Anyone have a small size child

Hi Janet what is your gal height. Tat mean she is born in 2006. My son is normal too. I have bring him to kk for Blood test.. Everything is ok..at least I nt so worry. The doc say as long as one yr he got gain abt 4-6cm it wil be fine.Nw he is only 110cm. He is the shortest in Sch..

Hi Janet
Haha! Me same as u n my hubby is slightly taller at 1.73cm. My 3yrs old gal is 90cm n only 10.5+kg!
V thin.. She can wear 6-9mths old shorts!!

Hi Jas,
My daughter is 04 child...going to P1 next year. She is the shortest in her K2 cohort...very upset when people says she is small sized.

Hi Oct04_bride,
My 6 year old daughter wears size 110 bottoms and 120 for tops.

Soon my younger girl can share the bottoms w her elder sis Lao

Hv gotten used to pple commenting on her weight, just laugh it off lor... What to do, she is indeed pint size!

Hi jas, I dun think my elder girl is growing 4-5cm every yr leh!!

Daughter received lots of attention when she wears her school uniform...she doesn't look like a P1 at all. But she eats and sleeps well...so I don't bother. She is really pint size.

My boy started his growth hormone therapy since end
dec. In 2 weeks, he grew 2 cm. His appetite also increased. Altho painful, he takes it in his stride and is very enthusiastic abt getting his daily jabs so that he can grow.

Hi mashy
in wat circumstances will the kkh deem the kid needs injection? Maybe the kid is small becos the mum is small, will they say that he has mummy's genes? How did u go abt having the chkup procedures?juz walk in to kkh or referred by polyclinic?

My boy is the shortest in class..always half a head shorter than his classmates every yr I noticed..

Nissin

I got an appt direct with kkh as pte patient then I went polyclinic to get referral as subsidized patient.

He has to go thru a series of blood tests, bone age xray. Then over the mths, his growth velocity is tracked. After that, the dr advised us to do the growth hormone stimulation test coz his blood test shows low growth hormone levels. He got sub optimal levels which means not deficient but not functioning normally either. When his growth velocity dropped, he was sent to take the MRI to scan his brain.

Regarding the parents height, they will do an est for the potential adult height and can tell u how it is. I'm 156cm and he said I'm not considered short. My hb is 175cm. So his potential adult height is 169cm which is 50% but he is less than 3%. They won't say follow mommy unless the blood tests are non conclusive. Some may say it may be constitutional growth delay, meaning they grow slower but will still reach full potential height.

I recommend u to read this book 'the short child'. I think
it's rather useful in explaining the causes for Short stature. U can borrow it from the library.

How many percentile is your child?

He is 5 now and 105cm. He has been 20-30% percentile when he was younger.
Wt always maintain at 13kg when he's 3-4yr old. Now the wt remains at 15kg for more than 9mths already.

Nissin

then not too bad. My boy is 98cm now after the therapy. Before that was 96cm. Weighs 13.4kg now. He just turned 5yrs old. If u are unsure, u can just get an appt and see what the dr say. It's still better to see dr to set your mind at ease. But one thing is, will u be willing to take the road of growth hormone therapy if it comes to that. It's costly and there are potential side effects. Many of my friends after seeing the dr all decided against the growth hormone therapy. I'm one of the rare few to embark on this. If u are not willing to do that, then I propose u see a dietitian instead and see if by improving his diet, it can help him grow.

Hi mashy (mashybrainz),

Thank you for sharing on your son's experience.

Both my sons are small in stature; my no. 1 (8years old this Oct) is very light, weighs 16 -17 kg at 105-110cm tall and my no. 2 (3years old in Apr)weighs around 10kg at ??cm.
I'm petite at 145cm and DH at 169cm. Tot it's due to genetic. I stop monitoring their physical growth since they become like healthier with less visits to the doctors (who usually will take their wt & ht measurements).
After reading your post, I'm thinking if I should bring my children for asssesments and tests...

Allison

My son is also 8 yrs old this yr. He weights 17kg and 110cm. He is the shortest in school.
Does your son eat well? My boy don like to eat. I really got to force him to take his meal. I already bot him to kk for assesments and tests. They wil do a blood test and x ray for him. Fortunately my boy is normal and does not need to take the hormones jab. The doc told me as long as they grow about 5-6cm per yr that wil be fine.
But if u r really worry maybe u should bring your son for the test. At least u wil know whether what is the problem.

Hi Jas Terng (jasterng),

My son eats well (but not a lot) but very slow eater. He likes more of veg and rice, as for meat he likes chicken and duck. He doesn't drink milk (any kind/type) at all (since 2+ old). He drinks milo, yakult, juice and plain water. My no. 2 still drinking milk regularly, however he doesn't take well to meat (altho he likes veg).

Thanks for your advice. I will bring DS1 1st for testing to see if he's fine or not...

dear mummies
update. my gal is coming to 4yrs in june and she only weighs 11kg.. i hvent got a chance to measure her height though.. she only gain 1kg in a yr!
and if this goes on, she will weigh only 14kg when she is 7yrs old.. oh dear..

Hope you all remember me! I have posted quite sometimes that my son used to be very skinny. Suprisingly, mid of last year onwards, he start to grow more and more. He is 7 yrs old, weight around 26kg liao. For him, he eats alot from young until now but only this time then start his chubby look.

Hothotmum

wow! That's amazing! What did u do?

Update on therapy
My boy grew 2cm and put on 800g since he started the therapy. Now he's finally 14kg at 5 yrs old!

Alison
u can cal your son's potential ht. There's a formula. Based on it, your first son's potential ht is 150-155cm. Likely yours is becoz of genetics, that's why this ht since u and your hb aren't tall. I think some parents with familial short stature also used the growth hormone therapy to increase their adult height. May still be below national average ht but will be taller than predicted height.

Hi mashy (mashybrainz) and Jas Terng (jasterng),

Thanks for your advice. I guess its always better for boys to be taller rather than shorter, they won't get teased so much. For gals, being petite can be cute and enjoy being helped in one way or another, not so for guys leh. If I can't help my boys on boosting their heights, I will have to focus more on boosting their wits, witty guys are just as attractive if not more! ;p

Brought my DS1 to polyclinic for measurements, he weighs 18kg at 117cm vs last year 16kg at 110cm. Doctor's advice is that he is still within the normal range on the lower percentile (10-15%) of his age, said there should be no cause for worries as long as he is not sickly and he's eating well and growing fine (tho' not at very fast rate). She said there is no need for her to do any referrals for further investigations or tests. She said just monitor his growth rate/curve, to go for further test only if there's plateau/flat or "dropping" curve. My DS1 was like so happy to hear that he's within the normal range (initially he was quite anxious while waiting for the doctor's "diagnosis")...so I will just monitor his growth and dun wanna add unnecessary worries for him.

Next month will be my DS2 3 years old assessment, let's see how it goes for him.

hi mashy,
pls share what are the side effects of mri, as informed by kkh to brain, since your son has gone through it? is there particular age then, only can go for mri?

Passila
No side effects. Think the risk is mainly in the gA. Not the MRI itself. Dun think have an age. If there is a need should get it done.

hi mummies,my 3yr old gal oni 93cm n 12kg.pls recommend me brand of multivit mineral n vit c that u buy from pharmacy n gnc.i'm unsure which to go for.she doesn't nap n active.hence,fall sick easily.

hi passila

you may want to try any multivits or vit c that contains lysine in them... lysine is supposed to increase the appetite of children... it was recommended by one of my boy's gps...

hope this helps

Hi passila
My boy is coming 5, still 13kg!... and abt 100cm only. Many pple thk he is N1/N2... sigh!
He is v active and doesnt sleep much.
They say kids shd sleep more so that they can grow...trying to make him sleep more but dont know how?!...
He eats alot but still so skinny. We suspect he has "worms" in his stomach, may bring him for chkup soon.

Hi amayotaok
My girl too!!! Coming to 5yrs n still weigh 13kg!
Can faint right! Haha!

She eats n sleeps well too but still like that leh.
Actually those multivitamin v lysine didnt help at all.

Seen Specialist n done all checks. Nothing wrong either .
Now so long she is healthy, I try not to get so stress up any her weight/size issue.

Hi oct04 bride!
You know my son has been like 11,12kg for the longest time and on that day he hits 13kg, we literally CELEBRATE!... haha...
I ever thot it might be due to the genes of me and my hubby, we used to be vv skinny when we were v young (now is a completely different story! haha)...

Hi amayotaok,our kids in same category.fall sick n dun nap.how to grow.feel heartpain as parents esp when quit job to take care of her since birth-not rewarded as can't even see a stronger kid in her!! my gal oways sit in front in th?e class due to small height n size..plus point is sit-in-front get better attention in listening. who can detect worms-doc or tcm