IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

High amh level may or may not be associated with pcos bah.it just meant higher egg reserves for fertility treatments

Hello, any of the sisters here are doing iui because of endometriosis? I just failed my 1st cycle and wondering if iui works for endometriosis.

What did your doc say abt fertility treatment with pcos? With pcos there is a chance of lower possibility of conceiving.then again.. it varies cos my cousin was diagnosed with pcos but she conceived naturally and is having her 3rd kid at age of 38! Nothing is impossible.

Getting pregnant is 1 way to 'cure' endometroisis. Cos usually with the birth of the newborn, it may take away endometroisis. Then again .. ironically, endo is 1 of the cause of infertility. 1may be put on medication or a laparoscopy be introduced to clear away the endo lining which could possibly increase chance of conceiving ... probably u could talk to your doc to see how severe your endo is ... doing an iui with a severe endo lining may not wrk cos the severe lining is 1 of the reason for infertility ..www.advancedfertility.com/endometroisis
IUI and endometriosis

Intrauterine insemination statistics with endometriosis in the female are dependent on the severity of the endometriosis. Mild endometriosis has been shown in some studies to give slightly lower success rates with IUI as compared to unexplained infertility.As the severity of the endometriosis increases, the success chances with insemination drop significantly. For severe endometriosis, IUI success rates are very low.Success rates with IUI for endometriosis have been variable in studies, showing:A pregnancy rate of 6.5% for women with endometriosis vs. 15.3% per cycle for unexplained infertilityReference: Nuojua-Huttunen et al., Intrauterine insemination treatment in subfertility: an analysis of factors affecting outcome. Human Reproduction 1999.A pregnancy rate of 5.6% for women with advanced endometriosis vs. 22.7% per cycle for mild endometriosis vs. 25.7% for no endometriosisReference: Prado-Perez et al., The impact of endometriosis on the rate of pregnancy of patients submitted to intrauterine insemination. Fertility and Sterility,2002.Pregnancy chances with insemination for natural cycle IUIs (no drugs) with endometriosis are about 2% per cycle vs. 11% with injectables plus IUI for endometriosis

I got PCOS, my level is 9.9 Does that mean not so gd?? Coz I read like if result is high mean better higher egg reserve mean better leh.. Haiz..
"Usually an indication" of PCOS heh

PCOS doesn't mean high amh, high amh also doesn't mean PCOS.Just that those 2 have significant correlation.

High amh not nec good leh, higher possibility of overstimulation and OHSS

Hi ladies, i am new to this forum. didnt know such a place online exists. it makes me teary eyed reading your posts. i thought i was the only one out there whose trying so hard to conceive. 5 yrs marriage,I've had 3 M/Cs and 1 ectopic. i just had a chat with an aunt whose a gynae in JB. she asked me to try IUI.. I dont know if I should. is it expensive and how long does the whole process take? thanks ladies.
Heh mine is 5 half years marriage. Maybe haven't laid a single egg.

Will u be going to ur aunt in JB or starting treatment in singapore? If JB think ur aunt will be able to advise u better?

For Singapore, think most hospitals would start with blood tests and SA. Then when u start w the process, if without injections, most of the time is to take clomid for 5 days, then start ultrasound scan sometime around day 12. Depends on growth of follicles, may have more scans on alternate days, then when ready, will have injection to trigger ovulation. Then within e following 2 days insemination will take place.

For non subsidized patients, each visit is approx $100 and the insemination is approx $700.

@veraine may i ask how u go about buyin clomid? I believed you didnt purchased tat day after ur iui?
V sian leh.. dunno to cont with iui with him or seek other fertility doc... i dunno really noe if west side hv other fertility doc...

@veraine may i ask how u go about buyin clomid? I believed you didnt purchased tat day after ur iui?
V sian leh.. dunno to cont with iui with him or seek other fertility doc... i dunno really noe if west side hv other fertility doc...
I bought the day of IUI. I usually ask the doc what is the next course of action if it's unsuccessful, so would buy clomid directly.

I think shd continue with him ba, experienced and knows what he's doing. He's waaaay better than the pte gynae I saw previously liao. Give yourself a few more months with him?

ok girls am straight away moving to ivf after 1st iui failed. hpt bfn at 19dpiui, prof didn't suggest to do bt but after I said not sure then he put me on bt. Maybe he wants to help me save moolah but I still feel safer to do bt.
Hi Queby, I am also with prof and failed my 1st iui. I am also contemplating of going straight to ivf or another round of iui. May i know when you will start your ivf? I am afraid if i go for another iui i might waste a few more months at the end.

I bought the day of IUI. I usually ask the doc what is the next course of action if it's unsuccessful, so would buy clomid directly.

I think shd continue with him ba, experienced and knows what he's doing. He's waaaay better than the pte gynae I saw previously liao. Give yourself a few more months with him?

Argh.... i didnt buy.. i was thinking mayb i will success after my 1st iui but who knows......
Looks like im goin bk on a sat to purchase frm nuh pharmacy...

Ya.. mayb i will give myself 3 tries of iui.. hopefully will get bfp w/o iui..

Rest mths ahead b4 goin bk to see him..
So u goin bk in june for ur 2nd iui?

Argh.... i didnt buy.. i was thinking mayb i will success after my 1st iui but who knows......
Looks like im goin bk on a sat to purchase frm nuh pharmacy...

Ya.. mayb i will give myself 3 tries of iui.. hopefully will get bfp w/o iui..

Rest mths ahead b4 goin bk to see him..
So u goin bk in june for ur 2nd iui?
I failed too many times liao la lol. So will tend to ask.

Maybe from women's clinic itself instead of pharmacy? Cos pharmacy u'll need prescription. Clinic maybe they can approach any of e docs and issue u over counter based on ur records?

Yeah, will be nice if the whole bunch of us who failed together last month all get bfp naturally together :) look forward to happy news!

And yup, most likely June cycle go back for my third IUI w him. Then see what he'll recommend after that. Sigh.

I failed too many times liao la lol. So will tend to ask.

Maybe from women's clinic itself instead of pharmacy? Cos pharmacy u'll need prescription. Clinic maybe they can approach any of e docs and issue u over counter based on ur records?

Yeah, will be nice if the whole bunch of us who failed together last month all get bfp naturally together :) look forward to happy news!

And yup, most likely June cycle go back for my third IUI w him. Then see what he'll recommend after that. Sigh.

Oppps...
I hv the prescription with me. The nurse gave it to me that day. She told me can get frm unity n other pharmacy.. true enuff but once i asked frm watson the lady said no stock.well i supposed they dun wan to sell.. scare! Lol

Ya hope the whole lots of us will gradually bfp n proceed to the next level in this forum..

Hey babes ..this might prove useful:
IUIs vs. IVF – when to move on?

The short answer is to move on to IVF after 3 failed IUIs
If the fertility problem is due to a lack of ovulation, maybe try a few more
If the female is under 30 and ovarian reserve is good, maybe try a few more
Costs of fertility treatments are a big factor in deciding when to move beyond IUI
If the female is 40 or older, or ovarian reserve low, consider moving to IVF sooner
In vitro fertilization is the next step after IUIs -
with a much higher success rate

Hey babes ..this might prove useful:
IUIs vs. IVF – when to move on?

The short answer is to move on to IVF after 3 failed IUIs
If the fertility problem is due to a lack of ovulation, maybe try a few more
If the female is under 30 and ovarian reserve is good, maybe try a few more
Costs of fertility treatments are a big factor in deciding when to move beyond IUI
If the female is 40 or older, or ovarian reserve low, consider moving to IVF sooner
In vitro fertilization is the next step after IUIs -
with a much higher success rate

Should be move to ivf before 35. Success rate drop after 35 n by 38 or 39 only left 10 percent. After 40 is 5percent. Age is impt in ivf cos the older U are, your egg reserve dropped as well as egg quality. So don't drag too long trying iui. There are many reason why iui can't work. stress is not why we cannot conceive.

I was told by doctors at NUH that there's a MOH guideline that if there are no Fallopian tube problems or any major problems, IVF is only recommended after age 35. Hence the reason why they want you to try iui first. Anyone had such encounter and how did you work around it?
I think it has something to do with the govt grants too..

Stress do play a part in conception ... lifestyle and food as well. There is no determined answer as to why 1 cant conceive. Iui and ivf are just trials. Of cos the earlier one goes on fertility treatment the higher the chance given age and egg qualities are major factors. Which is why im going for 3rd cycle iui elsewhere while queuing for ivf under kkh. Set a target as to when to move on if current treatment is getting nowhere. In time we will all graduate frm here

I was told by doctors at NUH that there's a MOH guideline that if there are no Fallopian tube problems or any major problems, IVF is only recommended after age 35. Hence the reason why they want you to try iui first. Anyone had such encounter and how did you work around it?
The message told to me was somewhat like that also. That even though I had 5 rounds somewhere else earlier, they still want to try a few cycles of IUI with me before moving me on to IVF.

So when I go on to my 3rd cycle of IUI at NUH, I'll bring up IVF again. Past 2 times they told me continue IUI.

Are you with prof also? :)

Stress do play a part in conception ... lifestyle and food as well. There is no determined answer as to why 1 cant conceive. Iui and ivf are just trials. Of cos the earlier one goes on fertility treatment the higher the chance given age and egg qualities are major factors. Which is why im going for 3rd cycle iui elsewhere while queuing for ivf under kkh. Set a target as to when to move on if current treatment is getting nowhere. In time we will all graduate frm here
Yeah. I think I'll wear a mortar board and take a selfie with it. :)

Anyway these couple of weeks back to charting my basal temp and started peeing on opk this morning. Hmph.

Veraine .. Do u chart at roughly the same timing? Im trying with basal temp charting also but every now and then I will tend to off alarm whn it rings and forgot abt taking my temp before climbing up from bed. Cant really c unique pattern. Used opk stick yday. Got a lighter test line as opposed as bolder control line which implies a negative. The 2nd pee of the day will give a more accurate result

It's within the same 1 and half hour window everyday. So far I still remember to la, maybe cos used to do it regularly. Just past 2 cycles on IUI so didn't bother.

When I was working last time, my weekday and weekend wake up time can differ up to 5 hours haha.. But temp QUITE consistent, the second half is distinctly higher temp. My first half is usually betw 36.0 and 36.4, mostly 36.2; luteal phase is usually 36.6 to 36.8.

But my prev gynae said basal temp not accurate la.

For a period of time I would take 2 tests a day and take photo w handwritten dates and compile an album. So I scroll left and right to compare e pics. My husband thought I was obsessive.

But super waste money la. This cycle I'm just going to finish using the left over sticks, once a day. Next cycle I'll be overseas, following cycle will be back for IUI liao.

2 NUH doctors told me about the MOH guidelines. They also explained to me that IVF is more invasive to our bodies and has more side effects than IUI, so they will like me to try timing BD at ovulation and IUI first. Hence I followed their advice and gave those a try. I think our doctors are concerned about our health.

Oppps...
I hv the prescription with me. The nurse gave it to me that day. She told me can get frm unity n other pharmacy.. true enuff but once i asked frm watson the lady said no stock.well i supposed they dun wan to sell.. scare! Lol

Ya hope the whole lots of us will gradually bfp n proceed to the next level in this forum..

With prescription U can actually go to any of the pharmacy including those woman clinic or other hospital with o&g service to buy.

Anyone need to go through Rubella Vaccine before doing IUI/IVF? KKH called me today that my rubella test is negative.
meaning I need to delay my SO-IUI treatment for 3 months as I have to take the rubella vaccine. :( so sad. thought I can start IUI in May.

Hi ladies, i am new to this forum. didnt know such a place online exists. it makes me teary eyed reading your posts. i thought i was the only one out there whose trying so hard to conceive. 5 yrs marriage,I've had 3 M/Cs and 1 ectopic. i just had a chat with an aunt whose a gynae in JB. she asked me to try IUI.. I dont know if I should. is it expensive and how long does the whole process take? thanks ladies.
i thinking of going to JB for IUI..

TMC Fertility & Women's Specialist Centre, Johor Bahru, Johor

Medical Suites 04-02 & 04-03,
Level 4, Menara Landmark,
12, Jalan Ngee Heng,
80000 Johor Bahru

Which gynae your aunt recommend?

The jb fertility centre I went to is tmc. Dr fabian. Only 1 indian male fertility doc based in jb for tmc. They have more branches ..heard the KL one is quite famous. Another fertility clinic is england women specialist near omega tuition centre. My hb did his sa there but our friend succeeded on 4th iui with tmc so we decided to go tmc. Im starting 3rd cycle iui with tmc at onset of nxt mensus. Previous 2cycles were with kkh but not successful. Going on gonal f jab 4days plus clomid 5days to see if the combi protocol will trigger more than 1 but not more than 4 follicles growth or not. I wasnt ask to repeat any blood tests ..just showed him I did 2cycles in past mths with kkh. And he was fine with me going on 2rd cycle iui with tmc under him

Hi, I have a question. Have you girls heard about progesterone cream/pills etc? I read that it is good for implantation and is usually given after iui/ivf in other countries. Do our local hospitals/doctors give? If not, does anyone bought any on your own?
I'm with nuh but the doc never mention anything.

@Queby: Hi, I just read that you used progesterone cream. May I know if your doctor prescribe it for you or you got it on your own? Thanks.....

Hi, I have a question. Have you girls heard about progesterone cream/pills etc? I read that it is good for implantation and is usually given after iui/ivf in other countries. Do our local hospitals/doctors give? If not, does anyone bought any on your own?

@Queby: Hi, I just read that you used progesterone cream. May I know if your doctor prescribe it for you or you got it on your own? Thanks.....
Maybe it depends on the condition of the patient?

I'm with NUH also, and both IUI so far there was no additional support given. Told me go back and resume normal activities.

Hi I'm with Kkh, they will prescribe progesterone pills for 19days. But u stop taking when AF are here.

Thanks Veraine and PresciousBeanie! Veraine, you're with Prof Wong too right? I forgot to ask him about this but even if I do, I'm scared to ask.....
I'm really thinking of getting some, have the thought of going to private doc to see if they give....
Do you ladies think it is crucial?

Thanks Veraine and PresciousBeanie! Veraine, you're with Prof Wong too right? I forgot to ask him about this but even if I do, I'm scared to ask.....
I'm really thinking of getting some, have the thought of going to private doc to see if they give....
Hahaha.. Just ask him la :)

When I asked he just smiled and said don't need any other supplements except folic acid. When I ask dr chew when prof wasn't around, he also said same thing.

The jb fertility centre I went to is tmc. Dr fabian. Only 1 indian male fertility doc based in jb for tmc. They have more branches ..heard the KL one is quite famous. Another fertility clinic is england women specialist near omega tuition centre. My hb did his sa there but our friend succeeded on 4th iui with tmc so we decided to go tmc. Im starting 3rd cycle iui with tmc at onset of nxt mensus. Previous 2cycles were with kkh but not successful. Going on gonal f jab 4days plus clomid 5days to see if the combi protocol will trigger more than 1 but not more than 4 follicles growth or not. I wasnt ask to repeat any blood tests ..just showed him I did 2cycles in past mths with kkh. And he was fine with me going on 2rd cycle iui with tmc under him
i same as you... now starting my first IUI with him...
was given 5 days clomid and another 5 days of FSH injection...

I am with prof Wong too. Nothing was given to me for my last iui. You can just ask him. I think he will be gladly answer anything.
I think they decide on that based on our blood test result. Whether our progesterone level is within the desirable range. But u can definitely ask and request for it.

I am with prof Wong too. Nothing was given to me for my last iui. You can just ask him. I think he will be gladly answer anything.
I think they decide on that based on our blood test result. Whether our progesterone level is within the desirable range. But u can definitely ask and request for it.
My day 2 bt progesterone very low leh.. No other bt to determine that.. Maybe my lining was thick enough? Heh only they'll know ba

Hi sj123 how's your iui process under Prof wong?
I can't remember if I did any progesterone test at nuh. I did one with kk last time when I was taking clomid. I'm not sure if progesterone level will change every cycle hence the doubt.....

I think is just different hospitals protocols for IUI.

Prof was out during that time, dr Anu did it for me. I am hoping he will be doing it for my next one. But he will be out in May and June as well. Hopefully the timing is right.
I only didn't do bt during my iui cycle. My guess is if progesterone drop we will have spotting? No harm checking with prof Wong on the next visit so that we have less doubt.

My day 2 bt progesterone very low leh.. No other bt to determine that.. Maybe my lining was thick enough? Heh only they'll know ba
did prof Wong say anything about the low progesterone? He usually doesn't explain much so I need to prepare a few set of questions for different scenario on how thing might turn out on my visit. Or else no explanation is given usually.

Thanks ladies for your answers...

You all prepare lots of questions to ask doc. The problem with me is that I dunno what to ask also... Hope he can provide more info but he's a man of few words....

Another thing, have you heard of having a full bladder before doing iui? Anyone has it? Apprarently it can help doc find the uterus. I read it online but Prof never say anything.
Gosh I have been reading loads of info which I also dunno true or not....

You all prepare lots of questions to ask doc. The problem with me is that I dunno what to ask also... Hope he can provide more info but he's a man of few words....

Another thing, have you heard of having a full bladder before doing iui? Anyone has it? Apprarently it can help doc find the uterus. I read it online but Prof never say anything.

Hi, i was on full bladder when doin iui.. b4 the procedure i asked the doc he said is okay to hv full bladder..
So u can ask the doc b4 u start ur iui.. the nurse may ans ur questions if u ask. :)

did prof Wong say anything about the low progesterone? He usually doesn't explain much so I need to prepare a few set of questions for different scenario on how thing might turn out on my visit. Or else no explanation is given usually.
Nope he didn't say anything. But I assumed he knows what he's doing la haha ... so when he said I don't need supplements means I don't need ba

Heh me opposite fr rainbowbb, I emptied my bladder so that after procedure I don't have to engage any of the muscles in that area. Cos transvaginal scan doesn't need a full bladder to identify the uterus

Normal u/s scan yes, need full bladder

i cannot do with full bladder...
before i do my ultrasound ( transvaginal scan), i always empty my bladder first...
coz sometimes the gynae will press and push here and there to see the ovaries, etc...
if full bladder, i think my urine will leak :p

i same as you... now starting my first IUI with him...
was given 5 days clomid and another 5 days of FSH injection...
Whats your amh? Did he get u to do amh? Looks like this Is his protocol cos he didnt want to over trigger too many follicles growth. Are u on puregon or gonal F? How much of FSH injection to tke daily?

hmm.. never lei...
perhaps my cycle is regular, my blood test and HSG all ok, so i skip this test?

i not sure which brand and how much, coz havent start injection yet...need to go home and check :p
today is my first day to take clomid... next appt to check the size & number of follicles will be 22 Apr

hmm.. never lei...
perhaps my cycle is regular, my blood test and HSG all ok, so i skip this test?

i not sure which brand and how much, coz havent start injection yet...need to go home and check :p
today is my first day to take clomid... next appt to check the size & number of follicles will be 22 Apr
Excited? Hehe

Have u been on clomid (minus the injections) before?

Don't mind me asking.. How come ur not doing IUI locally leh?

I didn't do bt w my earlier gynae, few cycles clomid only she also didn't monitor, moved on to injections then overreacted. Turns out I do just fine with clomid alone, didn't need injections, fr the recent cycles at nuh.

Excited? Hehe

Have u been on clomid (minus the injections) before?

Don't mind me asking.. How come ur not doing IUI locally leh?

I didn't do bt w my earlier gynae, few cycles clomid only she also didn't monitor, moved on to injections then overreacted. Turns out I do just fine with clomid alone, didn't need injections, fr the recent cycles at nuh.

yupz, been 2 months clomid before with my SG gynae.. i ovulate as per normal.. even without clomid, i also ovulate as per normal..
so i guess taking clomid or not, makes no difference to me...

Coz SG do IUI need to have marriage cert, and we are not married yet. So we went to JB to do.