Anyone have a small size child

jasterng

My son was born on Nov 03. he is 15kg and standing at 100cm. He is small size compared to his peers. anyone having the same problem. can share

My son May 2004. 13+kg 90+cm. He looks small among his peers.

Both my hubby n I r petite. So my son is oso petite. N he doesn't sleep much since bb.

R u n your hubby petite?

My son was born on May 07. He's 9kg and standing at 75cm. All the nurses said he's small size. He even has to draw his own graph in the health book. My hubby is ard 170cm and myself 154cm. Hence, we deduced that we r all petite.

seems like all of u have sons having this problem? mine too! my son born dec 2006, all the while below 3 percentile. now barely 8kg. both me n hubby all slim slim... however hard i try to feed him more, he still like that, can't gain much weight....though he's small, but so long as he's healthy, i am satisfied liao.

both of us are nt petite. feel so stress out no matter hw hard i feed him he also cant gain much weight too. even his height also the same. think he is about the same height as 3-4years old kid. he is the smallest among his peers too.

My elder girl borned in Jul2002 and weighs only 17kg now. The younger one borned in Jul2007 also small sized, weighs only 8kg now. PD's basic answer is daddy and mummy small sized, so dont expect kids to be big sized LOL.

My boy only 102cm. i just bring him for blood test and it shows that he is normal. His bone is small and grow slower. I now still considering whether to let him take the injection weekly to make him grow faster. If i don want that then got to let him grow by itself. Headache.

Jas, don't forget your boy is one year younger than my gal... personally I wont consider any injections, they are still so young. Heard exercising eg swimming helps. Maybe u can try?

I wanted to bring my gal for a flu jab before our Dec holidays and she freaked out and rather forgo the trip! LOL. Maybe u can try other activities that he likes. Important is the parents must show interest in sports too.

Jas, do you know what kind of jab, name of the medicine? Any side effect?

Have you try TCM? The physician can tiao the body system.

Sometimes, boy development in physican could be slower, but once they are in secondary school, they will shoot up.

My boy born in Aug04. He is 90cm and 13kg..I have stranger that ask me whether my boy is 2yrs old..

My gal is 22month and is only 8kg also small size..sigh!

Hi Jas,
You son is not alone. My son is also a Nov 03 kid and he is small like yours at 14.5kg and 98 cm.

my kid is born jan 06, now only 88cm and 11.9kg. Petite little boy. My hb is big, 175cm, i'm the small one only 156cm. Guess he inherited my genes.

hi Jul,i really feel stress when i see my son growing so slow. His peers are really much taller than him. How is your son appetite? mine eat very little and don anyhow eat. picky.

my son born Aug04 also quite smaller size 15+kg. Think shortest in his class aso. The problem is he eats quite alot yet still so small in size.

Jas
do ur kids go swimming? wanted to let my boy go but he is very active scare when he saw the pool he will just jump in.HEHE

i did try but he don wan. hai headache. too active to listen to anyone. our son both same height and weight but yours is younger than 1yr so not that bad..

i heard someone told me for boy will grow faster after they reach teenage yrs. Dun know hw true..

will yr boy at this age like to cry. Mine very emotional little bit can cry non stop at times. Haiz...

he is quite lazy nd to push one. But his reading still ok certain word he can recognise...
hw abt ur boy this yr K2 already right?

my baby also small size lei ..now 5mths+ weighing only 6.1kg...below 10 percentile.. wonder if ur kids are this small during infancy ?
got to do with the genes of parents ?

interrace

do ur baby drink alot of milk?
both my kids are quite chubby when they are young after they grow up around 2+ they become very skinny
then someone told me somehow it is due to our genes

hi hothotmum,

he drinking abt 150ml per 4hrly.so i dun think that's alot for his age ba.he is coming 6mths next wk.
went cny visiting, got comments from relatives he is quite small for his age loh..anyway i just got to leave it at it is...since me & hubby aint a chubby baby myself when infant wor. so guess he will grow up being skinny ba..

My son was referred to KK on weight concern from polyclinic during his 4yrs old nurse assessment appt. He only weight 11.4kg and 101cm in height. He was drinking pediasure since one yr old but didn't seem to increase his appetite. Hope to get some help from the coming medical appt at KK.

CanACraft

I thought i heard frm my frenz mentioned drinking pediasure kids usually will grow quite well. But no worry just let the KK review on your child problem if not maybe can try Chinese TMC.

Just attended Nutrition & Dietetics at KK. Dietitian has prescribed "Muti-vitamin" and "Lysin" supplements.

Appreciated if you can share on your child tried and tested muti-vitamine and Lysin products.

Hi Jas,
The Dietitian did not mention any brand for mutivitamins and lysine.
A doctor friend said any brand will do so long the kid loves it and the best still come from nature food.
Only purchased Appleton+Lysine that come in star-shaped tablet form, he loves it. Now under observation on any increase in appetite.

I've another elder son who is same yr and mth (Nov'03) as your son, and his growth is around 50 percentile.

I'm petite (weight around 41kg) probably the younger has my genes and has high level of metabolism.

my kids aso take Appeton Vit-C. They like it very much . It also in the star-shaped tablet form.

Do your kids always got alot of wind the stomach?

My dd2 tends to fart before poo poo but he does not has bloated stomach.

Advices frm dietitian for my dd2 (target increase weight from 11.7kg to 13kg)
Calories per day : 1600
Fluid intake : 1000ml max [Pediasure Milk :675ml, fruit juice(apple/prune/pear): 120ml, soup/water : 100~200ml]
Meal : 1/2 medium rice bowl or 3/4 medium bowl porridge. 2tbsp meat n 2 tbsp veg . 1/2 fruit.
Breakfast: 2 spreads (Margarine/cheese/peanut butter/jam)on white bread.
Supplement : Mutivitamins + Lysine
Avoid snacks/fluid/sweets 1hr before meal.
Set good mole model.

http://www.mummysg.com/forums/f74/tips-feeding-toddlers-1314/

Dear mummies!

Not sure if this thread is still active..
I've a girl who is also very petite! She's 2yrs and only 8kg!! standing at 81cm..

from PD to Specialist, they said it's genetic, cos am small built too! at 150cm myself.

the Dietian recommended Valens Cabories (purchased from KK pharmancy) to be added into liquid. My girl has been taking this and it does help a bit, otherwise she would be even smaller!

As for injection, it will only be recommended if your child growth hormones is inactive. your child has to undergo a specify blood test to determind this condition.

my son coming to 5 years old this year,his weight: 19+ kg,and his hieght is 95cm.

ppl commented him look like 3 years old,instead of 5,anyone got the same problem,can share with me?

an update since I last posted. My son coming 5 is now 13kg and 96cm. Went to endocrinologist in kkh and went thru series of tests. He has sub optimal growth hormones and going for MRI to check for brain tumor.

My daughter looks like a 3-4 year old although she is almost 6 and going to P1 next yr. Nothing can be done since mummy is small-sized too.

Hi mashy - my nephew has similar prob and is taken daily injection to triggle the growth hormones..

my girl is petite too! she's 3yrs, and only 10kg! very skinny...