Any mummy here experience bad migraine in early pregnancy ? I have nearly a week of migraine. It goes off and come back again. I have been trying to avoid taking pain killer. But no choice took them on 3 occasions. My doc appointment still 1 week away. I can feel the pain even in my sleep. I have tried medicated oil and cold pad, but it doesn't go away. Is been years since my last migraine episode. Not sure if this is due to weather or myself. I have not taken any heaty drink like RDL for this round. Really not sure what is the cause. Any idea what other ways I can solve this?

It could be your pregnancy hormones causing your migraine. Try to have more sleep. Pls only take pain killer prescribe by your gynae.

The weather is very bad. Drink more water. Stop the RDL

It might be change in ur hormones that causes this. Panadol is safe to take if u need, but for all other painkillers, u better ask ur doctor.

Thanks bunny, piglet and Mei.
I stop rdl since stimulation stage cos of some cough earlier. Out of no choice I took 2 paracetamol after dinner again. Quite bad pain, nausea with the cracking head. Shld I see a GP, or alert my gynea, but fertility gynea don't really entertained such things right ? Moreover the appointment will be some days later.

U can informed your gynae and he may give U mc to rest. Are U in first tri? If nausea is causing headache U may be given anti nausea pill.

Yes first tri. I think is headaches that causes the nausea.. with pain killer this headaches still there. It jus make me slightly more comfortable.

You can see a GP but tell the GP that you are pregnant. Just like for morning sickness, we will c GP to get MCs n medication safe for pregnancy. Difficult n expensive to see gynae for these pregnancy related problems.

Who is ur gyne?
Mine prescribed diarrhea drugs to me before when i happened to have food poisoning on consultation day, so they can prescribe meds.. Esp if it is in a hospital setting, shd have access to drugs.
If not, u can see GP and tell him u need pregnancy safe drugs, but i suggest u double check safety online... Cos I have been given drugs that were class C (ie not safe) and only found out later.

Yes first tri. I think is headaches that causes the nausea.. with pain killer this headaches still there. It jus make me slightly more comfortable.
Hi hi, I got a book that talks about the safe drugs u can take whilst preg. There are quite a few pages for diff ailment so I take the relevant ones for you. Hope this help!
ImageUploadedByForum1460901482.808606.jpg
ImageUploadedByForum1460901522.597692.jpg

Thanks Shinkirou.
Hi Mei, I did ivf in nuh with Dr Chew. I have jus done my first scan one week ago. Can't help but worried about this pregnancy. Worried about the paracetamol that I took, worried that is not normal to have such migraine in early pregnancy.
I think I will see GP, while I call the appointment line to check.

Hi Xiaomyang, thanks a lot. Do you have the page for migraine?
Nothing on migraine leh... Got cold, cough, sore throat, heartburn and gastric pain, diarrhoea, rash, yeast infection, stuffy nose, asthma and antibiotics. But nothing on migraine or pain related medication. Oh got one FAQ on pain killers. See attached.
ImageUploadedByForum1460902134.015048.jpg

Thanks Shinkirou.
Hi Mei, I did ivf in nuh with Dr Chew. I have jus done my first scan one week ago. Can't help but worried about this pregnancy. Worried about the paracetamol that I took, worried that is not normal to have such migraine in early pregnancy.

Normal panadol is safe but don't take too many per day. Take mc Tomorrow n rest

Hi jewelbox, not sure if you have tried. Isotonic drink helps when I get my headache. Normal paracetamol is ok to take but not more than 4 times a day. I'll take that as little as possible. Hope you get better soon. Take care!

Thanks Shinkirou.
Don't worry, paracetamol is definitely safe.
There are ladies whose migraine is triggered by pregnancy too. In fact, migraine is one of the check list qns my TCM doctor will ask every consultation so i guess it is quite common.

Hi Hope, I am drinking non gassy 100 plus now. Drinking with the big bottle. I jus try. Hopefully, it help..

Thanks hope, xiaomyang and bunny too.

Ive had it since 3rd trimester. Very bad migraine on my left side each week. Ever the attack comes at night i did not sleep enduring the pain till next morning to see the gp. Eyes swollen coz could not sleep. I went to two different gps and all only prescribe me panadol and with MCs. My NUH gynae appt was two weeks after. All the GP dont dare to prescribe other migraine medicine coz its not their protocol as gynae and dont want take responsibility if anything happens. So i only go for gp for MCs haha. So when my NUH appt finally comes my gynae finally prescribe me with Anarex since normal Panadol doesnt works for me. She said its safe. 2 tab each time. 3 times a day max. But only downside anarex makes u sleepy. If you feel the attack comes, quickly take 2 tab. Take too late might not works too. U can try anarex, the blue pill usually gp prescribe for fever and body pain. And also drink a small cup of coffee. Abit of caffeine is safe and it works for my migraine too. :)

Not sure if this is the correct thread ti ask.. i woud like to hear from the fellows mummy to be about the consultation charges between subsidized n private. I am a kkh private patient currently and might be conceiving twins based on the hcg readings and would like to know on the average charges for consultation or meds if i would like to stick to DR THH throughout the pregnancy. I heard that if its multiple pregnanacy everything will be double in amount. Is that true? Thank you in adv for ur advise. :)

Hello, usually friend who are having twin and their gynac who inform them that their preggancy are risky type will change to subside patient in anticipation of a high bill eventually. However, if you opt for subsidise patient, you will give up your rights to pick your preferred doctor and also not allow to choose class A ward. If these 2 are not very impt factor to you, most will switch to subsidy patient for practical & cost saving reason.

I am no expect regards cost, but i believe that a twin delivery should be at least 1.5 time more expensive then a regular 1 baby child birth. Have a look at MOH website for the bill size statistic, i reckon that if you multiple the figure by 50%, that should be least you can expect to pay. This is just my guesstimate ya, i got no data to back me up de.

Incidentally, the best thing you can consider doing is to go to KKH to ask for a finance counselling session. They will be able to give you an estimate bill size which will be significantly sharper then my guestimate.

Jia you.

aaa111, with private tmc. we did so-iui. was planning to follow through delivery same dr as well. on the other hand, i thinking to opt for KKH-of cos cannot choose and lower costs. Seek your advice?

hehehe, anybody not eating any squid / sotong / cuttlefish / crabs / bananas / pineapples?
My stomach itchy for chilli crab lei... Haha...

Anw why cannot eat sotong ah? Nothing happened to my #1 and I ate sotong a few times.

For crab i heard it has "poison", same like prawns. Can cause miscarriage or smth like that.

I think ur food intake does affect LO taste preference. I was v careful abt sugar intake in pregnancy. #1 doesn't like sweet food at all, instead loves veggies and meat...

U eat very healthily!

Haha...cos I abit kiasu la...but also surprisingly I no craving for sweet stuff and cold drinks...only indulgent is drinking Anmun milk (more for so I can put on weight)

Now drink room temperature water also feel like nausea ..must drink warm/ hot water....imagine weather nowadays n still drink warm/hot water *dripping sweats**

hehehe, anybody not eating any squid / sotong / cuttlefish / crabs / bananas / pineapples?
Sotong my favourite. Some say crab will cause baby itch hand, pineapple very sharp can cause early delivery or miscarriage. Banana is cooling n high in sugar

I think ur food intake does affect LO taste preference. I was v careful abt sugar intake in pregnancy. #1 doesn't like sweet food at all, instead loves veggies and meat...

Yup good be safer side to lessen intake of sugar stuff.....

Are u feeling better le mah over the weekend?

Haha...cos I abit kiasu la...but also surprisingly I no craving for sweet stuff and cold drinks...only indulgent is drinking Anmun milk (more for so I can put on weight)

Now drink room temperature water also feel like nausea ..must drink warm/ hot water....imagine weather nowadays n still drink warm/hot water *dripping sweats**
Deink

add lemon to your water or drink ribena

Yup good be safer side to lessen intake of sugar stuff.....

Are u feeling better le mah over the weekend?
Hee thanks for asking. Spotting went away already after the last scare.
But MS keeps going on and off. Also keep getting aches and pains like on the side or middle of abdomen. Feel very paranoid that these are signs of MC.
Can't wait for appt this wed!!

But MS keeps going on and off. Also keep getting aches and pains like on the side or middle of abdomen. Feel very paranoid that these are signs of MC.
No lah it could be sign on uterus expanding

Very fast de 2 more days to Wednesday so jia you ya....

Meantime try to occupy ur self by thinking happy thoughts and relax by reading some books + listen music while playing and staying in air con room (e.g gg to library )with ur #1 ...

No lah it could be sign on uterus expanding
Very fast de 2 more days to Wednesday so jia you ya....

Meantime try to occupy ur self by thinking happy thoughts and relax by reading some books + listen music while playing and staying in air con room (e.g gg to library )with ur #1 ...
Thanks for ur reassurance...
Cos i have MC before... All subsequent pregnancies become super paranoid...
I don't even feel seeing hb is a reassurance cos that time i saw hb already then 4 weeks later it is gone!
Hah feeling emo la... Sorry to rant. But thanks for ur suggestions, will try them out :)

I don't even feel seeing hb is a reassurance cos that time i saw hb already then 4 weeks later it is gone!
Hah feeling emo la... Sorry to rant. But thanks for ur suggestions, will try them out :)

Don't think so much. Distract yourself by doing other things.

Dun worry u r not ranting ...most of the time we woman feel better when we voice out our concern n etc..

Like what Bunny33 mentioned..it should be a sign that uterus is expanding....

I also get aches and pains on the side. Was paranoid, still feeling paranoid after seeing my gynae today! And I forgot to ask him about it..

My waterbag starts to leak just now at 11 plus pm. It felt one blop of hot water. Wet my panties and panty liner. After shower, only feel little bit by bit of hot water. So i guess water bag leaking and not yet break fully. Im wearing pad now to sleep. But no contraction pain. So i will just stick to my gynae appt tomorrow and see wat she says. lol Been having watery passing motion many times today & the past few days too. Last Friday only had clear mucus discharge, no blood. Baby is coming!

On the last lap of the preggy journey. Wishing you a smooth delivery. Jia you!

So exciting!!! Have a smooth delivery.

If gyne appt is not tt early today ...do go to d hospital asap as water bag break Le. ..

Jiayou!!! Hv a smooth delivery !!!!

What time is your appt? I guess your gynae will admit you into the hospital. If your appt is late, you might want to call and check with the hospital. From what I know, waterbag breakage, should try to get to the hospital soon. You will hold your baby in your arms soon! Hope you have a smooth delivery!