1 or 4 bedder at KKH

Marcia
I also hv backache when wk up and will get worse as day pass but mine more on the left lower back...

SY,
That was what I did - expressed out the milk for my girl. I am kiasu, this way I know how much she drinks each time. I expressed every 3 hours without fail to maintain the supply.

There are pros and cons of drinking from the bottle. Didn't want latch-on because I didn't plan to bf her for long. So it's better she gets used to the bottle, and not use me as a 'human pacifier' to sleep which happens if she latches on.

Hi Bulma,

I had backache often towards the third trimester for my 1st pregnancy. Had backache labour instead of tummyache labour. Whether it is front or back, it is still labour pain when giving birth.

marcia,
mine is on the right side though my bb is on the left. i have backache since 2nd trimester and it is really irritating now. last time it only hurts at night. now it starts in the morning and gets worse throught the day.

Janet,
did u establish your MS first before u started expressing or u expressed right from the start?

SY,

At TMC, the nurses are pro-bf. So they will insist new mothers let bb suckle even though the milk will only come in after 3rd day. But the colestrum (sp) is highly nutritious and full of antibodies. After I was discharged, I use the pump.

SY, Janet, Bulma,
Does it mean that my backache now is already labor pain? I'm at work and really can't do anything as it's very very painful.Maybe I should go to hospital to see my doctor.I hope I'm not in labor as I'm only 34+ weeks.
Will update you all when I come back

sy,
i only used their disposable panties when i was being wheeled out of the delivery ward. this is no choice cos the nurse will put it on for you.. tell u, with ur small pettie size like me, i m sure the panty will be super duper huge on you. when i wore it, its like going to dropped off anytime. there after, i used my own which is those normal disposable panties. NOT the maternity ones. frankly i also find those nursing bra n bra pad not of use cos firstly, milk will not be established so soon, so will have no leakage, secondly, usually u dun wear a bra with the kkh pink gown. well at least for me cos its so huge also and no one can notice.

Marcia,
how's the checkup?

edd2jan,
hmm, their disposable panties only one size one? then i will change out of it after i go back to my own room. think it will be so uncomfortable if it keeps feeling like it will drop anytime.

actually i also think nursing bra n pad may not be needed yet but since they dun take up much space, i will just bring along.

what else do u think i shd bring?

edd2jan
thk i will stil bring my own disposable panties in case theirs is really big.... i also prefer pads with wings so i will also bring my own.

SY
i also just put in nursing bra and pad since they dun tk up much space hehe

just now i vomit saw some blood in my vomit.. dunno ok or not....

bulma,
u still vomitting so badly? think u vomit too hard already. i remember i also vomitted some blood before but i think it was becos i vomitted too hard. better see a doc if u feel worried

SY
i email my gyn liao see wat he say... mayb i vomit too hard but not i wan lei... i sudddenly just keep vomiting when i open my mouth.. cant control... vomit those gastric juice - yellow yellow bitter bitter one.... so xin ku

eeeks, i know what u mean. i always vomit the yellow bitter juice out last time.

hang in there. going to give birth soon liao...

H Ladies,
It's good that I rushed to KKH yesterday.They hook me up to CTG machine to monitor baby heartbeat but what they saw is that I'm having contractions every 10 mins! and I didn't even feel anything. The doc said baby hasn't engaged yet and I'm not dilated yet, but dunno why I got spotting last night. I was really really scared and cried and cried last night in the hosp. bec I know my baby is still premature. But my doc is good, he gave me 2 dosage of injection (very very painful) that will help to mature the lungs of my baby, also gave me tablets to stop contractions.Doc said If I feel severe pain below my tummy and have continuous bleeding, go back to KKH(I'm at home now). This time, they will not stop the labor as they had already given me medicine to prepare the baby. But again, I'm scared, as they told me that baby still can be admitted to NICU. I'm advised to bedrest until week37. So for those of you who feels something unusual, pls go and see ur doc immediately.I didn't expect this to happen but somehow it happens. I really hope I can last until week37. I'm crying again..huhuhu

SY
ya stil hanging on lor ... really xin ku... vomit whole pregnancy meh

Marcia
hugz*** dn cry.... sayang.....

i also asked to start rest nx wk lei but i dun thk i can cos i hvnt handover and teach my covering staff yet.. she coming only nx mon

Marcia,
did you have any symptoms to know that you having such regular contractions? i have backpain very often but thought it's just normal.

yah sometimes we can have contractions without knowing. did u tell your doc u got spotting?

dun cry dun cry. baby will feel sad too. my fren had her bb early too and the doc also gave injections to mature her bb's lungs. her bb is now so healthy and cute.

SY,
I didn't feel any contractions at all, all I feel is upper back pain.I suggest u inform ur doc so he can advise u what to do. Yes, i told the doc I hv spotting but he said it's normal bec they did the vaginal check, but if i got bleeding and water bag breaks then I need to rush to hosp.
I think I'm just scared that my baby will be born premature. My HB always console me and I really appreciate all ur advise.

Marcia,

Try to lie in bed this week & not get off unless necessary. My gf was advised total bedrest for the last 3 months of her pregnancy as she was spotting often.

Marcia,
i see. tmr i m seeing gynae so will see what he says. feel that bb is lower.

dun worry too much. as your doc has given u the injections and ordered bed rest, think your bb may not come out so soon.

SY
how to fl bb is lower? i dunno how to fl lei... do u fl bit stingling pain at yr V there? i started flg that 2 days ago...

Marcia
u hv more rest and reduce moving ard.

Yes you are all right, i should not move around, as whenever I stand I feel the tightheing around my stomach. It's my 1st time to feel this,so I think I should be ready anytime.

Bulma,
i think my stomach looks lower and one night, i suddenly got a feeling like my bottom relaxed. dunno whether is it my imagination....

Marcia
I always fl tummy tightening whenever i stand/walk lei... tummy will bcom hard hard... sometime sit also will

SY
i dunno how to see but also dunno izzit my imagination or wat i also fl my tummy looks lower hehe

recently i hv been having soft stool liao

SY,

Towards the 38th week, there might be a chance of mild diarrhoea. Anyway, after the 37th week, it's a matter of time before the BIG day approaches. So, hang on ladies. You're going to be a MUMMY soon !!!

bulma,
i get soft stool sometimes too. think it's getting nearer for me too!

i went for my checkup yesterday and gynae say i have regular contractions but cervix not open yet so he won't be letting me give birth yet. so will wait for my next visit...

SY,

Your visits to the gynae are weekly now ? In any case, you will be spending CNY in confinement. Not a bad idea actually.
Next year when you have to bring bb to visit relatives during CNY, bb will be 1.

Janet,
yah, think this year will spend CNY in confinement. pros and cons.

yup, visits are weekly now. think he was a bit concerned when he saw that my contractions are quite close. but i dun feel anything yet. just some cramps once in a while.

SY,

Looks like yr pain threshold not bad huh ? Contractions are close and yet you don't feel anything. If that's the case, try to do without the epidural. Use the gas mask if it gets too painful. No matter how safe gynaes say the epidural are, it is still matter to go without it, if possible.

SY
huh u hv crampy pain contraction liao ah? means yr big day is coming liao hehe sekali also 20 jan, rmbr sms me hehe

i sometime also fl bit crampy pain but not v pain that type....

SY,

You mentioned yr EDD is 29 Jan right ? That is the 1st day of CNY. If you have regular contractions now, don't think you can hold on until that date. So, it will be anytime from next week onwards ? Checked your hospital bag already ? Maternity pads, toiletries, impt documents are packed inside ?

sy,
ur situation is almost the same as me. gynae said i have regular contraction on 27 dec which i also dun feel a thing and on 28 dec, Javier popped. but on 27 dec, i walked alot cos it was my 2nd wedding anniversary. not sure if that play a part also. so be careful these few days or weeks.
meantime, enjoy the moment now cos after delivery, u can NEVER have such peaceful rest and time of ur own. at least not for a short period of time.

Janet,
my pain threshold not bad? hee, when he did the VE, i thought that was painful!
but my cervix not open yet so he say can still wait.

my bag is pretty packed already. haven put in my ROM cert though. think at my next visit i will put my bag in the car as well.

i kind of hope bb can come out after 14th...

bulma,
i feel some cramps on and off but when he did the CTG, i din feel anything....

edd2jan,
when u said you had regular contractions, is your cervix dilated? mine is not so maybe not so fast.

yah i always tell hb this is our most peaceful time. once bb comes out, our peace is gone...

I want to share this with u and let me know what you think.

I was admitted in KKH for 1 day due to threatened pre-term labor last Wed. I posted my story here. My doc gave me hospitalization leave from 4-Jan to 1-Feb. My maternity leave(ML) that I applied starts from 1-Feb until 28-March. I applied my ML in Dec last year.

But just now my company nurse told me they have to cutdown my hosp leave.Meaning , my ML will start on 18-Jan and I have to go back to work on 15-Mar. I was so angry. Here I am trying very hard to follow my doc's advise to rest to help my baby mature his lungs but on the other hand, my company wants me to go back to work early. When I questioned my nurse on this policy, she said it's the singapore law.

So, I asked her again, if my doc gives me hosp leave after 15-Mar to rest for another 2 weeks, will the company approve, she said it depends.

I was really really disappointed bec. I might be on c-section, so if I give birth on week 38(week of CNY) then it means my confinement is only 4 weeks. C-section needs to have at least 6 weeks confinement right? They also don't allow me to take unpaid leave.

I'm so stressed, I'm crying and I feel my tummy so hard. I'm so so disappointed. Pls advise me. I need to relax but I can't keep it off my mind.

The only way to prolong my ML is to work this wed for at least 1 week, should I work while I'm spotting?

Marcia,

If you are spotting, no gynae will let you work. I didn't know confinement is longer for C-section. Don't get worked up or you will go into early labour.

marcia,
it sounds very unfair. did u check MOM website or HR policy? i never heard of such things before....

how many days of hospitalization leave does your company allow? maybe it depends on that as well?

Janet,
i hope my bb will sleep well....my fren's bb sleeps very well so at least can get some rest

SY,
My girl drinks ebm from the bottle every 3 hours for 6 months. She slept very well because she is full. From the time she was 4 mths old, she slept through the night.

janet,
that's really good. but i thought bb who drink BM digest faster and will need to feed more often? but does that mean u have to get up to pump at night in order to maintain MS?

SY,
BM is very easily digested. I'm fortunate to have sufficient bm for her every session. So, she drinks the entire bottle every time. So even when she sleeps, I still have to express every 3 hours to maintain the supply. Every 3 hours, 8x a day.

janet,
i can see the hardwork that u put in to BF her! did u take any supplements or anything special to ensure good supply?

SY,

I wanted to give up many, many times esp when we had to rush home every 3 hours just so for me to express. It was really crazy those months. But when I saw how much she enjoyed the bm, I just couldn't bear to deprive her of it.

I drank a lot of soup made with threadfin fish. The bm is also very thick and creamy, just like the soup. My girl could go on and on.

janet,
thanks for the advice. will make sure i drink more soup with threadfin fish. it's the one with the papaya right?

SY,

I didn't drink with papaya. My mum cooked the threadfin fish bones with little ginger to rid the fishy smell and bacteria.

marcia
why yr coy like dat? mayb u call MOM to check if yr coy can do dat to u? i never heard of such things b4. u know feb thread got a ah may, she on hospitalisation leave from 1 Jan til all the way she give birth which could be end Jan or in feb then she start her ML lei...

u dun cry *hugz* dun stress.... else will affect bb... spotting stil work will cause preterm labor and also may affect bb which is no good

Marcia,

I don't think any gynae will allow you to work when spotting. He has already given you medication to delay delivery. You have to try and rest in bed as much as possible. Ask MOM for advice.

Thanks for the advise, will call MOM early morning tomorrow.

BTW, is it true that we must drink coconut water to help make the baby clean? I'm always having heartburn and stomach pain,is it good for me? it's cooling right? Now that I'm in the situation that can give birth premature, is it good or no good?

Marcia,

I didn't dare to drink it as it is cooling. In your case of threatened premature birth, my personal opinion is to avoid it.

marcia, i hv been drinking coconut lk 1-2x a week hehe so yummy =p i heard is for cleaner birth of bb lor

how's yr checking with MOM?