PCOS patient and trying to conceive, pls share experience here.

hi gals!!! how are you all doing? really miss chatting with you all here after such a long disappearing act. was really busy as i just started on my new job (again) and lots to catch up on.

some updates on my end. i didn't end up seeing dr loh as i wanted to. reason being my mom's friend recommended to her that i try this line of supplementary product + royal jelly to help in conception, which i did. have been on it for 2 mths oredi but no luck still. apparently, the supplement has helped 7 infertile couples and the longest they took was 4 mths to see results. hmm... again, i dun want to raise hopes so am just waiting to see if the same will happen to me. otherwise, i will see dr loh in jan if i still fail to conceive by then.

hi dawn,
how are you doing?

hi ruggles,
i have not finished reading all the threads, but any chance you are expecting #2 ;P OMG! Kieran looked so different from the last pix i saw of him. he is such a big boy now, but still as cute lah. hehehe.

hi siew lei and the wife,
how are your little ones doing? agree with dawn that it seems like only y'day when you ladies announced your pregnancy lor. time flies.

hihi summer, welcome back

thewife, yah I was shopping like you for my first pregnancy.. now 2nd pregnancy more senang, only hv to buy clothes for my little girl.. heh. I found a shirt for my son that reads 'I'm the big brother'.. so cute! The steriliser is definitely a good buy. Oh yah, no harm getting 1-2 packs of Pigeon breast pads.. they're the best breast pads around. Avoid anything Tollyjoy.. lousy brand.

hi summer,
nope i'm not preggers. hehe.. already not enough sleep with #1 around liao. if got #2.. whoosh..

catz,
i'm using the tollyjoy breast pads and found them quite good for me leh. I did kenna one box that i bought which was lousy as the backing kept coming off but the rest have been very good. holds the leaks very well. I find the pigeon and avent ones too thick. watever it is just dun use the washable types, cant hold the morning leaks at all. the bra just gets all wet.

i guess you are starting to prime Tim already?
is he excited?

Hi Siew Lei,

Understand u were with Dr Charles Lim previously and u recommended him as a good fertility doctor. Do you know anything abt his skills in laparosopic video surgery? Appreciate if u can share ... thks !

hey siew lei
ya lor, i look more like my mum except i didnt take over her big eyes..sigh. so when i was young, i keep blaming my dad :p

hey summer01,
i believe supplementary product takes time to take effect on individual body, so bb dust to ya!

Hey Catz
look for one thats says "im the little sister", if both of them wear it, will be sooo cute!

Ruggles: thanks! i finally found the contacts for OPKs. No prizes for guessing ... i'm hoarding again!
Awwwwwwwwww K is so sweet!!!

Thewife: I'm a HUGE fan of Medela Pump In Style!

Catz: oooh nice T-shirt! where did you get it from? i also wanna buy one!

SiewLei: its almost time!!! so exciting!

Jam: thanks!! dun worry, baby won't starve. just eat small regular meals...

STEAMER: i think nothing beats using the traditional method of boiling. its really the best, cos it sterilises AND removes all smell!
I admit its more convenient to use the steamer cos you don't have to "look after" it, but i prefer the boiling method at all times.

thewife, cannot find the little sister one lei.. :p Sianz.. nevermind, still got 3 months to go. Heh.

cody, from our fave kiosk in Thomson Plaza lah!!!
At least her stocks are better now.

Ruggles, serious ah? I just threw the entire pack of tollyjoy away 'cos it was lumpy and non-absorbent. I liked the PIgeon ones 'cos of the 2 sticky tapes and the shape is quite seamless lor. Avent one also LOUSY!!!

catz, i placed my order for the t-shirt already!
hahahahha

and i'm not even preg yet!
kiasu me, went ahead to buy a size 3 for dean. :p

Breast Pads
Agree with catz, the only thing from tollyjoy i like is their bottle caps & newborn clothes.
my fave breast pads are Pigeon.
Even the medela and avent ones are lousy!
the medela ones made me itch like mad ... imagine me walking ard twitching and scatching my boobs!

Ruggles: you leak so much ah? so wasted!
I never leaked very much, cos dean would empty me out quite efficiently.
the only time i'd leak is when he's suckling and i get a letdown. then the other boob will leak, but i find that pressing that boob REAL HARD with my arm helps to stop the leakage.

other than that, i leak only when i dun nurse/pump on time.

hi catz,
congrats! when are you due? talking about kiddy clothes. there is a shop at raffles place, embrio i think, that carries worded baby romper and i'm tickled by most of their wordings. i bot one for my niece that says, "i'm not the princess, i'm the queen". i enjoy shopping for kiddy clothes, period.

hi thewife,
i'm just going to give it 4 mths at max and if does not work out then i'm off to the doc for my treatment. moreover, these supplements dun come cheap. see how lah.

hi ruggles,
maybe it's better to plan only when kieran is 1 yr. i see how my SIL struggles with her 2 kids... headache man.

cody, catz,
the tollyjoy ones were ok. like i mentioned early, there was 1 box that i bought that was really lousy, the backing kept coming off. otherwise it was good enough for me.

dun get the tollyjoy cylinder wet wipes. that one's really lousy. thin and diff to pull out. the small travel packs are good though. somehow the wipes are thicker in the small packs.

catz,
btw, i've seen the big brother/sister rompers at Mothercare. i think they have the LITTLE brother/sister ones too. i thought i saw them selling in pairs, in a box.

wow!! 3 more months only. time really flies yah.. *blink blink*

cody,
it's when i feed kieran at night and the let-down on the other boob soaks the washable pads. so i can nvr use them for nights. for the day it's ok lah.. i can change them right after the feed. still i think they are a waste of $$ for me. sometimes when Kieran doesnt wake up at night to feed (only sometimes.. urgh) i will get soaked thru by the time i get up in the morning.

you hoarding again? you mean you used up all your hoarded supplies??

summer,
we are not really planning to have now, neither are we not planning lah. cos if have then it's a bonus. with pcos and bf-ing, i dun see a very high chance of conceiving.
also, one lesson is enough. last time on Pill cos scared get preggers, then when want it, it was difficult. so now, just leave it to God. But we hope to have another one soon though.

Hi Ruggles,
Thanks I will ask from him this coming Saturday.

Ya very excited liao but she seems to enjoy herself inside, I hope to see her soon, if this week cannnot hopefully next week cos tomorrow is 38wk liao.

Hi 75gal,
I not very sure on that cos I never go thru that from him so really can't comment leh, so sorry

hi summer, thanks! i love shopping for kids' clothes too but now so used to always gg into boy's section, need to rewire my brain to shop for girls too. haha
i'm due at chinese new year.

ruggles, i'm like u.. soak my pads thru. after overnight use, my pad is super soaked.. real disgusting. those washable pads just don't cut it for me.. i just found that the pigeon ones could hold the most 'juice'.. heh.

cody, u mean u called amy to book the shirt ah? waaaah u very onz man.. the size 3T ain't very big leh.. u might wanna order 4T since deanie is so much bigger sized than timo.

Would appreciate your reply here...

What does it mean - a very very faint positive line appear on the pregnancy kit when tested with 1st morning urine but the positive line disappear after a few hours?

Tested again with a new kit in the late morning but it appears negative ...

So confirm 'Not pregnant'???

ling, hmm.. usually the faint line should stay lor. 'cos both times i tested positive were very faint lines but i can still see the faint positive on the test kit. if u test in late morning, likely it will be negative if it is still early pregnancy.. test again with morning urine or wait 2-3 days if you wanna make sure that you get a darker line. hoping for good news!!

Thanks Catz..I try not to be hopeful, don't feel like pregnant at all. Very heavy yellowish discharge lately.. gives me the wet feel..tune myself to believe that menses should be coming around the corner..hee

My gynea asked me to wait for another 1 week and test again..

hey ling,
yeah, try testing again few days later. the faint line may indicate very early pregnancy. you mean the line disappears after a few hours? mayb it's faint that's y. I remember mine (tho it was a dark line) became lighter after a few days. (heehee.. yes.. disgusting as it sounds, i kept that positive strip.. heheh)

Hey Ruggles, you lights up a corner in my heart with your 1st sentence leh..keep my fingers crossed now..haha

Yup, I woke up and tested the kit with morning urine around 7+am. I bought the kit to office intending to show it to GP and enquire but the line no longer there lor..that time was about 10-11am.I even called my hubby to confirm that I'm not hallucinating...wahaha..he claimed a very unclear line..Or the kit is faulty :p

Ruggles, I think I might do the same - keep the positive kit. Don't feel pai say.. heehee

ruggles: yeah, my OPK supply is ending .... sigh, really throwing money down the drain.

just rec'd results of my blood test confirming that i am PCOS ... cheh ... tell me something new!

catz: size 3 small ah? darn, better change it to a size 4 now!

SiewLei: these may just be your last few posts before you pop! do let us know, and post pics of your princess k? Have a smooth delivery!!

Ling: oooh, good luck! hopefully its positive!

Hey, thanks Cody.

Pardon me, I'm very confused ar.Pregant or not pregnant? which chance is higher? I want to think that menses will be coming but on the other hand, why is there a faint line in the 1st place...arrgghh..hao fan ar!

hey cody
i have 10 OPK kit (online) left, u want? another 2 from watson.
hey siew lei,
do post here before u leave for delivery ok!

ling, how's the retest?

My sis also called me sobbing.. she's also PCOS and just got her menses inspite of her 3rd cycle of Clomid and it's 150mg. Sigh.. dunno how to comfort her also. When I told her I was pregnant with #2, aiyoh.. Dunno how to help her as a sister

cody, well, Deanie is big sized leh.. i'm thinking that the size 3 will be just nice by the time my little girl arrives in Feb.. So maybe you'd better get size 4 for Mr Macho Deanie

Went to see my gynae last Saturday, he say anytime from now really hope can see my little princess this week so anxious can't wait liao.

Anyway my gynae agreed that by full term which is next Friday if my princess still refuse to come out then he will induce. In this case by no matter how I will see my princess next Friday

Hi Cody,
I have your mobile number, once I deliver will sms you

hey catz,
i think bb this kind of thing sometimes its about timing. I have frens with irregular mense but yet conceive easily and frens who have regular mense but just cannot conceive.
Hey Siew Lei
next Friday very fast! how heavy is your girl now? my fren's bb gal was over-term, and she weighs 4.1KG! guess wat, my fren delivered her within 4 hrs!

Hi thewife,
My gynae is saying is about 3kg when full term and just a right size. He said I'm quite small size, baby too big I will have hard time deliver her

Wow your friend's baby girl so big size? I hope I can be like your friend deliver my baby girl within short hour. If induce I don't think can be so fast hmmm hope don't need to induce will come out this few days...best if today ha!

Halo gals, i noticed that many of you gers have all successfully conceived and graduated. Gave me hope! I am also a PCOSer, just diagnosed last week. As it came rather unexpected, i am now still at a loss of what to do and feeling rather depressed. Hope some mummies can help dispense some advise.

My HB and i been ttcing for our #1 for coming a year already. I have a perfect 28day cycle, low BBT but biphasic, little EWCM but i used Preseed, my family has no history of PCOS and all quite productive (see when i am shocked to get PCOS?), so when i didnt strike after so many mths, i finally pick up my guts to go to a gynae and wham! the bad news.

Now, am just told to lose abit of weight thou i am in healthy weight range, exercise abit to lose 5% weight and eat low carbo food and take more test: HSG to check for blocked tubes and SA for hubby. My doc is Dr Fong Yang, indeed he doesnt rush me into taking more and more tests, he said check the sperm count and tubes first cos if tubes blocked, no point stimulating O.

I 'guai guai' follow instructions but also wondering is there anything else i can do ... and frantically researching info on PCOS thus brought me to this thread. Sorry i became party pooper, just when all of you succeeded, i came to talk about PCOS again.

I want to know, since PCOS mainly caused by insulin issues, will taking metformin be better than clomid? My rationale is metformin may be able to naturally restore the ovaries and allow natural ovulation and natural conception? Whereas clomid stimulate the ovaries, so kinda not natural and i heard eggs stimulated to grow may not be as fully developed as compared to be allowed to grow naturally. Is this true? Is that why m/c for PCOSers are higher as our eggs are stimulated instead of allowed to strengthen naturally?

Sorry for mouthful, appreciate any help given!

Hi Ruggles, Cody, Catz, your babies very cute! Very chubby, must be a handful managing them! How i envy you gers!

Hey, Siew Lei, all the best and sure look forward to your birth story.

Hi MapleBabies,

I am a mummy and i know how you feel. Dun know if this is helpful but i happen to come across this conversation in the spa that i go for my prenatal and postnatal massage treatments. Recently, during one of my visits there, I heard a customer telling the spa manager that her friend and hubby went to Alush day spa for massage few months ago and now she's pregnant! She said her girlfriend almost gave up trying after 4 years, so now very happy. I dun know if this is a matter of coincidence or the spa treatments there did helped. I only heard that the manager said the essential oils they use are very pure.I just know that Alush specialises quite a bit in mothers spa treatments. Hope it helps
Feel free to PM me if you need any further info.

Hi maple babies, yah I know it's a horrible diagnosis but it's really not the end of the world. I'm a typical PCOS-er and well, Clomid worked for me both times. My gynae hesitates to prescribe metformin straight off 'cos it can give side effects... but if the clomid hadn't worked, it prob would've been prescribed for me. Yes, m/c is more common but hmm, wouldn't say it's a lot more than normal girls.

Siew Lei.. erm, if no need to induce, don't induce.. PAINFUL AH!!!

thewife, my PCOS and obese sister in law gave birth to a 4.1kg son too and that's induced early at 36+ wks 'cos she had gestational diabetes lor. Imagine if she didn't induce - surely 5kg liao.

Hi Catz, i see. Hmm ... ok, anyway clomid faster than metformin oso hor? Ok, if i dun strike this cycle, will probably go on clomid as advised by gynae also. Thanks!

Ya Siew Lei, i heard induce very uncomfortable leh.

Hi Maple Babies,
It is not end of the world, don't worry your turn will come soon, just need a bit of patience.

For me my gynae prescribe me metformin and I have taken it like 9 month and then combination of clomid with metformin and try naturally for 2 cycles but fail to conceive. Then later I take metformin+clomid+injection+IUI and finally successfully conceive.

To me this baby girl is a miracle to me, I don't know whether I'm so lucky to have 2nd one. I guess just make sure you eat well and exercise well and make sure your body is healthy maybe conceiving is higher. I also believe not too stressful and try to relax if possible,if lifestyle is too stressful maybe it is difficult to conceive.

Good luck to you and baby dust

Hi Catz,
Ya I know induction is painful that's why my gynae don't encourage only full term if baby girl still refuse to come out then need to do induction. He is saying overdue also has it danger cos the placenta will age by then and oxygen supply to the baby might be low and not good for the baby.

Hi Catz, do you know also if, clomid is usually given first, then if not effective then metformin? And if still cannot then take both? I want to know how the seequence goes so when gynae propose, i know if its ok to follow.

Hi Siew Lei

Can you also share with me where is Tongji Hospital? Which gynae is good for PCOS? And can i ask how soon after did you start your TCM? And take TCM together with clomid ok?

I was diagnosed with PCOS in June this year and went on to conceive naturally in Aug but had a miscarriage shortly after.

Was given clomid & metaformin since Oct 11 (1st round). However, today is CD29 and my AF is still not here...can anyone tell me if this is normal??
I used to have long cycle which average about 40-50 over days.

Did a preg test over the weekend and dont think I am pregnant.

Help Help

Hi Maple,
take it easy yah. there are many success stories for people with PCOS. yeah, our turn will come. Like Catz, I also responded well to clomid and conceived Kieran on 1 round of clomid.

Siew lei,
heehee.. you still here???
yeah.. remember to post when your girl pops. hmm.. induce, dunno if it is the same as the oxytocin drip that he gave me to speed things up. but once that one went on, i could feel that contractions coming closer.

catz, thewife,
wah.. 4.1kg?? how to give birth? i already faint when my niece came out at 3.65, and i was like thinking Kieran was only that weight at abt 2mth!!

i always think, the bigger the baby, the bigger the hole has to be for the baby to come out.. urgh... kekkeke..

Hi Maple Babies,

yes yes, don't feel pai seh for dropping by in this forum. I remember I felt that way too when I first came into this forum, seeing that most have succeeded and it seemed to be such a long journey for me at that time. but hey, I've also become one of the success stories myself now =) so don't give up ok?

I also did quite a bit of research when I was first diagonsed with PCOS a few months back. Same as you, I had no family history and had a regular cycle. In fact, I'm not the typical kind of PCOS patients as I was underweight and had no skin problems (similar to many here).

What I understand is that whether metformin or clomid works better really depends on the individual. My first gynae decided to prescribe me with clomid instead of metformin because apparently metformin may work better with people who are slightly overweight. So I think it's better for you to let your gynae advise. If in doubt, saying from experience, do get a 2nd opinion.

ruggles, my SIL was walking like a penguin lor.. poor woman.. but hor, she is like 90+ kg.. her first kiddo was tiny, just barely over 2kg.. this one like king kong. :p

maple babies, I think clomid is usually the first line of defense lor, just in case it's just anovulatory problems.. since metformin is a diabetic drug, they usually try not to prescribe unless u are a little overweight also like jam says.

siew lei, yah i only induce 'cos my gynae scanned and said the placenta is aging already.. if not, i will never ever wanna induce again.. really so painful. if not, i think i could hv done without epidural and drugs.

ah_kat, yah with the new drugs introduced into your system, your cycle is likely to go a little wonky. if you're worried, ur gynae can give u something to induce menses so u can start your 2nd cycle of metformin/clomid.. don't worry, ok?

hey siew lei
3kg is good! 2.8kg to 3kg is what im aiming for, hopefully. if she comes out nearer to edd, she'll be more developed..and easier to manage too.
hey catz
your sis in law really amazing, 4.1kg at 36kg! faintz! such a big difference in her 1st and 2nd kid, how come?? hehe. i have another slim fren, bb came out 3.85kg within 8 hrs, she said its ok with epidural.
Hey Ah Kat & maplebabies,
i find that chinese med will take a while to take effect, but it helps to strengthen your body. western med may give you faster effect but sometimes body may not be ready. personally i took chinese herbs to bu my body for a while..then took clomid again and strike during my 3rd cycle.

hi everyone!! sorry i MIA-ed ... busy at work lah.

siewlei: you're still around! you must be so excited that your princess will be arriving anytime now! yes please!! sms me and i will make the announcement here! better yet, send me an mms with your daughter's pic and i will post it here!

thewife: you sure you don't want the OPKs? Will it be too much trouble for you?

maplebabies: thanks for the compliments!
me too, just confirmed i am PCOS last week with a blood test but *yawn* it was soemthing i already knew. chay....

i'm in the overweight, irregular menstration category. my first kid came naturally, really god's gift cos i've been PCOS since day 1.

this time round, i started off on 100mg clomid and 250mg metformin. needless to say, i didn't succeed after 3 months. so i'm up to 150mg clomid and 500mg metformin. working out at the gym trying to lose weight as well. so far doesnt seem to be working cos i haven't ovulated.

my gynae's #1 advice was for me to lose weight.
after 3 rounds of 150mg clomid, he wants to me stop it for a while to see how it goes.
beyond that, it will prob be a x-ray to check the tubes and maybe daily injections.
i am REALLY not looking forward to that honestly...

anyway, that's just to share my side of the story.
dun despair, your turn WILL come one day. *hug*

Coolbabe: i won't suggest that you take the massages as a means of conception... no offence meant, but there's really a huge lack of reserach in this area to substantiate the use of pure essential oils + massage use in conceiving.
Maybe it was just a coincidence ....

Thanks - I am just so puzzled by the haywire condition that my body is showing now...my 1st menses before I start this cycle of clomid & metaformin was also "induced"..not sure is that why now so haywire?

My usual cycle is between 40-50days, do you ladies have experience with clomid that it will being the cycle lenght to the normal 28-35days?

This thread is becoming so active.

Siew Lei, so excited for u... little princess gg to pop soon.
Let us know, ok?

Just went to my gynae last month and diagnosed as PCOS as well. Last year's scan didnt show cleary and this year, he confirmed that. So now on Progyluton to induce AF and starting Clomid soon. Keep my fingers crossed that I wont suffer from further side effects coz prior to that, I had weight gain and water retention on sunolot.

Ah Kat, U can't take TCM when u r on Clomid. Can take it only after u finish the course of Clomid pills. Tat's what my sinseh told me.

Tweetie

generally no good to mix TCM with fertility treatment.. also, must be careful 'cos chinese drugs *may* cause m/c.

cody, wah u really v busy hor.. aiyah, i really peifu that you go to the gym. i hv no such discipline!!

thewife, dunno why such a big disparity in weight.. maybe first kid came out skinny 'cos SIL was staying with my awful MIL at that time. Teehee

Hi Maple Babies,
The tongji chinese sinseh that I consult is Chen qiu lan yi si. I din go to the tongji hospital cos the timing is not suitable for me. This sinseh work part-time in Hougang. Here is the contact and the address:
Teck Chua Medical Hall
Blk 322, Hougang Ave 5, #01-84
Tel: 62810373
Tue, Thur: 6p.m - 9p.m
Sat: 2p.m - 5p.m

When I diagnose with PCOS my gynae prescribe me with metformin. I'm not overweight. My weight is 46kg with height of 1.55m but I have hair lose problem and pimples (which is sudden outbreak and no matter how it just don't go away) and my menses is really hirewire like 1 month 3 times. After I have taken metformin this problem slowly disappeared. But my menses cycle is rather long like 40 to 50days.

I think the chinese herb did help to "bu" my body. My chinese sinseh say is okay to take metformin but must be at least 4 to 5 hour apart to take the chinese herb. Anyway her herb is taken at night (need to boil one). When you take chinese herb just have to be more patience.

Later when I take the combination of clomid + metformin my cycle reduce to 30days

I'm really excited now, my husband keeps asking our little princess can she come out now and he want to play with her ha!...My husband just too excited. Our little princess seems to enjoy herself inside just refuse to come out.

My gynae said I have good amount of water, and I think maybe she enjoy swimming inside.
I really hope she can come out tomorrow cos is our wedding anniversary heeee...

ruggles - me doing better now.. my whole day sickness has changed to evening sickness.. no vomitting.. just nausea n vomitting.. u in skl now? =)

Hi Maple Babies,
The tongji chinese sinseh that I consult is Chen qiu lan yi si. I din go to the tongji hospital cos the timing is not suitable for me. This sinseh work part-time in Hougang. Here is the contact and the address:
Teck Chua Medical Hall
Blk 322, Hougang Ave 5, #01-84
Tel: 62810373
Tue, Thur: 6p.m - 9p.m
Sat: 2p.m - 5p.m

When I diagnose with PCOS my gynae prescribe me with metformin. I'm not overweight. My weight is 46kg with height of 1.55m but I have hair lose problem and pimples (which is sudden outbreak and no matter how it just don't go away) and my menses is really hirewire like 1 month 3 times. After I have taken metformin this problem slowly disappeared. But my menses cycle is rather long like 40 to 50days.

I think the chinese herb did help to "bu" my body. My chinese sinseh say is okay to take metformin but must be at least 4 to 5 hour apart to take the chinese herb. Anyway her herb is taken at night (need to boil one). When you take chinese herb just have to be more patience.

Later when I take the combination of clomid + metformin my cycle reduce to 30days

I'm really excited now, my husband keeps asking our little princess can she come out now and he want to play with her ha!...My husband just too excited. Our little princess seems to enjoy herself inside just refuse to come out.

My gynae said I have good amount of water, and I think maybe she enjoy swimming inside.
I really hope she can come out tomorrow cos is our wedding anniversary heeee...