SY
txs.. do keep me inform hehe when u see edd2jan's birth story

o ya how's yr maid doin? ok?

Janet
my BH is daytime one

Bulma/SY

Happy New Year. All the best in 2006.

Bulma,
Enjoy yourself b4 bb comes. Trust me, those days of freedom are over when bb is here.

foreverfriends,
i will say i have an ultra short labour, reached kkh at ard 1030am and gave birth to Javier at 1104 liao.. think i ren too much at home liao cos at home, my contraction is already up to stage where it is abt 3 mins interval and i already have the urge to push. the journey there is also really unbearable.. and once there, already 8cm dilated liao.. so just push and deliver. more to come in jan 06 thread.

edd
Wow 30 min labor! Shortest dat I heard of. Can go for no 2, 3,.....

Hv a gd rest n happy 2006

EDD2Jan,
Were you watching an interesting show at home that you didn't realise contractions had started ? The journey to the hospital must have been hellish.

bulma,
did u read eed2jan's birth story? really short labor!

edd2jan,
did you walk a lot before giving birth?

maid so far not too bad but think she's not too detailed. sometimes i still find dust and hair on the floor. she drops hair quite easily. dunno whether is it her eyesight.

happy new year to all mummies!!

SY,

My maid is not very detailed also. Sometimes I close one eye, but if really cannot tahan, then will let her know which place needs MORE attention.

edd2jan
hows your stay @ KKH? you took up 1 or 4 bedder? how much is your bill, but think should not be much coz your labour is real short =p
do keep us posted once you are more settle down with your bb. take care!

SY
ya i read edd2jan's birth story.. really envy lei so short labor and v interesting. she really can "Ren" haha

my fren engaged a maid to help her .. end up she sack the maid within 2 months haha she say the maid is not detailed and bit lazy. so she sack her after her confinement is over hehe

happy new year to all mummies too =)

Hi edd2jan,
what preparations did you do to have such a short labor? I salute to you, you can tahan the pain that long.

I'm not feeling well these past few days, it's like I'm carrying a heavy sack whenever I stand or walk. But at the same time I also can't sit too long. If I lie down, I have difficulty breathing. I feel lethargic almost the whole day.
Do you have the same feelings? I will only visit my doc in 2 weeks time, but it will be good if i hear some tips from you. Thanks and happy new year

actually i din do any preparations to have a short labour. i think in our Jan 06 MTB thread, there are a few mums also have short labour. think we are just stubborn and din believe we are in labour and until last min no choice so cannot use epi so just ren and push all the way. hmm think the breathing ex from the antenatal class does help abit. rem 'pant pant blow'

rachel,
my stay at kkh was short also. been warded ard 1+pm on 28 dec (date of javier delivery) and discharge the next day ard 1+/2 after the lunch. i took the 4 bedded ward (B1) and HB stayed until ard 2+am before a 'nasty' nurse came with my Javier for breast feed and said he cant stay over. but other nurses just close one eye tho. anyway i find that he is v uncomfortable sitting on the armchair trying to sleep so i ask him to go also. as for bill, not known yet as they will send to us later.. but heard might have a rebate from the $1100 deposit cos short stay only.

i think for me giving birth is ok BUT the taking part is worst. this make me rethink of wanting another bb.

Hi Marcia,

I did feel very lethargic towards the 37th week of my pregnancy too. Can't walk too long as the baby was resting on my bladder and feeling just like you now, carrying a heavy sack. When you lie down, rest on your left & not on the back as it interferes with the breathing. Also try to put a pillow or cushion between your legs.

edd2jan,
You just delivered your 1st baby. I don't think it's a good idea to think of Number 2 yet. I was just joking with you earlier. The first 2 years are the toughest with night feeds, jabs, feeding and change in lifestyle. Enjoy your new role as mummy now, but don't forget about daddy.

Happy New Year pregnant and new mummies.

edd
Kowtow to u. Your threashold for pain is high. U can tong n took breakfast when your contraction is 5 min apart, waited for hubby to park car n walked to labor ward. When my contraction wz 5 min apart, I wz getting ready to go KKH. Upon reaching KKH, my hubby juz stopped n left his car @ drop off pt n wheeled me to labor ward.

Do u stay near KKH? I presumed there wz no traffic jam

Marcia
i also lk u fl lethargic and carry heavy sack since last wk (wk 35).. so tiring... but stil gotto "tong" and come bk to work. i m seeing gyn weekly alr.

like wat janet say, dun lie on yr back as it affects breathing and also blood flow.

edd2jan
i also kowtow to u... yr threshold for pain is really highhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh meh.... mine v low. i mens cramp, i alr tears will roll down. even stubborn poo poo tummy pain also can bring me crying haha dunno how i will cope when i in labor pain =p epidural is a must meh

how r u coping now w javier? is javier on TBF?

Bulma,
My pain threshold also very low. Menstrual cramps can still tahan, with Panadol. But labour pain cannot don't have epidural. My gf gave birth to 3 kids WITHOUT epidural. I really salute her !!!

edd2jan,
How's your Javier ? Weather is very cold of late. Take good care of yourself and make sure you keep warm

Janet
thk we jialak ah hehe no epi dunno how to go thru meh i also kowtow to those mummies who went thru without epi.

janet,
sometimes i can understand if maids are not detailed all the time cos even me myself is not. but hb quite particular abt cleanliness and he makes me feel stressed if i dun tell the maid to make sure the floor is clean.

these few days feel so man zhang and lethargic. dun feel like coming back to work!

SY,
B4 my maid came, we were clean. I am particular with cleanliness and hygiene in the house. But cannot have too high expectations because a maid is also human and there is a lot of nitty gritty work in the flat to do. As long as the floor does not have too much dust/hair and not sticky, I am ok. I think you have to tell your hubby that the maid only has 2 hands and with a newborn around, she will be VERY busy.

SY
i also fl man zhang and lethargic then also v emotional.. abit will cry lei... also everyday dun fl lk coming to work.. fl lk asking my gyn give me hospitalisation leave til my ML hehe but dun thk they will give one hor...

i tis pm got gyn appt again....

Hi SY and Bulma,
I also feel the same. I'm very emotional, moody and feel lethargic most of the day. Last night, I feel some contractions and I panic. My doc told me to take some panadol to take away the pain but if doesn't go away, go straight to hospital. I'm very scared as I'm only 34+ weeks.Good thing after Panadol, pain went away. Now I'm back to work but taking it very easy.
My baby weighs 2.5kg at 34weeks.My next visit is after 2 weeks.Really scared...

janet,
for now, becos she's quite free and still new to my household, i dun want to be too lax with her. so probably when bb comes, then i will let things pass. one hting i cna't stand is sticky floor....

bulma,
i also keep crying for no reason too!! hb tries his best nowadays to give me hugs to comfort me but sometimes it doesn't help.

u seeing gyn today again? must be quite excited. me seeing him this sat.

marcia,
how come take panadol? i tot shd be quite normal to feel some contractions?

my bb is 2kg at 34 weeks. hope he is abt 2.3-2.4kg this week (36 weeks already).

janet,
for now, becos she's quite free and still new to my household, i dun want to be too lax with her. so probably when bb comes, then i will let things pass. one hting i cna't stand is sticky floor....

bulma,
i also keep crying for no reason too!! hb tries his best nowadays to give me hugs to comfort me but sometimes it doesn't help.

u seeing gyn today again? must be quite excited. me seeing him this sat.

marcia,
how come take panadol? i tot shd be quite normal to feel some contractions?

my bb is 2kg at 34 weeks. hope he is abt 2.3-2.4kg this week (36 weeks already).

Hi Marcia,

Take it easy. As for pain killers, try to abstain from medication as much as possible. I remembered how I had flu bug and was given antibiotics which is safe for pregnancy, asked the doctor so many times whether it is VERY VERY VERY SAFE.

Marcia
how come tk panadol one? since i preggy, i stop taking medi other than those vitamins. when i had flu and fever, i drunk myself w water but simply refuse to eat panadol or flu tablets...

u 34+ week means yr edd is also feb lk me? u no join the feb 2006 forum thread ah hehe the gals there quite funi sometime. we share a lot. my gyn's visit alr started weekly since last wk lei

my bb was 2.65kg at wk 35 last wk... so today shd be almost 3kg liao i thk... they grow v fast lk dat

SY
ya hb give me hugs also no use one hehe

ya excited to see bb again... but nx wk will skip 1 wk no see him cos nx tues is a PH... my gyn only see patient at TPS on tues lei.. sianzzz

will update u all after my gyn's visit hehe

Bulma,
You are at week 36 now. After bb reaches 3rd trimester, some grow exceptionally fast while others slow down like mine.

Bulma,
Since she is growing well, good lah. Don't worry too much lah. You can't tell bb to slow down.

SY,
We want to treat the maids as humane as possible, but don't spoil them. If there is something she is not right, correct her nicely. Don't keep quiet and accept it or she won't be happy when you correct her down the road.

edd2jan
ic... confirm your bill will be having rebate since your stay is short. me oso took the 4 bedder, thnking my hb wont be comfortable sleeping on the armchair too.
for now dun think abt 2nd child lah, let your body recover fast and Javier is now your full attention. yah not forgetting your hubby too =)

janet,
thanks. hope i m doing it the right way. a lot of things still trial and error. i usually tell her what's wrong and when she say sorry i just tell her ok. nothing serious enough to make me angry so far.

rachel, edd2jan,
u mean if stay is short, there will be rebate? i din know abt such thing...

Hi SY and Janet,
My doc told me it's safe to take Panadol for the pain. So far, this is my first time to take panadol since 2nd trimester. My contraction is not at the lower abdomen, it's the upper part. So doc said it can't be the labor contractions, that's why he gave me Panadol.

Hi Bulma,
I join the Feb06 MTB thread, ur right they are funny. My EDD is 10-Feb and I'm delivering my baby in KKH. But since I'm having this pain in the upper abdomen, my doc said it's just a matter of time that it will go lower. So wait and c...

marcia,
panadol shd be ok. i just thought it weird if u take it for contractions. so your pain is at the upper part? is it heartburn?

No, it's not hurtburn, it's more like gastric pain,like when u skip meal and u feel very very hungry then later the pain comes.I cannot tahan the pain as I feel like vomiting. I hope it will be over soon.

i bk fr gyn. bb 2.9kg at wk 36 hehe gigantic bb. bb is healthy and strong accordingly to gyn.

gyn say if bb not out by 18 jan, ask me chose a date to induce else bb may b too big for me and also he wanna help me end my vomiting suffering earlier. he say at wk 38, bb will be mature enuf so if i wanna induce, can induce.

marcia
u in feb thread ah.. hehe lk seldom see u post =p pai say.... we also msn lei if u wanna join in the msn, u gv me yr email, i add u in then u can join our msn hehe

marcia,
sometimes i get gastric pain also but i just take my antacids. it helps as well. my gynae never say take panadol. it will be over soon

bulma,
your bb is big!! if only can share some with my bb...
i m hoping my bb can reach abt 2.8kg max at birth.

u have MSN or Yahoo MSN? my office can't use MSN but can use Yahoo

SY
my office i can only use MSn.. cannot use Yahoo lei too bad

big hor my bb.... i also wanna share w u haha but too bad cant...

i still think the delivery of javier is ok compared to taking care of him. come to think abt it again i think right now i feel more painful cos i have a longer way to go...

bulma,
i tried to go on TBF but its really not easy cos Javier is always crying for more milk. after i direct fed him, he can only sleep for like one 0r 2 hrs max 3 hrs so it really tiring to feed him sometimes esp at night.

sy,
yes i did hear may have rebate if they din need to use the full $1100 so i will wait for my bill and see. will update u guys.

just to let you know. KKH does provide 2 x 10pcs maternity pads and 7 pcs disposable panties. and their pad are no longer tie string ones but no wings. after delivery, they will let you wear that but at ur ward, they will give u 2 pks as mentioned above. i din use theirs at all cos i think i prefer mine with wings.

SY,
Having a maid is to give us more time to bond with the family. Of course my hubby & I try to help her too since she only has 1 pair of hands. Now that my girl is bigger, it's a little easier than before. The impt thing is your hubby cannot expect too much from the maid.

edd2jan,
jia you! dun be too stressed on the BF part. my fren always tell me better to have a little BM than none. so supplement with FM if needed

so u used their disposable panties but not their pads? i wd prefer those with wings also.

janet,
yah i try to manage his expectations now and then. i really appreciate the fact that we dont have to do a lot of things ourselves now. really got much more time to spend with each other.

SY,

My hubby doesn't get involved in domestic affairs. I would like to keep it this way, so that the maid is afraid of him.

janet,
my hb doesn't get involved too in the sense that i will be the one to tell her things. sometimes when he see something not clean, he will tell me.

SY
My coy block yahoo lei but din manage to block msn.

edd2jan
mayb bb didnt had enuf, dat's why so fast waking up for milk. my SIL initially also like dat when she totally let bb latch on. she cried and v stressed cos she feel so tiring every hr gotto latch bb. then my MIL ask her to express out the BM and feed w bottle so dat u can gauge how much milk bb drank. And it works for her.... ever since she expressed out and ensure bb drink sufficiently b4 gg bk to sleep, bb can tahan 3-4hrs

Bulma/edd2jan,
My girl drank only expressed milk for 10 months. Nature is wonderful, I always managed to express out the right amt for her every 3 hours. After that, she would sleep well and won't cry for milk. This way, the new mother also gets to rest instead of feeding all the time.

Janet,
is it better to express out so that we can gauge how much bb drinks? i tot direct latching encourages MS.

Bulma,
My company blocked both MSN and Yahoo, so I cannot join you all there.
Anyway, I always try to go to this thread and read all the interesting stories.
Anyway, I have a very bad backache when I woke up this morning. It's so painful makes me wanna cry. Anyone of you has any advise?