Thyroid causes infertility?

hi qingqing,
oh dear. don't be too upset yet cos it might be a false alarm. i was suspected of having polycystic ovary probs too but in the end, it was just a false alarm.

erin00 u mean u went for a blood test as well? sorry for late reply very busy lately ..... i done my blood test for the thyroid yippie now my TSH drop to 6.6 ....

hi qingqing,
yup, went for blood test and ultrasound scan. all ok. great to hear that ur blood test results are better. so can ttc now? good luck.

erin00 thanks hahahah i went for check up again yeeahhhhh i am so happy really can ttc already .....
Freet4 is 21.23 and TSH drop to normal range at 2.639 yeah

hi qing qing,
glad to hear that. can ttc liao but must remember to take ur medicine if u r still on it. good luck for ur ttc.

Can anyone advise me if wanna see specialist for hypothyroid, where to go and what charges? My TSH is 5.3. quite high and it's like this for many years. Everytime GP said never mind, wait wait wait, Waited so many year still the same. What can it do? Should I go see chinese doctor or western specialist?

kim
i am seeing a specialist at NUH not bad... i cant take GP's medicine it causes side effect to me, headaches, giddy spells. the specialist medicine is ok no side effect
I just gave birth to 2 lovely twins in Sept

Hi Kim,
I was seeing a specialist at SGH last time cos my thyroid changes from hyper to hypo so my gp suggested that i see a specialist. Heard that we can't get rid of thyroid but can control it. After seeing the specialist for about 2 yrs, my thyroid condition has stabilised and I dun have to take medication anymore. i'm praying that it'll remain this way.

Cost around $50+ for consultation. if add blood test, will be around $90. it would be cheaper if u go polyclinic to get referral letter. hope it helps.

Hi Kim,

for what i know 5.3 is still falls under the safe catagory leh ..... if above 5.5 then is hypo wor .... for Free T4 Normal range is 11.50 -22.70 and TSH is (0.350 - 5.500)

I am seeing Dr Lee Chung Horn at Eastern Specialist Centre he is from gleneagles medical centre.

erinn00 i was seeing SGH doc last time oso i am oso from hyper to hypo. and i feel like guinea pig in SGH so i decided to give up and see chinese medical practition but i feel it very slow :p so i went to a specialist instead ...... kekekeke

I need help. I was hypo so I went to see specialist. Took medicine thyroxine. Now turn to Hyperthyroid!!! I also tested positive for Microsomal Antibody. Anybody with same situation? Can advise what to do?

I was dignosed hyperthyroid 2.5 years ago and has been on carbimazole (prescribed by GP) all this while. However, despite being on medication all this while, I've not been successful in controlling my thyroid condition.

Last month, I conceived successfully after trying for 1.5 years only to miscarry at 7 weeks. Im not sure if it's because of my thyroid condition but Im seriously contemplating seeking the expertise of a endocrinologist to address my hyperthyroid issue and would appreciate if any forum members could recommend a good and reliable endocrinologist. Thanks!

Hi bleu,
i was diagnosed with hperthyroid for less than 1 yr before I accidentally got pregnant. Was on carbimazole but later changed to PTU during pregnancy.

My daughter was born with slight hypothyroid due to the anti-thyroid medication tat I took. Luckily after retest a few days later, she was cleared. Now, my thyroid level has returned to normal. My medical friend told me tat preg can sometimes cured us of our thyroid diseases. I'm due to go back for another test in a few mths time, & hopefully it'll b okay.

I can't recommend u an endocrinologist cos I was being treated by a GP, then a gynae during pregnancy.

I dun think ur miscarriaged is caused by hyperthyroid though...Still, I was u luck in ttc!

I found out that I have hyperthyroid abt 2yrs ago, was on carbi for about 6 mths only as my condition was under controlled. But had a relapse again last yr, very mild though, was put on carbi again (very low dosage) and then was controlled again just within 2 mths of medication, but still go on with the medication. About 6 mth ago, doc changed my medication to PTU as I was trying for a baby.

Am now 3 mth pregnant, but just went for my last blood test and checkup and realised that the result is slightly on the high side again, very mild though. Doc told me not to worry as it's very common in pregnant women with hyperthyroid. She mentioned that she has alot of cases where her patients who are pregnant but with the same condition. Am rather relieve to hear that, at least I know that she knows what she's doing and I am in safe hand.

Am seeing Dr Daphne Khoo frm SGH.

Hi Bleu,

I think it's better to ensure that your thyroid condition is under control before you ttc. According to my doc, the pregnancy's less risky that way. I heard that pple with thyroid conditions might also be at a higher risk of miscarriage. So it's best to seek the endocrinologist advice before you conceive.

I've been seeing Dr Winston Kon from TTSH for the past few years.

Hi Muddypie,
I was also like you. Initially took the carbimazole for about 6 mths, then had a relapse later on. That time I was seeing a GP. After the relapse, I was referred to Dr Winston Kon for treatment and was on the carbi medication for almost the complete 2 year course. Then I got pregnant. Dr advised me to stop the medication completely. So throughout my entire pregnancy, I was not taking any medication and my thyroid level remained normal. By God's grace, I had a super duper smooth pregnancy, with no morning sickness, no water retention, stretchmarks etc...My gal came out a healthy 3.4kg. In a nutshell, I had a really blessed and enjoyable pregnancy.

Doc did tell me that there's a likelyhood of relapse and last Dec, had a relapse and now put on PTU as I'm still bfg my gal who's turning 17mths this week.

Just sharing my story to let all of you know that it's possible to have a smooth and normal pregnancy as long as the thyroid's under control. Have a blessed Chinese New Year!

Thanks for the replies Joyful, Muddypie and YB! Truly appreciate it.

Ideally, I would prefer to be free of thyroid before I TTC again. Unfortunately, time is running out for me (early 30s already) so I would prefer to do both concurrently (ie. ttc and bring the tyroid under control) unless the doctor seriously advises me against it. Im borderline (ie. just slightly outside of the normal range) hyperthyroid so I'm praying that the endocrinologist will gve me the go ahead when I consult him/ her.

My gynae is with KKH so was wondering if it's better for me to consult an endocrinologist from the same hospital or it does not matter.

Does anyone know of a good endocrinologist from KKH?

So far, I've gone through all the postings and shortlisted both Dr Winston Kon and Dr Daphne Khoo.

My friend from the medical field told me tat sometime pregnancy will help us to regulate our thyroid hormones into the normal range...mayb tat's wat happened to Joyful.

For what i know hyperthyroid can conceive leh Hypo cannot leh ... my doc told me hypo will cause the baby unhealthy .... i am a hypothyroid but last two mths my thyroid is back to normal range and trying to conceive but everytime is disappointment. Due to the hormones change and the medi i took my mensus have always been irregular and Doc suspect I might have PCOS ...
so i have to went thru all the scanning and blood test.

I have gone thru the blood test and will be seeing the doc at KKH on 21 feb .... 16 feb i will be doing the pelvic scanning to see is there any blockage
kinda depress.....

hopefully i am ok .... cos i really loves baby .....

hi qing qing i hv hyper first..then 'graduate' to hypo till now..wat i heard is the opp of u though..my bb is due in march..another 3 wks to go. My hypothyroid is under control..maybe tats why i m able to conceive quite easily. dun give up ok..

Wat i m not very sure now is if i can pass thyroidism to my bb ..or if i can bfeed her while under medication once she is born...

Thanks Joyful for sharing your experience, am keeping fingers crossed that my little piglet will be healthy & well.

I read from the internet that as long as your doc is a very good & experienced doc, we shouldn't worry too much about the whole pregnancy.

Hi YB,

Yes, you are rite! My doc told me the same thing too. That being pregnant will actually make our thyroid leve normal. So that's why no need to take medication during pregnancy.

Hi Muddypie,
Not to worry! I'm sure your lil' piglet will be strong and healthy. Anyway, after delivery, your pediatrician will do a thyroid test on yr baby to check that everything's clear.

Just wanted to check, those with Hyperthyroid, are there any food that you are avoiding. From the very beginning, doc has told me to avoid seafood, esp shellfish, seaweed, cabbages, soy bean products. Just wondering, did anyone really follow strictly to the diet?

Yah, YB, I do avoid, and do agree that it really help. But since I'm expecing, I have been taking alittle of soy bean milk, a little of fish, hope these are okay. So worry, cause fish is supposed to be brain food for baby, am so worried that baby is not getting much nutrient from me.

Muddypie, for me i didnt avoid leh heheh cos i love eating crab and I dun take red meat only white meat and seafood ..... so i never avoid. But those on medication BAI CAI TOU cannot eat leh. Eat more seaweed

hmm....strange, qingqing, frm what you mention, it seems like we have a different condition. For my case, the doc says that it's due to too much iodine, which I agree, cause I love to take prawn noodle, fish and sushi. Too much of that will cause my thyroid gland to swell and become more active.

i was diagnose as hyperthyroid which make my gland swell.I took twice of the radio iodine to kill the swelling. then after that i become hypo my doc never say what food to avoid leh

Muddypie u are hyper now? even i am hyper hor the doc never say what food to avoid leh ...... till i am gg for radio iodine cannOt take seafood 3 days b4 and 3 days after the radio iodine.

hmmm....don't know, that's what my doc advised. No seafood or any food that has high content in iodine. Even to the extent like certain brands of milk, certain multi-vits, omega-3, broccoli, cabbages...... these to be avoided till my next checkup on 20th Mar. Will talk to doc again, cause don't think it's gonna be good for the baby.

hmmmm wow so many things to avoid .... early stage when i diagnose with thyroid i have a rapid heart beat doc only ask me to avoid drinking coffee.
Muddypie where u see ur thyroid from wor?
did u manage to get your tsh and t4 reading?

I'm seeing Dr Daphne Khoo frm SGH. She's recommended by one of my friend's friend who also has thyroid. Yah, I just had my blood test last month, will be going for another one in 2 weeks' time.

hi all, I'm new here. Glad I found this thread.

I'm now expecting my first bb, and into my 14th week of pregnancy, the blood test shows that I have a slight hypothyroid. was on medication for a few weeks, but TSH went higher from 2.8 to 3.5 .. now my gynae is referring me to a specialist.

It worries me cos it seems that hypothyroid can cause some harm to my bb.

I've asked the doc whether there is any food to take or avoid to help my situation, but he just says nothing.

Feels like of helpless that there is nothing I can do =(

Anyone has any advise to share?

gynae mentioned there are risks of prematured births.... can I read that there might be some developmental problems for the bb.

Vivian I think is best you go see specialist see what he say loh .....

but my doc did tell me abt that oso ... is better to get to know from the doc

hi qingqing, I just saw the specialist yesterday ... felt a little better after I talk to him.

Ya, he mentioned about the risk of my bb having low IQ... also mentioned I may have higher risk of post-natal depression!!!! so must warn my hb, especially second part......

But he also assured me that with close monitoring, can proper mediacation, we can bring the risk down. Also he's giving me eltroxin.... which is a very safe medicine..... used to supplement the thyroid hormones to my body. not harmful to bb.....

now my TSH 3.75 =( medicine dosage has to go up. Must guai guai take medicine...... hopefully, TSH will go down next blood test.

vivien ya then u must listen to doc and eat ur medicine
be a good mama heeeheeee

for me my thyroid ok already now is another issue ... sigh sianz

Hi qingqing.... glad that your thyroid is ok =) You preggnant now?

Ya, I must be good mama.... every day talk to my bb inside my tummy to be strong and healthy.

You take good care of yourself =)

vivien no i am not pregnant yet i am ttc. Cos of thyroid result me to have irregular mensus therefore now i am waiting for my mensus to come again so i can start taking clomid to help me ovulate

Hi, just went for my checkup yesterday. Was pleased that I'm cleared and the Dr has put me off PTU for now, but she will continue to see me every 6 weeks till I deliver. She mentioned that, it'll be very stable for me throughout the whole pregnancy, as the body is protecting the baby frm the attack. However, she warned that it is very likely that I'll have a relapse 6 months after I deliver.

qing qing.... just wanted to share good news with you. Came back from gynae with my latest blood test results yesterday. Now my TSH back to normal 1.9 =) very happy. Still continuing with eltroxin.

wow vivien!!! congrats!!! I am normal too now hehehe .... ttc-ing ..... waiting for good news now ....

hi qingqing, so fast you reply liao =) Good for you too. Wait for your good news.

My bb now 28 weeks, around 10+ more weeks, then and see him liao..... so exciting =)

Can anyone recommend your doc to me for treating thyroid? i have went to GP and the doc does not have stock and did not dare to prescribe medicine to me just because i want to conceive. Im so affected by this doc.

hey qing2,

You must be very happy!

Hi Gillian,
I'm currently seeing an endocrine specialist, Dr Winston Kon at Tan Tock Seng. Been seeing him for a few years now. When I got pregnant 2 years ago, he stopped my medication and I had a blessed and smooth pregnancy. Now expecting my no.2, he's also stopped all medication and monitoring my level to ensure all is ok. If you want to conceive, main thing is to ensure that your thyroid level is under control, otherwise doctors dun recommend getting pregnant.

i see.. now i'm so confuse why my gynae said i can continue to conceive coz some of his patients are having thyroid too. Is Dr Winston Kon fee expensive?