(2002) Any 2002 babies?

overloading kids

I spoke to a grandfather while waiting for my girl. His grandson P1 this year.
Mon & Thu violin. Sun piano. Kumon twice a week. abacus twice a week. Arts once a week. All these on top of his primary school hours.

wow, I thought my girl was overloaded!

To be honest, is it necessary to let a child learn so many things at a time? I thought it would be very stressful for the little one?

daisy..
is this 'xiaodaisy'?

anyway, welcome to SMH 2002 babies thread.

i have a gal born in 2002 too !
Now i'm trying to look for those creative writing class or those Primary 1 preparatory class for her.
Anybody can give me good recommendations ?
Is Learning Point at Thomson Plaza good ??? They have a P1 headstart class.
How about British Council ? Its expensive though ! so would like to find out whether its worth the $$$

thanks in advance for any opinions !

can i join this thread? i've boy born Nov'2002.
seems like he is not interesting in anything, except playing his toys and watching tv... sigh!

any advise? very scared when he go P1 then dunno everything lei.....

n2inpink

Mine also. I have just enrolled him for Chinese at Tien Hsia (for recognising characters) and English phonics at zoophonics.

Some people even started Maths.

n2inpink

maybe you can start him on abacus. Seems to see good result for dd2. She can do simple addition & subtractions after learning abacus

dd1 was with Kumon for 3 years. I have serve notice to withdraw her. Kumon is quite good, she's doing division now. But I feel that Kumon has too much homework so decided to withdraw her

Hiya Mummies...

My son is 5. He also has Mandarin issues. Speaks mandarin like an ang mor.

I speak good mandarin but my parents don't and neither does his papa.

Most of the time, he converses in English. He reads about 20+ books a week in English... faints. Keep going library. Today, shocked me by asking specifically to borrow a book on Rip Van Winkle and The Prince and The Pauper.

Not sure where to put him for Primary 1. We live in Upper Serangoon View at the mo. Might move to TPY but my Dad is babysitting him so we want to get him a school near their place.

in light of the 'kids get stressed over psle math,' how does your kid reacts to pressure and difficult questions?
yesterday i gave my boy a 'mock-test' (questions abstracted from assessment books), and he was so harp up on getting the perfect score that he is scared to attempt the more difficult questions. then when i compute the score, he is very upset that he does not get a perfect score...

how ah?

fz

my girl had PAP tests some weeks ago. She had 3 stars for Maths & English and 2 stars for Chinese. She was upset for 1 whole day because 'only' 2 stars for Chinese....

I don't have a solution either. Just tell her to try harder next time lor. Plenty of opportunity for tests in future

hippo2002,
ya..i told him to try again next time, he goes...'try also like that....' haiz... i realised that he dare not attempt difficult questions for fear of getting them wrong.

and..TPY = Toa Payoh

Geri,
which centre does your boy attend phonics/reading with?

Hi fz / hippo2002, you mean PAP got exams for K1??

And my ds is continuing with abacus stage 2, after changing his mind again. Went for makeup lessons and trying to catchup on the work since he missed the first few classes. phew...

jan,
RE : PCF Exam
different pcf different curriculum. ds1 pcf no exams at all for K1. no spellng and ting xie also. ds1 say everyday play and play. :p

RE : Abacus
what made him change his mind? hm..my boy started 'mental arithmetic' last lesson..they had to use a piece of paper to add up some values. i am learning too...

Hi fz, my kids at ntuc childcare don't have spelling either.

The abacus teacher and asked why he missed 2 lessons. When I reached home, told him about our conversation, he thought about it and came to tell me he wants to do stage 2. Told him to wait for next year but he wanted now. Then I mention the homework and how he can't concentrate, he suggested doing it in the study room and close the door!
Yah, they started on +10, +9 formulae.

Jan

formula is it +9= -1+10, +8= -2+10 ?
dd2 starting to learn this but not so easy, she's experiencing a little mental block

Jan, fz

switching dd1 to church kindergarten next year for K2. Heard more relaxed, just play play play

Hi hippo2002, yep - those are the formulae. My son too, he's more familiar with the number bonding concept of 2+8=10, 2+7=9, etc.

Play is a good learning process too, esp for young children! There will be enough work and pressure when they start primary school.

hi hippo2002,

yes formula is +9=-1+10 and for -9=+1-10. my K1 ds also will mix them up. for ease of explanation/memorising, i told him to memorise it as +9=+10-1 and -9=-10+1. I think that is more logical but dunno if it will affect the mental arithmetic part. hm...

my boy's pcf already play and play...:p

fz,
My boy's pcf also play and play, I find it quite waste time and his teacher CMI! Once I caught her saying this "Stay there and wait for me. Don't go out first, later the INDIANS will catch u and bring u back to INDIA!" OMG!!! What is it got to do with the indians? I mean this is not the right way to teach the kids right? Actually what happened then was, the children were in the pantry and were getting ready to go back to their class. There is a small carpark right in front of the block, so her intention was to make sure the kids go straight to their classroom safely and not go out to the carpark. But then she shd have said "it is dangerous" or something along that line. *faint*

ssm

dd1's pcf teacher always on MC. every week watch cartoon Tom & Jerry. Not sure how is Tom & Jerry educational??

sometimes just sit on the floor do nothing (according to my girl)

but lots of homework, almost daily. probably just 'sit around' so no time to finish during lesson time

play is good but must be constructive play

hippo,
Tom & Jerry? I dont see any educational context in the cartoon, just chasing here and there, what can u learn?

My son dont have any homework at all. But he did mentioned he did writing and some assignments in the class.

my son is also in pcf...not very good too. very elementary. need to supplement with other courses. i have not shift him yet as i do not know which kindergarten is good in chai chee area. any ideas?

Hi hippo2002, that's not good esp for K1 there should be a schedule for lessons with maybe some time for free play, interaction with other children. However, must add that teachers also play a major role to differentiate the school. No wonder you are changing your dd to another kindy next year. I have the impression that pcf is alot of work becoz the focus is on academic to prep for primary school? But was still surprised to hear about the 'exams' for K1.

Hahaa my kids like Tom & Jerry too and I let them watch at home for laughter, no educational value though.

Hi jasmine, my kids attend NTUC childcare. Is there any branch near your area? I like their program and teaching approach plus my kids' teachers are great. My friends' kids in other branches have good feedback too. But there is going to be fees increase next year....again. sigh.

jasmine,
ya...pcf very basic. but i like the teachers there. so currently supplementing his learning with enrichment.

hippo2002,
i think tom and jerry is very violent at times. luckily my ds1 not keen on this category of cartoons. he like Mr bean (cartoon), spongebob these type of cartoons.

jan,
i think teachers play a very impt part. i also especially like those centres that does not mind having their windows open for public to peep..it shows that they have nothing to hide. i think ntuc adopts such 'open' concept too.

Hi hippo2002, oh means each centre different 'supply' then. My kids' centre got halfday program leh thought same for all.

Jan

not sure whether different for other centres. There is only 1 fee structure, no half day fees even if the child comes in only in the morning during lesson time.

jh

Worst, they watched in a dark room with the TV screen flashing, very bad for the eyes.
And it's the same Tom & Jerry DVD every week, didn't even bother to change the cartoon

I email principal to feedback early this year but nothing changes.

oops, maybe that's where my younger dd learnt the violence from! She's the one terrorising the korkor, thought it's nature. No more T&j at home!

hi jan,

chai chee doesnt have ntuc childcare. since i am not working, i dun intend to send him to childcare lor, it will incur additional course. so i send him for enrichment classes.

hi hippo,
i spoke to you before on kumon. just manage to find 'this place'... took a while as i am very busy at home

Will join in the 'bedok mummies' thread

My son also likes to watch T&J. Sometimes he would laugh all of a sudden. He has lots of such CDs. He started to watch after child care played the CD while waiting for parents' pickup.

You know what, he started to whistle to those Indians who paint our exterior walls. I find it funny, where he learn from. He said from T&J. I guess in future he is going to use this to whistle to girls. Hahaha.

talking about kids imitating cartoon characters, my boy likes Mr Bean the animated series. whenever Mr Bean's girlfriend kiss him on the cheek, Mr Bean will wipe it off in disgust. Now my boy does that to me.

actually my kids also like mr bean, spongebob, T&J.....sometimes cant be helped, cos the moment u switch on that particular channel, hard to stop them from watching....

any mummies here allow yr kids to play handheld games? i.e. nintendo DS or psp?

fz,
my son also imitate mr bean and i told him "mr bean is very silly, dont be like him." i hope he listens.......

my kids hardly watch cartoons at home. The only programme 'allowed' is Hi-5 on central 12:30pm Mon-Fri

Don't like to let them watch TV. Become stone & affect concentration

When dd1 was in childcare, I told teachers to bring her to another corner to work on montessori tools whenever they switched on the TV

so far, no problems with TV. They don't learn funny things from any cartoon characters. That's why I didn't like PCF weekly TV time. If there's a need for TV time, I prefer something educational

Ocassionally, I will let them watch VCDs like pooh bears, Hi-5 or barney

Jasmine

oh, i recall now

found a kumon center for your child?

I think there is a Bethesa church near Chai Chee. Is there a kindergarten?

ssm,
no, we have not introduce handheld games yet. worry of myopia. last time when dh was younger, he was hooked too, so my ILs advised against introducing such at this moment.
we do buy 'educational' games for him to play on his lap top (our obsolete one) but he is not keen. occasionally i will log onto online games for him to play but he usually plays a while and then stops automatically (one reason is that he is not adventurous enuf to try the more challenging games and whenever he loses, he said it is not fun...:p)

hippo2002,
we only restrict no cartoons after 6pm. usually morning he will watch as he eat his breakfast...about an hour or so. and then lunch is another 45 min. his class occasional TV time is screening Mr Bean the show....guess cos it is non-violent and is quiet type of show (minimal dialogue).

caroline3sg,
wa..on your boy whistling...i would be worried that he may offend other kids.....