As far as cost is concerned, Iam paying relatively high for being a private patient in KK. so for me, it might be almost the same.

Hazel - Can you plz advise how much is the cost of Natural and med FET in Raffles?

I dunno abt the cost at raffles. Nv bother to find out as KKIVF Is definitely much cheaper. All ivf patients at KKIVF are pte patients. We all pay similar rates generally. My fresh cycle cost me no more than 8k incl govt grant n medisave deduction. Natural FET cost me only abt 1k+ in cash. At pte hospitals, fresh cycle is at least 12k onwards. That's a lot of saving to me. Also hormones support in pte hospitals csn be very expensive ESP more so if pregnant with multiples. We nv know the total real cost as it varies from patient to patient. I know of sister with triplets spent as much as 30k incl support. U may say is worth it since she gains 3 healthy kids. But the cost will nv blow up to so high In KKH even if u are on constant support throu out pregnancy.

U may wan to ask sisters who did FET at raffles on the cost. I m not able to advice much on that. Patients going to pte must always be willing to pay much more. Delivery in pte hospitals are also super ex if they r complications. If no complications, yes costs r comparable across restructured n pte hospitals. We always hv a choice to downgrade in restructured hospitals after pregnancy if the cost is too high. If u r on pte n subsequently wan to transfer to restructured during preg or delivery or for the bb coz of complications (touch wood), restructured wun allow u to downgrade at all n less priority will even too if there is no bed available.

I look at things longer term. N Pratically. Other than the super long q m wait at KKH, I hv no complains on their expertise, care, etc. I went thru a mid term m/c last yr. The care n concern n service I received at KKH is commemable. End of the day, I m just objective n will not let small screw up here n there affect.

Anyone in their 2ww experience stools in a different colour, not necessarily diahorrea?

Wongval,
Yeah my bloat has gone down considerably, but like you...I start to worry if a reduced bloat is a good thing? Haha! I still have a minimum bloat but getting out of bed or walking or sitting is way easier on me now. 2 more days. Wooooooooo. Really crossing my fingers and toes. Scary. I've no other symptoms really...that's why Im a little...jumpy now? haha

Thanks for clarifying Hazel. yeah agree with u. When it comes to private, u will be just drained out of money.I will also think in longterm perspective. Maybe right now iam not in a position to judge anything becoz of the issue happend. will tk time and decide when iam cool.

Now Iam just waiting for my next step. I donno if I will be asked to do my cycle in next month. I will give KKIVF a call next week. Hope Dr Loh replies before that.

Actually I dunno if the nurse who called u hv checked with DT Loh. I wld hv tell her to check with dr loh immediately if Can still proceed To ET as scheduled. If not shld hv call his line on kkh website. His assistant will pick up n tell her to inform him immediately n check if can still proceed. Why I say that? Dr Loh is someone who is rather flexible. Cannot do d5 transfer can do d4! He has done it b4 n I know that sister who did it. Or even d3! Since u hv so many embyros. Anyway, wat's over is over. Be forward looking!

hi Hazel, the nurse who called me yestdy said that she already checked with Dr and the doctor said its too late. However i dint ask her which doctor she has chekd with.

I shall anyways give him a call later if I dont receive any reply from him. Yeah to talk abt next plans, i Know this one is already gone waste.

Hope - I emphathise with you. It is so frustrating that the nurse made the error. You can send a formal feedback so that KK can improve their service. I agree 100% with what hazel says also. To be honest, at KKH, even though you pay private rates, the rates are still at least 50% cheaper than private rates at a private hospital. It does not limit to just cost of bedding, or cost of doctors fees. In actual fact, even medication is 50% cheaper. I speak from experience. Puregon that I used at KK, was exactly 50% cheaper than what I was charged at a private clinic (down to the number of cents). If you think about IVF, quite a big bulk of the cost is actually on the medication more than anything else.

Not only that, I think as an IVF patient, our babies are at greater risk of birth complications(touchwood). I have friends who have shared with me that most other private hospitals will transfer the complicated cases especially for the children to KK, because they don't have the expertise to deal with it. If KK doesn't have a bed, then your baby will stay at the private hospital. and may not be getting the adequate treatment needed until much later. So must think long-term. Also, like hazel said, you cant' downgrade once trasnferred from private hospital. So must think long-term. I think at the end of the day, if the pregnancy is normal, with normal delivery, than its nice at a private hospital. But once there's something wrong, then you might not get the best even at the private hospital.

Hi Ocean, i also hv spottings and it doesnt seem to stop. I have been asked to insert 2 pessaries of progesterone and 3 x per day via vagina. May i know if your duphaston is the same thing as progesterone inserts to support womb lining? How much did they increase your duphaston dosage?

Kimmy, me too! I'm back to normal... just now I have constipation and had drop of fresh blood! Freaked me out! But I think likely a tear rather than bleeding..
Still, I almost cried. I'm feeling so wet there! So keep going to the toilet...

Hi, may i know what foods to avoid after ET? Shd i eat more leafy vegetables and fish? Avoid sotong, prawn, chicken etc. Can you share with me what foods you ate after embryo transfer? Also shd we avoid coffee, tea, cold stuff too.

Kimmy, is your stools very yellowish? I had that when on pregnyl, but now back to normal. I think you need to give it sometime... As long as not hard stools or very watery like diahhorea, its ok I think! I had that when I was admitted and the nurse said its ok.

Thanks sisters for all yr well wishes! Hopefully they can grow healthily.. Blessings, yes, I have mixed feelings too. Don't know how to cope with twins, especially now I see my gf struggling with hers since they are borned last month.

Hazel, wow, I didn't know Sheila loh's history till now. Went to her cos I needed more help for my pcos as my old gynae isn't a specialist in fertility.

Hope283, for cost, this is my 1st treatment, and it was a iui converted midway to ivf as too many eggs were growing. The total bill was $12k plus (before the 6k medisave), but i think at raffles, there's no govt subsidy of 3k. So in cash, paid 6k plus for this converted case. if it's full ivf, I guess it would cost more. Not too sure about fet.

I would say Sheila loh is meticulous, which could mean closer monitoring and more cost. I had a mc last year (from clomid) and when my eyes welled up, I could see her eyes turning red too and both of us were trying to control the tears.

In terms of skills, I would give her the benefit of doubt as I feel that this whole process is so fluid and nobody can guarantee that if you use x amount of injection, you would get a certain result. She asked me try out iui first since I had live birth and conceived again last year. But in the end, as I am pcos, too many eggs grew at the same time and if we had proceeded with iui, I could possibly end up with quintriplets. Not too sure if iui was the best recommendation from the beginning since I am pcos.
Q time is definitely not as long as kk.
But at the end of the day, if you are already used to kk, with the best dr, then don't change la. Thinking ahead, cos it has afterall the best neonatal care if you happen to have twins or triplets?

hi kimmy, wongval, bbliss n sisters, todae i oso hv pinkish spotting. i so scared too.
todae my d13 leh. hope it dun bleed.....sob sob.

hi wongval,
yes! yellowish like. so its normal? I mean its not exactly diahorrea per se but I feel very drained. Went toilet 4 times already and even after preparing lunch, I had to go bed and lie down cuz so tired and hardly any appetite anymore even though lunch smell quite good. gaah!
Yeah I also suspect yr blood is more a tear esp. during constipation.

Hope,
I really feel for you and I would be upset too. I do hope that your upcoming cycle (or next step)will get you a strike k?

Hi amy,
actually after et i everything also eat except soy. Duno why also. Ate a lot of leafy and protein. Stayed away from cold drinks too...

So Shiela loh is basically a skillful as well as personalised doctor. too good. Hope i can affford too.

well for now, i shll stick to my magical doctor loh. Hope my journey ends successfully under him. And wish you goodluck to all of u.

Hi sis, Pls dun feel worried, upset when you see a bit of spotting. Keep your mind +ve n cheerful and tell yrself it will be successful. Then embebbies will implant tightly on you.

juz call e clinic, she say if e flow is getting more, wil need to go to e clinic for early BT. ask mi to monitor. if after office hr, wil need to go to e 24hr clinic. nw it is abit red discharge.

Pls use hpt lah. Positive go down immediately for support. Bb is so precious for us. Why still wan to wait n take the risk if u r really pregnant?

Hi Su, as long as you are not experiencing any pain and the bleeding is not continuous (like a period) try to stay positive, I know some friends who experienced spotting before and they were fine. If you like, try to lie down more and prop your feet up, that may help you to feel better. Are you in your 2ww? Go down to the clinic and get an early test, but be mindful that this may not be an accurate reading. Try to stay focused! If anything happens, it's for a reason and try not to get too anxious. Hope everything will be alright! I'm due for my bt on August 1st as well..

Hi Amy, I try to eat some whole grains in the morning to ease constipation, so if you are feeling constipated, try to eat some oats in the morning. I also try to stay away from anything too spicy or sour that may give me stomach upset, also things like seafood (crabs) are not great in general as well. Otherwise you can pretty much eat anything you like! Stay healthy and happy are the most important things - don't feel guilty about eating the things you like as well! Feeling good is the most important..

take care all! x T

thanks hazel for checking on my status.
My spotting becomes light bleeding plus mild cramps still here. Anyway already went to 24hrs for more MC leaves purpose. Don't want to say more for fear of those ladies still in 2ww. All I can say is that hazel sort of explanations is accurate. I thank you all for your prayers and shainie too for her great concern.

Mircale baby - will pray for you. Have faith and be strong!

Kimmy - oh no! Please drink 1 glass of water every hour. It helps with the delydration. Your bloat will start to reduce as you have more output, but must remember to replenish with water too!

Su - maybe better heed hazel's advice. are you still on progesterone inserts? 2 inserts, 3 times a day? If not, maybe can ask 24 hr clinic whether you can increase.

Thanks wongval. Yea finding hard to drink water though. Super uncomfortable... But I will try. I had diahorrea 4 times today. Gosh.

Hi Su,
Hope u are ok...

hi kimmy: take care. i recall dr zou mention before that its impt to seek medical help if one hv diahorrea during this time. why nt u go down to 24hr clinic? at least they can prescribe some medication for u to stop d diahorrea and prevent dehydration. dun take milk products too also.

Hi blessings,
Oh really ah? Should seek medical attention? Okay was thinking if I can wait it out. I see how I feel by 9pm if not will go kkh 24hr. Feeling really bad despite drinking water and got pains on either side of tummy. Ow
Now dh not home yet so will wait till he can send me to see doc. Now just lying down...

Yes kimmy, She said to me before. Coz worry abt d embbies inside. Same for constipation also cannot force stool out. Its nt good. So I think meanwhile u try tahan first n wait for ur hubby to b back n bring u to d clinic. Somemore ur beta is round corner. Jus to b safe. U take care.

Kimmy, i have a great feeling that u hv bfp. As diarrhoe is one of the main sympton at the end of 2ww that u hv already strike. Congrat u in advance.

Su, hope ur bleeding has stop. Go down for support in case u hv bfp after test hpt. Rest well.

Hazel, like to read your post. Full of knowledge. Hope by the time i can do fet, u will still be here to give us support.

Babybun, congrat to u for ur bfp. Need ur bb dust desperately too.

Awt and Babybun
congrats! continue to spread ur babydusts!

Gambette
yes im doing FET, thanks for ur wishes! hope it really come true! my blood test is 1 august, 12 days after ET.

Miracle baby
take care, how are u? feeling better?

hope283
i totally understand ur frustration! my first FET was also abandoned coz the stupid nurse misread the doctor's instructions and over-injected me, causing me to ovaluate too soon! It's like taking all these hormone medicines and injections are not hurtful enough for our body, plus the lost of time... and have to restart all over again! Like you, i also learnt my lesson and be very proactive now! Check check check!

Hello!!!
I is back from KKH 24hr O&G. Got there about 9.35pm and well, took a pee test to test for infection. And then doc saw me and said my tummy is distended so she ask the nurse out for the OHSS protocol and tried to take blood from me three times but couldn't. So they had to ask another staff nurse (who happen to make her rounds) to take for me so I had to wait outside then wow the staff nurse that took blood for me for the 4th time (ow!) no pain at all. So fast she said done!
Then now I have to wait 90 minutes for my blood test result to test for OHSS so I negotiated and ask if I can go home to wait because my home is nearby. Doc came out and said OK, go home. We will call you to come down so I will be back at 24hr O&G at 12.30am. Wahaha. U think I need to be warded?

The good thing is now I am feeling hungry (didn't have much appetite whole day) and mil said I seem much better because I was bouncing around the home earlier when I got home. I hope everything turns out well because so far all the calls I receive from KKH also not very positive one

Hi Gambatte,
Thank you for your faith in me! Really, it encourages ma and made my night. I hope it comes true! Big hug.

ahh my sil just came in to check on me and gv me a pap talk on how she's been watching my diet and that instant stuff is a no-no. She's gonna be more strict with me from now on and i'm basically going to eat similar stuff as my 15 mths old godson...

Now still waiting for kk to call me to go down for blood test report.... :\

Kk just called! Woohhoo. No need to go down they said will just send me the bill.
Said blood count is normal 1122 (whatever that means) and yeah that's all. :D

Kimmy, u mean ur hcg bt level thousand plus? Woo.. U r bfp? Congrat!!

Paule, all the best to ur fet!! U intend to rest for how long before go back to work? Rest well!!

I woke up at 6.50am with extreme sharp pains around my abdomen area. Tummy is very pain and im rolling around in tears. Can't lie in any position properly and I really want to go 24hr. Dh asks me to identify pain area but I feel it from beneath chest till abdomen but he guess it's tummy ache and to sit through it. Through enough after an hour, I'm in the Loo having my 2nd last burst of diahorrea and the pain subsides. I'm now waiting for one last trip.
Btw dr from 24hr called me ytd too to said all look good except that I may have very mild ohss since I'm experiencing bloat and nausea. Will be gg down later to collect medication...

hi sisters, thks for e concern n support. i was crying while writing this. sorri to disappoint u all, my BT result is bfn. my nxt appt w dr loh is aug 17. i noe life stil goes on.

kimmy, congrats. i tink i need to quit my job like u too.

Hi Kimmy - you may want think about asking for bHCG BT when you are down in 24hr clinic today so that you can get support immediately, no need to wait until tomorrow & go back again. Today is already d16 should be ok to test.

hi Su - sorry to hear abt the results. Take some time for yourself to heal, & take care. Don't give up, ya - sometimes it just takes a few tries.

Hi Su,
I'm so sorry to hear that. You went for early BT, kk allows? Im quite scared to know of my BT results tmr too. Hang in there and I hope it works out for your next fet. I'm very sure you will become a mommy!!! Big hug.

Hi Ron,
Really? I can go for early BT and they won't ask me back to
retest? I'm actually surprised 24hr didn't test my beta blood test yesterday nor hpt via my urine sample. Cuz my form writes tmr so am just wondering...thanks for the advice though

Hi Kimmy - in normal ttc, once AF is late (around 14 days past O) already can use the cheap hpt. KKIVF makes it very safe at 17dpt to test bhcg. You might as well ask for it if you are going to KK today coz if good news, can collect support meds earlier. Some clinics test around d15. My previous clinic tests at d12p3dt (15 day past ER).

Good luck & I hope u come back with some baby dust for us