Thyroid causes infertility?

funne: Thanks for the encouragement. May u have a smooth delivery!

bin: Thanks for the recommendation on the TCM, will try to arrange to go one of these day. Did the TCM work for u?

Thyroid Eye Disease: As mine is Graves Eye Disease, i also made an appt to see a doctor at SNEC in addition to my thyroid doc. I waited very long for the appt coz the doctor only see thyroid patients on alternate tues and fri. Finally had my first appt last wk. Initially i din think that i need to see an eye doctor but my friend in the healthcare industry advised me to. But, aft my first visit, i'm in doubt if the visit is necessary or am i just wasting time and $. I did several tests and doctor said she confirmed that i've thyroid eye diseas (obviously) and i wasn't given any medication, except a box of eye drop. Doc said coz i'm planning for baby, they cant gimme any medication and ask me to go bk to see her again in 6-8 wks time to see if there's "any improvement". Wondering what improvement can there be when i'm only on eye drop. Any mummies suffering the eye disease? Can advise how/what can i do to help reduce on the swelling of the eye lid? Thanks.

Mummies who are giving birth: All the best and enjoy the time with yr bundle of joy!:)

just want to share.

I have hyperthyroidism for more than 5 years. Previously was under a pink tablet i forgot what name already. Since last May, I was given PTU as my Endrocrinologist deem that I should get ready for pregnancy.

Currently I am taking PTU at 100mg each in the morning and evening. Doctor has advised before that once i am pregnant, i have to check up my thyroid function every month, to prevent M/C. My last blood test result were at normal range.

After TTC for 4 months recently, I just got pregnant (about 5 weeks plus)

So its vital to maintain your thyroid hormones level if you want to get pregnant. Take your medicine diligently...

hope all TTCers will have their dreams come true soon

congrats ecym!
cactusnah, hope to hear the good news fr u soon!

mummies who's on PTU, do u breastfeed ur bb?
my PD stop me fr bf coz he said it will affect my bb although my endo dr said PTU is safe.
need some support fr those who's bf and taking PTU.

Thanks to all for sharing!

funne, i'm on total breastfeeding now and also on 2 tablets of PTU daily. Hv confirmed with my GP that PTU is safe for bf. Since it's also safe during pregnancy, i don't see why it is not safe now.

Juz to share that my gal is free from thyroid at birth

bin, thks for sharing!
the PD at GH against it and said my dosage is high (3tabltes a day).
when i went to KKH for her jaundice treatment, the dr there said i can continue bf but need to bring her back 1mth later to monitor.

Hi Funne,

My Endrocrinologist advised that it is safe to take PTU during BF.

My thyroid level shot up in the 2nd mth after birth. So, I was immediately ordered to resume my medication - 50mg, 2 tabs a day(at that time I still BF my baby).

Confirm with your Endrocrinologist on stopping medication as it may affect your thyroid stability.

FYI - I had 2 daughters and their thyroid level is normal at birth.

funne: Thk u. But sad to say that i had another round of MC this month. My level is already in the normal range for the past few months, not sure why the MC. This is my 3rd MC le, very sian and disappointed. 1st MC, i din know i have thyroid problem and lost the bb at wk 7-8, 2nd MC i was hyper and became hypo aft taking 6 tabs of PTU/day, lost bb at wk 7. But this time round i thot i'll have the chance of keeping it. But, like the first 2 times, i lost it at wk 6. Hw do mummies who suffer from hyper managed to get pregnant? Can share? Really dunno what's wrong. Perhaps i shld really give my body a rest or stop at 1

Wrt to BFing, I've read from many articles, it all mentioned that PTU is safe during BFing. Though traces of the medication will pass thru BM, the benefit of BM still outweighs anything. Just have to monitor yr bb.

Hi Cactusnah,

So sad to hear that you have lost your BB.

It seemed that your Hyperthyroid condition is quite bad. Actually, no good to keep fluctuating from hyper to hypo and vice versa.

Do see your endrocrinologist to discuss on the controlling your thyroid condition before you consider to conceive again.

so glad that i found this thread
Just to share my experience:
When i first found out i hv hyper active thyroid, i need to take 6 tablets. But my endocrin doc did not stop me from trying for no.2 baby. The next mth, I conceive. and throughout the pregnancy my thyroid level improved tremendously and from 5th mth onwards I'm only taking 1 PTU. When i gave birth, my bb is clear of thyroid problem..and again my endocrine doc encouraged me to breast feed even though I'm taking PTU...so i bf her for 14mth..now down to latch twice a day..

One thing, both my kids were born premature..at 35 wks. During the 1st bb, i didnt have any sign of hyper at all.

Anyway, back to current situation, ever since I gave birth, I suffer relapse..till now i'm still on 3 PTU haiz..I'm already on 2 yrs medication...haizx2

cactusnah,
so sorry to hear about what you've gone through..
based on what my endo doc said, as long as we take medicine regularly, and visit him once found out pregnant,and visit mthly..the pregnancy should not hv problem. R u seeing GP or endo specialist?

Snowball/Woeseek: Thks for sharing. Sign...not sure what's happening. My level is already stable for the past few months, but still i suffer a MC. I'm seeing an endocrinologist. Wanted to book an appt to see her wheni found out i was preggy but the MC happened too early and i din get to see the endo doctor.

hi, my thyroid is hyper, and i do have 2 miscarriage. however, do u all agree we should not link all miscarriage to our thyroid problem? there are also healthy couple out there but faces recur miscarriage

Gillian: Yes, i used to think that all MC are caused by hyper. And it's a known fact that hyper causes MC and hypo causes the chances of conceiving to reduce. However, i start to think twice aft my recent MC coz my level is supposed to be in the normal range and i'm only on 2 tabs PTU per day, so i thot my hyper problem is not tat bad. I've seen so many successful pregnancy here, so perhaps there's something else tat's not right and i ought to see a gynae for thorough check-up.

yup, i also read that hyper cause miscarriage and hypo reduce the chances of conceiving too.

if your level is normal, i believe the miscarriage wasn't cause by it. even though my last blood test result still show not well for FSH, my doc still tell me that i can conceive as long as i faithfully take my ptu and go for checkup.

usually gynae can give us a check if there are 3 miscarriages on genes etc for both husband and wife. it can be quite expensive, and result may even turn out that both are ok. we just need to keep trying for a healthy baby

Gillian: Thanks for sharing. Are u expecting now after the 2 MC? Yes, during my 1st MC the gynae told me that if i can manage to get hold of the 'tissue' that's being passed out, they can actually do some examination. I was against the idea and gynae did mention that not necessary if it's my 1st mc. Now that i've 3 mc, i think i ought to do some thorough check. It cld be something else...Did u do any of such test? Which gynae/endo are u seeing?

hi cactusnah, nope, im not expecting now. had miscarriage this may only. but currently body quite good after months with tcm. i have just switch to sgh, cos im considering ivf as i dont wish to wait too long, but i will only start when my tsh is back to normal range. as for my thyroid, im seeing GP at bukit timah. my case should be consider mild and i have been back to normal range within 6 months when first diagnose, but too bad, im ignorance i stop the medication when i was preggy for the first time. quite shock that i get pregnant easily when my level is normal.. too bad sac did not grow at week 8. then too traumatic by the miscarriage, that thyroid came back again. then 2nd miscarriage is due to ectopic with ivf.

Gillian,
Sorry to hear abt the losses u went thru. I find my case a bit different coz i think i'm more fertile nw as compared to before when i was free from thyroid problem. But too bad, i cldnt sustain the pregnancy. I was diagnosed with thyroid only this April, my level was within the range aft just 3 months of medication. Pardon me for my ignorance, i thot with ivf, the chances of ectopic pregnancy shld be very slim? No? Anyways, let's jia you together.

hi cactusnah, u mean u got pregnant when u are having thyroid? i thought u have been free from thyroid.. btw, pls still continue go for regular check before it can come back anytime.

for ivf, ectopic is rare, but still possible. so im the suay one

gillian and cactusnah, sorry to hear about the losses.. pls take good care!
after my 2nd m/c(chemical pregnancy) in jan tis yr, i expected again in mar. it was a 'accident' actually.
hope you both will have little surprise soon!

i'm going to see my endo dr next mth, will see the condition and decide if want to go GP or not.. endo dr more exp.. :p

Gillian: Yes, all my 3 pregnancies/mc happened this year (very suay this year) and i was and still am having thyroid. My condition is in the normal range now but i'm still on 2 ptu/day. My first mc was in Feb, 2nd in June and the recent one in Nov. My next endo appt will be in 15/12, will let my doc know of my recent lost. I'm always faithful in taking my pills, am also taking folic acid for the past 6 months.

Funne: Wow, u're lucky. Succesfully expect again aft MC. My last MC was also chemical pregnancy, happened too quickly tat i dun even have the chance to see a gynae.

mummies who bf, do u bb have prolong jaundice?
my gal is coming to 3 wks and her jaundice is still 200+.. very sad ler...

cactusnah, yah, i call my gal lit suprise.

funne,
both my kids hv prolong jaundice for 6wks+
for my 1st one i brought her to polyclinic, then the doc got us to come back and test every wk till completely clear
for no.2 i brought her to TMC pd, she did a liver function test at 3 wk old, and its clear..so PD say no prob..so we let her yellow all the way..though look kinda worrying..heh

Glad to find this topic. I'm also being diagnosed to have thyroid about 4 mths ago and on regular medication now, taking 2 types of medicine twice everyday. I must say the PTU is really bitter.

After reading the posting, i realised that i'm not sure if mine is a hyper and hypo. Will definately ask the doc when i do my checkup this week.

Have decided to ttc however the doc told me not to as my thyroid level is still not under control. Hopefully the test this week will show positive results! Have been delaying the plan to have kid and now when i'm ready, i'm diagnosed with thyroid!

Can't help worrying now that what if mine is a hypo! It will really affect the fetus brain development?

erm.. abit lost here.. wat is MC?

hi cactusnah,
sorry to hear bout ur miscarriage

as mention previously me trying for num 2 til date est 3mths, no news.
just start to chge med to PTU last mth but my condition is alrdy in the stable range. i'm seeing the endo at Alexandra hospital. he mention i can start trying as it wun affect the pregnancy..
hmm but after reading the above posting by other mummies, i'll be worried too if concieve.. haiz..

anyway my mentality now is take it in stride lor if have den take it, if dun have just be sastified w one =)

Jen: MC = Miscarriage.
I'm also confused coz some doc said can ttc even though thyroid problem is still thr, but some doc discourage. I guess it also depends on each individual condition ba. When u mention stable range, u mean yr level is the same everytime u take blood test or does that mean tat yr level is in the acceptable range? Coz i went for my blood test on Mon, my result reflected that i'm within the acceptable range (10-20)but my level has been increasing for the past 3 check ups, from reading 13 to 14 and latest result shows 16. And recently i feel that my hyper symptoms are coming bk. I feel a little hungry easily and i can feel my heartbeat faster. See wat the doc say when i see her on next Tuesd. Hopefully i dun have to increase my PTU.

mine is on the acceptable range. now taking 1/2 tab Ptu. haiz i've been taking the carbimazole since 2005 monitor by GP. end last yr, he say try to stop for 1mth n c how it goes. end up after 1wk, relaspe.. haiz.

end up went for f/u at A.H endo cuz my hubby is workin there. been seeing him since early his yr.. so far ok.. but recently dunno izzit due to work stress, have some symtom of relasping.
next appt is next wed.. hope all goes well..
hate it especially when menses is coming, worst.

at times when i'm overly tired, will have the feeling of another heartbeat thumping (hard). but when c doc(s) all say nothing and might due to stress. haiz

hope all goes well on ur next chk up.. =) take care ya..

Hi Coly/ Jennifer,

I was diagnosed with Hyperthyroid about 4.5yrs ago, in the midst of TTC. My T4 reading was in the 25 - 30 range. I went to my company GP for follow-up and was put on CBZ -6 tabs a day and GP advised me agst TTC until my thyroid stabilises.. For the next 4 - 5 mths my thyroid reading fluctuates very widely (I still remember there was once I became hypo).

As my hb and I were not getting any younger, we were very worried for my condition to TTC. In the midst of this, I realised that I was pregnant! I went back to see my Company's GP whom was not optimistic about my pregnancy as my thyroid condition was still unstable.

I went to see my gynae for advice and he immediately referred me to an Endocrinologist to monitor my condition. The Endo was very re-assuring and helped me kept my thyroid under control thro'out my pregnancy. I was on 2tabs PTU during preggy and stopped at the 7th mth when my thyroid condition stabilises.

I have had 2 rather fuss-free pregnancies (18 mths apart) and is now a proud mummy of 2 beautiful daughters
Until today, 4.5yrs later, I am still on medication, altho' my thyroid is now in the normal range (1 tab PTU a day). So far, so good.

Mummies - My advice to you is to go see an endo to analyse your condition and advice if you wanna TTC.

Hi Snowball32,

ya me also seeing endo at alexandra hospital.. =)
so ur eldest shd be the same age as my gal. she is born in 2005. =)

now just c heng suay lor.. although my condition has long since in the stable condition. if manage to concieve, i will definately be happy, but if not its oki too cuz at least i still have my gal ;p

Seen the endo last wk and confirmed that mine is a hyper. Although the thyroid level has went down, its a bit lower than normal (a bit on the hypo). Advised by the doc to reduce the dosage to half to monitor.

Snowball32, the doc advised not to ttc. A bit disappointed to hear that. I'm not getting any younger.

Hi Jennifer,

My DD1 was born in 2006. She is now 38mths old. Yes, in fact, my DD2 came as a surprise to us as we thought that it was already a Blessing that we finally had DD1 (after 3 yrs of trying).

Hi Coly,

Do hear what the Endo's advice. Discuss with your Endo on your concerns and hear his opinion why it is not advisable to TTC.

jennifer, how do u know you have relapse?
i went for chk up and now also reduce to 1 ptu..

my gal although she's free fr hyper/hypothyroid, but she still hav jaundice and no weigh gain..

I went for chk up yesterday and told my endo doc abt my recent MC, kenna stared and warned by her not to ttc again until at least 6 months later and my condition under control. She said though my level is within the normal range, my antibodies is very high at 19+ reading whereas the acceptable range is not more than 7. Hence, it leads to my frequent MC. I told her i felt some of my hyper symptoms coming bk 2 weeks ago, and my blood test truly showed an increase, she said early pregnancy in the first trimester will cause a relapse. And now, i've to increase my PTU from 2 tabs per day to 3 tabs per day. She'll review my level during the next blood test and advise if i can revert bk to 2 PTU again. So for the next 6 months, i've to be guai guai and hope for a rabbit baby, if any.

For those who are TTC, hope the above helps coz i was equally confused. Though yr thyroid level may be in the acceptable range, thr's also other thing to look out for. So, consult yr endo doc before trying. Gd luck & gd health to all mummies here

Hi funne,
cuz my heart beat very fast and whole person very tense..
end up that nite went to AnE at alexandra hospital, doc took blood test and confirm on high side.
yst just seen my endo, reduce ptu to 1/2tab alt day. hope can maintain..

hi cactusnah, thanks for sharing.. btw, what does your antibodies refer to?

i just got back my latest report, T3, T4, tsh all in acceptable range..finally!

Hi Gillian,

I just went for my blood test this morning and in addition to the routine Free T4/TSH test ($48.10), the TSH Receptor Antibody(TRAB)($49.50) test will also be carried out. I took the TRAB test few months ago and was ordered to repeat the test again due to my frequent miscarriage. My endo said i'll have MC if my antibody level is low. Hope the explaination helps.

Mummies, i just visited my Endrocrinologist this afternoon. Not sure if i shld be happy or not coz my endo gave me the green light to try for my 2nd child after my last MC 6 months ago. My TSH antibody level was 12 iu/l though the normal level shld be within the range of 0-1.5 iu/l, my endo say shldnt be any problem to try though any reading above 7 iu/l is consider above normal. Argh...anyone here has taken any TSH antibody test, esp for those who successfully gotten pregnant. If yes, what was yr reading? Or if anyone is seeing yr endo soon, is it possible to post this question to yr endo on behalf (whether it's really safe to conceive when ones TSH antibody level is at 12 iu/l). I'm worried coz i experienced MC thrice
. Thanks in advance.

Hi cacusnah, are u taking ptu? i was pregnant and strike on the month when my thyroid is fully controlled. i feel that its better to let thyroid to be fully controlled and try because the success rate of having healthy baby is higher. i had miscarriage too when strike but that's when my thyroid is yet to be controlled.

currently im coming 7 mths pregnant. my thyroid actually recur during 1st trimester (T4 controlled but tsh below the normal range) and im on 1 tablet of ptu everyday till now, and doctor said this is normal because of hormone changes.

Dont give up!

BBtigger: Thank u for the reply. U mentioned that yr thyroid is under control, meaning both T4 and TSH within the acceptable range? My T4 reading has been in the acceptable range for the past 9 months, but for my TSH level is always way below the normal range at <0.01 miu/l, my endo said it's normal and it wont go bk to the normal range since i'm still having the condition.

Happy to hear that u're already in the last trimester of pregnancy, hopefully i can be like u soon:)

Hi cactusnah, yup, that's when my t3, t4 and tsh all within normal range.

oh, u mean it wont go back to normal range?

u will be like me one day as there are alot of girls pregnant and successfully given birth to baby for our condition.. most important is stay relax and our thyroid can be easily go back to normal range

Hi BBtigger,

Yup, that's what my endo told me. My TSH level has always been the same at <0.01 miu/l since i was dignosed last April. I'm on 2 tabs 50mg PTU (1 in the morning and 1 at night). May i ask, hw long ago have u had hyper? And hw long it took for yr levels to stablize? Sorry for the list of questions but i'm worried to go through another round of MC again.

hi cactusnah, i dignose with hyper since mid of year 2007.. the first time my thyroid stabilised was abt half a year later, but because of my ignorant, i got pregnant and i stop my medication too as i was afraid it will harm the baby but it ended in 1st m/c. instead of helping, think i cause the loss of baby as i did not continue my medication.

then after emotion got better, i went back for thyroid review and it came back, so on medication but due to work stress (my thyroid recur mainly on stress), it fails to get better and that's when i quit my job and started my soiui immediately after i left my job as i was too gan jiong to get pregnant again.. as my mature eggs are too many, i converted to ivf, and i done the process when my thyroid was not controlled yet.. i got pregnant again but ended in 2nd m/c again..

so this time round, i really rested, tiao my body, and half a year later, my thyroid is all controlled and got pregnant the following month when the report shown my thyroid controlled.. i faithfully stick to my tcm, my thyroid medication etc etc and was glad this was a healthy pregnant.

any idea if your thyroid could be due to stress level too?

BBtigger: Thanks so much for sharing yr condition in detail. Mine, i guess is postnatal thryoid coz i've no family history of the condition and i dun think i'm that stress at work. I gave birth to my boy in November 07, everything was ok till abt end 08 when i started losing weight and my eyes became swollen and caused me headache in Jan 09. I'd my 1st MC in Feb 09 and was diagnosed with Hyperthyroidism in end April 2009. Only then that i realised what caused my MC. I was asked to take 6 tabs of PTU per day as instructed by the polyclinic till my next review with SGH in abt 2 months time.

I had my first appt with SGH in end June and my Free T4 was over controlled (3.8 only) and i became i hypo. The medical officer advised not against getting pregnanct. But guess it was too late, i found out i was preggy again 2 days aft the appt. I made an appt to see the KKH doc and told him abt my condition and was immediately referred to an endocrine doc in KKH. By the time i met the endocrine doc, i was experiencing the same as my 1st MC, bleeding and i knew i cant save it. True enuff, i lost the bb again.

I'm also very impatient to get preggy again but i'm so afraid of going thru the lost again, esp my levels (except my free T4) is not in the normal range yet. I din know it's possible for the TSH to be in the normal range again coz my endo said it is ok??? Sigh...

But but but, it's great news to hear success stories like yrs and perhaps i shld wait for another 1-2 months for my next test result and decide if i shld go ahead and try. I'm not getting any younger and seeing hw my boy yearns for a little bb to play with, i really hope there's a chance...

Can i know which TCM u're seeing? Does TCM really help in our condition? TIA!

i went back for chk up few wks ago..
i'm in normal range and stop medication alrd.
endo dr said it's ok to get pregnant even if i'm on PTU.
all the best to all!

I am diagnosed with Hyper thyroid when I went to visit my gynae during my first visit (ard 6 weeks).

I am on PTU medication now.

I am at a loss!!! Why is this happening to me???!!! My greatest worry is my baby...will he/she be healthy because of me???

What should I do??? I really hate myself!!

Hi Yoti,

I am also with hyper condition and diagnosed during my 3rd pregnancy. Baby gal is 9 months old now and clear of thyroid. I am still breastfeeding her despite under medication. Thus it really doesn't affect the baby in any way. Juz make sure that your condition is under control with regular blood tests and take your PTU as advised.

Don't worry too much, try to stay positive and enjoy your pregnancy!

Hi Bin,

Thank you for your reply....

I hope I can be positive as you. Maybe this is my first pregancy. All bad thoughts keep flowing to me once I am diagnosed! My greatest worry is that my child will be unhealthy as afterall I am having dugs during my pregnancy.

Kindly check did your gynae warn you of any side-effects that time if mother has hyper condition?

Hi Yoti,

You are most welcomed! If you look through the old postings, you'll see that most mummies who have their condition controlled have normal pregnancies. So the utmost thing you need to do is to make sure your condition is under control.

As for side effects, gynea also advised that if the condition is not controlled, then I risk having miscarriage. As for PTU, it's supposed to be safe for both pregnancy and breastfeeding.

HTHs