Tiong baru/telok blangah/bt merah 2006-2007 babies n mummies

Hi Leeds
My son is there at the montessori N1 classes, I trf my son from another school to here last term now this is second term, so far I am pleased with my son's progress especially academically, I can see he can recite and sing long nursery rhymes songs. The teachers can be more focused on him as the class is very small.
Only setback is the long hours and in the afternoon 4hours per session

Hi Teenie, is your son in JHS? I didn't know JHS also has afternoon session, was told classes end at 1pm. How old is your son?

Hi leeds, you're in luck
I was about to toss away the Bambini Montessori pamphlet...

Bambini Montessori is located at:
Blk 131 Jln Bt Merah #01-1589/1591 S(160131). It occupies 2 units on the ground floor (beside a coffeeshop) and 3 units on the 2nd level. Not sure why the add only states #01.
T: 6270 9633
E: [email protected]
W: www.bambinimontessori-childcare.com

Register with them from now till Aug 09 - Free registration fee + referrer scheme.

For 18mos-6yos:
Registration fee: $90 (full day and half-day)
Deposit: $900 (full day), $650 (half day)
Monthly fee: $900 (full day), $650 (half day)
After subsidy (WM): $600 (full day), $500 (half day)
After subsidy (NWM): $750 (full day), $500 (half day)

For 2mos-17mos:
Reg fee: same as above
Deposit: $1300 (full day), $950 (half day)
Monthly fee: same as deposit
After subsidy (WM): $700 (full day), $650 (half day)
After subsidy (NWM): $1150 (full day), $800 (half day)

lincray,

thks for posting the rates for Bambini. their rates are similar to arts kidz leh. :p slightly cheaper after subsidy though but quite out of the way for me or my nanny to bring my daughter there so cannot consider it also.

Ya.. the rates are not much different after we take into account of the discounts given to local mummies by arts kidz.

I guess the preference lies in what each mummy is looking for, i.e. child care (priority is taking care and meeting basic needs) or kindergarten (academically focus).

Bambini is a child care while arts kidz is a kindergarten.

Hey esther

Ryan looks more bigger for a 3 mth old and v alert! Glad that he likes swimming. Must do often then next time can swim like a pro just like Grace's daughter!

from the recent postings, i guess most of us are busy hunting a preferred cc or kindergarten now. Not easy ya being a parent now... i can imagine how tough 1 to 2 years later when all of us would be discussing on P1 registration and PV. .... Hahahaha... even more stressful and headache.

Hahaha... i m not able to follow the thread closely due to work commitments and having to look after my 2 little ones..

oh ya.. i m following the P1 registration this year to follow the trend for ease of choosing one and of course to determine if i need to register early PV for the preferred choice.. Haiz..

By the way, there are quite a lot of informative articles in the www.kiasuparents.com for preference!

I agree that kiasuparents is a good website with alot of info especially for P1 registration and older kids
I check that sometime too.

Ariel - I agree with weishy on your hubby's portfolio! How lucky of you to be able to get free photoshoot service ;-)

Are you one of the preggie moms in the maternity shots portfolio? Btw, does your hubby do family portraits as well?

Kileina - the mummy in the maternity section is actually me haha! Yes, my hubby specialises in portraiture i.e. taking people including family as well. His photo website has not been updated in a while as he is busy with an upcoming photo exhibition at The Cathay during National Day period, plus backlog from other photoshoots.

Hey Ariel, i guessed as much... Don't thk your hubby need another pretty mother-to-be to be his model when he has one right in front of him ;)

Great to hear your hubby also does family portraits. Do let us know when his family portrait portfolio is up ya!

Btw, i've added quite a few mummies from this thread in Facebook, but i'm not too sure who is who because we all use nicknames here. I wonder if there is a consolidated list of the member profiles here that i can refer to to keep track. Very paiseh if i message the wrong mummy in FB... ;)

any mummies with kids registered for artzkids & starting school in sep this year? i am thinking of starting in sep but may end up postponing to oct or nov instead due to my work committments.

Kilena - your boy is very handsome and looks very attentive! I will let you know when my hubby has updated his website.

Weishy - You will be delivering very soon, Congrats!! I just asked my hubby, he said he would like to take for you but you would have to pay for the make-up fee (we engaged a prof makeup artist who wld come to our house else you can also do the makeup outside). He will not charge for the pictures as you are his 2nd preggy model keke. Let me know if you are still interested.

thanks for your compliments weishy, ariel

actually i was hoping my boy can weigh more and look chubbier cos my elder boy looked skinny at this age when he was younger as he was a colicky baby. his milk intake never hit 5oz then like his bro now. until now, my elder boy only weighs abt 10kg at 25mos+ cos he does not know how to bite and chew and therefore can only take mushy and pureed food. even small pcs of bread/cake/biscuits/rice will make him gag and throw up. that explains his small size.

long time no post...

alot of newcomers...i dunno who's who liao.. @_@

lincray,
we do have a list...which I have not updated for a long long time...lol..

newcomers
if u wld like to be included in our list
do PM me your
1. nick
2. real name
3. contact no
4. email
5. where u stay
6. no. of kids, name & gender & dob of kid
7. whether u r SAHM/FTWM

hee...very luo suo hor... haha..

do add me in facebook [email protected]
pls let me know u r fr tiong bahru thread one..ok?

nana-kuchi:hi added u in fb liao

Ariel:tks alot
will be popping soon le.....hope still can make it for the pixs la :p tks alot again

lincray:my girl's now 20 months also 10 kgs only ;(.....eats worst than a bird .........tried everythign liao still......play is her #1 now i guess

weishy, sometimes i wonder where all the calories of the food goes to for my elder boy. But i supposed it doesn't help when he throws up often and only eats mushy food too.

On my Esther, the 3 babies can enter into a photo contest! They are simply ADORABLE! You don't have pics of them in your bb pool?

Esther - you are fast! haha, you crop out our faces =)
Kileina - only my girl swam in the end as Esther's baby not feeling well and Hillary's baby is sleepy. However she only swam for a short while, I suspect becoz its her first time and that her legs are too long, so can touch the bottom.

Kuchi - i have added you on fb too.
Weishy - hopefully we can take your preggy pic before you pop =)

Nana-kuchi, i've just added you on facebook too. Will PM you my particulars too!

MLB, weishy, my boy has been going for speech therapies at KKH and the dietician and speech therapist that he saw recommended us to add this weight-gainer called Caborie powder by Valens (yellow tin) available at KKH Pharmacy (Level 1) to my boy's milk. It's tasteless and dissolves very easily in milk. We've been adding baby cereal to his milk in addition to this powder so that he could gain weight besides taking solids. In fact we did not wean off his night feeds until now just to make sure he gets as much calories as possible since he doesn't take much solids. The dosage of the Caborie powder is 1 scoop (about the amt of Stage 3 FM) to 120ml milk. Perhaps you would like to try this method to plump your gals up

Lincray:i brought her for her 18 months chk up.....the nurse told me she's in the 50 percentile one le.......dunno should i try or not......just wanna increase her appetite.....

Ariel"ya man...hope so hope so

weishy: 50th percentile is still ok. My boy is in the 10th percentile. Anytime can drop off the chart

Tried Appelin, Lysine, Si Sen powder which is said to inc appetite but they don't work on my son. He just threw up milk again before going to sleep. The clothes he's wearing are 18mos. Sigh.

Hi Lincray,

Is there any reason why u son threw up the milk? Was he already not feeling well?

My gal will oso throw up her milk if she cough too hard in her sleep especially if she has lots of milk before that. One way is to dilute the last feed before sleep cos i read before milk irritate the throat if someone has itching throat. I tried and i think it helps to a certain extent.

Have u all heard about the lung tonic, Singulair? It is good for maintainance and protection of the lungs for kids who have bad cough, have wheezing, throw up from coughing etc. My gal has wheezing twice before and i am now giving her singulair from her PD to protect her lung. It is a very good "tonic" for the lung

lincray:

thanks for the info. will ask her PD when she goes for her jab next month. :p i think my gal is in the 25th percentile for weight but height wise is about 50th percentile if i remember correctly. so far, PD nvr said anything abt her weight but i do hope she puts on more. :p

Cloubhappy, my elder boy has always been a professional puker after he turned 1. It got worse after he turned 18mos, throwing up almost everyday, every meal, whether it is bec of cough, flu, choking, burping, retching, gagging, crying. You name it, he did it. The docs we saw diagnosed that he is a fussy eater and deliberately throws up his food more than anything, but otherwise active and healthy.

And he throws up ALL his food, not just a small mouthful. I think last nite he could have choked on the milk (as he complained pain pain just before he puked) as he drinks it lying down but propped up. Even then, he threw up twice, the 1st time was ALL the milk he just drank (180ml) and the 2nd time was his dinner (porridge). My husband was so mad at him! This phenomenon happened more often in his 2nd yr. Now this happens about 3-4x/mth, whether it is food or milk. You tell me how can such a kid put on weight?

Now that he has been going for his therapy sessions at KKH, he has shown a bit of progress from taking semi-solids to solids bec previously he has never been fond of taking finger food as he dislike getting dirty. So he is unlike most babies who love to put things in his mouth, he had hardly put anything in his mouth when he was younger. Moreover, he cannot chew and bite until now. The therapist said his mouth structure is underdeveloped such that his upper lip muscle is weak and he is not able to use his tongue to shift food around his mouth so that they can get to the teeth for him to chew/bite then swallow.

Where can i get this lung tonic Singulair?

Hi Lincray

I can feel your helplessness. My gal has bronchitis 2 months ago. She almost threw up every night when she coughed in her sleep. We got to standby plastic bags by her bed every night. Most of the nites, we have to clean her, change bedsheets etc. Very stressful and tired. I was even more heartpain to see her in that way.

Now she is fine and I am maintaining her with Singulair. Supposedly to protect her lung, help in the long term recovery to prevent infection and so on. It is prescribed by gal’s PD. I checked with guardian pharmacy and they can only sell with doctor’s prescription.

But your boy is not coughing badly and his lung is fine right? If so, then I dun think he needs singulair. Nevetheless, u can try enquiring with your PD in your next visit.

Try coaxing him to eat by distracting him, giving him reward for eating well (e.g. ice cream treat, gummy gum after meal, playground play after finishing etc). Telling him that throwing up is so painful and he will not be able to grow tall and have energy to run around. Try small meal in between? Try relating to his fav cartoon character?

My gal refused to eat medicine the last round saying that it is not nice. I bought a Dora spoon (her fav) and tell her that she must be a brave girl like DORA and finish everything with Dora spoon. I even tell her that DORA spoon is here to help her! She eventually finished everything and I have no problem in subsequent feeding. After she finished, she even tell me that she even praised herself that she is a brave girl like DORA.

Fortunately, my gal has no problem with diet. In fact, I have to control at times cos she keeps eating. Sometimes, when she is distracted or got tired with her rice, I gave her substitute together with her rice, e.g. corn flakes, pork floss together with rice and tell her that if she dun finish, she will not have energy to run, go playground and go shopping with me and mummy will be sad and whether she will be sad too. She will then eat. After she finished, she will tell me that she has energy to jump now!

Try different methods. It is really not easy. Every kid has their own pattern. Sometimes, I oso lose my patience especially after one day of work and still got to attend to No.2.

Have u try TCM?

Hi mummies, long time no come in here. Hope all of you are doing fine. =)

kileina : the HL clinic near the market do hv Singulair, but it's very ex. It's very good for allergic rhinitis, but i m not sure if it's suitable for ur son's case. I read abt ur son's throwing up, so poor thing. BTW, does his weak muscle affect his speech? Did the therapist advise you to do some oral motor exercise with him?

Ester : cool! i m oso contemplating getting the neck float & tub for my baby.... but i think & think... think until i can't find the BP link anymore... haha... btw, does the tub take up a lot of space?

gelato
the tub is the inflatable kind and when u fold it, its very compact, u can keep it in the wardrobe or under the bed.. hehe..
but if u want to let ur baby swim, its best to start early, in fact, the younger the better. if u start when they r older, they might b scared and refuse to go in.
my boy started at 3 mths. in fact can start them as early as 2 mths.