Hi all. Had some drama last night cos my tummy hurt and previously my gynae suspected ectopic. Scared the shit out of me and ended up at kkh a&e where blood test showed hcg levels over 1800 but no sac. Today morning called me back for detailed scan and I really thought all was lost. 5 hours of waiting and grieving and finally told they found a tiny tiny waterbag. Best 500 plus ive ever spent.
How many weeks r u? By right 6-7 weeks should see sac with yolk and fetal pole.

Probably a late implanter.. but why is yr gynae scanning you at week5 (original estimate)? Is this yr IVF doctor?

It's good. If you have 1 or 2 follicles already, all the hormones might go to promoting their growth only. So it's good from what I know. This way all the follicles available will be abt the same size as they grow.
After the "scary" morning... now think about it... she said left none and right small...

Hi all. Had some drama last night cos my tummy hurt and previously my gynae suspected ectopic. Scared the shit out of me and ended up at kkh a&e where blood test showed hcg levels over 1800 but no sac. Today morning called me back for detailed scan and I really thought all was lost. 5 hours of waiting and grieving and finally told they found a tiny tiny waterbag. Best 500 plus ive ever spent.
good good, heng ah, now they found a small sac u can worry less. mqiu, 5 weeks of course nothing much to be seen la! alamak u scared us all too. hee...stay cool, week 6 vaginal scan shd see yolk sac and heart beat, but no uncommon to only see it in week 7 too.steady steady relax and smile now. take good care of yourself ,eat well sleep well.

went to the new fertility centre virtus for their seminar today. feel like there r lots of marketing talk esp from the drs. guess they need alot of biz to sustain this new centre ? hahah..maybe i think too much but the drs seem to think they r better than other drs from otr clinics or hospitals . the place is just too new for u to feel good there. none of their patients have bfp yet as they r stil eithr still under stimulation or in 2ww. Dr foong yang and roland chieng r with virtus now .think they shuttle between their own clinics and virtus.

That's the thing abt private vs govt hosp. Govt although quite rigid and conservative protocols but i appreciate that they always appear to care more abt ur well being over making profits, opposite of private facilities.

Private docs were practising in public hospitals before. Dr roland was with sgh for abt 10 years before moving to the private practice. He is good though he can be a tad business minded at times. So you are spot on abt the doctors mentality. I bfp under him. :)

hi @littlejo, you are not alone in what you've shared. This is the world of infertility where you discover your "dark side". During the bad days, I wonder if I will ever laugh wholeheartedly again, I wonder if the tears will every stop, I wonder who the man sleeping next to me is. On good days, I take all my supplements faithfully, mark each day of cycle earnestly and talk to my little beanie. Over the various bfn, bfp, mc, it almost feels like I'm going crazy. I've shared with other sisters not to think too much. Just do it (TTC) till I hit the limit and cannot do anymore. Then I'll stop. The limit is different for everyone and once I reach it, I think I'll know (I hope).

Do feel better. Its just one of those bad days. A good day will come along.

Meanwhile, if the dark side shows up, know that you are only human and walk away from the situation leaving as little a trace as you can :) We need to protect ourselves too... we are all fragile inside the world of infertility.

I'm back.. if some of you could rem me being here early jan 15. I have 2 failed iuis and i failed ivf in Dec 14. Booked my 2nd cycle in apr in kkh. I'm not sure is it good idea to totally give up of conceiving and move on. I feel cos my infertility, I'm stuck here in my life. I'm hoping to resign from my current job cos no prospects at all but bcos of my ivf I got to hold back till Aug. I'm reaching 40 this Aug. I know I only failed one ivf cycle but day to day, my mind is very taxing over it. I find life is not as meaningful like before when I haven started my conception journey. I find it very difficult to share my true jealousy feelings even to my closest friend and sis. Maybe its my pride. Every thing keeps bottling up. Recently, i saw 1 of my fbk friend posted and complained that she often needed to demand ppl to offer her the priority seat. When I read it, i feel frustrated. I know she did nothing wrong as a matter of fact. But my jealous feelings activated again. I think my over thinking is getting control over my emotions. To add on to my stress, me and hubby are also trying naturally but almost 50% if the time, my husband can't get it long enough to be successful. I was like .. the chance jus slipped off like that. He's healthy but we aren't sure if it's his psychologically or hidden issue with him physically.

Haiz.. feel better.

That's the thing abt private vs govt hosp. Govt although quite rigid and conservative protocols but i appreciate that they always appear to care more abt ur well being over making profits, opposite of private facilities.
Private docs were practising in public hospitals before. Dr roland was with sgh for abt 10 years before moving to the private practice. He is good though he can be a tad business minded at times. So you are spot on abt the doctors mentality. I bfp under him. :)
yalor i think so too. my hubby is quite keen on doing ivf with virtus(i scolded him for succumbg to their marketing tactics hahah). it was the 'digital high magnification ' technique that they r using to view and select the healthiest sperm lor . they claimed that not many other clinics are doing this and this technique wil magnify sperms 600 times bigger to check for holes in the sperm heads etc . i will go ask my sgh dr about this on my next appointment . btw Virtus only do FET on Blastocysts. they dun do fresh cycle transfer or day 2 day 3 transfer

Tdy scan :

Lining 9.7
Left :19, 6
Right: 16, 10.5, 9.5

And they r doing the trigger tdy... Doc say only 2 eggs at most... Didn't do blood test to check e2....

Wanted to extend one more day for trigger, but doctor say cannot....

Disappointed.... Wonder if I'll make it to transfer....

yalor i think so too. my hubby is quite keen on doing ivf with virtus(i scolded him for succumbg to their marketing tactics hahah). it was the 'digital high magnification ' technique that they r using to view and select the healthiest sperm lor . they claimed that not many other clinics are doing this and this technique wil magnify sperms 600 times bigger to check for holes in the sperm heads etc . i will go ask my sgh dr about this on my next appointment . btw Virtus only do FET on Blastocysts. they dun do fresh cycle transfer or day 2 day 3 transfer
just like to share i was told by sincere embrologist dr liaw last time That sperms apperance is not everythg n mean healthy. Sometimes a wierd looking sperm may do e job. It all depends on e materials inside e sperm which naked eyes cannot see. Wierd looking sperms or slow moving doesnt mean bad sperm in ivf or icsi..

Tdy scan :

Lining 9.7

And they r doing the trigger tdy... Doc say only 2 eggs at most... Didn't do blood test to check e2....

Tsf chin up,cos think u got 1 at 19mm,so they worry it may over size too much n waste it i think. I read follicles will grow 2mm per day,so hopefully yr e others will catch up. Jiayou n stay positive!!

Hi Ladies, just a little update... My 2ww is over cos started bleeding yesterday and by evening it was full flow and that is 5 days before my otd.
Although i failed my first cycle but I wasn't as upset as I thought i will be. Not that I didn't hope that it's positive but i believe God has got a reason for it and we must trust in him. I have also heard people saying getting bfp in first try is damn lucky. Usually it take a few cycle to succeed. So ladies that is on the same boat as me.. Dont be upset and stress over it cos it won't do any good to us but only make it worse. Trust that we will be a mum one day and we need to be patient. Just keep that picture in mind and believe it will happen.

Hi Ladies, just a little update... My 2ww is over cos started bleeding yesterday and by evening it was full flow and that is 5 days before my otd.
Although i failed my first cycle but I wasn't as upset as I thought i will be. Not that I didn't hope that it's positive but i believe God has got a reason for it and we must trust in him. I have also heard people saying getting bfp in first try is damn lucky. Usually it take a few cycle to succeed. So ladies that is on the same boat as me.. Dont be upset and stress over it cos it won't do any good to us but only make it worse. Trust that we will be a mum one day and we need to be patient. Just keep that picture in mind and believe it will happen.
Hi... sorry to hear that but thanks for being so brave and positive. And sharing that positivity with all of us.

Kevangie, sorry to hear that... Rest and recover well and wish you best of luck in your next cycle.

Tdy scan :

Lining 9.7

Tsf, stay positive! Remember you only need one to succeed. I transfered only 1 embryo 5 years ago and I made it. I transfered only 1 embryo this time round and I believe I'll make it too!! Haha! So always believe in yourself and your embbies Ya!!

*just did my blood test this morning and still waiting for the hospital to call me... Keeping fingers crossed for good results!!

Tsf, stay positive! Remember you only need one to succeed. I transfered only 1 embryo 5 years ago and I made it. I transfered only 1 embryo this time round and I believe I'll make it too!! Haha! So always believe in yourself and your embbies Ya!!

*just did my blood test this morning and still waiting for the hospital to call me... Keeping fingers crossed for good results!!
Hi,wat grade of embryo did u transfered?

All the best!!!! Hope u have a big BFP!!!

Best of luck!!! Rooting for u!

Hi, ladies, got a problem..
I m gg for a short protocol fresh cycle this month.. My menses supposed to come these few days.. Yesterday morning, I started spotting. By night, it was red flow but not v v much (like day 3 or 4 type).. So, I tot today ll b full red flow & I can call kkh.. But since last night, the flow is v v little. It's definitely red flow but it's like day 4 or 5 now.. The more I wan to start my cycle, my menses play a prank on me.. So, do I call kkh? Anyone experience tt before? Thanks in advance..

Call kkh and ask the professionals

Hi gals, anyone pls enlighten me what is the ivf briefing about coz I am gg soon. IVF centre said need to watch a video. What video is that?

Prob best you monitor and see if full AF arrives later. Call KKH and see what they say later today?

Sometimes the body tries to tell us things. If body not at optimal (eg too tired, too stressed, too much cny goodies), perhaps it's possible to consider to wait one more month eventho' it's agonising when you are ready to go ahead.

Hi gals, anyone pls enlighten me what is the ivf briefing about coz I am gg soon. IVF centre said need to watch a video. What video is that?

Hi, twinklelight,
Assuming u r fr kkhivf, during briefing, medical officer ll run thru the stages of ivf, financial counselling (how much per cycle, medisave-deductible, govt co-fund), video is abt the same as above, then doctor ll come to run thru some further points. Then u hv to sign consent form to go for ivf, acknowledgement tt all is explained to u, pay for the counselling + registration fee, ask any Qns tt u hv.. That's it.. Hope tis helps..

I agree with you Chloe. I've been to both private and govt hospitals for IVF. The difference was huge. The govt hospital's service was much better, more organized and professional, cheaper (subsidized) and most importantly I succeeded with them. What I learnt about private clinics is that expensive doesn't mean good. Their prices are higher because of reasons that are not related to their quality or success rate. I wish I had known that before learning my lesson the hard way.

I agree with u that private doesnt always mean good. I also have gone to both types. Private is wayyy more expensive but the positive points is that you get more attention from your specialist, waiting time to book appt is much much shorter (I had to wait 2.5 months for kkh appt v 1 week for private). Also, cos govt appts work on a many-depts system u spend a heck of alot of time waiting for every dept to move their butts. But in terms of health care govt hosp are top notch, wont lose to private. In fact the nurses can be loads better.

Yes you are right. Waiting time will be longer in govt hospital and they may seem inflexible about their protocol. Also, private doctors would seem more attentive and caring and give in to patient's requests. But to me, I don't really need a doc with good bedside manners, as long as he can help me succeed in having a baby, haha. Yes quality will be top because govt hosp receive funding from govt. Private is more for foreigners who don't get subsidies or maybe they just can't afford to wait.

Hi,wat grade of embryo did u transfered?

Hi Connie_hopeful, 5 years ago I transfered a grade 4 embryo (accordingly to Dr Loh SF it was a good grade). This time round I transfered a satisfactory grade embryo (which accordingly to NUH embryologist, it is a grade 2. Apparently NUH only have grade 1, 2 and 3 with 3 the best grade).

Congrats! Just saw that u have bfp with yr 2nd bb this rnd ! :)

Hi mqiu and tsf, thanks for your wishes!! And yes it is a BFP for me this cycle. So happy!
Thanks all ladies here who have given me support and advice. Appreciate it!
One hurdle crossed, now it's the next. Waiting for the 6 weeks scan to see fetal pole. *praying hard that all goes well*

Especially to tsf, Jia you for your coming ER/ET. Remember you just need 1 to succeed. Have faith and your wish will come true! Jia you!

Hi mqiu and tsf, thanks for your wishes!! And yes it is a BFP for me this cycle. So happy!
Thanks all ladies here who have given me support and advice. Appreciate it!
One hurdle crossed, now it's the next. Waiting for the 6 weeks scan to see fetal pole. *praying hard that all goes well*

Especially to tsf, Jia you for your coming ER/ET. Remember you just need 1 to succeed. Have faith and your wish will come true! Jia you!
I'm joining u in this wait for 6w scan too :)
Yes, I agree all the wonderful ladies in here have been v encouraging & I'm thankful!
I was initially feeling upset that I lost 2 "perfect" embryos to my failed fresh. Apparently I succeeded with the "satisfactory" embryos for my FET.
My conclusion? Got transfer = got hope!

I'm joining u in this wait for 6w scan too :)
Yes, I agree all the wonderful ladies in here have been v encouraging & I'm thankful!
I was initially feeling upset that I lost 2 "perfect" embryos to my failed fresh. Apparently I succeeded with the "satisfactory" embryos for my FET.
My conclusion? Got transfer = got hope!

Congrats remembeRainbow! When is your 6weeks scan? Mine on 23mar. Another TWW. Haha.

Hi Ladies!
I've started my first IVF cycle today.
They told me to come back for scan on day 10. Seems to be so long. Is it normal? I'm not sure. I thought they suppose to check at shorter intervals...

Hi Ladies!
I've started my first IVF cycle today.
They told me to come back for scan on day 10. Seems to be so long. Is it normal? I'm not sure. I thought they suppose to check at shorter intervals...
I think for kkh,its normal. They ask me scan more when they found somethg wierd earlier on at day 3. But after that it disappears n e scanning days is lengthen
So they ask u go day 3 then day 10 think means its normal. Stay positive n happy to grow yr eggs :)

hugs kevangie,keep going and keep your faith . i told myself , god has his ways of doing QC for us . the right one will come one day

Hello Kevangie, I like your positivity! Yeah never give up, as long as one try, there is hope :)
I failed my fresh ivf in dec. Feb was put on natural FET. Today my 15D scan, lining no hope, follicle too small. And they mentioned there is this 60mm 'leftover follicle' or 'cysts' on my right side. Most likely will be cancelled. Let's us move forward. I will try again in the coming AF.

I have 2 blasts frozen. embroylogist told me that the success rate for thawing a blast is in fact much lower than a non-blast. Around 60% only. So i find it very puzzling to hear pte centres like Virtus and Sincere doing only fet for blasts. Wouldn't the cancellation rate for transfer be much higher? Sounds risky to me.