(2014/11) Nov 2014 Mummies

wa ur gynae is which one. still so good show u 3D image. i oso want to make sure my bb is ok.. =( mine never see her sharpen scan or zoom in or out leh... eveerything blur but she can see then she just say this is what,that is what.. got measure brain n thigh bone if i am not wrong of what she is doing.. i jus lie there blur blur wait for her to tell me which is which and baby facing outside or inside. then she like give brief answers only..

My gynae located at Far East plaza.. A male gynae.. In his late 60s heading 70 Liao.. My doc usually sharpen the scan to show me.. And always ask if I can see which is which.. I'm lucky to have him as my gynae.. He is not a doc who talk a lot... But he always clarify clearly everything... Which makes me feel safe...

how much have you ladies prepare for the baby arrival?
I started buying bb's clothes already! however other things like breast pump, cot, pram all not yet! haaaa…
I only recently took out my no 1's baby romper sand other stuff to wash... Haven't finished washing... Now must think where to put no 2's stuff! Cot, not buying because my no 1 likes to sleep on my bed. So didi will use the cot. Stroller also not getting because no 1 outgrew it since he was 1.5 years old. He didn't like to be kept in a stroller!

actually u can do both
day time sarong. nite time cot.
for me, day time my MIL taking care. so 90% slping sarong. but nite time i bringing hm. so no sarong. will be baby cot.
so will let bb get used to both. hopefully will be ok.
It is easier for old people if we let baby sleep sarong. The motion does lull them to sleep better. But I know many babies who sleep in Sarong have difficulty weaning off even till 2 years old. That weaning off period is a hair pulling one for many parents... Must tahan through that.

My no 1 slept in cot right from the start. But yah, like Christine said, sarong kids the head is nicer. My boy's head is not rounded. That is the only problem we have haha... Now cut hair for him also must cut properly coz head not even! However, we didn't go through any weaning difficulty as he's let in his own cot right from start, so no hair pulling scene unlike some of my friends!

actually i am in dilemma, my mil suggest to use sarong when i leave baby with her at her place while i go back to work. Sarong has its pros and cons. baby will find it difficult to fall asleep after getting used to being 'shake' to sleep.. if we travel, maybe no sarong hard to fall asleep and throw tantrum.. i am thinking to let bb just sleep in cot will do.

Just to share my bb pattern. Since born, she's always sleep on her tummy on the bed. Until 5mo, she don't want le, very hard to sleep. So we tried yaolan, it worked and sleep longer! Afternoon naps she'll be in it. Night shake until sleep then move to bed. Now 21mo she totally wean off it. By herself. She said 'don't want yao yao'

Oh ya, we did travel once when she's 16mo and manage to sleep on bed. Too tired after shopping whole day.

Not to worry too much about the adaptivity. Bb are very smart and fast to adapt, they will follow the care giver pattern. My 2c ;)

Sometimes I envy mummies who engage CL... Had a conflict with my mum ystd over my confinement issue... She insist that I do confinement at her place.. But she will only do the cooking not help me with the baby.. And my grand aunt who is going to be around will accompany me.. But she is getting too old to be alert and she isn't as clean as before..

Which worries me.. Plus my mum's place n my place is just opposite each other.. She tell me she can't cook at my place.. And expect me to move all the things over just for the 1 month confinement.. My room at my mum's place is very small. There is no place for bb's spring bed.. She say bb can slp on the same bed with me.. I was like....

I just feel like doing confinement at my own place.. At night when it comes to feeding the hub can help out.. If I do confinement at my mum'a place my hub won't be around.. Who can help me out? Now then my mum say she only do the cooking. At least a CL does more even though we need to pay.. Sigh.. Dilemma on wat to do.. It's too late to find a CL now when due near..

I haven't started to dig out old my bb gal clothes.. i bought those common range colour.. so no problem at all for my 2nd one.

Last check up on 2 Aug, bb weight is about 718g which is double after my detail scan on 15 July.
Now i am in week 23 and 4 days.

Going to buy another Toyogo storage rack to put my 2nd bb clothes.
May buy in Sept or Oct.. Old folks said, better buy bb stuffts after pregnant 7 monhts..

Sarong, yes we did use sarong for my 1st bb, after 1 month for day time.
night time she sleeps in cot.
but one of my friend is using Sarong both day and night for her children so she is in trouble when they are going for holiday..
now the 1st bb almost 5 years .. just dun sleep in Sarong.

Sometimes I envy mummies who engage CL... Had a conflict with my mum ystd over my confinement issue... She insist that I do confinement at her place.. But she will only do the cooking not help me with the baby.. And my grand aunt who is going to be around will accompany me.. But she is getting too old to be alert and she isn't as clean as before..

Which worries me.. Plus my mum's place n my place is just opposite each other.. She tell me she can't cook at my place.. And expect me to move all the things over just for the 1 month confinement.. My room at my mum's place is very small. There is no place for bb's spring bed.. She say bb can slp on the same bed with me.. I was like....

I just feel like doing confinement at my own place.. At night when it comes to feeding the hub can help out.. If I do confinement at my mum'a place my hub won't be around.. Who can help me out? Now then my mum say she only do the cooking. At least a CL does more even though we need to pay.. Sigh.. Dilemma on wat to do.. It's too late to find a CL now when due near..
actually not too late to hire CL. can still start looking now. don't wait too late. coz really better and u will have less conflict even with ur own mum.
My mum will just come over and see me, see how the CL works, help me. money u already paid so much, if cannot come to a compromise hire a 3rd party is better.

When u mean side by side is really just next door? If really just next door den ar night go back ur house sleep lo.. Den morning wake up Liao go ur mom house eat.. Buy a play pen out at ur mom living room lo.. Afternoon nap or what sleep ur mom house lo..

It's not late to find a CL.. U can go thru agency de ma...

When u mean side by side is really just next door? If really just next door den ar night go back ur house sleep lo.. Den morning wake up Liao go ur mom house eat.. Buy a play pen out at ur mom living room lo.. Afternoon nap or what sleep ur mom house lo..

It's not late to find a CL.. U can go thru agency de ma...

Not next door leh.. Have to cross the road walk abit.. Bought a bto under live near parent scheme.. My hub not keen of going over to stay also.. Plus my mother in law will have hard time going to my mum'a place.. Cos no matter wat they don't contact.. My parents in law will paiseh..

My mum make it clear that she only going to cook for me to eat.. Bb I have to look after myself... Most of the stuff is my hub fren give.. Bottle heater and all the play pen n all.. So got to move everything over... Then 1 month over move everything back.. Need to re-setup the bb room again.. My mum say she can cook better at her place... My hub also abit sian to hear that.. He wan to be part of looking after the baby.. Especially for the 1st month and it's our first bb..

But my mum abit harsh with her thinking... My hub hear alrdy also abit helpless.. Plus my mother in law working.. If not she is more than willing to look after me and stay at my place..

My mum work with my dad and my dad say before tat during my confinement my mum dun have to go office work.. She can fully take care of me and bb.. Now she tell me she need to go office work... I wonder if there is any confinement food catering.. I think is just the food that matters... I can cook myself but got to depend how I deliver.. If natural birth recovery faster.. If c-sect.. Then really is hard time Liao..

Not next door leh.. Have to cross the road walk abit.. Bought a bto under live near parent scheme.. My hub not keen of going over to stay also.. Plus my mother in law will have hard time going to my mum'a place.. Cos no matter wat they don't contact.. My parents in law will paiseh..

My mum make it clear that she only going to cook for me to eat.. Bb I have to look after myself... Most of the stuff is my hub fren give.. Bottle heater and all the play pen n all.. So got to move everything over... Then 1 month over move everything back.. Need to re-setup the bb room again.. My mum say she can cook better at her place... My hub also abit sian to hear that.. He wan to be part of looking after the baby.. Especially for the 1st month and it's our first bb..

But my mum abit harsh with her thinking... My hub hear alrdy also abit helpless.. Plus my mother in law working.. If not she is more than willing to look after me and stay at my place..

My mum work with my dad and my dad say before tat during my confinement my mum dun have to go office work.. She can fully take care of me and bb.. Now she tell me she need to go office work... I wonder if there is any confinement food catering.. I think is just the food that matters... I can cook myself but got to depend how I deliver.. If natural birth recovery faster.. If c-sect.. Then really is hard time Liao..

Yes there is confinement food caterer for lunch and dinner.

If you do it yourself with confinement food catered, there are other things to take care too. You may want to consider other stuff that you cannot do by yourself during the 1st month if you want a good rest and follow confinement no-nos (cannot touch water and carry heavy stuff), then need to consider the stuff like how bring water to boil, then bring to shower, carrying water and bath tub and bathing baby, sterilising your bottles and pump, laundry...

may be can wear a pair gloves? shower baby in toilet? have enough bottles so that hubby does the sterilising when he is back?

Probably can get your mom to cook your confinement meal and bring over to ur place instead since it's only across the road. Then u won't he to move urself and bb over.

Then get a helper at ur place to help out taking care of bb since we are not suppose to touch water or overwork during confinement. Try getting those day nannies whom can come over help during the day?

Probably can get your mom to cook your confinement meal and bring over to ur place instead since it's only across the road. Then u won't he to move urself and bb over.

Then get a helper at ur place to help out taking care of bb since we are not suppose to touch water or overwork during confinement. Try getting those day nannies whom can come over help during the day?

If you do it yourself with confinement food catered, there are other things to take care too. You may want to consider other stuff that you cannot do by yourself during the 1st month if you want a good rest and follow confinement no-nos (cannot touch water and carry heavy stuff), then need to consider the stuff like how bring water to boil, then bring to shower, carrying water and bath tub and bathing baby, sterilising your bottles and pump, laundry...

may be can wear a pair gloves? shower baby in toilet? have enough bottles so that hubby does the sterilising when he is back?

That's why I head ache lor.. My hub only got maternity off for 1 week.. He can try to ask for 1 more week.. I also worried my body not strong enough to handle so many things alone..

Lucky hub frens giving us a lot of things.. We are like. Only need to buy bottles.. Napkins.. Pillows.. And pampers.. All the small items..

My mum doesn't wan to cook and then bring over. She say like tat very hard for her and all.. Sometimes just feel that maybe she just wan to be able to see the bb 24/7 for the 1st month.. And all the relatives will start coming in and visit when I need to rest.. And those important ppl won't be able to come cos paiseh.. If it's my own place they feel better when visiting..

My mum take it for granted that everyone will be fine doing the visiting.. She just don't understand lor.. Sometimes her selfishness is just so easy to be known.. Which I don't like giving in to her.. Not first time alrdy. If she do cooking only I rather spend some money do catering.. Then no need so much conflict.. She also won't complain spending a lot of money for buying ingredients..

Give her money for ingredients she don't wan to take but will just keep complaining.. Sometimes cannot understand wat she thinking.

If ur hsb go over collect the food from her daily?
My mil aso initially promise cook for me then when get to know her the other dil aso preggy, dun know y she backup say scared cannot cope. So end up we quickly engaged a cl n hope mil dun come my hse daily I will feel fan seeing her.. especially she stays near us..

If ur hsb go over collect the food from her daily?
My mil aso initially promise cook for me then when get to know her the other dil aso preggy, dun know y she backup say scared cannot cope. So end up we quickly engaged a cl n hope mil dun come my hse daily I will feel fan seeing her.. especially she stays near us..

My hub work every early.. He work in air base so 7:30am jiu have to reach work place.. By the time my mum haven't even cook leh..

My hub now thinking of hiring CL le.. He buay tahan my mum... I also don't wan my mum to come knocking at my door fan me.. Since she so last min tell me only going cook not going to help me with the bb.. That is no difference with me catering and I look after bb all on my own..

Then expect me to move everything over.. Be it if we just live opposite.. My hub don't drive.. Expect him to carry everything n walk back meh..

Just don't wan to argue with my mum.. She is stubborn n selfish in times like tat.. If reject her help in cooking she not happy.. Ask her come over my place cook.. She also not happy.. Dunno how is who looking after who.. Who needs the rest who needs the help..

Then to avoid conflict, get a cl if possible, at least u have rest as well.at first I aso thot mil cook n I look after bb myself to save $ but after much tiking, dh decided to let me rest properly n dun want argue w his mum y backout like tat. Thank goodness she didn't say at last mth before birth if not I sure 反面...

Ya lor... Now my hub also trying to look for CL... He say I rest more important.. He scared bb in the day too active until I cannot rest...

Maybe just engage a CL lo.. Everything will be easier... Or long term engage a helper...

Say it's really not logical to move things here be there not practical as well.. So u decided to engage a CL lo...

Say u need help with bb and since she not helping with bb u got the excuse to go engage a CL who will help u ma.. Even better.. Confinement really need rest de... Better spend some money and have a good rest... If not later this pro that pro.. I can't have good rest..

Can go thru confinement agency la.. I thk they all well trained de.. Be happy den change the CL.. Change until u happy...

I tik our cl charges are still not tat bad compared to those who have to engage over cny period, really pay much more

Think will be better for you to engage cl , to avoid conflicts .. I will feel more comfortable in doing confinement at my own house, also at least let baby familiar with the environment. At least I'm sleeping on my own bed and using my own things.

You can rest well too. After all confinement is to rest and not to stress. :)

Anyone experience Braxton Hicks? Can share what's it like?
These few days had some tightness at tummy in the evening but didn't really feel like it's the baby doing his somersaults.

I have bought tons of stuff for baby. Lamaze toys, jellycat bunnies ,sandals for when she gets older. Tons of clothing ,wash cloth, towels, blankets, bibs, triangle small bibs, bed mobile, cot ( my MIL kindly paid for that), medela breast pump, digital thermometer, sterilizer, the chair for her to play in day time, her play gym. Cause GSS and everything was on offer. I am in Shanghai now so kinda went overboard with the toys and sandals.

My best friend bought me a baby sling, and my sis loaned me her baby carrier, bottle warmer, breast feeding pillow and baby bassinet for baby till 6 mths old. My cousin gave me a changing table and loan me a Moses basket for baby too. I think I just need bottles, diapers, shower stuff , milk powder for back up , health care kit and baby detergent to wash baby's stuff. Baby will have two cots. One at my mother's , a used cot from my nephew ( my sis also loaned me a baby mobile), play gym loan from my sis .

New stuff will mainly be at my MIL as we are staying there while looking for a place of our own. Clothing , towels and bibs will mainly be half and each house. I will just be moving the essentials like breast pump, thermometer, sterilizer and bottle warmer around for my confinement.

My mum will be cooking for me during confinement. But we have 2 helpers at home. One takes care of my grandpa, the other will help take care of baby. ( She normally does housework and cook.) I thought of hiring a confinement lady but my mum cooks way better. She did my sis' confinement the last time and her food was good. My MIL cannot cook so she is ok with me doing confinement at my mum's .

The issue is afterwards. My room is much bigger than my hubby's and I am stressing at how to accommodate her cot into his room and well I have my own toilet at home so more privacy. His house not so much. We share one toilet with 2 other people .The dog pees in the toilet sometimes and makes it very smelly if not cleaned right away and more often than not, his helper overlooks it. I cannot imagine having to bath baby in that toilet.

So we decided to start looking for houses once we get back to Singapore in mid Aug. I hope everything works out for us. I don't want to put him in a difficult spot but the space constrain at his house , goes beyond the toilet, even baby's stuff doesn't have anywhere to go, I have to squeeze space for her stuff. In my room, she has 18 drawers for her stuff.....

Btw ladies if anyone's mother's or conferment lady needs to get herbs, there is a shop at Kovan MRT near the Heartland mall shopping center, a shop specializing in confinement herbs, if you walk to the CK next to the hawker center, there is a medical shop a few shops down. They pre pack the herbs u need to take for the month. They will tell you which to take for which week all prepacked . Also they have the herbs to boil to shower with and all that.

My mum got them from there for my sis the last time ( she had to buy the whole lot as my sis's confinement was in Sydney . My sis says she feels stronger after confinement. so I guess the herbs are good. She used to be quite weak before she was pregnant. I am not getting any commission from the shop haha just sharing useful info. I am not sure about the cost though. U will see a white with red signage saying " want to have a good confinement ? Ask them about it.

I suggest to hire CL since ur mum not able to help u look after. Looking after baby during confinement no joke. Must make use of this chance ti bu back our health.

Hi hi Christine3K and anyone reading this post, my results for the diabetes test is back and doctor is asking me if i vomit out the solution i said no, she says results look about the same before and after, at 72 and 74. I am just wondering anyone else care to share ur results becos i start to suspect the accuracy and whether did the nurse mix up my blood samples with others?? i know i think too much, but i just want to get an idea what are the results for other mummies... so i know this is perfectly common.

as i am overweight to start off my pregnancy in the first place, i find that my doctor is very careful of me and strict as well. Good and bad in a way bcos i sometimes feel she treat me like im a no self control discipline woman on my weight.

hi happymom, my result is 4.3(mmol/L) for fasting and 6.5(mmol/L) after glucose 2 hrs. btw i vomitted out the solution due to empty stomach after 1 hr. however the result still shows glucose.

how much weight u put on the avg? i am also a big girl to begin with. my bmi belongs to obese range. i packed on abt 3kg every 4 wks now.

I've only managed to clear some wardrobe space, and frds passing me preloved NB clothes. Intending to get bulk of the stuff from upcoming ***************. Hope it's gonna be good bargain and deals there.

i already buy the bulk of my nb clothes from fair, bugis wholesaler & retail shop. my hub is really fussy abt my bb clothes as he not enthu on preloved ones! funny thing its not me but him! :p

Last check up on 2 Aug, bb weight is about 718g which is double after my detail scan on 15 July.
Now i am in week 23 and 4 days.

I'm week 25 and 0 day last wk when i see dr. my bb weigh is 710gm.
during detailed scan at wk 21 and 0 day, weight is 390gm…so weight nvr double!

i very lazy mum just 3 main meals and 1 snack the most.
how many meals a day are u ladies eating? any good food u taking? keekeee…
occasionally i take birds nest concentrate only. dunno what to eat more to have bigger bb.

hi christin3k,

why not try confinement tingkat. I'm going to order that as my mum helping to care for bb. think tingkat is really a convenient option.
2 meals a day already settle liao...

i already buy the bulk of my nb clothes from fair, bugis wholesaler & retail shop. my hub is really fussy abt my bb clothes as he not enthu on preloved ones! funny thing its not me but him! :p

My hubby too...insist on getting new cot, changing table etc, even though his cousin offered. Lol. We got them cheap at ikea...but heard must buy cot bumper separately for safety cos I dont think ikea sells that

hi christin3k,

why not try confinement tingkat. I'm going to order that as my mum helping to care for bb. think tingkat is really a convenient option.
2 meals a day already settle liao...

I was looking at it online also... But no body help me look after bb... So I intend to challenge myself abit. With hub around for 1st week.. We look after bb ourselves see can cope anot... Hopefully bb is well behave.. If really cannot jiu move over to my mum's place for confinement le.. :(

occasionally i take birds nest concentrate only. dunno what to eat more to have bigger bb.

I am also on the overweight range. First trimester due to vomiting , I lost 3.5 kg, unfortunately, I packed it all back plus more. See my Gyne on tuesday when I go back to SG. Doing my glucose test also. I take mainly 2 meals a day and a snack sometimes as I wake up quite late, been feeling tired already and I am only approaching 27 weeks. I crave mainly beef, salad and chocolate...

hi happymom, my result is 4.3(mmol/L) for fasting and 6.5(mmol/L) after glucose 2 hrs. btw i vomitted out the solution due to empty stomach after 1 hr. however the result still shows glucose.

how much weight u put on the avg? i am also a big girl to begin with. my bmi belongs to obese range. i packed on abt 3kg every 4 wks now.

I also around the same.. 3kg every 4 weeks... There is only once that I lose weight.... After that weight goes up n up.. I only took 2 meals a day.. So I think is water retention that cause my weight to keep going up... I having very bad water retention.. Seeking help from my gynae the next time I see him le.. My fingers are 24/7 numb now..

Christin3K.. i rem u mentioning ur younger sis is preg too? Mayb ur mom dun wan to show biase towards any of u? Tts y she 干脆 dun help to take care for both babies?

You can try those CL agencies.. im sure u still can find one now.

I am also on the overweight range. First trimester due to vomiting , I lost 3.5 kg, unfortunately, I packed it all back plus more. See my Gyne on tuesday when I go back to SG. Doing my glucose test also. I take mainly 2 meals a day and a snack sometimes as I wake up quite late, been feeling tired already and I am only approaching 27 weeks. I crave mainly beef, salad and chocolate...

Btw ladies if anyone's mother's or conferment lady needs to get herbs, there is a shop at Kovan MRT near the Heartland mall shopping center, a shop specializing in confinement herbs, if you walk to the CK next to the hawker center, there is a medical shop a few shops down. They pre pack the herbs u need to take for the month. They will tell you which to take for which week all prepacked . Also they have the herbs to boil to shower with and all that.

My mum got them from there for my sis the last time ( she had to buy the whole lot as my sis's confinement was in Sydney . My sis says she feels stronger after confinement. so I guess the herbs are good. She used to be quite weak before she was pregnant. I am not getting any commission from the shop haha just sharing useful info. I am not sure about the cost though. U will see a white with red signage saying " want to have a good confinement ? Ask them about it.

hi jas1982, the confinement herbs at this shop can be bought before delivery? u know what's the shop name? yr mum remember the cost?
i know Thomson medical's TCM does that after u delivery…they will take the pulse reading for u and arrange daily medicine accdy...cost is $380+ for 28 medicine.

I was looking at it online also... But no body help me look after bb... So I intend to challenge myself abit. With hub around for 1st week.. We look after bb ourselves see can cope anot... Hopefully bb is well behave.. If really cannot jiu move over to my mum's place for confinement le.. :(

er better don't challenge yrself if you are unprepared or u need more time recovering(since u say u have bad water retention now?).
u still need to constantly change bb's nappies, bath and bf…
in this case better get a cl?

My hubby too...insist on getting new cot, changing table etc, even though his cousin offered. Lol. We got them cheap at ikea...but heard must buy cot bumper separately for safety cos I dont think ikea sells that

i want a play pen, my hub wants a cot…he say play pen too unstable and soft!
cot bumper is necessarily!