Premature babies support group

hi didi
i really pai say to say...nothing. just hand with the thumb and 2nd fingers (as a gun)..and the sound tutututututututut :p

Siang of course still cannot control his fingers movement that well..so he is all 5 figures (sometime 3) stretch out and shoot his daddy haha...

wow...u got 2 againist one..ooooohhhh..opps! haha. that is a tough war game to fight keke..

nana

can u pls update for me my girl birthday is 18 May 2007. thx! wah same as Flora's baby

Jane
heheh so cute ur 'war' with Siang! sounds fun and lot laughing

Jane
Pretend Play = Jia3 Jia3 Wan2
Direct translation from Mandarin. Haha...
Your imagination very good hor......

Didi
I checked out Island Shop yesterday.
The dresses are those kind which are very see-through and I think more suitable to wear when we are at a resort with our lao gong or lover. Hahaha....
You know what I mean right?

hi daec
oh miss out your ger :p. hahahah..what to do, sometime weeekend quite bored at home ah and the hidding areas is sofa, dinning table etc lor haha. sometime i end up hidding and not hidding at all haha.

hi mich
keke...nothing to do mah haha...i can pretend to be dog, cat, elephant and erh...fish! u know the mouth go pout pout pout then my hand like fins hahaha...mich must be having the blur look now hahahah. jane confuse mich keke. sometime i try to be rabbit too (hop hop hop) haha. soon soon,... i hope to bring siang to the zoo to see the real animals haha. you know the stacking toys got one type is rings once? haha. i put the ring on my eye (pretend to be specs) then ears, pretend to be ear ring and fingers (pretend to wear like ring) ahhahaha...!! better stop saying. mich really pondering liao keke

Jane, although 2 against 1, but the lone soldier is 'lao peng', so it might not be a win-win situation for 2 soldiers

Mich, oh I see
aiyoh resort with lao gong seems so distant, lover lagi 'Bo Chance' ha...ha, oh, how about 'Monsoon' at Metro ?

hope, last few pcs, but nice ler

Mich, oh ya another few places you can try : -

1) 'Flash and Splash' they carries Ripcurl, etc, my sis ever bot from there, think they have a br at Citylink near Mhopsis.

2) that day I was at Raffles City basement saw a shop selling beachwear (iirc it quite near Gloria Coffee

nana/jane
no leh, my girl already in the list. only didnt give her birthdate last time

jane
sure that Siang enjoys it, such kinda of fun keeps us younger hehe

kkf

maybe Dash has body ache ? the kind where if we got flu/fever, sometimes come with body ache

hope he gets well. yeah can go dr to be safe

Jane
You are such a fun mummy.

Didi
I shall go Raffles City after work today to try my luck. Thanks for the tips.

KKF
Wishing Dash a speedy recovery.

thanks. i feel myself off load n relief after giving birth. was afraid another case like my first one. not much ppl can understand how we feel n we cope w a preemie

kkf, congrates o ur school perf.

costa,
ya, now i mom of 2. one yr each, ikeep telling my husband how come i torture myself every year. hahaha... n if i strike again, my boss w fire me
where got co wan to hire someone resting 3 mths every yr

alicia,
i'm sosorry to hear abt ur boy's condition. stay positive. all mums here r sort of 'lucky' isn't it? according to statistic, only 1 out of 20 (or 10? i forgot) bb is delivered premature, n we all strike it. but we all went thro it strongly. so now, face it strongly, trust the advance medical tech tat we hav now. i'm sure ur boy w recover 1 day.

xbliss,
breastfeed can eat panadol. gynae gave me so much after my csect. now i become cow again after resting my breawst for 10 mths, we can share our bf experience.

Mich, You are Most Welcome

Jane, aiyoh, less than 2 hrs, you got 'no work' already, quick go back to Siang
don't loiter around hor

Jane, siang really clever, can pretend play at such young age. My boy only knows how to pretend play recently leh.

Mich, your boys sooo sweet.

Wow mich, sure will get best dressed. For me, my school dinner is on monday, but sadly lar, me got course whole day wun have time to dress. Our theme is "starry starry night". No time to be starry.

Precious one, maybe I will get one to try. I have been letting my boy drink vitamin syrup every morning, but no use leh. Maybe shd try that. Thanks, I have brought him see padetrician yesterday, but didn't mention about his pain. But I think could be he got headache or body ache or sore throat (padetrician did mention his throat is a bit red). i also dunno. i will observe. If by monday fever still there, will bring him to see doctor again.

nana,
tks for the update.

yay 2molo its sat i can go see my ger alrdy miss her so much.everyday sit at home waiting for weekend.have a nice weekend ahead.

Yeah, JG offers dash a place on sunday 2pm forum. So happy.

Will try out JG and stops shichida then.

Anyway, I have also registered with lorna whiston, but long waiting list. Baby jumper cannot confirm with me next year schedule, so think will just take up JG since it comes first.

Fairylander, weekends coming!your gal will soon be home def!

Thanks!! I feel so much better after reading all of ur msg here.. I will learn to be strong as I m not a brave person.. Thanks Costa for ur sms

As for his condition, I hav read some info from the net and hope to know more about it thru real life encounter.. however I search thru every post this forum, no one face the same case as my boy.. sighzz..

Nana, I only have 1 relative staying in Tiong Bahru, she is my hubby's auntie.. Do u mean by her?

alicia,
this condition doesn't sound rare if 1 in 300, but perhaps due to our singaporean culture, pple more hush hush abuot it. Hopefully resourceful mich can find some support for u. I asked hubby and he is aware of it too.. he said it shouldn't affect too much. he claims the school nurses usually check for it during BCG time cos they will pull open the underwear to see bird bird.. :p

jane
bryan got bounce back today! heee, false alarm i think. Maybe he cry too much that day cos he squirm too much and roll until he hit his head onto the incubator wall.. nobody save him until i came. the neighboring babies' parents all happy let him entertain them with his crying and frantic waving.. hai :p

i want to add after bryan discharge.. then no need to bother ryan's mummy twice to update mah. can also be more specific about how long he stay. :p

Never bother u for bottles already. SCN def easier to get! heee.

Mich
How i look forward to playing "masak masak" with bryan! i always play with my centre's kids when they do play doh. They get so happy!

precious_one
thanks for encouragement. bryan has bounced back!

i also share kkf thoughts on cc. But i also thought on top of curriculum, you might want to check how the school encourages learning and socialising, or even discipline? Many mummies forget the psycho-social part of education. I have seen childcares who end up traumatising the kids with their discipline styles.

Updates on bryan
Yesterday tummy episode is over. I thought maybe becos he had got stuck at the side of the incubator and cried too much, that's why his tummy bloated.. it happened previous evening when i reached SCN, then he was frantically crying and the lights on his monitor blinking away cos of his high heartbeat. then i found him stucj all the way to the side of the incubator, and head kena baluku. The nurse forgot to sling one of his leg out of the cloth to prevent him from rolling around. Suspect he cry too much and kena wind.

Today kangaroo bryan again.. he is now 35g away from 1.5kg! yay! but i sad cos still so long before he comes home. everytime i kangaroo him, he will tilt his head back and look at me innocently while i talk to him. He even tries to make cute little kitty sounds a bit which he never does. So i know he recognise mummy or maybe mummy's smell already.

anyone tried trimming bb's fingernails in SCN? his nails are long and he kena 2 scratches today on his face. i thought of trimming with nail scissors.

On ebm while on medication
I threw out the ebm expressed after the panadol intake.. decide to play safe. But the sister at SCN actually said the ebm is even better when mummy sick.... (?!) cos mummy's antibodies go into it. Aiyar, but i took panadol FLU too so i thought better not. Anyway i read online that panadol FLU (sudafed) actually reduces ebm by 25%~! i panic after eating but thankfully it din happen. My new house going to be ready soon and i'm going to ask for fridge to be moved in quickly to relieve my ebm storage woes. I can't bear throwing the ebm away yet though i pump up to 1L a day now.. i kind of think bryan will be a big eater like his daddy. better keep some spare in case!

Fairylander,
Your girl shifted out of isolation room? where is she now? i think i saw ur hubby that day. his face a bit chubby one right? (sorry for description hor!!)

xbliss,
ya i think u saw the rite person liao my hubby kinda chubby hehe.my ger is out of isolation room,she is now in pink zone bed 20.wil go visit her 2molo.i got crack nipple and kinda painful u know how to deal wif it?

xbliss,
wah ur bryan very dramatic like jackie chan hehe very active hor.how u manage to pump up to 1 litter per day?u super power!!the most i pump is abt 300ml per day.any secret?i pump till my nipple swollen liao.

hi fairylander,
glad ur girl in open ward now. 300ml v good already. my supply slowly built up. I did 3 hrly for about 1 month and then 4-hrly and now 5-hrly. need to be very disciplined cos initially squeeze like mad for 1 hr only 1 bottle. on the days i get lazy, the engorgement is so bad.

maybe can try warm compress and massage before expressing? it helps a bit.

In the beginning i am very kiasi and scared pain so i din really up the suction. Maybe that helps to build tolerance of nipples for the more powerful suction later on. i slowly increase suction.. the most i can tahan now is half of the maximum suction. Don't overdo it.. won't do u any good. stick to the suction that works best until u are more tolerant. As for cracked nipples, i heard u can try the medela cream as well as apply some ebm onto your nipples after each pump. I think some mummies even use breastshell or nippleshields for comfort. U can check these out at first years at kkh.

U must drink a lot of fluids.. just drink lots of water. i highly suspect i drink around 3L a day.. i am very thirsty most of the time anyway :p

And yes, bryan is like full of muscles but not fats! he is so active that his weight gain is so slow!

Fairylander, you got buy those nipples cream? I used to buy mendela.

Xbliss, bryan soo poor thing. I did notice that nurses at SCN super busy, and have no time to give each baby individual attention and so sometimes the baby will end up crying by himself.

Thanks for pointing out about discipline thing. I think you are very right. Good teachers are really important. I also dun want dash to be so fearful of going school.

Anyway, dash seems better. Yesterday night, notice he can sleep better, not so cranky anymore. Think he is feeling better. Hopefully his fever will go away very very soon!

We have wanted to bring him to orchard at night to look at those lightnings after he is well. Recently he suddenly develops a lot of strange interests. He likes to look inside drains and see if has any water, he likes to look at air cons, then finally now he likes to see lightnings (those malays and indians always put those lightnings outside their houses). I think he has strange interests, haha.

kkf,
ya i have bought a small tube of avent nipples cream.i think i wil try change to medela aft i finish it.tks

im glad to hear tat dash is getting better.hmm i think dash is very curious abt things surrounding him,who know may be he wil be the next Edison or Einstein.

xbliss
Tks for your suggestion on cc selection. I was wondering how do we assess the teachers who discipline a child as most likely when parents are there, I'm sure they will be more tactful. I understand that if a child is traumatise, the damage is very difficult to unmend.

kkf
I have not collected the colostrum so I don't know the brand yet. But lucky vitamin seems a popular brand. I have to let my gal take it to see it's effect. The other thread mummies whose children are taking it told me that they have seen the improvement and that's why I ordered it. It is also supposed to help the digestive system.

I'm delighted to learn that Dash is better now. Nothing beats a good night rest.

I brought my gal to a wedding dinner ytd. Wah biang she was cranky cos the wedding started pretty late and it was her sleeping time. My hubby and I end up not eating cos we brought her to the reception area since she cried inside the hall. There goes her itchy hands, she removed the red balls from the big christmas tree, pulled out the roses from the floral table arrangement and she also plucked out the leaves from the potten plants.
She is a destroyer.

fairlander
It could be the punp pressure set to high or pump too long per session that led to swollen nipples. Anyway, I always get painful nipples previously and madela cream is the solution.

wah, looks like medela cream is the best rated nipple cream here!

fairylander,
i have a sample of the medela purelan cream. u wan? can pass to u later. just got it about 3 wks ago when i bought my second pump. maybe i ask nurse to leave it at your gal's area if i dun see u.

Precious_one,
aiyoh your girl remind me of the movie wedding crasher.. hehe. could it be she not used to crowds and got overstimulated? of cos i think bedtime very important too! hehehe..

Re discipline.. of cos the teachers are very smart to give politically correct answers! But u must try different questions on the spot.. for e.g ur gal a bit hard to warm up, can ask teacher how they would help passive or fearful kids to settle in the class and make friends, what would they do if child refuse to participate and throws tantrums, is there protocol on updating parents about such behaviors (usually cc teachers supposed to update parents everyday on child's behaviors and they must have a log book internally for teachers to record so that principal can read), got regular parents teacher session, etc. Think about questions related to your gal's behaviors that u hope to correct so childcare is also more tune to your girl's needs. Be very wary if childcare keeps reporting negative behaviors cos this tells us that the teachers are "on look out for bad behaviors" which means they probably overlook child's good points - which are a huge potential to develop. There must always be a balance.

When ur girl comes home, she sure will tell u story if she not happy or happy! from there u can monitor what the teachers did to her too! just have to make a point to ask how was her day!

kkf,
glad dash is better! what is this colostrum thing? isn't colustrum the first bm?

i have 2 friends who give spirulina to their kids.. and their kids are very healthy leh..i thought maybe next time i would try too. I guess the moral is if giving supplements, have to give long period, one dose won't become miracle?

xbliss/kkf
I was told colostrum (the supplement that kkf and I ordered) is first bm of cow.

xbliss
tks for your advice on what to ask the centre supervisor on Monday.
Very helpful! I am sending my gal to school so that she can improve her speech leh. She is still at one word owing to the trachy surgery.
I hope that after a few months at school, she is going to ask me loads of questions... hahaha!

xbliss! I dun think I can reach the stage of being a good teacher as well, as I am always looking at the negative sides of my students.
But you are right, if I am parent and teacher is not loving, and seems to be bias of my child, always complaining, and unhappy with him, I won't be that happy as well. That is a learning point for me, but it is really hard for humans to give praises, and to stop criticising.

Anyway, precious one, me also hope by sending dash to tots house, he will start picking up english, and communicate with me in english, haha. I am sending him to Julia gabriel billingual class as well, hoping that he will pick up english from there as well.

oh yar kkf,
i thought dash behavior very amusing! he so cute! is he imitating the dengue health inspectors?! maybe watch too much tv on that! cos i think children at this age like to learn by imitating.. maybe he seen before.

precious, u welcome. aiyoh i only share my experience from putting kids into childcare. have to deal with nasty schools and teachers all the time esp cos my kids are not very verbal and lack exposure.

kkf
part and parcel of human life lor.. i know what u mean but it's different cos u dealing with older kids.. for those kids, of cos positive styles can help, but their "foundation" kind of laid already by their parents or their own experiences with school and teachers.. so a bit hard to change them. dun blame u for being bias with them too. That's why preschool is very important.. children pick up many values from there and that will determine how they see teachers, schools, and more importantly EDUCATION! hahah.. our neverending paparchase! hehe

yesterday hubby and i had a cute conversation.. i suddenly wondered what happen if we fail in our parenting and bryan becomes wayward next time. I ask him what he is prepared to work as if our assets "cai chan" all spent by bryan. he say work at petrol pump. heheh.. so we 2 agreed to work at petrol pump together when old if we can't afford to retire comfortably. ha, i dun even know why i am typing this, hahaha! i think i am trying to say how important childhood is lah.. hahahah!

xbliss
Do you have any suggestion for good pre-school? As in one with a balance of play and work. If it is against your profession to share on this, I'll respect it. Dun worry.

xbliss
Just now, my gal was holding a piece of A4 KKH medical bill and stood in front of the mirror posing with the piece of paper. She put the paper on her head, on her hip, her waist, her chest etc. and smiling....then she decided to squash it, and threw it behind her......dun know what's in her mind? Then picked it up again and asked me to make the paper straight for her. So easy hor, no need buy new toy liao, could play with a piece of paper for some time. hahaha

xbliss,
tks for the sample hor.at 1st i tot u r the staff at kkf but after reading the note then i notice is u.sori i very "chi dun".hows bryan?

update on cathrina,
she is now drinking 35ml and her weight is 1714g. monday she has to go for detailed scan for her kidney,wil update her condition.tks every1 here for the concern

Hi precious one, not too sure about that, cause my ang moh is very lousy.

Duno whether I am too ambitious, send him for mandeville music, then also julia gabriel. But anyway, I want to expose him to more things. Somemore julia gabriel so popular, must go take try it out!

I realise my boy doesn't like to crack his brain...like me! sigh...getting worried...haha. No wonder he doesn't like shichida, cause there is a lot of using brain there. Mummy hates it too, thats why he hates it as well.

fairylander, your gal will soon be 2kg liao...hope her kidney problem can be solved and go home sooon!

finally got a few mins to read all posts, while hubby brought my ger to playground.

so tired trying to b a SAHM these 2 days haha. though this stay-at-home mom nev stay at home haha. brought her to suntec/marina on fri, she's so happy. cos a lot of balls (ie. xmas deco) 2 c. she's so happy & frendly w everyboyd, the salesgirls in DMK even asked her to stay behind. met my colleague & her son, she even gave her beloved balloon to the boy.

alicia,
sad to hear tat. but i'm sure u will b brave enuff 2 overcome all.

like wat hope say, after we have gone thru the initial periods when our bb were born, there's nothing we can't do. hubby & me hav oso learned to appreciate things we hav now..ie. our lovely & cute & healthy daughter. we hav oso learnt not to take things 4 granted. juz hope my ger can grow up healthy & a good person.

kkf,
glad tat dash is ok. bring him orchard! think he'll enjoy..

oh oh, she's back..write ltr

kkf
Please lar, your ang moh not lowsy leh. You always lack of confidence eg. u dreamt that your class fare badly in PSLE chinese and what happened? As long as Dash enjoys all the enrichment classes that you arrange for him, then you are on the right track liao. Dash is so fortunate!

Haha, me lack confidence? Maybe...

Btw, I have went to GNC to get the Childlife Colostrum and Aller care, think thats the brand. Very ex, hope it helps.

Going for course these 3 days at some ulu place.
sigh...me so sianz...
Actually I can rest for these 3 days one. But never mind. Think wun have time to post...

morning mummies.

hey kkf,
you know the 5 guys dragonboaters who died in cambodia? one of them is a P.E. teacher at NJC. Sad ah. Then the other 4 all in their 20s, leh!

wah, i agree w jane. if only got pple to collate all the feedback on the different childcare centres that will be great. but then wait some cc wont have any business. haha

KKF
Wow! Ur students really do very well! CAn impart some skills in teaching my boys? Their CL2 really very weak le

Xbliss
I bought a freezer to store my EMB last year. Actuaaly was quite worth it. It's the tyoe like wat Costa say, open top one. Cost me $260. Stored the milk and rotate it.FIFO and give new ones too.So my girl has EBM till she is 13 months. Anyway, u can keep the EMB and shower urself or the bb. Gd for skin

Alicia
Saw u posting about ur gals condition... Stay positive! All the little warrior will overcome it

Hope
Agree that boys collection for the FOX BB sale is quite limited. But they replenish different ones . Went the other day and really got to dig in to find the clothes for the little ones. Got many hip bottoms for my girl

Irene
Can't recall ur portfolio.. But from wat u mention, ur elder one was a premie and u carried the 2nd one to full term?

Hi lindah I know about the news. Yah, so sad, such a young teacher.

Have they been found?

Mummylian, no lar, I think there is nothing special about my teaching. encourage them to read more! If they do not like, you can start letting them watch chinese vcds (cartoons or educational shows).

Morning Mummies
Weekend is over... Where is everybody?

<font color="0077aa">diDi</font>
I bought a dress from Billabong which is near to Gloria Coffee last Friday.
So happy.
Thanks again, muak muak!

<font color="0077aa">hOpE</font>
My brother in law who is a dragon boater knows one of the victim.
I felt so sad for the families. Those young men are so young, capable and one of them is an only child.

<font color="0077aa">kKf</font>
They found the bodies.........

mich,

ya. they are all grads or uni grads i think. my hubby knew the one who was teaching in NJC that's y was talking abt it a lot over the weekend. somemore SEA Games is right ard the corner. this was only a frenly match.

Been back for almost a week plus. Been busy man!!!

Just saw Dr Argawal today at KKH. She is really a nice and friendly lady, isn't she? She was quite assuring and told us that she isn't quite worried about Coco's tense muscles as it is not that bad. She however referred us to a host of docs for checks... eyes, ears, physio, scan... I'll be running around KKH for the next few weeks.
Maybe will run into one of you. My next upcoming appt is this thurs with the physio.

Lost in all the posts. Alicia, briefly saw your posts. Just want to encourage you by saying that take heart that there is available surgery to correct the condition, even though I understand that at the moment, he may be too young to undergo it. We will pray that the surgery will be a success and after recovery, all will be well.