Advise on SO-IUI vs IVF?

hey ladies,
there r good news over at the IVF/ICSI thread today, two of the ladies tested positive le!! Wah, very encouraging leh.

you gals have any idea whether I can start IVF straight away if my SO-IUI fails? As in if SO-IUI fails, menses come, I can start injection le?
I think I better get ready my medical records fr my gynae n quick quick start looking for IVF clinic/hospital, so that I can start asap.

Hi RuRu Cat,

I didn't pay much attention to the details...but it's something like poking few holes on the ovaries. Procedure, if I heard correctly was thru' belly button, 'camera' wld be inserted also.

For IVF ER, the poking is thru vaginal. It can be done so because 'ovaries are heavy with follicles le, so they sink down to a position nearer the cervix', so can be 'poked' thru' vaginal.

hehe, not sure if I interpreted corrrectly, but I think the diff is something like that.

mystyy
FET? U hv frozen embryos from previous IVF attempts? Good luck to u this cycle then.. hope u strike!

joyyy
I thk it's PCOS.. it stands for polycystic ovarian syndrome. Hmm... I duno there's a diff betwn the two: I thk like RuRu said, if we can get it done w/o surgery, n during IVF ER, wil be good. Somemore no holes poked. hehe

I've already got 3 holes poked for my lap done a few yrs back. So I thk it's the same lah.. the one thru the belly button. U can't c it u know.. n u dun feel anything cos u're 'asleep'. So it's not that scary lah.. hehe

RuRu
Excited abt ur ER? Gd luck to u too! Keep us updated!

Hi Haze1ine,

Starting to feel bloated, very scared it is OHSS early symptoms, so ate 7 egg whites and drink 1 protein drink for the whole day.

Yes, very excited. Will update u ladies on my ER procedure then.

Hi Joyy,

If (touch wood) your SO-IUI fails and your menses come, the 1st day of menses you have to see ur IVF gynae to get your hormones suppression medicine to start.

Diff gynae has diff protocol, mine (mt e) starts me on 21days of oral contraceptive pills while KKH starts the lady on Lucrin injection. Only after your hormones oppression period (usually around 2-4 weeks), then u can start your Puregon or Gonal-F injections for about 10days leading to ER and ET. So the answer to your question is no, you can't start a fresh round of injection straight after SO-IUI.

Yes, it is better to start shopping around for IVF clinic now. I think after PM Lee's national day rally tomorrow night, if really IVF got subsidy but only thru' Govt hosp, then sure suddenly very long q. If you are anxious and can afford it, maybe 1st round go for private so you have a better overall clinical journey and have an idea of what IVF entails then (touch wood) should need be, next round then go KKH. Just a personal opinion lah!

My Gynea from KKH (Dr Benjamin)have refered me to SO-IUI due to my hubby infertility as his HSA is only 4%. I have done HSG and also taking clomid... Need help from all what the procedure for SO IUI. And what the cost.. Kindly explain....

RuRu Cat
Dun scare urself lah.. bloated is a good thing. That means ur eggs r growing mah! U did IUI b4, u shd know. The 1st thing my gynae ask me when I step in is 'Do u feel bloated'?

Juliana
Halo dear! Welcome...

http://www.kkh.com.sg/PatientHealthLibrary/WomensHealth/ProblemsConceiving/SO-IUI.htm

Check out the above link on SO-IUI at KKH. I did mine at a private gynae so I thk my price is more expensive.

I use puregon, one valve of 300IU (actually contains 400IU) cost $400 (I heard KKH is abt half that price!). I started with 75IU per jab. How much u ned, wil depend on how wil u respond to it. U'll ned to go back for abt 2-3 ultrasound ($70 each) b4 the actual procedure.

And abt 36 hrs b4 ur procedure, u hv to do a HCG jab ($32) to release ur eggs. The sperm wash for ur hubby on the actual day cost abt $100 (mine at Mt E). And the actual IUI procudure abt $160.

U'll be given progesterone ($29) to help maintain ur lining for implantation aft that.

I thk mine cost abt $1k per attempt... My 2nd attempt cost more... cos I didn't respond well & had to hv more jabs.

I did 2 SO-IUIs but both attempts fail.

But doesn't mean I fail, u wil too, dear! Some ladies get lucky on their 1st try.

Good luck to u!

OMG! The ND Rally in English has been postponed to Mon cos of the Table Tennis match!

This is really funny... they r going ahead with the chinese one at 6.45pm though.

how come Mt E website doesn't have information on IVF de? I want to know names of gynae doing IVF, but it's not available on their website, no names, no tel. You gals have any idea? How did you get your gynaes fr Mt E? Could you give me all the names of the gynae at Mt E? thanks...

joyyy
my gynae actually from paragon.. but he does his IVF at Mt E.

I'm not sure abt RuRu's.. maybe u can ask her.

RuRu
Hv u though abt how many embryos u r going to put in?

When must u make this decision? Aft ER? Cos mus buy the insurance, rite?

Have been MIA from this thread for long long time!

I am also a PCOS patient and had tried clomid for abt 3X but see no effect.

Just when I decided to go for IUI - my gynae recommended me to try this drug called Letrozole. For the first time, I saw my eggs grew to 13mm on Day12 and then to 29mm on Day 16. He told us to start BD naturally for this cycle and hopefully I no need to do the IUI.

Now in 2ww...no symptons at all except for a bit of breast sore..not sure what to say...on one hand hope that this is good sign, on the other hand worried that I get too excited and will be disappointed later on...

Anyhow - just venting some emotion here!

Hi Hazeline,
Thanks for the information.... i have understand that you could use medisave for the SO-IUI but just the basic procedure only....

I tried the HSG it was painful.. but the doc was gentle.. Will SO-IUI be painful....

I'll be doing SO-IUI at KKH with Dr Hendricks Marianne Sybille. My gynea told me that she's good at it and most of her patient managed to conceive...

My first consultation will be on 29th August 2008

wow ah kat ur follicle so big! congrats shd be qt high chance understand they expecting 20-22mm be good. wish u good luck!

i did feel abit stomach uncomfortable but not really bloated.. what bloated? got wind or not? but i did feel more anxiety dont know is i sensitive to hormone change or it's all in my mind. back painful other than that no side effect leh no diahorrea all that..am i normal or not responsing well...? today day 7 of jab.. tue going back to see gynae.

rurucat, u ate 7 egg whites? is beco u doing IVF? SO-IUI no need so many hor? i only ate 1-2 egg a day...v and try to eat more fish for protein.

ah kat
Hi... nv heard of Letrozole b4... shd ask my gynae abt it.

The growth seems pretty amazing! 29mm is a very good size! Hope u strike this time around... Keep us updated!

Juliana
U can use medisave but u can claim up to 6K for 1st time. So if ur SO-IUI is less than that, it's not worth it lor. So I'm saving it up for my IVF. IVF wil be much more expensive.

I thk u shd thk it over 1st b4 u use ur medisave for SO-IUI.

It's not painful. HCG is cos it has to be jab into the muscle. The IUI jabs wil be like 'chicken feet' compared to that lah! haha

Jus relax.. n do it urself instead of watching the nurse do it for u for the 1st time. So u wun freak out when u hv to go back n try it urself. I use puregon pen like i said n I find it very easy. I'm not sure wot ur gynae wil giv u though. If u hv a choice, puregon is very simple to use n the needle is super fine.

The nurse also said, if u're afraid of pain, u can use an ice cube to numb the area 1st.. I didn't do that lah.. there's hardly any blood too aft the jab.

Some did say it's a bit painful... n they get a little blueblack aft that, maybe cos they r too tense.

As for the actual IUI procedure itself, it's like a PAPsmear to me. I hardly felt anything.. Some say it's painful for them.. maybe again it's cos they r tense.

If ur gynae is good, she wil make u feel relax n take ur mind off it. So dun worry.

Good luck to u too, dear!

createjoy
I thk the bloated feeling is like u always feel very full. I rem it's esp so aft I've finished my meals.. like my tummy very tight n going to burst! haha So I end up always rubbing n rubbing it. hehe

I hv backache too... my gynae said it's cos of the hormone changes in our body.

Dun worry lah.. jus relax n c how ur scan goes nex Tues... good luck!

Hello calling out to all PCOS women, I am also PCOS since young. 34 years old this year and planning for 5 years, seen many many gynae and TCM. Now settling on Chris Chong at Bishan and would want to try TCM Dr Tan at Clementi,only knew about this TCM lately and his shop is just opposite my block, anyone can give me good recommendation on which PCOS fertility specialist is more experienced? I have seen Xia Rong too, you name it I seen it. I was put on clomid 150mg for 3 cycles, told me ttc on our own but he did not ask me to go back to see if my eggs are growing or not. I didnt catch the right time to test my ovulation and result is no good news.
After reading through above articles, I am hoping for lapo before trying 2nd cycle clomid.
my email is [email protected].

Very sad.

Hi Clarice
Hv u done IUI b4? I was like u... tried for many year and can nv catch when I'm ovulating cos my cycles r nv accurate. I was thking, maybe I'm seeing all the wrong docs as I dun c any results aft taking all the herbs n med.

Cos some gynae r not really fertility specialist... so it's better to go c one that specialised in fertility, does IUI and IVF.

Hv u and ur hubby went for a thorough checkup to c if ur tubes r blocked? How's ur womb lining... u hv endo? U said u going for a lap?

How did u react to Clomid? If u hv no reaction to it, then it's not good to hv it long term. Ask ur gynae abt alternatives. Hv ur gynae talk to u abt taking metformin.. cos it's more for women with PCOS.

Good or bad gynae r very subjective... some wil say hers is good if they can make u pregnant! haha But I thk wot is imp is u trust him n feel comfortable with him n believe in him.

Hi CreateJoy and Haze1ine,

I ate 7 egg whites and drank 2 glasses of Ensure yesterday as was bloated. For SO-IUI, eat 1-2 egg whites enough lah. Hmm, why I so "gan jiong" about my bloatedness is becos my gynae scared me leh, she says if I developed OHSS during the ER procedure, the lab will freeze the eggs and won't proceed to ET. I told my hb i won't be able to take the bad news so I will do anything possb to prevent OHSS.

Regarding the no of embryos to put back, if my eggs quality are ok, definitely 3 embryos. The more embryos, the higher the chances. I told my HB what are the chances of us striking triple when we are so unlucky in our baby-making project so far? But the insurance premium is absolutely crazy - 2 embryos at $100+ and 3 embryos at $700+! And the insurance is a 1-time payment for that 1 particular ET procedure only.

Hi Joyy,

Don't panic lah. I got to know about my IVF gynae thru my ex-gynae (he does SO-IUI but not IVF) who refers me. Some of the IVF specialists whom I come across during my own search for a IVF specialist are as follow:

1. Dr Christine Yap (my gynae) - Mt E
2. Dr Ann Hui - Mt E (she has her own website)
3. Prof Christopher Chen - Gleneagles
4. Dr Fong Yang - Paragon
5. Dr Paul Tseng - TMC or Care@Paragon

Hope this information is useful to you. If you want the clinic name or read more feedback of each gynae, perhaps can goggle their names for the relevant websites.

It is best to go for a prelim consultation with the gynae u are keen on to have a feel whether u like the "style" of the gynae, hmm, something like gut feel?

I visited Dr Fong Yang and Dr Christine Yap before deciding on Dr Yap, so like what Haze1ine advise Clarice, you have to trust and feel comfortable and believe in the gynae you chosen. It is abit expensive as 1st time consultation for private clinic is around $100+ but I don't want a situation where I keep second-guessing my gynae's decision (which is what happened to my 1st gynae).

So disappointed.. the Chinese speech nv say anything on BB help.

I'm with Dr Fong Yang at Paragon. He has a clinic at Tiong Bahru too. He does his IVF at Mt E, IUI at his clinic at Paragon & delivers at Mt Alv usually. I dun want to promote my own gynae lah. I stil thk u hv to go down n talk to that gynae personally n decide.

But some ladies r not comfortable with male gynaes. For me, it doesn't matter.

Ruru...
U feeling better now?

I also hv this thinking to put 3 in.. since the percentage of striking 3 is like almost a miracle! I also hvn't been lucky on this front.. so I thk that wil nv happen to me. Better be kiasu a bit n optimise our minimum chances!

Hi Haze1ine,

Yah lor! I wait for 1 hr and PM Lee just did a general outline on the topics he will be covering in details in the English speech. Have to wait until 8pm tomorrow or does anyone in this forum has friends who attend the rally in person?

Hi Joyy,

I did some more research for u:

. Dr Christine Yap (my gynae) - Mt E
2. Dr Ann Tan - Mt E (she has her own website)
3. Prof Christopher Chen - Gleneagles
4. Dr Fong Yang - Paragon
5. Dr Paul Tseng - TMC or Care@Paragon
6. Dr Suresh Nair - Mt e
7. Prof Ng Soon Chye - Gleneagles

The general feedback is that Prof Chen is the most expensive (his clinic has his own embryologist and lab!) and high success rate.

My gynae, Dr Christine Yap, charges normal private clinic fee and she is pretty low-key, that is why u don't see her name cropping up frequently. The best advantage of seeing her (at least to me) is she doesn't schedule alot of patients in a day so unless I over-run my visiting slot, usually I won't see alot of patients waiting.

I hate to see the pregnant ladies accompanied with their HB with a contented grin on their faces. I am not jealous of them but their presence just add salt to my wound and I can't take it. In my ex-gynae clinic, the wait can be up to half-an-hr and becos he shares space with another gynae, you will face a common situation of pregnant mom with kid in tow, pregnant couples etc. During some consulations in the past half year with my ex-gynae, I sometimes want to cry due to the difficulties faced in my infertility condition and I can't even do that as I don't want to be stared at when I come out of the consultation room. Sigh...

Now I am more at peace visiting Dr Yap and is just hoping for the best.

I dun have PCOS, and I do take metformin and also clomid.. My hubby's good semens only 4% and due to these reason I have to take clomid and metformin... Taking these mediation causes me bloated and also putting on weight. The reason taking the medication is to help the good semen interact with my Eggs.. But it seems doesnt work. Hopefully I will get preggy soon... as this will be my 1st pregnancy and I have been waiting for almost 5 years

All the best for you ladies out there... Hopefully you ladies get preggy soon... And I know that I'm not alone facing these problems.. they are many other.

Hi joyyy,
Mount E does not have an IVF clninc, but they do have Fertility clinic and thus, IVF. You have to choose from a range of gynaes available at Mount E if you want to do your IVF there. With regards to your question on ovarian drilling, yes, I ovulate on my own without any help of medication. I am no longer on clomid, but only on Metformin.

Haze1ine,

Yup, I still have frozen embryos left..but I do hope I strike before Sept comes...hehe..so don't have to spend money again...hehe..

Rurucat,

Are you asking about ovarian drilling or normal lapscope? Ovarian drilling costs 4K+ at Mount E, but you can claim abt $1750 from medisave. A month after ovarian drilling, when my menses starst, that's when my IVF journey starts too.

Sorry for all the late replies...been having stiff neck and it's so irritating that after body massage it doesn't go away....

Hi RuRu Cat, Hazeline and Mystyy,
Thanks for the infor!

yea, I watched the news just now, nothing was mentioned w reg to issues related to those seeking fertility treatment.

Something for a laugh. Just now, I bought a champadak from NTUC, cost abt $3plus for the medium size fruit...wanted to eat w hubby while watching news. When I cut it open, there was only ONE seed!!! ONE SEED in a MEDIUM size champadak!!! Who can be as 'lucky' as me??? When I do IVF, i think I definately got to put in 3 embies, cos my luck not so good. haha...

Ruru
Dun hv leh.. dun hv such big shot friends. I guess stil hv to wait til tonite.

I change my 1st gynae cos of that reason too.. cos he's more of a delivery preggie type of gynae than fertility treatment. Plus I always go appts alone, cos his clinic only hv wkdays. So it's not easy then and I dun feel so good too.

Juliana
Maybe it's good to try IUI then for u, since u said non of the regular fertility drugs work for u. Let ur gynae know ur history n I'm sure he'll do up something suitable for u.

mystyy
One thing good abt IVF is that, if u hv frozen embryos left, u can always try again and u skip the initial steps n jus go thru FET, which I thk isn't so bad lor.

joyyy
Thk maybe u can go buy 4D.. maybe wil strike! hehe

If I can get one golden egg... strike and hv a healthy bb, I wil also be very contented liao.

So do we have to eat eggs to increase protein... Cause I'll be going for the treatment this 29th August 2008 for SO-IUI....

Ladies...
I rem I read somewhere, jus a few days ago... can't rem if it's this forum or another.. that there's this new drug (other than clomid & metformin) that this lady's gynae ask her to take n her follicles grew to amazing size of 29mm!

But I cant find the thread now leh... I want to ask my gynae abt the drug name.

Any idea anyone?

Oh.. found it!

It's Letrozole.. stupid me.. on this page n I stil cannot find it. hehe

Hv to ask my gynae abt this one...

This is wot I found on the net abt 'Letrozole'.. seems that it's mainly use to treat breast cancer, reduce estrogen level drastically & also to treat menopause but this bit says it is also use to treat fertility problems:

It has been used for ovulation induction by fertility doctors since 2001; having less side-effects than clomiphene citrate (Clomid) for the patient. A Canadian study presented at the American Society of Reproductive Medicine 2005 Conference suggests that it may increase the risk of birth defects compared with a control group, however a more detailed follow-up study found no basis for concern when letrozole is used for ovulation induction.

Not commonly used in spore though.. cos u search the local pages n not much results on it for fertility treatment.

Jus to share...

Hi Haze1ine,

Yah, I really think we are soulmates. If I were to choose Dr Fong Yang 6 weeks ago as my IVF doc, we could even see each other in person and become friends! Sigh... Nevermind, cyber-friends also ok lah.

I also visit my ex-gynae alone all the time and the sadness I felt is amplified. I am going for my final (i hope!!!) scan at 2pm and confirming my ER timing and collecting my HCG medication for self-injection. I can't imagine leh, the last 2 times of SO-IUI, the HCG shots were administered by the doc into the backside and I screamed out from the pain. Now my gynae wants me to self-inject into stomach!!! I told my HB that I will bite a towel first before injecting myself tonite!

Hi Haze1ine,

Yah, I did some research on the drug also (that's y I say we are soulmates!). I think this drug will work very well on PCOS lady becos the drug's main purpose is to reduce estrogen level. PCOS lady usually have estrogen dominance problem where the level of estrogen is much higher than the progestrone level, thus causing infertility.

But my main concern is if clomid doesn't work for me, will Letrozole works? Both drugs "tell" the pituary glands in our brain what to do, so if clomid can't "tell" properly (ha..ha..), maybe there is something wrong with that particular brain nerve leh? That is why gynae tells us to inject Puregon directly into stomach, so don't have to depends on brain's signals? Sorry, just my superficial thought lah!

Hi, Ah-kat,

Is the drug very expensive? Can share if you have any side effects?

RuRu
hmm.. maybe it's cos our DH all the same lah! haha He last time dun bother to go with me to my appts one.. he wil complaint far n hv to wait very long.. This time around only follow if it's on a Sat. Luckily.. or coincidently, both my SO-IUIs were done on a Sat.

But I thk IVF very diff to predict so c how lor. I might hv to go alone too if he can't come. But I keep on telling him on n off, he has to support me leh. Else I'll feel very miserable again during IVF n hv depression! He keep on saying I siao.. n thk too much.

Actually I did a blood test b4, my estrogen level is actually very low leh! That's why that time I was ask to stop my metformin by my TCM sinseh immediately. She said duno if it's cos the herbs & metformin has too good an effect on me or I'm actually not fully PCOS.

Then I read, estrogen levels go up n down also. But my TCM did say, at the time of my cycle, my estrogen level couldn't be so low.

Then I even suspect I premenopause! haha

When u try so long also no results, u begin to suspect everything lor.

I scared puregon doesn't work on me liao lor.. so want to check on other drugs.

Gd luck for ur scan today! Hope u hv many good quality eggs and many more to spare! Keep us updated!

hi ruru cat,

if you really don't want to self inject, can go to any gp clinic and get the doc to do it for you. i cannot imagine injecting hcg myself, it's much more painful than the usual jabs.

good luck on yr scan!

wonder how is strawbearbi doing? she was supposed to do a scan also..

Yap... my GP downstairs did it for $10.

The needle is diff type leh.. I'm not so good at handling those type of needles. I stil prefer puregon pen-like type!

Yap... hope to hear good news from Ruru & strawbearbi!

Dun forget tonite's Rally at 8pm!

Juliana
Actually egg whites r eaten during IVF stage to prevent bloatness.. but was told IUI also can eat.. but dun hv to eat as much.

U can try lor.. c if it really works for u.

I didn't lah.. cos I duno then. My 1st try quite bloated.. but stil bearable. The 2nd one, only bloated aft meals.

I just got back from my final scan today. Got around 16 normal-size follicles and the rest are mini mini eggs. Yes, going ahead with my ER procedure on wed morning!!!

During the scan, my gynae pointed to a patch of black and told me that is fluid accumulation and I have OHSS! She told me to put 4 raw egg whites in a glass, add some protein powder and then boiling water and drink it once a day today and tomorrow. I just tried it and it doesn't taste as gross as it sounds!

Aiyah, I will do anything as long as I can proceed to ET procedure. Very scared if my OHSS worsen, my gynae will freeze the embryos and don't let me do the ET then I will faint!

I am supposed to do the HCG shot at 9.30pm leh, too late for the GP to do for me. Yah, I also remembered that the HCG shot is more painful than the Puregon pen shot. Sigh... but last stage already, so die die must do myself. I will bite a towel then inject..ha..ha..

You know the best part of it all? I only inject 200iu of Puregon for 10days then ganna OHSS. In the IVF/ICSI thread that me and Haze1ine visit, there are ladies who start on 400iu then up to 600iu/700iu!

Don't know whether to be happy my body so responsive to Puregon (save alot of $ as only need 5 cartridges, so around $2k+) or not (since I also develop OHSS!). Sigh...

Sorry this thread growing too fast for me to catch up!

Ruru & haze1ine: Actually I had posted abt Letrozole some time back in this thread before I decided to go with it. Reason is that it has a very short medical history for using to treat infertility. Like what you have read on the net, it first function is for breast cancer treatment and if taken when you are pregnant - might cause birth defect...

However, since I don't response to both clomid & metaformin and my gynae was telling me that it work well for PCOS - as it do not thin the lining (which is better for implantation), we decided to have a go at it. It is cheaper then the injectable as I only need to take from CDay3-7 but I need to perform a pregnancy test before starting on the drug. I think I paid $150 for 10 tablets.

For the first time, I see my follicle grown so big!!

I am in my 2wk wait now and today is DPO6.The stress is killing me as this is the first time that I had seen such big follicle in me. Doc suggested we try natural this time and c how....

by the way, I have done a whole lot of research on Lectrozole - but the softcopy in my office mailbox - I will post tomorrow.

No details on fertility help!!!! Jus say wil reduce treatment cost but no details! Say wait til end of the wk for announcement. Urrggghhh!

And I suspect it might only be for govt hospital leh..

Ruru
U're on 200IU n u get OHSS. Hmm... I'll let u know when my time comes if I over-react also. I suspect I'll be like u also leh.

How much were u on for ur IUI previously?

But wot is imp now.. is that u've got 16 follicles n ready to do ET on Wed.
So toast down that raw eggs mix n like u said, come so far liao, die die also hv to go ahead!

The IVF thread has got one more good news.. so I hope to c ur name up there in slightly more than 2 wks time hor!

ah kat

I wil ask my gynae abt this when I c him this Sat.

I thk wot we ned for IUI n IVF is big, good quality follicles in shorter time. Hope u succeed and then u can tell ur success story!

Btw, were u on clomid/metformin before? Did u feel any side effects when u're on those?

Hi ladies, have been bz these few days so did not update abt my scans. Went for scans on saturday & today. I have abt 7 follicles biggest 13mm, smallest 9mm. Have to go back for a scan tomolo coz doc says scared I ovulate or too many big follicles... sigh dunno shld be happy or not.
Actually I thinking to myself that I'm having so much problems ovulating i doubt i would ovulate today or tomolo =p
Heard PM Lee's speech on IVF help. Gotta wait for Wong Kan Seng for his details. Hopefully it extends to pte gynaes too =)

Hi Juliana, I'm also doing SO-IUI at KKIVF. Been seeing Doc Tan altho my supposed "doc in charge" is the same as yours. Anyhow I think Doc Tan is not too bad =)

Hi Haze1ine, yes yes yes - I was on clomid & metaformin and the side effect was killing not to mention that I did not response at all.

Btw, just check with Hubby - my follicle size on CD16 scan was 26mm instead of 29mm..still good size?

strawbearbi
Jus curious, how come ur doc say u wil ovulate?Today is ur D wot already?

How's ur mucus? U hv raw eggwhite like discharge already or jus white?

I thk some hv bigger follicles n r ok.. did he ask u to stop ur jab or stil continue? When did he say u can do ur IUI?

ah kat
26mm is very good size I thk. Those on IVF not that big leh.. so far I read on the forum.

I really duno how 'big' is a good size. My gynae told me b4, hv to get at least 18mm.

Hi Strawbearbi,

Woah, 7 follicles for SO-IUI, that's is good! Don't worry about ovulation lah, the ideal size of follicles is 16-18mm, so if you ovulate at 13mm, the chance of pregnancy is very low as the "egg yolk" in your follicles are not mature yet. I think you should worry more of multiple birth as 7 follicles are alittle on the high side, but it is a happy problem right?

My gynae also think the govt subsidies for IVF won't extend to private gynaes due to the lack of central control (unlike public hospital with centralised IVF centre).

Hi, Ah-Kat,

Yes, any follicle above 18mm is a good size. Woah, good luck for your 2ww!

ah kat
U shd keep ur spirits up n stay +ve.. treat urself to something nice during this time.. wil keep ur mood up.

Strawbearbi
But some follicles do 'disappear' leh.. esp the smaller ones. So dun worry, c the results of ur scan 2molo.

Ruru
Really ah? If only for govt hospital, then very disappointed lor. I'm very happy with my current gynae, dun feel like switching leh. Wil be a pity to do that cos of the S-11 issue lor. I thk I wun get the same treatment in a govt hospital..

Hi strawbearbi & juliana,just curious how did u gals mgn to see KKH? can tk leave so oftn? cos see on weekday office hr right? i wish to see KKH too but i cant tk leave oftn .. i wish KKH opern after ofice hr.. the unfinished job piled up make me more stress... just saw news mentioned couple trying assisted conception get some assistance so what was it??

sigh 4 mth maternity leave got use meh... my company sure ask ppl go back early to work & after start work so many things to do how to clear those leave... better if the company willing to encash balance if not lagi jialut..
sigh i thought eat egg white make the egg bigger so it's to reduce bloating??

ah kat "jia you"!! hope your painful waiting is worth every sec of it! ladies, any gynae told you how thick ur lining was when u doing IUI? ideally on day 11 0r 12 should be how thick? tomolo i going for my scan, day 9 of simulation/ D11... the last time i went to scan before on gonal-f was barely 6mm... i heard IUI need 10mm... good luck gals!
oh btw i finally got my broadband hahaha now no need use dial up can come in often, u gals post so fast i can hardly catch up :p

Hi Strawbearbi,
Is it because you have many follicles, so your gynae think u might get early LH surge even before the follicles mature at 16-18mm? You can ask your gynae to give u a jab to suppress ovulation till the follicles reach a more mature size. I had the jab for my previous SO-IUI to delay ovulation till a Monday, coz lab didn't open on weekends and my follicles had reached the desired size by Sat.

by the way, got 7 follicles, gynae will sometimes advise to do IVF instead.

ah kat, your follicle size is 26mm!!!? I thought by around 17-21mm, we will automatically ovulate le? wah...this Letrozole like so power. Can use for IVF too ah?