Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

Hi Tam,

Just had a small plateful for lunch. Terrible! I now keep assortment of noodles in the fridge since it only takes less than 10 minutes to do one plate of hawker food! The only thing 'healthy' is that I put little oil and no pork for my own portion.
http://mumusingseat.blogspot.sg/2012/07/melamine-plate.html

The luxury of being a stayhome is that I am not bound by lunch-time curfew. This is one thing working folks can't afford. I used to skip lunch or eat one meal a day when I was working. There were times I forgot to even drink water!

tamarind

One of my friends has been a full time tutor for many years. She's teaching primary school children. I doubt she's earning that much. To earn that sort of income, I think a tutor needs to charge very high hourly rate but this would in turn limit his students intake. Probably need to teach at higher levels like JC or upper Sec in order to command high hourly rate

re: part time job

One of my friends used to work part time. She was a people manager in her previous job but after switching over to part time, she was only earning one quarter of her salary. I don't think it's even worth the effort travelling to & fro

tam
for contract teaching i think it is one or two yrs too. well, i suppose if u dun make any "big" mistake eg corporal punishment, i think they will still continue to renew your contract. however, based on school needs too. sometimes they can tell you," we do not need any contract trs for the time being" then, i guess you will have to go to another school. so far, i have not heard of any case like this.

yawnyawn
yes i am doing part time. a few of my colleagues left to start up their own tuition groups and yes they are earning BIG BUCKS as they charge very high. well, singapore parents mentality is: high charge that means GOOD" so they don't mind paying.

I am tutoring my nephew and my sense of achievement is when he understands a concept. I agree with what Tam said. I am not an advocate for tuition unless nec which is: to me "no-no" if the child is already scoring 80 and above. I am no miracle creator. from fail to pass, yes i can help. but not A to A*...

helen

gee, I must a cheapo parent then. Absolutely hate to be rip off. I think of expensive tution fees as somewhat like SKII product pricing, paying for their international actresses to appear in commercials. Am very skeptical whenever I heard ridiculously high fees. So learning lab & whatever branded centers are not going to make any money from me. My dd1 goes RC center $70/mth only, she's utterly satisfied with the teacher

Hi! I am new to this thread but the title attracted me cos I am in my late 30s and fit the bill! So surprised to see tamarind here as I'm a fan of your blog and have just bought alot of the CHinese books that you recommended! Tks alot!

Hi Yawn,

But, in pte sector, our focus is more on what we are doing....U cannot imagine the kind of "CCA" that those in Civil Svc do...I can tell the difference as I am currently working in Pte Sector. Yes, there will be CCA but, we leave more to those new staff whom just joined us whom needs the exposure to know people in the Organisation lah :p

Hi Mumusings - I am motivated to try my char kway teow again after see your version

Hi Helen/ Tam - If my kids are doing fine with ard 80 marks, I will be very relieved to leave them alone....I not one who need them to achieve 99 percent for every subject.

Mumusings,

I want to order one plate of Hokkien mee please, with lots of eggy and veg, no pork and prawns…hehe. Looks soooo yummy.

Tamarind,

I also enjoy Limpeh’s blog. Did you read the one where he explains “round tripping” with respect to the CHC case. I think he is super witty.

http://limpehft.blogspot.sg/#!/2012/07/q-what-is-round-tripping.html

Wow, I didn’t know so many of you mummies are educators. I know I can never teach as a career, really do not have any interest whatsoever. The workings of the government sector is also very foreign to me having spent my entire career in private sector since graduation. However, with the recent economic downturn, I have personally experience and witness how even big MNCs downsize and squeeze their employees. Many rounds of retrenchment has happened in my American MNC. People who were left behind then gets to ‘enjoy’ the challenge multi-tasking.

Snowball,

Like you, I also hope that my children will be able to cope without having to go for tuition. But as a FTWM, I worry whether I will be able to devote enough time supervising them.

Hi Snowball,
Do try cooking your own --- will get hooked 'cos it's faster than cooking instant noodles! Must buy melamine plate first 'cos even if noodles are bland/overcook, the packaging will help neutralise the damage hahaha... I did one plate that day forgetting to add lap cheong and prawns so I panicked, add a little water and waited for prawns to cook. Turned out okay. I tend to be more disorganised when I'm hungry.

Hi Gerbera,
Thanks! The melamine plate really makes the entire dish look authentic. Will do FOC for you if we ever do meet one day

Hi Thenun,
Welcome

Hi Pink Gerbera,

My previous company I joined after my stint in Govt Sect was a US MNC....During my 2yrs there, I witnessed 4 rounds of retrenchment....Tho' I was not in any of them, it was very disheartening to see your colleagues go. The feeling was really bad.

Hi Mumusings,

Nowadays, I do cooking on weekends when we do not have outdoor programmes or when my maid goes for her off day. I kinda like cooking but drag the washing portion.

I cooked dinner every weeknight for my family when my maid went for 3-wk home leave. I felt very satisfied when I see my family enjoying the nice, warm dinner (tho' I chose easy fare for ease of cleaning)
I am ok with frying beehoon. But, somehow, cannot manage char kway teow till now

Hi Snowball,

If you blanche the veg/noodles first, it will be easier managing. Just dump all in together after cracking an egg onto hot pan/oil/garlic. After that throw in cooked/raw ingredients and add the sweet sauce. There's really no secret to this 'cos that's what I learnt from watching the kway teow man cook when I was a kid
There used to be this stall which attracts such a long queue. I often queue up 20 mins to order, then run home to do work before collecting an hour later. No joke. Some people order 30 packs!!! The longesst we've waited (at home) is 1.5 hours. He's so neat with cooking and never gets orders wrong cos he uses those double-coloured pencil to write on a white board personally before cooking. Red for chilli + other instructions and Blue for non-spicy orders.

I secretly wish I can make good pratas too hahaha... which is impossible. Same coffeeshop had the bona fide Indian stall holders flinging prata. If broken, they throw away == no reusing. The chap was a perfectionist. Every prata is folded into a square. I missed those days pigging out on prata. The taste is different when the dough is home made. These days all prata taste the same.

Dosai looks so easy to do but I failed miserably getting it flat/crispy.

mumusings

you go facial at century square right? have you tried a salon called vanilla?
they're having promo now 10 basic facials $388. tempted

Hi Yawn,
Yup. Vanilla was the one I went to (orange coloured shop). Nice girl and good pricing. Too far for me so I didn't sign the package -- only bought 2 vouchers.

Hi Yawn,
Sorry I don't know if it's called Vanilla but definitely an Orange-coloured salon. Smaller shop I think... sorry.

Hi Tam and fans of Jap-style foods,
It's so cheap to have teppanyaki meal at home! 8 pieces of shishamo for S$2.20 and takes 6 minutes to grill/fry all. Tried out one tray since hb is a fan of this fish. I only ate the tails 'cos I couldn't bear the sight of the roe.

http://mumusingseat.blogspot.com/2012/07/shishamo.html
7244196.jpg
7244197.jpg

Saved at least $15 this way (not going to a restaurant/food court)! Hahaha I've become such a scrooge!

mumusings,
Your shishamo looks delicious.  The issue is not about being a scrooge, it is about getting good value for money.    I told my daughter this morning,  a latte at starbucks cost $5.50, a kopi-si  at Toastbox costs $1.60.  Does the latte taste 5 times better ?  Definitely not.   The difference is starbucks is more high class lah, and the coffee has an Italian name.  My girl say so what ? I should always drink kopi-si.

pink gerbera,
I only read a few of the posts on limpeh blog.   I read the blog post you posted, it is really witty.    I like the way he writes, frank and straightforward, and does not care to be nice.  

I was previously in the private sector for many years, got retrenched by an american company.  I was really hurt back then.    Actually i was well rewarded for simply doing my job well while in the private sector, did not need to do anything else.  After so many years I got sick of looking at the computer for 8 hours a day, it became so meaningless.   Teaching is so much more meaningful,  I encountered students and parents who show that they are so grateful to me for helping them pass or do well.  However, my job requires me to walk long distances, climb up and down with a heavy laptop, that's why I thought giving tuition is easier.

thenun,
Welcome and glad to know that you find my blog useful.  I have been posting in this thread long before I started blogging !  
How many kids do you have ?

yawn,
I plan to teach tuition JC or upper secondary.  Not sure what are the rates now.

snowball, 
I just remember that I heard of an engineer who became a car park usher  for one day for a big event when he was working in the public sector.   Civil servants were sometimes assigned such part time jobs.  The gahmen is really very smart,  this way they don't need to spend money to employ temp worker.

helen,
Today there is a news report about kids attending 2 different kindergarten. One in the morning, another one in the afternoon.   I think that some Singaporeans are the most hardworking people  in the world.  They cannot even let their young children do nothing for half a day.   I am a slacker in comparison.  When my kids asked :"Mommy I have nothing to do". I told them to lie on the bed and stare at the ceiling and daydream hahaha. After a few times they stopped asking me and the result is that now both kids love to read books, and have no problem thinking of small creative projects to do at home.

Hi Tam,

Good point raised abt Starbucks. Hb and I used to get drinks from there until we became parents. Now he's happy with some of the better instant coffee mixes. 1 pack of Owl kopi siew dai = S$4.35 = 25 cups. At Starbucks, S$4.35 won't get you any drink!!! (except canned/bottled juice) Gold Kili's expresso+milk is pretty nice. If u have a blender at home, add ice and chocolate sauce topping = frappe!

Tam

you are really funny! I am a slacker myself. hahaha no wonder we can "click" hahaha.

abt attending 2 kindergartens, well most parents send their kids to enrichment after enrichment guess other then hoping their kids do not fall behind, they get more "free time" by themselves. very tempted to do that at times esp when we r working and need time off.

coem to think of it, sending kids off from one kindergarten to another? no wonder "money no enough"!!!

Mumusings
hubby n myself oso kopi drinker but still prefer kopi from coffeeshop. however, we bought one Nescafe coffee machine in case we feel like getting into the "high class" mood heeheehee like that still cheaper than getting from starbuck

mumusings

the machine is easy to use. but the newer version is better as there is an added feature, i think it is for the control of the water. mine does not have this feature hence when brewing the coffee, i cannot walk away or the cup will overflow. however, the price for the new version is higher.

Hi mumusings

There are 2 models selling at ntuc. The cheaper one abt $199 which I have is the one without the added feature

Mumusings
Saw my nick in your post. Surprise that you still remember me. hehe.

Tamarind
Im urgently looking for a project engineer who specialise in building automation. You have any contact? And also business development mgr/sales engineer experience in cooling system.FCU, AHU etc. Thank you very much.

pantone,
I don't have any contacts. You are working for recruitment agency ?

Helen,
Its certainly not cheap to send to 2 kindergarten, need to buy 2 sets of school uniforms, etc I thought kids below 6 years old should still be taking afternoon naps ? Afternoon session of kindergarten will not let the kids sleep, unlike childcare centers.

mumusings,
Making our own coffee is definitely the cheapest.

I got the nespresso machine for my MIL as her birthday present last year, so I'm taking that during weekends when I'm not in the office. In the office, i take one cup of coffee from the delongi coffee machine. Cost of one cup of nespresso is about $1 each. Still cheaper then coffee joints even if i factor in the cost of the machine.

Hi Tam,
Arnold has English tuition, cos he is got 60% for term one and his English is really bad. His Chinese is just slightly better, 65%. I left it, his Chinese standard is also very bad. He is also on his own for Maths and Science, his is only doing around 70% for these. I don't have the time to fetch up and down for tuition class. I asked before for a tuitor to come to my place to teach English, for 1.5hr session, she wants to charge me closed to $80... Can't afford, so i send him to a group tuition, which is more afforable. I hope I can spend more time helping him with his work.

Tam,
Private tuition for upper sec and jc level will cost more. My boss's sec 3 gal has Maths tuition, she is paying $50 a session for group tuition - 6 kids, 1.5hrs each session. I think this is one of the cheapest rate i heard.

oh dear mumusings, at this hour, and seeing all those goodies you posted, made me feel soooooooooooooooooooo hungry!! they really look yummy :p

Hi Rona,

LTNS you here.

My colleague send her kids to a tuition centre in Clementi for English Tuition. They have been with her a no. of yrs already. PM me if you are interested to get the contacts.

My colleague's daughter has tuition for Secondary level Chemistry, Physics, 1 -to-1, 2hrs once a week, she pays about $400 to the tutor.

If you have interesting recipes for toddlers between 1.5-3 yrs old, please share with me. Am always cooking the same old thingy for my twins.
Porridge (usually fish) and rice + soup (ABC, Lotus root, old cucumber) with steam fish/egg/veg.

They have been eating above for months liao cuz this lazy mummy doesn’t bother. Now mumusings have inspired me to try more variety for them.

Hi Gerbera,
You flatter me. My son enjoys eating foods that contain his favourite ingredients and we both happen not to like porridge
Been trying out wraps+cheese+veg+ham at home (like the FFC sort). 2 minutes is all it takes! Will put up the pics when I have time to write.

Hi Gerbera and all,
Okay quickly wrote a post on wraps. Very quick and fun to do with your kids. 4 minutes for every 2 mini-wraps and lots of opportunities for creativity. Been eating wraps for the past 4 days
Too tired lately to do complicated dishes. My toddler loves wraps with just cheese 'cos he thinks it's fun stretching the cheese to the max. A good alternative to pizzas since yeast makes me sick at times and this one is totally oil-free (cooking it).

http://mumusingseat.blogspot.sg/2012/07/double-pan-ham-and-cheese-wraps.html
7268365.jpg

My other terrible snack for the week. Durian cake! Will be putting on weight for sure!!! Terrible terrible.

7268366.jpg

mumusings

you always make me hungry looking at the food! j am even more sinful---have been feasting on durians for the past weeks heeheehee confirm put on weight. at least my weighing scale is not lying hehehe

Hi Helen,
I'm a durian maniac too. Better not let me have any or else very hard to stop eating once I start... Ate only thrice (fresh durians) this year. When I see a stall, I walk another direction. Not interested in supermarket ones so those don't tempt me -- phew.

Doing my best not to buy any. I like them slightly chilled before eating. Love the bitter-sweet ones best too! At the moment content to chew on the fat piece of durian cake a little everyday
Kid doesn't like durians thankfully so no competition at home for this fruit.