Being SPECIAL ,...

Think got suspended due to THAT maddening thread ... How come June u know? Didn't c u in that section ley? Shall not go in details or else I kanna XX! Any way, back with new name like new start. U know y city pumpkin? Cos I swah gu, hvnt step into disco, pub (I remember u went already!)

June, CNY still got 7-8mths to go ... sometimes v fat up n angry will make 1 mth also unbearable. My SIL lor, she forgo her bonus (just work 1 more mth) n resign empty handed (+ no maternity benefits).

Yukee, click yr profile, Preference, uncheck this question --> Do not send me "Private Message" e-mails from other board users

City, how come i noe?? You forgot le ar? You posted a thread here stating, Intermediate Member bullie new member(something like this?) I saw it ma.......

You not swah gu lar... You will have the chance to make ur 1st step into the pub... Dun worri ya... Plus, you if you dun smokers, plz dun go in.. you will die of 2nd hand smoke + you will end up going home with your hair and body full of ciger smell, which i onli manage to get rid of the smell after 2 full days of hair wash...

I noe, still long way lor... ya, indeed it's veri fed up to stay on with a boss who is so demanding and so siao... If i can turn back time to the time where i am still young and single, i will fry her a plate of sotong... but now is rather impossible lor.. Hub not out of army enlistement.. So have to wait till her out of enlistment, stablised a job den i will fry her a plate of sotong!

hellooo yukee..the dr told me my new born had bilateral simian crease- it such a big scare..i surfed the net like mad cos what on earth is that? but thank God it resolve after many many many months now he has more lines on his palm..

yes i also agree about what u shared about having a special kid, life has a different meaning . most parents want their kids to excel in everything but with special kids, every day they can do something (even if is so easy compared to other kids)is an achievement and should be applaused for their willingness to try..

in my area of work i have come across many depressing scenario, i saw a brilliant undergrad paralysed in car accident, i see young patients with kids down with stroke and cant take care of themselves etc.. so anything can happen to anyone who is normal...so i keep reminding myself not to compare n be contented with what i have.. that relative son is dear to me but the best thing i can do is to accept and love him and his family. of course i did go into a pity party why why in our family? and also still in denial hoping it is a passing phrase n he will get well soon.

so now i try to read more about autism n hopefully i can know how to cope with that child.

June, so u want to join us to be a SAHM? or u are getting another job?

City, i activate my PM liao...i also saw ur that bully bully post...hahaha...thot after that i still see ur posting, why suddenly got banned.

Toy collector, what is bilateral simian crease...new terms to me leh...

Yah, nowadays have more and more autism cases, and boys have higher chance of getting it (this is wat i heard)...donno wat happen...

Alamak! i posted but my post gone!! Haiz

Yukee.. How i wish lor... But cannot.. my hub is still stuck in army and i am the onli one working.. Minus off staying with my ILs lar... How not to work leh.... Ren lor...

Toy collector, what is bilateral simian crease? Nv heard before....

Yukee
Has your bb gone for eye op yet? How is it? Hope it will be ok!

Hi Toy collector
Know you from another thread. Welcome here! Ya, what's bilateral simian crease?

Now got more cases of autism, could it be because diagnosis is better now? More people send kid for diagnosis? I think, last time, these kids just considered very 'pai see'!

But autism also got 'different' types. It's a whole spectrum of symptoms, and one child can be quite different from another. My hb has a friend who has asperger's syndrom, one form of autism. But the kid is now completing his NS, and will be going university soon!
He was only diagnosed with that syndrom when he was nearly 15 years old! previously people considered him 'naughty' and that his parents spoilt him. so heart ache for his poor mum! His dad is so relieved since his son was diagnosed, and whole family not so stressed anymore! poor thing hor!

A simian crease is a single line that runs across the palm of the hand. People normally have three creases in their palms.

The term "simian crease" is not used much anymore since it tends to have a negative meaning (it refers to monkey or ape). The crease is usually just refered to as a single palmar crease.

Strong lines (called palmar flexion creases) appear on the palms of the hands and soles of the feet. The palm normally has three of these creases. But sometimes, the horizontal creases join together to form a single one.

Palmar creases develop while the baby is growing in the womb, usually by the 12th week of gestation.

A single palmar crease appears in approximately 1 out of 30 people. Males are twice as likely as females to have this condition. Some palmar creases indicate problems with development and are associated with disorders like Down syndrome.

got this from yahoo search... i nearly fainted after almost 10 hrs of labour the pd told me that..so maybe u can look at friend's new born babies to see if they have that. but some time the babies might turn out normal but sometimes it might be not..

yes cowandick- some autistic kids are just so normal n extremely smart but some can be like rain man or keep getting lost or screaming all the time etc..

A single palmar crease is often a normal finding. However, it may also be associated with:

Down syndrome
Aarskog syndrome
Cohen syndrome
Fetal alcohol syndrome
Trisomy 13
Rubella syndrome
Turner syndrome
Klinefelter syndrome
Pseudohypoparathyroidism
Gonadal dysgenesis
Cri du chat syndrome

u can imagine how long the list ofit might be.... so for few mths to close to a yr..i was wondering if my child has the above until he started to talk n i know he is normal.. though i did not drink any alcohol and i dun take any but both my father and father in law are heavy drinkers n i thou it passed down n thou my child has Fetal alcohol syndrome

wow at 15yrs old then diagnosed as autistic .... this chap could still carry on studies

oh 'simian crease' .... ic ic

Today read papers talking about a boy born with no eyes .... why the world like that, how come human cant be born normal?

Thanks for info, toy collector.
Come to think of it, my uncle has that one dominant line on his palm, but he's perfectly normal. Damn sarcastic, but normal!

City,
The boy was thought 'naughty' all this while until the parents found a definitive term for his weird behaviour! He's very anti-social, doesn't like to talk, and I remember he always carries his game cards around him, wherever he goes. But he has excellent memory, and very good in his Maths. His 'normal' brother is finding it hard living up to his elder brother's standard! Poor thing!

Yah, why can't bbs be born normal? Sigh! But that boy can have artificial eyes fitted when he's older, so he doesn't look 'strange'.

Cowandchick, thanks, the doc said still not time yet, need to see her a few more time to confirm, but shd be before my gal turn 3, which is Apr08 lor...

Toy Collector, after you talk abt it i quite scare now, cos my #2's left palm only 1 line, but there is a small split at the centre...donno consider as 1 line or not...PD say she ok, but quite worry now leh...btw, have you register your relative's son to the special school? or you need the doc confirmation?...my gal's time (which is 2yrs ago) there is quite a long queue, her PD register her when she just born but we waited for 9mths before we get a place...donno now is it better.

June, <font size="-2"><font color="0077aa">Quote ...so that is bilateral simian crease.. will take note since i have quite a few preggie frenz ard me...</font></font>
thot u preg!

City ar city ar city....

Will take note since i have quite a few preggie frenz AROUND(ard) me... you win liao... lol!!!!!!!

Ladies ar...

need to ask you hor, if got those jellyish jellyish brown discharge hor, den tummy cramp, izzit wanna give birth le huh??? Not me hor... is my fren......

Yukee
Which school you registered your girl? Has she started yet? Did you have a choice of school, or did PD choose for you? How much info did your PD tell you about your girl, and what the school can and should do?

I find there are highly differential standards with the various SPED Schools. I hope your girl gets a really good one.

June,

Not sure about the brown discharge thingy. But my policy is, if very near term already, and in doubt, go gynae and check! Hope YOUR FREN (hee hee) is ok!

Those don't have ger, want ger. Those no boys want boy. If you wish too hard, chances are you won't get what you want. Believe or not?

When i expecting #2, i was hoping for girl (just to spite my MIL bec she so angry i had girl last time!) Turn out boy! Now of course she happy lah! My girl so poor thing, 2 nites ago kena scolded by her grandma coz her precious grandson pang sai! sh**!!! Of course I so sayang my girl even more lah!

June
I very nice surf net ... (thot last time got say surf net in another thread, never mind, I free-free cos Sym orhorh kuoon)

1) The Chinese lunar calendar
The Chinese calendar gives us a way of telling whether you are going to have a boy or a girl based on your lunar age, which is found out by adding two years to your actual age when you conceive the child. Then we use the calendar to correlate that with the month that it was conceived and then it will tell us whether it's a boy or girl.

2) Chinese info - boy or girl? What to eat?
http://woman.zaobao.com/pages/women311000.html
http://baby.sina.com.cn/boygirl0901/index.shtml

3) R U having a Girl or a Boy?
http://www.childbirth.org/articles/boyorgirl.html

Hope it's helpful.

Aiya...i tried liao, not 'zhun' one lah...my frend some say 'zhun' some not...mayb just luck lor...or mayb my mense not 'zhun' so calculate wrong lor...

Cowandchick, my gal is in Rainbow Centre...she started last Jan (she is 9mths then)...this is the school the PD choose, but i guess it is the only school for down's baby lor...actually the PD didn't tell us much, but she said my gal need to go there for early intervention class, where there are physiotherapist, speech therapist, occupational therapist and psychology therapist attending to her...and that time so sad and blur, so just follow whatever she say lor...anyway, the school is much more better now then many years ago.

hmm hmm paiseh ENG ENG cos chunk the kids aside ... 1 was sleeping, the other can self-entertain!

If the info works 'reward me for hardwork'!!

Me n Yukee's girl same sch - 1 upstairs, 1 downstairs. Nearest to me so think that's y KKH referred. Rainbow has another at Balestier but moving to Yishun in 1 to 2 yrs time ... 1 friend already physically transferred son over to 'book'. They other said teacher told her existing child will b given chance to transfer/ample vacancy - not sure true not.

Early intervention is good, at least u know what to do with a special child.

Hi City and Yukee

Just to find out more from you about Rainbow. Have heard a lot about the school.

Do they involve you parents when they plan intervention programme for your kids? Do they give you an IEP? What do you see as your role as parents at the school?

Sorry to kay po so much, but I have always been interested in Special Education in Singapore. Besides, I hope to take a course in Special Ed, but specialising in visual impairment.

Does the school provide some form of parent support group for you to share with other parents? Do you know of other parents with kids with visual impairment at your centre?

Thanks hor!

Aiyo.. why you all tot me preggie?? Cannot preggie now lar.. I wanna move out of my IL house den can preggie lor...

Cowandchick
i believe i believe.. This is wad happen when my mum was carrying my youngest bro... Me and my younger bro wanted a sis but it turn out to be a brother.. So, we believe lor....

hello yukee..still waiting for NUH to assess..u see they went pte specialist but they say too young so started on speech n OT and is very exp..

so i think only when nuh assessment is out then know which school can apply.heard the q is long.

well need not worried about the crease cos usually if child is down beside the crease other facial feature also can tell.. but as i shared son turned out to be ok but was a bad scare cos i checked other people babies usually have few lines but my son's both palms are just 1 line...your son should be okie.. ;)

cowandchick posted: Do they involve you parents when they plan intervention programme for your kids? Do they give you an IEP? What do you see as your role as parents at the school? <font color="0000ff">plan, not when I was upstairs. This yr starting a new system on EIPIC - involving parents feedback. Teachers will ask what kind of improvement/progress/which area to focus on child for each semester. We get Case conference in May and Oct for parents + teachers + therapist = open discussion. Parents in EIPIC are involved throughout lessons. No parents, their maids are in. Sometimes, teacher will ask parents leave class away for a break or separation anxiety (if child too sticky)</font>

Sorry to kay po so much, but I have always been interested in Special Education in Singapore. Besides, I hope to take a course in Special Ed, but specialising in visual impairment. <font color="0000ff">not sure about majoring in visual impairment but I do know some teachers taking adv dip in early childhood. My niece in 3yr poly also on early childhood</font>

Does the school provide some form of parent support group for you to share with other parents? Do you know of other parents with kids with visual impairment at your centre? <font color="0000ff">yes there are parent support groups but I cant attend cos nobody take care of kids. I knew 1 girl in MDSS- the Aqua (swimming class). Now no aqua class due to timing. This mummy has 2 girls both visual imp. She said couldnt check foetus sight during pregnancy. Also dont know y/what went wrong.</font>

hi june..my son turns out to be normal..more worried for my relative child cos i promise to be the care taker if any thing happens to my relative..i think most parents of special kids concern is what will happen to them if they pass on. 1 night i even tell my son if anything ever happens to me one day can he agree to take care of his cousin.

Hi toy collector
ya, it's veri true. Parents with special children will worri more than parents with normal children.

Worri abt their education, will they let ppl bullie when they are in sch, worri will they able to work like normal kids, worri if they are able to find a spouse, will wad will happen to them after the parents pass on...etc.. Too mani to worri...

Sometimes, i find normal kids are juz too ke lian as their parents are piling them with enrichment classes, tuition, assessments, classes & more classes.... ending up, they grow up in thick specs, bend back..etc... Haiz.....

City
sorri mummies.. i abit out topic here hor... the webby you give hor, state to wash our there there hor with vinegar, later infection how??? Plus, <font size="-2">how not to acheive orgasm? hehe..</font>

I know I had Sym during the least fertile period + hubby eating less meat + just simply shoot (no orgasm/shiok) + chinese calendar (pregnant then go check - I reverse!) = GIRL!!

Didn't try vinegar!

City
<font size="-2">dun laugh lar... i will pai sei lar....</font>

okok.. Chop chop ask den end this topic...

1) least fertile? When? how to count?
2) hubby eat less meat? More vege & fruits? If so muz force him to eat.. lol...
3) juz simply shoot?a bit hard lar... hehe... =p

1) least fertile? When? how to count? <font color="119911">I 'know' after mens, 6th to 12th day are super fertile. Ovulation period = fertile, if I not wrong - err u check properly!</font>

2) hubby eat less meat? More vege & fruits? If so muz force him to eat.. lol... <font color="119911">he used to be a carnivore, eating mainly meat n very little veg. Not immediately change body - he changed diet about 1-2yrs</font>

Hi, for the special ones ....
**Frog Story**
A group of frogs were traveling through the woods and two of them fell into a deep pit. All the other frogs gathered around the pit. When they saw how deep the pit was, they told the two frogs that they were as good as dead. The two frogs ignored the comments and tried to jump up out of the pit with all of their might. The other frogs kept telling them to stop, that they were as good as dead. Finally, one of the frogs took heed to what the other frogs were saying and gave up. He fell down and died.

The other frog continued to jump as hard as he could. Once again, the crowd of frogs yelled at him to stop the pain and just die. He jumped even harder and finally made it out.

When he got out, the other frogs said, "Did you not hear us?" The frog explained to them that he was deaf. He thought they were encouraging him the entire time.

This story teaches two lessons:

<font color="119911">There is power of life and death in the tongue. An encouraging word to someone who is down can lift them up and help them make it through the day.</font>

<font color="ff0000">A destructive word to someone who is down can be what it takes to kill them. Be careful of what you say.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Speak life to those who cross your path. The power of words....it is sometimes hard to understand that an encouraging word can go such a long way. Anyone can speak words that tend to rob another of the spirit to continue in difficult times.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Special is the individual who will take the time to encourage another. Be special to others.</font>

Thanks City for your feedback.

No courses offering Special Ed in Visual Impairment here locally. Special Ed here means learning disability, and courses only for that. So restrictive. So am thinking of distance course. But so sian leh. So far away, got to travel, no money, who to take care of bbs when I go? Sigh!

Mummies with special kids

What are the things you do for your special child? Why do you do them? What are the difficulties you encounter?

My main worry for my girl now is a sound education. Without that, she's nothing! I fight hard for her to get equal education opportunities. We got rejected by many schools before, and some teachers are resistant to teaching her. It is tough getting people to accept her, and there's no support from the MOE here. That's why i am thinking of taking course on Special Ed in visual impairment.

How are you parents doing on advocating for your child? Are there agencies or associations that can provide you with info or help?

I think there's not enuf done for special kids here in Singapore!

hi cowandchick
Basically, Spore is not a good place for ppl/child with special needs. Lack of info, no good medical support/subsidy, insurance doesnt cover (want coverage must pay more), lack of specific support grp, everything related to special child so X .... fly if u got money but like what u said, ur kids how?

Sometimes it is not parents who dont want to c improvment in child or get adequate help. Like my case, MDSS is the only place Sym attends. Other ppl with spare cash could engage pte lessons/therapies but not us. +to c improvement u need to reinforce/work out which I cant cos I'm not solely hers! No maid around, hubby works long hrs .... other country got social worker/place to help around. Spore, everything cost $$!

Want to attend related course - free also cant go cos nobody ('qualified' enough) to take care of Sym.

Hi mummies...

I agree with City...Singapore is not a good place for special need ppl, although is better then some other places, but still not enough...and some of the ppl are not open enough to accept them...that's why is like a death sentence for some parents if their bb came out to be special.

And yes, the pte special education here is so EXPENSIVE!!...my gal's PD recommended us to a speech therapist...i called & check...it cost S$150/hr!!...die man...

Hi all SAHM with special kids

I know of a part time job position and would like to recommend to you to increase your income.

The job is simple and need only to work about 3 or 2 weekend per month.

If you are 35 years old or below, able to speak fluent English and Chinese and pleasant looking, please email me your details to [email protected]

This is a Receptionist job that only require to work certain weekend, either Saturday or Sunday, will not need to work every weekend. Therefore for SAHMs, you still can take care of your kids during weekdays and work only weekends. You will not need to work every weekend and thus still have family time with your husband and kids.

It is a frontline job, therefore need to be pleasnt looking.

I post it here is because I thought you will need the extra income for your kids, that's all. If not interested its ok, need any more details can email me.

Met up with Mummy City Pumpkin today. Your Sym is really a beautiful and happy child. Yes, she is a special child and and also a blessing to have a child with such a wonderful temprament. You are really doing a great job bringing her up too!

Hi City, can tell which thread is this from, lazy to find leh...hee hee...btw, are you one of the mummy in PCMH6? I am the volunteer on tue...remember???

Hi City

Nice meeting you and your lovely girl, Sym!

Have you tried overseas agencies to see if you can do some therapy for your girl at home, since the school not doing much?!

I am 'self-teaching' my girl rehab and mobility! Got some books from US and Australia. Should have done so earlier, but didn't realise importance until now! Sigh, harder to change bad habits lor, but better late than never, right?

Take care

Yukee - I know u once u told me u Chr*****
. Wanted to meet u n bb but got to track girl this morning - loves walking around. Copied that post at WTB ... amazing right? Forgotten thread name.

cowandchick - Nice to meet u too. Overseas X X where got $! become old habits den need more time to correct, still possible but just harder/more patience needed. Had attended Glenn Doman last yr but I'm alone so too hard to carry out GD patterning or reading program etc.