1 or 4 bedder at KKH

Hello SY,
nice to meet you here too!

oh is it? i din know that but when placenta matures, what does that mean? is it true like what my gynae said that i might deliver early? cos i hope bb can stay in longer to reach a better wt say 2.8kg and above?

edd2jan,
maybe u want to surf the net for more info?
the pregnancy book i have says that placenta will mature at 34 weeks and our blood volume which has been increasing all these while will be constant. sounds like something that is natural.

my gynae also target my bb weight to b 2.8kg. i hope he can reach target. 5 more weeks...

KKH's provides gown which is v gd for breastfeeding.

U get a pac of string pad, a bag of toiletries, a bag of cotton ball

BB gets a pac of pampers n a bottle of wipe

Most impt thing to bring is IC n admission letter n a jacket for hubby in the delivery suite. The rest u can ask your hubby to bring for u later

bulma,
yup.
now that the Big day is coming, feel so nervous yet excited....

foreverfriends,
thanks for the list! do they charge for all these items actually? what is the cotton ball for?

SY
Everything KKH provides is chargable into your package. Whether u use it or not, u paid for it already. If u ask for extra, they chrg on top of your package
I use cotton balls to clean bb back @ home

Foreverfriends,
so it is just part of the package....thanks!

Janet,
yup i already packed in my own maternity pads. definitely dun want to ge another packet from them!

SY, try to bring your personal stuff as KK will charge for extra things you use. Anyway, adhesive pads are more comfortable. Bring disposable undies so that you can change if it is stained.

Janet,
Personal stuff as in toiletries? I m packing my own toiletris, disposable undies, maternity pads. think maybe shall pack in some tissue packets as well. what other things will you suggest?

Janet,
i have packed in the PJ, socks already. haven put in the jacket cos want to bring the one i have in office back.

haven't packed my clothes for discharge yet. i dun have dresses so prob got to get a skirt though i think dress is more convenient to wear.

like to check when are we going to sign the package har? Yesterday went for my checkup but they didnt tell me anything abt teh package lei. ANd my next visit will be in my wks 36 liao.

Hi edd2jan,
your baby quite small hor. Yesterday i was in my wks 33 and 1 day my gynae estimated my baby weight at 2.4kg lei. Dunno hor accurate hor.

Janet
i tot KKH provide that maternity gown to wear, why nd to pack PJ? that gown can open to breast feed one mah

jappooh
i sign liao last tues (wk 33)

Jappooh,
thought they would have mention your package to you? When i went at 33 weeks, they already mention to me. tmr will be signing with them when i go.

your bb very big. mine is only abt 1.5-1.7kg at 33 weeks.

finally packed my bag for the BIG day! only left a few items like bb hat n towel...
bag vy BIG =p... like to check w u ladies, im bring a two pc PJ n a gown. for the PJ the bottom is a pant but thinking will it be troublesome for the nurse or gynae to check on me if im wearing a pant??

Foreverfriends,
Thanks for the list. So is that all tat KKH will provide? I know there are phone beside every bed for B1, are they chargeable as well?

Janet,
Yes, like what Bulma said, since KKH provide the gown, why do we still need the pj? can we just use what they provide? and even if we bring our own, will they allow us to use our own?

Jappooh,
Yes, my bb indeed is slightly on the smaller side. Today went for my chk up at 38 wks and bb is only ard 2.4-2.5kg when urs is already at 2.4kg at wks 33.. guess urs is either avg or on the bigger side ba.. anyway m glad that gynae said bb CTG scan is doing v good and maybe becos my HB and I are also on a smaller scale.. so bb also smaller..

SY,
Ur bb is same as me. He is also ard 1.7kg at 33 weeks.. i think so long as gynae said bb is doing fine, we shld think positive. but still i m hoping bb will grow to abt 2.8 and abve upon delivery. will see gynae again nxt tue to monitor bb CTG and hopefully bb increase more wt.

edd2jan
my bb also 2.25kg at wk 33 liao lei and me and hb also are on smaller scale..dunno why bb so big

Bulma,
I think so long as gynae said bb is healthy and doing well, we shld not worry too much. if not it might effect bb growth also. so how many weeks are you now? bb still growing at a steady rate or faster?

Hi Bulma and SY,
i called KKH to check they say that yesterday they called for me but i didnt reply think i go back liao.. Anyway decide to take teh A1 package will be paying during my next visit which is in my wks 36.

Ya i also think my baby quite good lei. Will check with my gynae during next visit.

Edd2jan/Bulma,
how to consider samller scale. I am abt 1.61m and weigh 53kg before pregnant and hubby abt 1.68m and 60kg so consider big scale or small??

Jappooh,
i m only 1.55m and weigh abt 42kg b4 preg and HB abt 1.7m and gyane said base don both of our side, bb might be also small.

Jappooh,
i m edd2jan's size but even smaller! 1.54m and abt 40kg before preg. HB abt 1.75m but very skinny. gynae also say bb like me, small size. target weight at birth is 2.8kg.

Hi SY, I remember my bb was 2.6kg at 38 weeks and the gynae was hoping she can reach 2.8kg. However, she stayed at that until delivery.

SY
KKH provides a box of tissue

Rachel
Dun bring pants PJ. U only stay 1 night (unless c-sec), dun need 2 sets of PJ

edd
Local call not chargable
KKH allows u to wear your own clothes. I brot but din wear my own coz their gown is designed for breastfeeding.

SY, edd
bb as long healthy is gd. No proof dat small bb is no gd. Gd thing abt small bb easy to carry when breatfeeding. Mummy's hands not tired. Easier to deliver oso

edd2jan
I am now wk 34. My next visit to gyn is next tues.

Jappooh
I also tk the A1 package. My hb is 1.66m weigh 53kg and i m only 1.5m weigh 52kg (pre-preg). so we are both small scale one hehe but dunno why bb so big... dat's why at one period of time i so worried is diabetics but luckily the GD test turn out ok lei

Janet,
if bb doesn't increase weight towards the end, will gynae want to induce? i thought their weight always increase more at the end...

foreverfriends,
i thought pple say bigger babies easier to care for... but the good thing is easy to deliver. i m quite small size so big baby really difficult for me to carry and deliver. good thing is bb is very active everyday. as long as he's active, i think that's good enough.

bulma
i m going visit today. so excited. haven't seen bb for some time and miss him...

getting a mixture of feelings. starting to feel anxious, nervous, excited and easily irritated. so scared that i miss out things or dun recognise symptoms. told my hb but feel that he doesn't fully understand what i mean. is it normal to feel stressed when bb is coming?

SY, as long as the bb is healthy and not in distress, gynae will not induce until 40 weeks. After the bb is born, drinks well, bb will put on weight.

Thanks Foreverfriends
for the info on free local calls. So do their gowns got sizes? seen some mummies walking ard and the gown sure look huge.. i bet if they are free size, i will defnitely look v ugly in them

Janet,
If until wk 40 and bb is still active and water enough etc etc, will gyane still induce just becos bb had reach the EDD?

forever friend
oh... yah hor. will onyl stay 1 nite... will take out my set of pant PJ den. reduce the wt of my bag too =) thx

are your bags huge? i planning to use quite a small bag. those normal golf bag kind...

Janet,
so bb need not be induced even if not putting on weight. cos i have heard of some who say gynae will induce bb if bb not gaining weight so that after they come out, when u feed them they will start to gain weight.

SY
here is a pix of my hospital bag hehe

I also keep got mix flgs nowadays and v termperamental lk dat =p

Re : PJ
i didnt bring any PJ sinc their gown is for BF type... it's only 1 size lei... that time i hospitalise then i wear hehe look so cartoon lor =p
349619.jpg

SY
u hv not pack??? mine is a medium size backpack but looks vy fat one. plus another medium size paper bag =p seems like im bring lots of thing like tat.... think got to find something to remove fr bag liao..... bb diaper im bring 7pcs... too much or too little???

SY
my bag not full yet lei... stil got space to put thing inside lei

ya i at home, today half day hehe but working at home lah

Rachel
why nd to br bb diaper? KKH provide mah

rachel,
hee, i have been lazy i know..
so really need to pack when i m on leave next week...

dun think i will bring diapers to KK. too many things to bring in that case.

think all of you are already very good. I m in my 38 weeks liao and yet, i have not fully packed my bag.. only managed to write down the list but lazy to pack the things in. Think really must get it done this weekend. Anyway i be starting my maternity leave nxt week too. so 2 more days to work and then i can wait for bb to arrive liao.

Bulma
Did u eat a lot of durian or tonic. They make bb big

edd
I dunno the gown got size or not coz nurse din ask for size. Juz gave me a gown to change b4 put me on delivery bed

Sy
Ya many ppl said big bb easy to take care. Easy in wat way? It's juz old wife tale

Rachel, SY
U dun need to bring diaper. KKH provides a pac

Foreverfriends
i didnt eat durian nor any tonic (other than bird nest) throughout my pregnancy lei cos i got bad MS. even till now also still vomiting.

edd2jan,
u can pack your bag when on leave. still got time
but really need to get it done liao.

foreverfriends,
hmmm, i guess pple say big bb easier to handle? easier to carry etc?

EDD2Jan,
Think u better pack your bag ASAP, usually baby dont respect the EDD. They will pop anytime without inform u and give u a suprise.

My little gal pop on 38 weeks and really suprised us cos I haven't handover my work to my colleague.

i am havent pack my bag yet. Hope i will give birth early cos i havent finish my course yet. Still have quite a no of assignment on hand.

I also havent hand over my work.

Hope my boy follow the EDD..

SY,
Yeah i will try to get it done by this weekend. No matter how lazy i m..

Nico,
i know i should have packed it long ago but somehow, i m just lazy to pack all the stuff in like those toiletries and go home clothes etc.. still cannot decide what to wear when going home too.

foreverfriends,
ok think even if big size also have to wear unless really too big until it drops off.. hehe but we can still wear our own clothes right?

edd2jan,
yeah, me too. hope can pack next week after washing all the things. it has been really rainy though....

janet,
yup i agree,
as long as bb is healthy, the size comes second...
size doesn't mean that organs more developed etc right?

SY,

As long as the bb is healthy, size is not an issue. Try to eat a proper diet and more home-cooked meals. When a bb eats well and is healthy, it is easier to take care and everyday passes faster.

Bulma
Does it run in your family to hv big bb?
How many mths r u now still vomitting. Poor gal

SY
Not true dat big bb easy to carry. All bb r soft n fragile coz bone still soft

edd
Bet the nuse won't give u 1 dat drop off. Ya u can wear your own clothes. But KKH's gown is specially designed for bf.

Those in wk36 shld hv hospital bag packed by now. Having said most impt thing to bring ic, admission letter n jacket for hubby. The rest can ask hubby to bring later when u need them. BTW gotta weat KKH gown when giving birth in the delivery suite