet, afterwhich then play. i usually keep the assessment to a page or two, and give him a choice whether to do eng, math or chinese. if he gets to choose, chances are that he is more willing to cooperate.

hippo2002,
no lah.. will not put him in Canberra Pri. :) Yes, he is attending Kumon at Wellington. Heehee, my son don't like me to nag... rather.. he's like a rabbit, he loves the carrot approach. :-0

fz,
I think 30 min is ok..:) My son hates EL WS.

jOL

My girl is in Kovan branch. She's 5 (K1) this year. I hope this course will help in her mental calculation without using calculators. So impressed with those kids shown in video - can't wait to see my girl doing the same.

ssmummy,
yup, its a sap sch. balloting for kids residing within 1km. was lucky to get a place. we were the last to register on the last day - the lucky 88th!

fz,
its quite weird eh.. pcf no spelling n homewrk, but there's exam! my boys attend church kindergarten. there's homewrk n spelling but no exams.

clare & hippo2002
actually i've not heard of CMA before. juz happen to see it in a credit card promo. is it suppose to be very well-known?

where do u send yr kids to for abacus? is it too late to start at P1?

jOL

I just heard from dd1 yesterday PCF has spelling. I wasn't aware at all because I didn't see any spelling list. She never learn spelling at home. Her PCF has plenty of homework daily & her exam was just over

I heard abacus may confuses the child because MOE uses different method. Not sure confused to what extent? dd2 is taking abacus at CC. I am not too concerned about the confusion at this moment since she's still very young

hippo,
whats the charges like? did both yr kids attend abacus? do u see improvement in their mathematics? btw hw old are yr kids?

j0L,
my K1 boy no exams yet.
his abacus actually we signed up via his pcf...it is an extra class on a Saturday. As what hippo2002 mentioned, I am also concerned that abacus may confuse my boy when he goes into P1 math.
my nephew is with CMA and my sis share the same thoughts with me....CMA adapts two-hand abacus training, slightly different from the traditional one-hand abacus training.

what is your take on IT schools...eg new schools like Beacon Pri? It supposedly incorporate more IT for interactive teaching, but it does not have track records yet as it is a new initiative.

Kumon?? It works for my son, coming to five in Dec.He was hyper active when he was younger. Started him on it with chinese & math when he was about 3 & 1/2 years old.He just took up english kumon six months ago.It all depend what you want your child to achieve. He has no stress doin all the work now. Lots of play time for him after he complete his work.He has a very structured schedule.Thank god, i have a helper that is able to help to watch over him initially while he do his homework. He has violin & piano practise daily & have minimal 3 hours of play time daily .Sleeping early at 7.30pm or latest at 8pm helps him to focus in the day too. A very good advice from a therapist , if you want your child to be able to cope with loads of worksheets, the kids must have equal time of physical exercise & free play time.Most importantly, mummy must spend most of the time with your child during the first 7yrs till he or she is able to study by themselives.Hope all this info helps. Have a Great weekend!!

hi kssg, wa, ur son learning 2 musical instruments?

which music school did u send him?

i sent my boy, just turned 4 to mandeville to learn the suzuki violin. actually he's the one who initiated it. but now, 1 term already n he says he doesn't want to go... in class also not cooperative, at home, practise also worse! sigh... dunno if i shld persevere or if he's really not cut out for it...

care to share ur experience?

hi fz & hippo,
ermm.. tink i'm having 2nd thoughts abt sending my boy to abacus. guess its too late since he would be goin P1 nx yr. shouldnt confuse him.

hi ssmummy,
we were juz trying our luck. had wrote in to sch to offer voluntary service but was rejected. since all the nearby popular sch require balloting, we thought we should give it a go. now that had got in, really wonder what lies ahead.

hippo,
nope. thats y my fren said i pian xin! haha.. but he's attending daily 3hr playgroup in his bro's church kindergarten. sm how i feel that no. 2 manage to pick up lots of stuff fm the elder - monkey see.. monkey do! i'm still considering if shld let he attend the icreative learning. as the bro is currently attending the class there, the teacher had reserved a place for him. class would start nx march.

j0L,

mind lettin us noe de sch which rejected yr volunteer wk?

icreative learin seemed 2 b de most interestin class 4 de friends ard me. a few of them signed up on their own n was pleasantly surprised 2 c each other there. is it really so gd? do u stop after he noes how 2 read? or do they have creative writin etc when they r older?

jh,
its the sch that my boy is goin! hehe.. heard most sch would only accept voluntary services fm parents who are pros in certain field, eg IT - who can setup new IT program or web page for the sch, etc

i got to knw abt icreative thru my hb's fren. apparently the boy started at age 4, and could read by 5. my boy started when he's k2, so his is a 'crash course'. i cant tell if its really that good cos both my boy n me are lazy type! we didnt do alot of enforcement at hm! but he enjoys goin to class and likes his teacher.

for k2, the kids do spelling, dictation, grammar, comprehension and creative writing. i would like my son to continue, but his current teacher doesnt teach primary programme. and the nearest location at bt timah is full. here's the web if u would like to find out more.

http://www.icreativelearner.com

kssg,
wow.. your child learning piano & violin? My boy learning piano & he's already telling me he don't like the theory part.

Yesterday sat with dd1 to do her kumon Maths worksheets because she said she don't know.

Tell her the answer she's not happy. Prompt her to think a little & she kept saying division very difficult.

Then when I walked away (gave up listening to her whining), she finished in 5 minutes. Alamak! like that to sit or not to sit with her?

hippo2002,
Haha... that's familiar. My son also always complain when I asked him to do his work. He'll tell me it's difficult... etc.

Hippo2002 , same as my daughter . When I sit with her .. all correct for her homework ... if I let her do alone ... out of 10 , less than 5 is correct ... sigh ...

brought dd1 for orientation at the new kindergarten

wow, a lot of miscellaneous expenses!

need to pay $80 for reader (story books) per term, material fees $50 per term, computer $110 per term. 2 set uniforms + school bag $46. $20 admin for school fees deduction through CDA

miscellaneous cost almost 60% of school fees per term

now I appreciate PAP, computer is included in school fees at no extra charge. Uniform only $10 per set. no admin fees, only one-time material fees