Any mummies stay at Toa Payoh?"

Hi! Tracy,
Am putting up @ TP Lor. 2 and have a seven month old gal. She's able to seat and stand (with some support) on her own. I am so happy and surprise when I fast saw her standing up in her cot ;P I think now @ her age is having seperation anxiety, always wants somebody to be around hee!

my boy can sit but must support him and already feed him with rice celery and pro...

Any mummies with 4 year old kid staying around toa payoh lor 4 ? I have a 4 year girl ... hoping to find some playmates for her in the neighbourhood.

Hi janice,

I'm new here, chance upon this thread. Try Picton Medical Center at Blk 163, Lor 1 by this married couple, dr Lee Wee and Belinda Wee. Very attentive, hence popular. Consultation weekday $14, weekend $15

I'm looking for a PD at TP for immunisation jabs. Anyone knows the consultation fee at Children's Family clinic? or any other recommendation?

Any had bad experience at the TP polyclinic as the jabs are done by the nurses?

Thot this thread 'died'... I'm at Lor 4...

My boy goes to another playgrp, hv registered my twins at kiddyABC, main reason being it's near to my place and my mom's, my boy used to attend it too..

fitty nut
My kids all went polyclinic, no complaints, nurses just as good.. only thing is may hv a queue but the past few times, everything was quite fast as we had appointments made.

My kid's PD is Dr Lee, the one that one mummy was asking... she has moved to Robertson Walk... she's not cheap but my kids v ngam her... every time hv to see her and wl be ok...

janice
Got 2 GPs along the Ang Mo stretch, the one at the end seems popular, I used to go the Yap clinic but not anymore since my co has this insurance scheme that I now go to the one at Braddell... troublesome...

Tracy
Are u currently living in TPY??? or ur parents are?? I find TPY v convenient..

Stylobb,
How is KiddyABC? Heard they have plans to open another brand at Lor 4, near to the library.

Fitty Nut,
Yes, if you have made appointment, the waiting time is short. Nurses are good.

Thanks mummies for the GP reco. I'm quite new to Toa Payoh actually .. so many things around here are not to sure hehe ...

Another qn here ... any good kindergarten in this region? Thanks for help !

I have a nice babysitter here. However, coming Jan08 I'll be sending my gals to childcare.

Anyone looking for a babysitter to care for newborn or toddler? her charge is about $650 neg. she is 40+ chinese speaking, have 2 children in sec sch. She only do daycare for 5-day week.

mummies, if you know of anyone interested in looking for a babysitter in toa payoh pls pm me.

Thank you for your help.

Hi Rain
there were a few when we were searching...
NTUC Childcare at Central - upstairs from the Fairprice that is near the Chung Hwa Free Clinic
HDB Club @ HDB hub - costs a little more than the NTUC one
Bishan-TPY CCC at Blk 200 Toa Payoh North.

Hi hi.. any gathering at toa payoh?? im a sahm.. wth a pair of twins.. would love to get to know some sahm.. around the area.. so boring sometimes..:p

Hi Ozzie,

The NTUC Childcare is from how many months onwards? Because I'm working, I need someone to take care from 2 month onwards ler.

Or any good maid agency to recommend?

Hi! Rain,
I have a 9 mths plus bby gal and am also looking for Infant Care Centre. Perhaps we can share some feedback. I went to the one above TP NTUC env. not bad however, their max intake is 17 bbs which I feel a bit too crowded. I've yet to view TPY CCC perhaps on Tuesday.

Hello! Ozzie,
Any feedback abt these plcs you named?

Dor

Hi Dor,

How much is the TP NTUC one? I asked the HDB but it is $800 per month. I'm expecting, coming to end of 1st trimester. Maybe I'm kaisu, so early finding out.

Hi Rain,
Just to share.. We too started looking around when nearing the end of my 1st trimester. Although we never wanted one, we eventually decided that getting a maid was a better option.

Our considerations:
- No need to rush to fetch/send baby. (If i'm not mistaken, ntuc infantcare is from 7am - 7pm.)
- Baby sleeps/wakes when he wants. We don't have to bundle him up to drop him off at infant care.
- Having loads of kids at one place increases the chances of them catching illnesses.. Hand Foot Mouth (HFMD) etc..
- Didn't quite like the look/feel of the infant care "specialists" there. - can't explain but just don't feel comfortable.
- Maid concentrates on ONE baby (OURS) only.
- Can specify to maid exactly how you want your baby taken care of when you're not around.
- We normally handover baby (and maid) to mom whenever she's home.. so she's almost always supervised.
- Maid helps to do household chores when we're looking after baby.
- Infantcare: $800+ (if i rem correctly) , Maid + levy: $490

Since both hubby and me work on shifts, our arrangement is as such:
- Maid sleeps in bb's room. We have an intercom next to bb's cot with receiver on my bedside table. So if bb wakes, i wake, maid wake.
- When we up in the morning and not leaving for work yet, maid does household chores (sweep floor, laundry etc).
- When i go work, maid look after baby ONLY. Not allowed to do anything else. Baby sleep, maid allowed to sleep/rest.
- If i not working, she spend most of the time with chores while i look after baby. After chores (we specify that max we let her do chores is 2-3pm only), she given alone time to rest/sleep. After that, we look after bb together. Again if bb slp and nothing to do, she can rest.

Some people say we're not getting our money's worth by letting maid rest so much but we see it differently. Our priority is our son and his care. Thankfully, so far (our bb is 7m), everything is working out well. We're even praying for no.2 while she's still with us..

Sorry for the long post but just wanted to share our considerations.. Good luck finding something you and your husband are comfortable with!

Hi llig,
I am considering maid cos got someone to help with the housework. But I have noone to supervise, so worry about misbehaving maid.

Where did you get the maid? Which nationality?

Do you need to get extra insurance for her?

Sorry for so much question cos I really dunno what to do after birth.

Hi! Rain & Ilig,

I agree to certain extend that domestic helper is a better choice, provided there is a family member around to watch over. Leaving your new born or bby with a total stranger w/out supervision somehow I personally don't like the idea perhaps I heard and read too much of maid abusing bby cases. I guess getting a good domestic helper depends on luck as well. I have a colleague she too has no choice but to hire a maid (change a few times), what she did was she and her hub will occassionally return home to check on the maid and bby, meantime they installed CCTV in the house as well. Thumbs up for a good employer like you!

Rain, me too had checked out the Interchange Infant Care, I dont quite like it due to bad ventilation system (no windows). NTUC Infant Care charges S$878 after subsidy I find the charges too high with so many babies aruond. Right now my gal is at TP North CC I like the place good ventilation and environment. Perhpas you could chk it out.

Ilig, your domestic helper is very lucky to have such an understanding employer. I seconded the way you split the work load. Most important you are aware what is your main piority. If the maid is too tired she won't be able to concentrate on your bby as well.

Dor

Hi ladies.
Yes, depends on luck as well. We were lucky to fnid a suitable helper on our very first attempt. We were actually totally against the idea of getting a maid.. Only committed when our baby was 1mth old.

We chose our current maid because she worked in S'pore 8yr ago, returned home, got married, had a kid (3yr old girl) and came back again. Got her from Sasha Management Resources (SMR). She's a 31 yr-old Indonesian.

Insurance for the maid is a must..the agent normally has a few packages that you can choose from.

We made clear to her our requirements on her 1st day.. At home, i'm the one who does most of the talking with her, while husband is the 'bad cop'..doesn't talk much to her except for baby-related things. This, we feel, subtly reinforces how particular we are about our child's care.

Rain, if your husband and you are getting a maid, i suggest to have her once you deliver. That way, if you have a confinement lady, she can teach your maid as well. I didn't have one and did all the teaching as we went along. Had only one month together with her at home before i returned to work.

I think, most importantly, whatever choice you make, you have to decide early and be 100% comfortable with it. So if you get a maid but don't think she's good enough, change her (most agents allow 1 or 2 changes). Our children are important so we must have peace of mind when we leave them with someone else.

llig,

My parents advise me to get the maid 1 month before delivery, so that I can teach her the ropes and when the child comes, she can help with the housework while my mum take care of me during confinement. But will need to pay normal levy for 1 mth.

Dor,
Ok. But we should be getting a maid as it is better for us in terms of cost and time and effort.

Ok, good luck. go with your gut instinct when choosing maid ok... try to find one who is already married (won't hanky-panky) and has at least one child.

hi mummies here,

Today just read the newpaper regarding a 2mth baby died while in the care of a maid.... make me having 2nd tots..........

Rain,
i can understand your reservations. Had the same (and still do now) but, for us, we decided that getting a maid was the best solution.

I read the article too, so did my maid.. I always use these kind of reports like case-studies.. Spoke to her about the report and reminded her to be honest/truthful and not hide things from us because we know that most times its accidental overlooks.

I can't assure you that your maid will take excellent care of your baby..that's a constant worry i always have too when she's left alone with him but, my husband rationalised that at some point, we need to trust her. Your husband and you need to feel 100% comfortable with your decision.. good luck!

I am looking to form a group for young toddlers swimming lessons.

Preferred location: Toa Payoh Safra
Day: Weekdays (except Tuesdays)
Time: 4pm or 5pm (to be confirmed)
Duration: 30mins (once a week)
Fee: > $60 (depending nos. of students)

The coach will be from www.ncap3.com,
has 16 years of lifesaving and coaching experience behind him, his passion for coaching has only grown stronger over the years. Besides being a certified swimming coach with Singapore Sports Council, Alvin is also a AUSTSWIM Teacher of Infant from Australia. He has attained more than the minimum requirements of a local swimming coach. He is aspiring and constantly seeking to heighten knowledge and skills through appropriate courses such as latest development of swimming techniques, stroke correction, class management, motivation, lifesaving, first aid, nutrition and general sport science arenas. This way, he can impart more effective knowledge and skills to the younger ones.

Mummies, if you are keen, we can give it a try for one mth. Do PM me for more details, in case I lose this thread
Btw, my gal is 18mths+.

Hi! Celes,
My gal is 9 mths plus coming to 10 mths, am interested however, can only make it on Saturday. Their website and Alvin's biodata seems quite impressive hee! You know them through recommendation?

Dor

hi, i'm new here. would like to check any good pd at toa payoh central or hdb? would like to change my pd.

Hi all , i am also staying in toa payoh ! my son is 18 mth old =)

I have been thinking of finding course for my son .. anyone know if Toa Payoh have any ? so far , the nearest i know is United Sq , GUG ...

Hi CG ,

1.5hrs daily ? do we need to accompany them in ? what programme they teach ? how many student to 1 teacher ? and how much ? TIA

Hi CG(celestine)and all TPY mummies in this thread,

I'm also a mummy staying at TPY.

For the Montessori program, what's the minimum age allowance? also, what is the cost per session/per month? my kid coming close to 18months, i'm thinking of sending her to some playgroup for her to socialse and learn new skills. I heard there's one near Blk 85/84 at TPY lorong 2?

any feedback from mummies out there pls?How's the program? the teachers etc?

Rubber_ducky
R u referring to Apple Tree?
I send my gal to a Montessori program at Bishan.
There is no montessori centres in TPY.

Am staying in Lor 5, how about u?

Any mum wan to help or got any nanny to recommend to help me to take care of my (2-3mths)baby ger from 07/07 to 25/07 while I serve my one month notice?

Will pay according to market rate.

Hi I am urgently looking for a nanny near Toa Payoh Central. Will be shifting in to Blk 79 by 17th May. I will just need the nanny to help look after my 8 month old baby on a three and a half day per week basis. If you can help, you can email me at [email protected]. Thanks ya =)

A friend of mine is looking for a 2/3 bedroom fully furnished flat/apartment for short term lease starting June in Toa Payoh area and walking distance to MRT station. Just thought that the mummies here might be able to help. If you have any info, please send me PM or email [email protected]. Thanks!

KIDS ACTIVITIES @ BORDERS (ORCHARD)
<font color="0000ff">Saturday 17 May 2008 4pm Kids Atrium </font>Interactive storytelling by Julia Gabriel Centre for Learning
<font color="0000ff">Saturday 24 May 2008 3pm Kids Atrium</font>Periplus Publishing Group presents a fun hour of children's favourite stories and origami folding for kids!
<font color="0000ff">Saturday 31 May 2008 4pm Kids Atrium</font> Interactive storytelling by Julia Gabriel Centre

KIDS ACTIVITIES @ BORDERS (PARKWAY)
<font color="0000ff">Saturday 24 May 2008 4pm Kids Cove</font>Interactive storytelling by Julia Gabriel Centre for Learning.

For more details: http://www.borders.com.sg/in-store.asp

this tread is quiet =P

Am still thinking of which playgroup in toa payoh should i sent my sent to .. sian sian .. any recommand ?

Just to share

Pls do not contact Alvin from www.ncap3.com.
He claimed that he had a car accident during this year CNY.
Since then, myself included some mummies have problems in contacting him in getting back the refund