1 or 4 bedder at KKH

Some tips to share wat need to bring and prepare~~
1. chicken of essence (drink before and after labour).
2. camera & video camera
3. disponsible underwear
4. Socks to keep feets warm cos very cool at night
5. A maternity clothes for discharge cos still cannot fit to the normal clothes after gave birth.
6. Sweater for myself and hubby cos very cool inside the delivery suite and ward.
7. clothes for babies included mittens, socks and blanket
8. Hubby and my IC, marriage cert for registering bb birth cert.
9. Lip palm cos our lip will feel very dry inside the ward.
10. Facial absorbent paper for oily face.
11. medicated oil incase hubby faint after see the blood..hahaha! (Just kidding)..actually for ourself incase we not feeling well after gave birth.
12.Flask of date tea for after delivery. (But if u take water, hopital hv flask of hot water)

Just some tips for u, Hospital provided maternity pads that uses strings to tie, u can ignore the tie, just put the pad on the underwear will do, no need make urself so confuse.

Better wear sandals cos after delivery not comfortable and pain to bend down if u need to wearing those cover feets shoe.

Ohya, remember bring along the admission letters, IC, booklets too.

** Remove all ur jewellery a couple days before ur EDD to avoid messup as u will be asked to remove them in the delivery suite anyway. ^_^

KK provided the toiletries like comb, toothpaste, toothbrush, face towel, shampoo...
(So need not to bring)

For baby, KK give diapers, wet tissue...cant recall the rest..

Janet,
i hope i can tahan without epidural but of cos will keep that as an option. as long as delivery process can be short, i m happy already.

daughter in law,
thanks for sharing what you r packing. i dun want to overpack as well cos i can imagine will have quite some things to bring home.

when u r discharged, usually is it just you and your hb going back together or usually better to have parents or PIL with u?

SY, just hope and pray for easy delivery. Keep your options open.

On the day of discharge, my husband was the one who carried everything to the car, signed discharge document and drove the car up. I just carried the bb to the car.

I'm also a KKH patient. Had to sign myself up for TPS because the waiting times and the service in the normal clinics were terrible (the first appointment almost made me cry). Dr was good though so I decided to stay with KKH, and oso my company would only co-pay for antenatal services in SingHealth. Thought of using SGH, however, my colleagues said SGH does not have sufficient paeds resources in the case of emergencies.
I too am worried about the cost of using KKH for delivery, as well as the poorer quality service than the other private hosp(don't know if that is true - so far, KKH hasn't impressed me!) However, like what was said before, it IS a one-stop shop and assured they can handle complications. I know for sure that KKH is BF friendly and provide better post-natal BF support than the other hospitals. Hiyah, at the end of the day, what matters is that they give us the appropriate treatment and the care is not compromised. (They should be more clear in their financial counselling though!!!! I oso don't know whether to choose B1 or A1.)

BTW, does anybody know if bb stays at mother's bedside in KKH? when do bb actually stay in the nursery?

Hi Rachel and SY

Good to see you both in this thread too.

Rachel

I'll most probably take up A1 package, since part of our cill will be subsidized as hubby is in Civil Service. Think up to 45% subsidy. My entitlement under his CSC is B1 and above.

I have yet to utilize the $450 from medisave for any of the antenatal package, so that will be deducted from the delivery charges.

SY
Which package will you be opting for?

MamaChan,
I am opting for A1 package cos will wan HB to stay over. Good that you have the subsidy. Think it really helps a lot!

I haven't use the medisave for antenatal as well. So can use for the delivery charges.

Janet/Daughter in law
i dunno whether i will have a kampong with me. But sure got a lot of things to carry home and our car is quite small. Hopefully no kampong with me so that i can just straight home to rest! If my parents come, at least they can drive themselves so not too bad. but if hb's parents come, i dunno where they are going to squeeze....

saw the number of things KKH will provide for us... so does it means tat the materity pad n bb diaper is free for us to use @ no addition charge??

oh yes, how abt FM? will KKH give us a free tin to take home. coz fr wat my other frens who deliver @ TMC they were given a few tins of FM. like free samples like tat. so wondering does KKH practice tat too. the last time i ask the nurse abt how they going to feed my bb if i not enough breast milk during the hospital stay n she say all FM are pack nicely in individual packet so the nurse jus need to warm the packet n broke the seal n feed the bb.

Hi MaMaChan,
your hubby from SAF? I hubby also from SAF but we didnt have subsidy lei cos i am a civil servant also and have already use up my $350 medical claim liao.

Like to check with you any idea on how to use the flexi pt that your hubby have to claim teh hospitial bill?

I will be due on early feb mostly will take up the A1 package cos hubby wanted to stay over.

SY
yah tats y seems quite alot of things to bring still. w our pad n even if oso bringing bb diapers... although i hv not yet pack my bag (lazy ah), but looking though my list can forsee my bag will be huge!

rachel,
hee, i just laying everything i want to bring on bb's bed first before i packed. maybe can cut down when i finally consolidate every together..

Hi SY, I forgot when you are due. But it's always good to pack your hospital bag at least 2-3 weeks in advance. Reason is because you never know when Jr intends to come out and it does take time to buy the stuff. Do look out for baby fairs. Maternity pads are cheaper like the recent Metro sale at Expo.

Hi SY, I'm not sure what KK will provide during your stay. I remembered buying a romper for my son's discharge from KK. Do bring along your own toiletries as yr hubby won't know what to bring if you forget to do so.

KK and other hospitals go on a rotation basis in terms of the formula. Although I planned to bf, I got the nurse to give my girl formula on the first day. Upon discharge, the nurse gave me a few sample bottles.

Since you are having both CL and maid, let the latter see and learn from the CL how to feed and prepare the milk powder. As for bathing the baby, maybe after 2 weeks.

I'm glad I delivered my first child at KK. Like daughter_in_law, I took a single bedded ward too. Although the room was no suite, it still gave a certain level of privacy and comfort. Most importantly, the hospital is indeed an all-in-1 'shop'. My son was born with cleft lip/palate unfortunately. Sorry to say this in front of pregnant ladies here. The plastic surgeon, ENT and speech therapists are all available in 1 place.

Hi Janet,
I will be bringing one set of bb's clothes for him just in case as well. Yah you r right, dun think hb will know what toiletries to pack for me so got to do that myself.

KK will give different samples of FM? do they give glass bottles for storing EBM as well?

Hi SY, men will never understand what you want them to bring no matter how you describe. Fortunately, I packed everything in my hospital bag.

Every month, different companies of formula milk will provide KK with their samples. Maybe this month is Nestle, next month is Abbott. So if your baby is drinking Nan 1 fm Nestle and is taking well to it, continue with it upon discharge. I'm not too sure about the glass bottles though. I believe they may have sterilized glass bottles. Do check witht the nurse in charge.

Some mommies told me that you can request for the glass bottles from the nursary. Not sure how many though.

Hi Dino,
thanks. will ask them (or ask my hb to go ask..haha)

Janet,
if i intend to bf, can i tell the nurses not to give FM first?

SY, sorry to post this message when you are pregnant.

My son is ok already. He needs to for speech therapy sessions and annual checkups. Otherwise he's as cheeky and noisy like any other 5 year old boys.

Sorry can't answer your other question as I told the nurse to give her FM on the 1st day.

Janet,
no worries. i not pantang one.

good to hear that your boy is doing well.

hmm, maybe when i doing my pre admission, will bombard the nurses with my qn...

SY
if u intend to bf, the nurse will take note n wont bottle feed ur bb w FM. so whenever its time they will bring ur bb to u. i remember u opting for 1 bedded rit? so u will hv ur bb room in w u n u can bf when ur bb is hungry. but if not enough breast milk supply (touch touch wood) then they will give FM lo. tats wat the nurse told me when i asked her.

Hi SY,

Forgot to mention that you can try the marketplace & exchange in the forum as well. Sometimes, some mommies will give away those glass bottles as well.

You can buy the sealable plastic caps if you don't want to use the metal ones that come with the bottles. Not sure what kind of caps the KKH bottles come with though.

Rachel,
so before i admit i must tell the nurse that i intend to BF?

dino,
thanks. i thnk using plastic caps is better. will see how many i can get. is it true that using glass bottles not good as sometimes it may have glass pieces?

Hi SY,

I think I read it somewhere. Guess just have to be more vigilant to inspect the bottles before using. On the other hand some mommies had also mentioned in the forum that the plastic feeding bottles that double up storage containers can also go out of shape after long period of repeated boiling.

Have you seen the plastic caps in KKH pharmacy? I don't recall seeing them there. Some mommies posted MAH and TMC pharmacy sells them at $0.70/pc.

SY
yah, but anyway the nurse will check w u one. so they will take note of tat. the nurse i asked even sais tat outside ur ward they will indicate whether u b BF or not. so they or visitor will be careful when entering ur ward lo.

Hi SY

I gave birth to my son at KKH this July. The glass bottles the nurse gave me was the containers for the ready-made infant formula of s26 gold. The caps are made of metal, so the nurse advised me not to use them for too many times and check b4 using as they get rusty fast and easily.

Jappooh

Sorry, haven't had time to check in on this thread

My hb is in the Police Force. Apparently, we have subsidy up to 45%, not inclusive of delivery charges.

That's what the admin staff at KKH told us. On his end he's checking

Isn't it funny that KKH still give away FM even though they are supposedly pro-breasfeeding?

I heard that at NUH, they don't give out FM at all and if you want to FM, you have to bring your own.

Hi lkf,
how many bottles do they usually give? yah i think i will get those plastic caps instead of metal. metal sounds like it's not very safe.

Mamachan,
i guess they still give away samples cos they have sponsors? prob the sponsors put there and ask them to give. and not all mummies will end up BF so will still need FM...

SY

She gave me quite a lot, in a plastic bag.

Mamachan

Yup somehow FM is still needed for many reasons even though the hospital may be pro-breastfeeding. some mothers can't bf at all while the supply of some come late.

IKF

Perhaps so, I read that usually the supply comes from 3rd day onwards, coz of the release of different set of hormones once the placenta is removed.

Apparently, the 1st 2 days, cloristium (hope i spelt correctly) is sufficient to keep the baby full coz it's thick.

Oh well, my hb's pre-u mates encouraged me to persevere if I choose breast-feeding.

SY/IKF

Anyway, it's good to be flexible in a sense if bb is not feeding well, then of course no choice but to give FM.

I'm not really hard on die-die must breastfeed till face turn red. SO long it keeps bb healthy can already.

Jappooh

My hb told me that he found out from his colleague that under CSC, his wife has a c-sect under class B1, stayed for two days, after medisave deduction and CSC subsidy, the only cash payment they came up with was about $600 - $700.

I think it's good to find out from your HR how the scheme works for you and hb.

lkf,
thanks. will ask them for it. hope i remember!!

mamachan,
yeah i really hope i can bf and must really perserve. my fren told me that must really really perserve cos it can be really tough....

i m also gg to deliver in KKH in coming Feb. My EDD is 1 Feb. I alr sign up for the A1 package during my last visit. I paid $1400+ cash for the package after deduct medisave. I see my gyn at TPS too.

chose KKH cos i had severe vomiting during my early preg from wk 5 to wk 20... till now stil on and off vomiting. during wk 5 to wk 20, i was hospitalised 2x bcos of it. I fl safe in KKH's hand cos they really v thorough and put me to all the tests to ensure me and bb are ok.

as for maternity pads, i chk w the nurse in KKH, they say they are providing those loop type so i will bring my own adhesive type to use cos i dunno how to use the loop type =p

Hi Bulma, loop type of maternity pads are not comfortable after childbirth. Firstly, I just couldn't remember how to wear it. Then the tummy is flabby and the string holding the pad around the waist keeps dropping. Wear disposable undies with adhesive type of pads.

Hi Janet
thanks for advice. I also dunno how to use the loop one... so i b bringing disposable panties and adhesive type of pads to wear during stay in hospital.

u r preggie now? when is yr EDD? tis is yr no 2? for yr no 1, did u natural or c-sec?

Janet and Bulma,
Some tips for u, hospital provided the loop type maternity pads. If u dont know how to use the string to wear it, u can ignore the string, just put the pad on the underwear will do. Dont make urself so confuse.

NOIF
but like dat will the pad drop? btw, does KKH provide disposable panties huh? some say yes but i chk w nurse, they say NO lei

Bulma,
I used this method when i gave birth, so far the pad never drop.

Anyway, after gave birth, u lie down on the bed more than walk around. So no need to worry the pad will drop.

No, I did not receive any disposablee panties from KKH.

Hi, i m also delivering at KKH and my EDD is just around the corner 2 jan 06. Just wondering what are the 'Free' stuff that KKH provide. Do not wan to pay for the extra stuff and yet do not wan to miss out the freebies. For the pad, if we dun use, will they deduct from our bill? as for baby diapers, will they provide a pack upon discharge? do we still need to bring our own cos that can be quite bulky. and as far as i know, KKH will provide a stay in clothes (those pink type)for u so we do not have to bring our own pyjamas like some other private hosp do right?

think i really need to get my hosp bag ready cos doc said i might deliver anytime as my placenta is maturing.
Thanks all in advance!

edd2jan
how yr gyn know yr placenta is maturing?

i also wanna know exactly what KKH provide lei...dun wanna underpack or over pack my bag

Bulma,
i was equally curious like urself last week when gynae told me that during my last week chk up. he said he can see some white spots on my placenta so that indicates that placenta is maturing. and i also asked if that is something the mummy can do and he said no.. it all depends on the baby. so now i just wait and will see how is my condition tml when i do the CTG scan and gynae chk. actually i really hope i can deliver nearer to my edd as my bb is pretty small. preferably after 28 dec.. so now doing alot of 'talking' to baby..

edd2jan
how heavy is yr bb now @ which week?

got white spot? u mean when yr gyn do e normal scan he saw the white spot ah?

bulma,
my bb is ard 2.36kg at 37 wks 1 day. today i m exactly 38 weeks liao and going to see gyane again tml. so how many weeks are you now and when is ur edd?

yup gynae said he can see some white spots.

edd2jan,
actually i read in a book that our placenta matures at 34 weeks so it should be something quite common?