SMH Scrapbooking Club !!!!

thanks for the advice. call MWL they said no classes for children age 4yrs. so I think I will just let DD do what she thinks is appropriate at the momemt.

just to share a really embarrasing thing, I tried to cut out a flower shape for her from a floral piece of paper, it was badly cut, not symmetrical and out of shape. DD was horrified and cried that I destroyed her paper!! rughghghg

three more questions:

does it mean we need to print many photos to make the scrap books? how to get those small size prints? the last time I printed 36 digitial photos from Kodak koisk, it cost me over $20, that's so exxxy. I would rather store them in my harddisk...

for example, when one LO is done. where do you keep it? do you paste it on the wall for all to see? or frame it or hang it up, or keep it in a cupboard??

What is tape glue??

MTIA for all your ans/help, forgive my 'stupid' questions, i feel quite silly asking too, but whose else to ask except expert mommies in this area

harriet

Harriet....you may consider to cut out the flower using a pen/craft knife. Console her, her lots of papers are in the mail, will reach her tomorrow.

Scan through your harddisk to see which are the photos which bring you fond memory or you want to remember then print.
If you are going to print from those Kodak or Fuji specialised store, it's about $0.40/pc for 4R, 2R (about credit card size), you need to print 2pc at $1/pc. Alternatively, if you have a photo printer at home, you can adjust and print whatever size you want. I'm using a Canon all-in-one printer MP390, only recently then I realised that my printer can print photo with good effect!!!

My completed LOs are in album.

Tape glue is a kind of acid-free adhesive for scrapbooking use. It's costly!! Use a bit will do. Can get from Popular. This link is from a local online store, I not related to them. site:http://scrapoholics.com.sg/product_info.php?cPath=31&products_id=98 Get the refillable one, jus need to buy refill. I standby 3-4sets.

I attended a SB class, I was told it's important to use the RIGHT glue as that is the one that has direct contact with your precious photos.

dorcas....thks for the tips on usage of the rub-on tapes. I bought 2 sets, still in the packaging!!!

no problem, regarding the rub on tapes, at first might be a little tough to use, especially when u are like 'doing' in half on the photo, and another half on the paper, cos sometimes they will break off, just use a black pen and touch up can le

Harriet,
Actually hor, last year when my gal was 4, she will always have gathering with my friends kids who are around the same age. I actually give them my left over papers like some I used half or left little strips. Then they are able to complete a small layout for like 6 x 6 or 8 x 8.
Can try smaller layout with them. The kids had fun. I will be doing one for her my gal at her childcare during birthday this year. Ha ha her teachers also ask me to teach them but their activities all very packed for last year so will maybe this year I will be invited ha ha

wow lau...all not sleeping??? later scrapper??? For me is juz got home from work.

Dorcas...thanks for the tips. I'm scare of that breakage that is why I dare not use. And is not economical to "practice" on plain paper. I've another set which will be a challenge to do touch-up.
1180626.jpg

annissakoh
don worry la, just try straight on the layout, den use black pen to touch up. not really a big issue. For me i only brought the stitches one, and now using my 2nd pack le, the other one didn managed to get hold of one =(

Hey Annissa & Dorcas,
The daisyd's is nice. where did you guys buy it from? Does spotlight has them? Was told spotlight have when I almost bought the zigzag from laines prevously.

Cheers.

Harriet
Alternatively, you could try using picasa to arrange photos to be printed square boxes like a collage. 4 pics on one 4R size paper. Most of my multi-photos layouts, that's what I would do too but I print out my own photos since I had gotten my free HP photoprinter from Starhub via an offer last year. So I could decide if I wanted 2 pics to be printed on one 4R paper size.

As for keeping LOs, get those albums with a slot in plastic that's 12 x 12 in size and refillable, meaning to say, you can extend the album to hold more of the plastic refills. If you really want a cheapo type, I think Popular sells them, have to ask and search, but be warned that quality is not fantastic. If you don't mind "investing" in a proper SB one but not overly expensive, maybe can look at the SMH's Biz thread, got some SB biz threads there =)

ginncher
i got mine online when i am buying stocks for my site =) previously i brought my 1st from MWL, guess now both MWL and Laines don carry them already cos its not to 'friendly' to use

what i have done for christmas crop at mwl:

1181593.jpg

1181594.jpg

what i have done last night for 2 challenges held by groovie cafe:

1181595.jpg

1181596.jpg

Dorcas,

What's the size of your album? It's very very nicely done. Can squeeze so many things in. Your embellishments are nice. There is a patterned swirl in one of your LOs. Is it chipboard covered by patterened paper? How do one take care of the sides of the chipboard to make it look complete?

ginncher

mine album is 9"x9". i printed like 8 small pictures in a 4R size so can squeeze lots of stuffs inside. The swirl pattern is actually using my silhouette to 'cut' the design out.

for chipboard, you can either paint the remainging sides of the chipboard after covering the right side with the pattern paper, alternativly you can just paint everything instead of using pattern paper.

cos the album is smaller, those embellishments used will have to be smaller or simple. Otherwise, the page will look too overly crowded and the photos will be 'eaten' up by the embellishments.

Dorcas,
Is silhouette difficult to use ? Aiyo I see when Sharon use during the Laines class like very mah fan to adjust.

silhoutte has got it advantages and disadvantages... the main advantages is that you don't have to buy dies.. disadvantage is the you got to pluck to your pc and you have to download?

my lo that i have just done minutes ago...

1183959.jpg

helloe gals,
long time no post here. thanks to CL for reminding me abt this thread! haha

dorcas
i love all ur LOs! n thanks for the detailing on the slide shows!

eh what is silhoutte huh?

adoncia!
how r u coping with motherhood? better scrap as much as u want now, when ur gal gets more active its really hard to do anything.

finally, the pic is up...

blessed:
silhoutte is a cutting machine that you need to connect to your pc and download stuffs that you want to cut. its unlike revo and squeeze that you have to buy dies. but silhoutte has got to buy download cards. and silhoutte can cut much bigger size as the machine is bigger than revo and squeeze.

coping good. thanks! hehe. scrap a lot. so inspire to scrap more these few days. when she get more active, make her scrap too! haha!

1184488.jpg

something that i did a couple of days back, closed up details will be up on my blog soon =)
title is "this is the way i brush my teeth so early in 'e' morning"

Dorcas,
Nice layout. Aiyo realli envy to see more of your layouts all so lovely.

This is my humble piece to share which I did during my antique chic class at Laines. Birthday present for my sis. Some pics of me and her

1184611.jpg

Ladies....Nice LOs.

CL...antique chic not my style. Till now, dont wan to complete what is left after class.

waah... u ladies so hard working... very very nice layouts lei...!

CL
the distress concer of your base paper very nicely done! How u do it?

i have so many photos to do and yet so lazy! Just ordered a cuttlebug for myself, hehehe... hope will be able to do more LOs then...

Wow,
Karen another investment for yourself.

The corner is tearing, ink, wet and then did a bit of the rolling up.

Annissa,
I feel distress is one of the easiest to work on for scrapbooking.

karen
wow, u really invest in the cutterbug ah.. omg! i still stick to my silhouette thou i tot of getting revo, but if i buy revo, hb for sure kill me. like spent 800+ for silhouette den now wan to spend like another 800 over for revo.. haha

chicken little
thanks thank, don need to envy me la. my works also normal normal only. anyway, me recently siao on for sb lei, so tat explain all the layouts... haa

regarding silhouette
like what adoncia had mention, it is actually a digital craft cutter, it can cut out fonts and shapes, flowers and tags etc etc, and its able to cut up to A4 size. but bad thing abt it, is that for complicated fonts, or those fonts that are too 'thin' the outcome isnt that great, and its not recomm that you use silhouette to cut those thin and cruvey fonts, or those that have thin linings etc. Fonts are actually taken from what you have in your computer/laptop and the rest of the graphics will have to be downloaded from quickcut website, you can buy download card to pay for those downloads or use credit cards or paypal i think is available to make payment.
but seriously, before getting the silhouette, one thing you mummies got to know is that it is kinda noisy, and you will have to 'test cut' and adjust the media type to suit your paper everytime you decided to cut. one thing good is that long term rite, its much cheaper den revo and other die cut machines, cos u save money on getting those dies for fonts. hehehe~ (that's what i told my hb too, hahaha)

Dorcas
I have both squeeze and revo but use more of squeeze. Revo somehome seldom use. So I think you focus on your sihouette. Ha ha we share share resources lah.

Was thinking of getting a cuttlebug the kids one for my daughter. Wonder if the fonts for cuttlebug kids is the same for cuttlebug ? If yes at least what ever invested on my quickutz stuff still can use for her.

CL
i also tot of getting the kids cuttlebug for my girl too (she is 21 months, but very into arts, maybe becos of her mummy here), but not too sure if suitable for her to use or not. but my gf gotten herself the revo, and her daughter around 2 years is like 'helping' her to roll the revo for her lor. so sweet bonding session.

CL/dorcas,
ya i tink its quite worth it cos other leading brand's die are able to use with the cuttlebug. And yes u can used your quickutz dies or cuttlebug kid dies with the adult cuttlebug!

You can see from my webby (http://phoebescraphouse.multiply.com/) under video, there are one or two showing how to use other brands' dies & the cuttlebug kids' dies with adult cuttlebug!

My gal got a flower making kit for x'mas and it works just like the cuttlebug but the only thing is the cutting is not clean! And she really love it & its so easy for them to use! Here are the picture of the kit & the flower made...

1186647.jpg
1186648.jpg
1186649.jpg

My friend told me, she got it from OG's kids department. Have not check it out yet but if you ladies are interested to get it can go take a look!

Dorcas...another Lo from you, superb.

Karen...thanks for the various video. Temptation by the cuttlebug BUT I can withstand, not shaken yet.

annissakoh
hehehe~ another coming up soon... alot of materials around the house that i gotten to make use of them first so i got more excues to order more stuffs.. hahaha~ and also to motivate myself to finish up those photos.

was in the library yesterday reading the idoit's guide to scapbooking. interesting i noticed that there's lots of journalling included in those Ang Moh LO. Just wondering, how much of journaling is done in the local context? cos from the LO placed in this thread, i have an idea that LO are more about decorative/asthetics rather than writing about the photo/event.

care to comment?

BTW, is there a littlemissy in this thread? someone emailed me about classes for 4yrs old, but I lost that mail.

annisa, the post man has send a package to my house, but I wasn't home, so will pick it up from the post office later in the evening. thanks for sending

harriet

Harriet.....I've to admit I'm bad with journalling as I dont like my own hand-writting!!!

The basic rule for journalling is when, where, who, what, why.....

You can use journalling tags. Dorcas used tag in her mini album, also the little oval shape in her brush teeth LO. Adoncia also write around to create a border in her Family LO.

Oops, I thought you would have recieved it by Sat. If I know it took that long, I would have hand-deliver to you instead. Sorry about the delay.

harriet,

its me la, hehehe~ will resend the email to u again.

Journalling is like the basic 'need' to scrapbooking. it can be a sentence or a journal tag or even to the whole page.

1188595.jpg

like the above layout, the journal are actually printed out and cutted as strips.

1188631.jpg

other method for journalling can be either handwritten, using stickers or rub-ons.

there are quite a few sayings stickers or rub-ons that are available in the sb market that can be use as a replacement for journalling

I am also a scrapper... hee... have been loitering at this thread for sometime liao... so envious coz i have been banned from scrapping since i know i was preggy... Hubby thinks all the cutting is no good coz he pantang so i bo pian also... haiz...

In any case, wanted to ask if anyone here is interested in organising an overseas spree from this website? They have lot of craft materials for adults and kids and most importantly interesting embellishments for scrapbooking but quantity is quite a lot maybe we can share it out?

http://www.orientaltrading.com/

eg of rub-ons that can be used for journalling.

1188871.jpg

there are a mixture here, which you can cut the suitable ones out to use as a short journal or as a sub-title.

1188872.jpg

another way is by making use of these journal tags to either write your stuffs on them or use the rub-ons on them.

Amy...cool site. Dont think they offer international shipping. Need to go through Vpost, right? I like their storage solution for paper, so much cheaper than Cropper Hopper.

No cutting on your bed or room, other places is ok. That time we also pantang!!! Anyway I only started SB about 6mth back.

amy quek
for me, thur out my preggy, i still do sb, even do layouts for my girl even be4 she was born, but i still have myself from cutting on the bed, but still in the bedroom itself.

I saw someone organised a spree last time but specifically for some items only, when i explored the site then i realised they have so many goodies
Yup, i think have to go through Vpost or comgateway...

Actually i was told the same thing also as long as no cutting on the bed, in the bedroom then its ok but my hubby scared... We were TTC for a while and this is our first baby so he very worried lor... Haiz... for the time being i will just continue to plan layouts, buy embellishments then wait till my ML then catch up on where i left... hee

Looking at all the layouts i so envious, hands also itchy liao...