IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

@ttc77
Are you talking abt Dr Foong from Mount E? I was planning to go back to him for my fertility procedures. How do you rate his services?

Yup!! He is very good!! Very patient,very encouraging. I strongly recommend him

U said u are planning to go back to him. U mean u used to be under him?

My apologies. Just realised u said mt e.no.

He is from gleaneagles

@ttc77
Are you talking abt Dr Foong from Mount E? I was planning to go back to him for my fertility procedures. How do you rate his services?

Just back from my ultrascan n see I got 3 follicle (14mm, 13mm n 16.5mm). Dr Chan suggested IUI on this coming monday n i have arrange already.

His costs including lab tests is only $850. I thought is around $1,500 or so.

He show me a 4D scan of his previous patient n he said to me 'don't worry, we will give you a baby soon'. I have a feeling of comfort upon hearing this n hope wish will come true

Just back from my ultrascan n see I got 3 follicle (14mm, 13mm n 16.5mm). Dr Chan suggested IUI on this coming monday n i have arrange already.

He show me a 4D scan of his previous patient n he said to me 'don't worry, we will give you a baby soon'. I have a feeling of comfort upon hearing this n hope wish will come true
Wow 3 follicles! So u are suppose to trigger tonight? Your wish will certainly come true! :)

$850 includes iui procedure?

What is trigger? Dr Chan did not mention anything...
"trigger" means a jab to trigger the matured egg to burst out from your follicles.
Only when the "egg" is released then during IUI, the sperms can be injected very near to the egg area for fertilization to take place.

but maybe your gynae may be confident that your follicles are ripe enuf, so by Mon, there will be an egg/eggs available for your IUI :)
All the best to u!

@Kelle_lee oohh 3 follicles!! That is good news. You took jabs or clomid? Glad to hear that your gynae is very reassuring. All the best for ur iui on mon!!

"trigger" means a jab to trigger the matured egg to burst out from your follicles.
Only when the "egg" is released then during IUI, the sperms can be injected very near to the egg area for fertilization to take place.

but maybe your gynae may be confident that your follicles are ripe enuf, so by Mon, there will be an egg/eggs available for your IUI :)
All the best to u!

I see... Dr Chan did not said anything on this trigger. Well, I dare not harbour much hopes, but still hoping the best...

My husband's birthday is on next yr Jan n hope I can give him the best gift of his life..

Thanks for the wishes

Good luck!! 3 follicles is positive, I only had 2 this cycle...jia you jiayou!

@missus_wong both of you are fortunate. With letrozole, I had 1 growing follicle. With clomid, even better. Follicles dun want to grow haha. Looks like maybe so-iui might work better on me. But if this iui dun work on me, let's see if either stronger dose of letrozole or jabs will be what my gynae want to do for me.

Good luck!! 3 follicles is positive, I only had 2 this cycle...jia you jiayou!

My apologies. Just realised u said mt e.no.

He is from gleaneagles

As in, when i was in Singapore in June, i went to see him to just check what could be wrong with me. So he did a scan and found out i had pcos and he got my tubes checked also. But since i had to leave for overseas, i cldnt continue treatment with him. Now, i'm coming back.. so thought of going back to him but he is very ex right? Any idea how much he charges for IUI?

Hi Ladies, especially those who are working. Can I know for each time you went for your consultation, scans, and finally IUI, do you take full day MC?
Or you applied for half days out from your own annual leave?
Understand the gynae will sure give MC one, just wana check how many of you here took own leave instead of claiming the MC? Well, afterall not too good to take too many days of MC, but for the sake of the "future" baby, what is more impt right!?

@littlebaby_melissa Usually my gynae give me mc but I will see my own discretion. I usually cheong the 1st appt so if I finish around 9am+ to 10am then I'll just go in to office. At least I can work for the rest of the day and not disrupt work.

Only for my IUI then I will take full day mc though my gynae say I can go back to work after my IUI. I thought just stay at home to rest might aid implantation. Then again I could be wrong too. My gf just went back to work after the IUI and she also bfp that cycle. So I guess hard to say.

Technically, my leave is not alot to start with so I really try not to utilise if possible. Actually I have $$ to take if I dun utilise mc at all but cos of bb, heck lah. So much $$ no bb also dun mean anything to me de. Before this, I already took a big paycut to get my current job just to have better worklife balance. Now I'm more relaxed and happier also.

Hi Ladies, especially those who are working. Can I know for each time you went for your consultation, scans, and finally IUI, do you take full day MC?
Understand the gynae will sure give MC one, just wana check how many of you here took own leave instead of claiming the MC? Well, afterall not too good to take too many days of MC, but for the sake of the "future" baby, what is more impt right!?

Hi littlebaby_melissa,

Last time when I was doing Clomid monitoring in Clinic (KKIVF) (not IUI), I remembered some ladies mentioning that since they could afford economically with just the sole income of the husband for a few months, they quitted their job for the procedure, so as not to get the sack from the boss, for being always out of the office, and getting jobs done.

@littlebaby_melissa Usually my gynae give me mc but I will see my own discretion. I usually cheong the 1st appt so if I finish around 9am+ to 10am then I'll just go in to office. At least I can work for the rest of the day and not disrupt work.

Only for my IUI then I will take full day mc though my gynae say I can go back to work after my IUI. I thought just stay at home to rest might aid implantation. Then again I could be wrong too. My gf just went back to work after the IUI and she also bfp that cycle. So I guess hard to say.

Technically, my leave is not alot to start with so I really try not to utilise if possible. Actually I have $$ to take if I dun utilise mc at all but cos of bb, heck lah. So much $$ no bb also dun mean anything to me de. Before this, I already took a big paycut to get my current job just to have better worklife balance. Now I'm more relaxed and happier also.
I see, what you did is kinda similar to wat i wana plan too (still waiting for my AF to come to start my cycle), 1st time in my life i wan my AF to come asap! ahha irony.
Yah, i also told myself, money come second as compared to a new life, esp the lil one.

Hi littlebaby_melissa,

Last time when I was doing Clomid monitoring in Clinic (KKIVF) (not IUI), I remembered some ladies mentioning that since they could afford economically with just the sole income of the husband for a few months, they quitted their job for the procedure, so as not to get the sack from the boss, for being always out of the office, and getting jobs done.
Wow, quitting the job just for the procedure, if BFP then the maternity leave will not be paid by the company anymore.
What u said is correct too, if financially ok for just one income (husband), then the wife can just quit her job...
But I guess I can't do it now, still have loans to pay.... "pai mia" (bad life), so got to "thick skin" a bit, take MC and take own leave days until one day my boss decide to sack me due to poor attendance. haha.. but I did sacrifice my holiday lor....I save all my leave just for the IUIs, mommies-to-be are sOOOO noble!!!

I usually try to make my appointment the last appointment of the day so I'll just take some time off work early for consultation. But for the procedure, I'll take one full day of annual leave. My gynae said by right I should be able to go back to work, but he prefers if I can, go home to rest.

You might want to consider if you are going to take MC from the clinic, and you need to produce the MC to your company as proof, it might show that you went to a fertility clinic. I think maybe govt hospital maybe can't see that you went to a fertility clinic. But private clinic can see that you went to a gynae.

@missus_wong both of you are fortunate. With letrozole, I had 1 growing follicle. With clomid, even better. Follicles dun want to grow haha. Looks like maybe so-iui might work better on me. But if this iui dun work on me, let's see if either stronger dose of letrozole or jabs will be what my gynae want to do for me.

Jiayou babe! No matter which procedure we are trying, we actually just need 1 strong swimmer to fertilize the egg...so far iuis have not been successful for me either...

Tbh for government hospitals it's quite hard to cheong the earliest or latest appointment cos you have to take what slots are available...for nuh, cd 14 scans are done before 10am (for some strange reason) and my iuis have been scheduled before 11am...thankfully my boss is understanding and he closes both eyes for these "time offs".

As for IUI, I'm given full day mc so just take lor! If it matters to you what gets registered in your leave system then according to some ladies with private specialists, they rather take their own leave. For govt, it's not stated specifically what reason just mc.

My manager is very understanding and she is only 5 years older than me, so we can talk almost everything, including my TCC journey

She is a mother of one 4 yr old daughter n now pregnant with twins, so she really understand my situation. Allow me to have gynae appointment anytime and for my coming IUI, I just whatapps her telling her i got gynae appointment as usual and she reply ok. I did not tell her i got IUI to do for this time

Wow, quitting the job just for the procedure, if BFP then the maternity leave will not be paid by the company anymore.
What u said is correct too, if financially ok for just one income (husband), then the wife can just quit her job...
But I guess I can't do it now, still have loans to pay.... "pai mia" (bad life), so got to "thick skin" a bit, take MC and take own leave days until one day my boss decide to sack me due to poor attendance. haha.. but I did sacrifice my holiday lor....I save all my leave just for the IUIs, mommies-to-be are sOOOO noble!!!

Hi littlebaby_melissa,

Again, it depends on whether your boss is an understanding one or not too. When I did the only one IVF last time in 2011, I did pro bono (without pay) for a middle-sized law firm in Middle Street. I told the boss about the IVF procedure, and why the no pay etc. Initially he is okay with it; however, coz he was not the highest rank in the office (the managing director was and complained to him a few times that when he wanted me to help, I was not in the office; actually my boss's fault too, coz he hired me without informing the managing director since the director was not in the office that day); then towards the ET date, he forced me to make a choice between continuing with IVF or not. I told him about the costs I paid at KKIVF, that I already started, couldn't pull out anymore.

Long story cut short, while waiting for 2nd IVF (my menses delayed for more than 1 week), went to KK clinic D, they did a test and said I bfp unexpectedly. Immediately told my boss, he was happy with it. However, the managing director did not want me anymore, as he had got an intern going into office who was arranged to sit at my desk; and he forced my boss to use harsh words to scold me (2 times over the phone and 1 time in person with office door open facing colleagues so the whole office could hear) causing me to miscarry eventually. The day I left the office, other work colleagues told me it is office politics.

Oh well!!!!!!!