Advise on Baby & Maid Exps

'But when you instil good moral values and treat a maid like a family member, then there's nothing to worry.'

A situation like Rose's is unlikely to happen if employers are understanding, said Mr John Gee, president of Transient Workers Count Too.

I totally not agree on the statement above!!! Who ever said that is a LIAR!

just wondering...

I have to bring my maid to the doc for her medical checkup. Normally, do you go in with her to see the doc? or just let her go in on her own, and you wait outside?

dymples

i read abt your maid's lump at neck area. just want to share my experience with you and reast of mummies.

my maid also got lump growing under her armpit in nov 08. long story short, we sent her to polyclinic for ultrasound, mammogram, started her on antibiotics orally and injections at GP. ended up sending her for surgery(day surgery) and now follow-up at govt hospital. couldn't claim single cents from insurance cos got lots of clauses abt must be in "c" class govt ward. excuse me hor... MOH not giving subsidies to FDW, they straight away treated as private patients.

anyway, according to doc, my maid was exposed to TB when young and TB stayed away from her lungs. tat's why her chest x-ray cleared (on entry and before surgery) and she is basically dangerous to her own health and as long chest clear, she not infectious. according to doc, TB very common in rural parts of PH, INDO etc, so common for maids to carry TB into singapore (cos chest x-ray cleared). only way is lumps appear and removed to demonstrate TB infection. doc say treatable, many maids kena treated and can continue to work.

for us, maid is good with boys and housework(got 70-80% standards), plus no funny business. so we went thru all to get her treated.

my advice to you is send her for ultrasound at polyclinic(abt S$80) then decide what you want to do lor. HB and me were unwillingly to pack her off unless it was cancer, cos also pity her.

i assume you maid already on antibiotics. just pray hard that it will go away. btw, will accumlation of fats appear suddenly with itchiness? i can understand your frustrations... being there and just moved on lor. many times i wondered should i allowed maid to go thru all medical + surgery, just console myself that if send back and get new maid also abt same time, money and stress spent.

re:quality maid

dun have such thing anymore... we are all on this big casino of maid agencies and maids. if we employers can know what maids do 24/7, then we might as well set up fortune telling stalls with crystal balls.

<font color="ff0066"> Gracian</font>
OMG!! TB??!! The GP we went to didn't prescribe any antibiotics at the first visit. but I'll be bringing the maid back tonight for the 2nd review. From there, the doc will diagnoise if it's necessary to proceed wz further action. To date, the lump has decrease in size somewhat. But after reading your post, I'm afraid about the TB part especially since I've got 2 toddlers and 1 bb at home. So dangerous leh.

Haiz... tat's wat I'm afraid of... insurance not paying out. At this point of time, all these additional costs is taking a toil on my family's financial. Really worried...

Well local families dun want these maids too!!!

March 23, 2009
Maids scramble for jobs as expat bosses pull out
By Judith Tan
DOMESTIC maids whose recession-hit expatriate bosses are shipping out have taken to using the noticeboards of supermarkets to find work with other expat families in Singapore.
They have posted advertisements of their skills and experience in expat haunts such as Jason's in Tanglin Mall and Orchard Towers and Cold Storage in Holland Village and Jelita.

A check at these supermarkets turned up between five and 12 ads at any one time, up from one to three previously.

These maids, mostly Filipinas employed by expat families, leave mobile numbers for potential employers 'to call directly to negotiate'.

The ads typically list 'plus qualities' such as 'able to cook French food', 'can do grocery shopping independently' and 'very good with young children'.

Ms Eyalta Quesada, 44, said her employer of four years, a French family, will be uprooting and going home in May.

She has worked in Singapore for 13 years and wants to stay here - but she wants to work only for another expat family.

Most of the ads state a preference for working with such families. The reason is the higher pay.

Ms Quesada is now getting about $600 a month and is looking for this salary to be matched.

'My son is still in university and I have to pay his fees. Expat families pay better,' she said.

A check with maid agencies with local and expat clients showed that foreigners pay their maids about $200 more.

Ms Cynthia Esmeralda, 35, also prefers working for expats, who typically give their maids the weekend off, 'which many local employers my friends work for are reluctant to give'.

'My friends say when they ask for a day off, they get a pay cut,' she said.

For six years, she has been working for a family of Germans, who are going home in three months' time.

She said that since she put up her ad at Jason's supermarket in Tanglin Mall last month, she has had only two calls from expats.

These maids have another reason for using supermarket bulletin boards: They bypass the maid agent and save on agency fees, which can come up to a month's salary.

But Ms Sophie Fernando, 38, is hedging her bets. She has put up an ad at Cold Storage in Jelita, but has also set aside $250 'in case time runs out for me, and I have to turn to an agent for a transfer'.

She has until the middle of next month to find another employer, as the American family she works for is going home.

The economic environment is drying up work opportunities here, forcing many expat professionals to leave.

The number of expat students leaving international schools in Singapore is also a sign of this.

Ten of the 27 international schools here say up to 20 per cent of their students have pulled out, some leaving even in mid-term.

While 14 others say their numbers are stable, they are expecting withdrawals at the end of the semester around June.

Former investment banker Dennis Jones, 48, is moving his family of five back home to Australia in June.

He has been here for the last 10 years, and he is reluctant to leave.

It also means giving up his maid Luis Fernando, 42, who has been with his family for as long and taken care of his three daughters.

'We would move her with us, but Australia is a little too far from her home in the Philippines. It is unfortunate that we have to let her go,' he said.

He and his family have helped her put up ads at several supermarkets and expat forums on the Internet, and are 'still keeping our fingers crossed for her sake'.

The Joneses are prepared to stump up the agent's fee on her behalf if it comes to that, he said.

Mr John Gee, the president of Transient Workers Count Too, a voluntary group that looks after the welfare of foreign workers, noted that the ads started popping up last September.

He said that, having worked for expats at relatively better pay and getting days off, these maids know what they are entitled to and have the confidence to negotiate with their next employer.

<font color="ff0066"> Maid Lump Update</font>
I raised the subject of TB to the doctor tonight and he said tat is a likely scenario. So tomolo gotta bring the maid to SATA for chest X-Ray and Ultrasound (costs about $100+). Then wait for results which will take about 2-days. He said if it's TB, then the maid would already hv been in the infectious stage about 2-weeks prior to the lump coming out. I'm so so worried now for my children especially my 4-mth bb. The treatment for TB is a long drawn process over a course of 6-mths or longer and involves lots of medications. Now feeling so anguished and frustrated!! I really dunno wat to do.

March 23, 2009
Demand down by up to 20%, say agencies
THE downturn appears to have dampened the demand for maids.
Several maid agencies say 10per cent to 20 per cent fewer employers have approached them between last November and now.

Some of these agencies were once placing up to 60 maids a month in 2007 and early last year.

Farah &amp; Fauzi Employment Agency, for instance, has had about 30 families seeking maids every month since last December - a 15 per cent drop from 'when times were better'. Co-owner Farah Fauziah Mohd Noordeen said she has even had three families, now in financial difficulty, asking to let their maids go.

'We usually tell the client to give the maid and the agency a month's notice. At least there would be time to look for new employment for the maid,' she said.

Ms Ivy Lee of Maid Power said the company was bracing itself for even tougher times in the months ahead.

The Manpower Ministry said it does not track the number of maids leaving Singapore, but its spokesman said the number of foreign domestic workers here actually rose from 180,000 at the end of 2007 to 190,000 at the end of last year.

Ms Fiona Tay from Genesis Maids observed that there is still a demand for maids, but people prefer those who are already here and are seeking transfers from their current employers, because they do not need much training.

'The problem is that many are not willing to offer what these maids want or are worth,' she said, such as top-end pay of $600 and days off on Sundays.

She added that the fall in demand was mainly for new maids from countries such as the Philippines, Indonesia and Sri Lanka.

Ms Annabella Oliveros, the labour attache at the Philippine Embassy, said most of the Filipino maids who have gone home did so for reasons other than the recession. She did not elaborate, but such reasons could include their contract being up and their wanting to work in Hong Kong, where the pay is better.

Need to vent.. my no brain maid, really smart.
I boiled lotus root soup, half pot kept last night in fridge..can warm up today. She take out in the morning and didnt warm up for lunch..forget for dinner too..end up,just saw her throw everything in plastic bag..tell me,spoiled/rotten. Haiz.. dont know she purposely or what.

This morning forget to clean n tidy my room. Till 3pm, I cant tahan liao.. I asked her, can u clean my room? then, only she come to clean. When I ask her,she was acting busy, take a cloth wipe dining chair..vomit blood.

During my trip(not at home), she break my glass cover, reason, the glass break by itself..actual, she place the cover near the stove,too hot...

Asked her to cut my old cucumber into 4pieces,with skin..to boil soup,said yes,mdm..end up,slice into small pieces without skin.

No replacement maid..sian, dont know hav to tolerate for how long.

Can I join in this thread? Seems like hiring a maid also has its problem.

I'm expecting my #2 this Jun/Jul. Can anyone advise how long will the whole process of getting a maid takes and how early in advance do i need to prepare? I'm totally clueles how to go about the whole process.

Jo:
Did u ask yr maid to write down step by step for cooking? e.g. no.1 do what, no.2 do what and etc. I always ask her to write down and brought her a note book, even though there is cook book. I still need to go thru with her.

Think they are not automatic one, not proactive, just like robot, follow instructions only.

Rachel, i gav her note book, so far maid only write down 1recipe, then used for her dairy. Sian, i also hav recipe book for her, so far didnt see she read. Bo chap attitude liao. Her std so chin chai, yet asked for transfer herself. Keep on telling me, she is stupid,waste my money hire her ..seem like so concern abt me. Just her another excuse,finding way to make me transfer her. But now no new bio, wait til April.
1more time,she dare to mention dont want to work, i wil grant her wish, even no replacement maid. So lousy, i m tolerating her work. Didnt wash toilet for 2wks. If wash, forget wash toilet window, forget n wet my toilet paper.. Etc. Hopefully, she get a strict n fierce employer. Take me for granted.. Am so angry, yet never scold her. Teach her the right method, also no use. Now, i cant be bother to correct her. Let her do. I giv up.

Jo,
I'm also in same mode now. Dun bother to correct her liaoz. As long as my baby is safe, no injury, ok. haha. we're contemplating cc, but have to wait till my gal gets all her jabs first.

Jo,
How can your maid not wash the toilet for 2wks? What kind of maid is that?

I think you need to make her do and re-do over and over until she gets it right. Tell her she's going to have to repeat all her chores until it's right even if it takes all day and all night.

She's really a nightmare. I am not surprised why employers want to beat up their maids if they behave like this.

Jo,
I agree with Liana, my current maid also like yrs. Wash toilet never wash the basin, never clean the toilet seat, and never clear the basket. Told her few time kept forgot. Really have to scold a bit (in harsh voice) then make her to clean n re-clean. Now she is better.

CSI,really closed eyes,now,maid really hard to find those REALLY want/serious to work.
Both my girls already in Childcare.Maid mostly do hse work..also can forget this,forget that..

Liana,my schedule for maid, wash toilet every Monday..sometimes she is so free that she washed on weekend..till now, she forget to wash..I remind her,yet she didnt take action, think if others employer..already shouted at her. Its so dirty..toilet paper no more..everytime,sure can hav something she miss out..She no heart to work, chin chai do..just for the seek of doing. I have been teaching her,guide her mistake with reason with raising my voice..yet she can tell me, she want to transfer..I explained to her, will deduct another 2mths salary, she said, I already paid all.

I: It will bring forward ur loan to another employer..

Maid: Then I change agent..

I: Change agent also hav to pay another fees, yet hav to pay previous loan.

Imagine, I have been so kind to her, till she tell me to giv excuses to agent in order to transfer her but she dare not tell agent herself, reason afraid get scold from agent. See take me for granted liao.

I tell agent everything, cos agent said, maid told them she very happy working w me. On my side keep on do funny thing. Real Good actress.

Agent scold maid, she cried on the phone.Then, till now, maid never dare to tell me a thing/no more chatting other than her work.

I dont bother abt what or how maid think, as long as basic work are done, even bad quality..eg.wash cup also still dirty. I just ask her to wash clean n show her the stain/oily/previous fd stil there after washing.

Till hav new bio, or better send her home after she finish her loan..long way to go,now only 3rd month.Hav 8 and half mth loans..as for replacement, April hav new bio, select, wait another 1-2mths(new rules from Indo,take longer time)..end May/early June only can get new maid. Sian.

Jo,

You r too kind to your maid. Hence, she step over your head.

U know I scolded my maid STUPID when she bleach all my coloured floormat. Now all floormats are white and hand towel too. Nobody has ever ask her to add bleach for washing. All my previous maid only add washing powder to soak the night before and scrub the next day. She is the only one that uses bleach on everything. Even on my bedsheet which is blue and now become white. Initially it turns pink. Hb get her to bleach and let it become white. But I ask her to pay. I dun care. I gonna ask her to pay for the floormat. Because all become white with holes on them. Not a single piece without holes.

Very fed up.

I told her. I am sorry. I know u taught my girl that if she scold other ppl stupid, god will chop off her feet. But you are really S...T...U..P..I..D..... I scold very loud. My hb said can hear from the lift lobby when he is on his way back.

Hi, I am first time looking for a maid. Does anyon have recommendation for a maid agency located near Clarke Quay or Serangoon North/Hougang?
How much are the agency fees normally? What is considered expensive?
Are there things I should look out for when I interview the maids or select maids?

I would recommend nation. I wont say they r gud but not bad. The reason they always delay on maid exchange. Choose 2 fresh maid n waited for months, when ask said the maid failed the entry test. No choice choose a transfer 1 n oni wait less than a week. Wondering whether their words can be trusted. So far no major problem.

Cutie, my maid opposite she is the one that keep on saying herself stupid. I cant understand her thinking/IQ.

Today, maid come to me and asked, tomorrow mdm go out?

I: asked dont know yet, why?

Maid: I want to send letter home. I want to stay n work with mdm. Agent scolded me(just the day before I went overseas, maid said dont want to work, so I called agent, she cried), that time, I said will decide after I come back..till now, I didnt talk to her anything abt this matter..think she wonder why I didnt approach her. So she take action..(actually,I'm waiting for bio from agent).

I: ok. prepare the letter and I will send when I go post office.

Later, she came with just a piece of paper(letter)..and gav to me..

I: U dont have envelop..and I gav her,asked her to write the address..

She didnt seal..but funny, address with hp number..written, reply asap..but dont have my address on the letter/envelop..

Dont know if she do it purposely, to show me she is sincere want to stay..

One thing from that hp number, I saw this dial out number from my home phone, so she actually, used my hse phone without my permission. No wonder, there was one time, she said to me..some of her friend(maid) used to chat using employer number..that moment I didnt suspect her, just said, in singapore..we hav caller ID, phone log,so bill will reflectthe number n time/duration..she just listen but didnt tell me she used.

Why maid just cant be honest..I already told her, can buy ICC to call Indo, but she said no need. Now, tell me send letter...

Xiaoxi, can refer to tamarind's website http://singaporemaid.blogspot.com/2007/07/selecting-maid.html

Jo,
How come u ask her to wash your toilet only once a week? Since your kids in childcare she quite free during the day right?

My maid mops whole house and cleans toilets every single day. If not, I'm sure mould will grow. It only takes 2 hours max including vacuuming....my maid very free in the afternoon.

You can tell ur maid that because she keeps forgetting to wash the bathroom she has to do it everyday so she remembers.

Babycutie,
I can understand how you feel. Furthermore, I feel that maids are not sorry when they make a mistake. Instead of saying sorry they give a million and one excuses as to WHY they are RIGHT!

Jo,
have to agree with Liana. All my maids previously mops the whole house and cleans the toilets everyday. and would still have time in the afternoons too....

maybe you should really make her do the work everyday....

dymples

how is your maid's chest x-ray? infectious doc that my maid is seeing assures us that only infectious if TB already in lungs, so if lungs clear then no worries.

yes, TB treatment is long process and needs to do blood tests etc. if your maid is TB and infectious, doc will have to report to CDC and whole family send for treatment and screening. my late grandpa became TB infectious after his bypass(he carried TB inside him all these yrs) and my relatives all have to take antibiotics.

anyway, since the lump is smaller, then it is good news that likely not TB.

hope that all will work out well for your family and maid.

re:maid agency

i got my 4 maids from nation (hougang green). quite fortunate that all 4 are ok. find that all agencies always under-state the waiting time for new maids. another thing is that nation agency fee bit high and maid salary is higher compared to other agencies.

if you make complains, sure will get answers. i complained twice and their actions very fast.

baby-baby
ehh hougang green got a lot of maid agencies.. just spend one day shopping there ;).

babycutie
tell me abt me, that time my maid put my bras with dark colored clothes.. all turned blue.. and i mean it's like 7 pcs... dunno to laff and to feel sorry for myself then... argg...

standing orders/rules n regulations.
hey, any kind souls has them and can email to me? coz we gave free play to my 1st maid, ends up climbs over my head.. now new maid coming.. fresh new start... sorry that she got to suffer coz of my high class maid then. my email add: [email protected]

Liana, Nellu, thanks for your advise.. my reason not asking her to wash everyday..dont want to waste too much water.. only the common toilet, used by my inlaws, n herself need to wash the floor everyday..she forget abt my toilet(in master bedroom).

Today, I didnt ask her to oven my chinese sausages, she act smart, oven till burnt, turn black..I smell from my room,rush out to off it..maid just stand 1metre away, pluging veg..without realise the things burnt liao..my convention oven are transparent,a round glass type.. she didnt even say sorry...look blur..

I told her, u said u want to work, but everytime u do work, seem like body is here, but soul fly some where..burning beside u, u stil dream away..so dangerous. She just keep quiet. I gave u schedule, when, what to do.. hav problem just ASK me,..everyday, work for seek of working.
VOMIT BLOOD..

wow, Jo,
your maid not scared burn her down ah? can't imagine what's going through her brain then...

re wash toilets
my maid also wash my toilets once a week. but that's coz every day 7am, we go my parent's place, 10pm then reach back home. By then, my gal is already sleeping (she sleeps with us in the master bdrm) so, can't wash that toilet then lah. Well, anyway, my maid is also the type who can forget to wash the master toilet (but always remember to wash the common toilet). 1st time, after 3 weeks (then she was still new), I finally asked her "how come u never wash", she answered "you nvr tell me say I can go inside the room, so how to wash" (we dun allow her to freely walk into our rooms (even if it's to put the clothes)). Hear her answer, want to faint manz. Ok, so told her, well, we nvr tell you, but u can ask right? Why nvr ask? Anyway, after that, a few times, she did ask. but recently, back to sq one again. nvr ask and nvr wash toilet.

This week even better. Her schedule is to mop the floor every morning, coz my gal will walk/crawl ard. But this week, totally nvr mop at all. This week hb on reservist, so we have to leave home even earlier at 6.30am. So, she doesn't have the time to sweep and mop the floor in the morning. Morning no time, when we get back home, also no time. I know my timings are not that great - leave home early, reach back late. Maid will also be sleepy etc...but, for this week, being an "out-of-the-ordinary" week, we're also not expecting the floor to be mopped everyday. Just 1 day, wake up earlier to mop also cannot. or 1 day, sleep later a bit...at least the floor gets cleaned. She nvr bothers to make the effort to do so. Just leave it be.

To help ease her workload, we told her to put the clothes in the washing machine to wash, instead of using hand. at least she can do other stuff while the clothes are being washed, and she dun have to sleep so late every night. End up, she doesn't bother to check the pockets, and whatever paper (contact details etc) that was in the pockets went through the entire cycle. Ok, it's our own fault for leaving the paper in the pocket, but well...arrgghh...

hire maid really depends on luck
when i 1st hired a trsf maid, she made my 5mths old child sick coz she say there wasnt any instruction from MDM that she can put on more clothes for bb even is heavy raining season

2nd time, she boiled the teeth cooler which i like it very much. the teeth cooler melt in the boiling water n she use the chopstick to take up n showed me, SIGH..
3rd, she throw away a peeler
4th, ask her to be more careful to take care of bb n hsework, she dare to sit on the floor flipping my magazine while i talked to her!
5th, she tried to squeeze my child long milk bottle into a small container (obviously the container cant fit the length), i stopped her when i c the milk bottle anytime going to break!

i had no choice but choose another new maid w/o experience

i m happy wf my current helper who is very helpul n initiative to do things before i open my mouth
yes again is dpends on luck..

hi Jo,
not sure u still rem me, we spoke over the phone regarding of maid agency in north

My maid has seen the General Surgeon doc at SGH liaoz. The doc said confirm it's not cancer. He also said unlikely to be TB as the infection is not in the lymph node. However, cannot rule out this as yet. He will still need to do a day surgery to remove the lump, then send it for biopsy. All these will cost me about $1.5k.

My concern now is

(1) wat if there are complications from the surgery? Who's going to be responsible?

(2) Who going to take care of her after surgery? I've got 3 kids leh. Where got the time or energy? I hire maid to relieve my burden wor. Not add to it.

(3) If anything happens to her in SG, how? Or if her family make noise to come here then how? Dun tell me I gotta pay for their airfare? Wat if they complain to MOM and says that unfortunate happen to the maid becos I never take care of maid? Becos I abuse maid? I will kena investigation by both Police and MOM leh.

(4) Paying for her treatment here, does not mean she will be grateful and do good job for me. She could suddenly turn around and accuse me of abusing her... then demand to be send back, etc.

On top of all these, if the biopsy comes back positive for TB, then the hospital will need to inform CDC. In end, there goes my surgery money cos TB is NOT covered under the insurance. Then I will incur extra expenses to send maid back to her country, maid agency costs again cos need to get new maid, etc. All this mounting costs is making me increasingly worried n frustrated.

Now my maid keep telling me her family no money... she no money... cos for the past 6-mths tat she working for me, out of her salary of $350, the Maid Agent gets $300 to replay loan... blah blah. Becos of this, she cannot pay for the operation. Keep crying and crying only. I did tell her tat I'm very very tight financially. Does not mean cos I stay in Condo and got Car means I berry rich... got lotssa $$$ to throw lor. I told her I myself got lots of bank loans to repay wor. Then she keep crying only.

I called the Maid Agency liaoz. They are more concern with the agency being able to recover the maid's final loan repayment (due at end of March). They also pushed the cost to the Insurance company. But I already called the insurance company. If the results from the biopsy is positive for TB, I'm not able to claim a single cent as TB is a communicbale disease and is not covered under foreign workers insurance. Even if the biopsy is cleared, I will have to submit in my claims. From there, the insurance company will assess on (1) whether my claim is admissable in the first place (2)whether I'm entitled to claim any $$$. This answer tells me tat the Insurance agency does not seem keen to repay any $$$ lah. So typical.

Anyway, currently liaising wz the Maid Agency on getting a Trfs Maid FOC or even at half the agency costs. So much probs all these is causing me.

<font color="ff0066"> Jo</font>
Sounds like your maid is playing for time. Does she have any off days? Cos my #2 was juz like tat. Work macham not working. Body at my house but heart &amp; soul elsewhere. Keep making mistakes. I give her instructions but she dun listen. Purposely do things wrongly to make me scold and scold her. After tat try to act pitiful in front of my hub!

Then during her Sunday offs, she go lots of maid agencies to look for new employer. How I know... cos 1-day she suddenly come back and tell me: "Mam, I dun want work for you anymore. I have helped you to look for new employer for me. They will pay me better me salary." Wah seh!! Like tat. Somemore can give me timeline to release her wor! I was so fed-up. Worse part is I so stupid and kind to let her change employer (even though she got no loan to repay). Damn!! If I was thinking straight, I would hv send her packing straight back to Phillippines. Anywayz... I got info tat this stupid, lousy, nimcompood maid had a big quarrel wz her new employer. End up the new employer (Ang Mo) find out this stupid idiot maid cannot clean, cannot cook, cannot look after children, for 2-cents. So vain... everyday juz want to look pretty and act "hiao-hiao" in front of sir only. The fight got so bad, the new employer send her packing back to philly immediately! Serves her right! Got her retribution.

Liana,

You got the point there. They will find excuses for their mistakes. They are very competent in turning black to white.

There is a saying goes, Jack of all trades, master of none...(to let it sounds better. Actually they are Nerd of all trades, Master of Excuses).

U know my maid cut pieces of newspaper to use as a holder for the pot of oil we collected after cooking. Usually we used the oil for a few times before throwing away. I checked the kitchen one day and found that the paper is stain with oil. So I ask her, "U didn't change the paper?" She answer, "No mam." I asked, "Can u see the paper is stain with oil?" She answer, "Yes mam, the paper has to change everyday." Finally I told her off sarcastically, "You know you have to change everyday, but you are not doing it. You only know how to talk, but when comes to doing, you are totally useless."

My advise to those who are hiring maids. Don't be impressed by those who can speak and answer very well during interviews. You will be surprised to find out that actually they are all empty nutshells. They only know how to talk. When comes to doing, you can see that actually they don't really have the experience.

My maid's contract will expires in Aug. She do not want to extend her contract with me when I offered to extend earlier this year. I do not want to hold her back as well. Now, I have started to look for replacement. Hope that I can get a good and reliable one.

Need to vent a little here...

I dunno what's with my maid lately. VERY ABSENT MINDED.

A lot of times she forgotten to locked one of the brakes of my mum's wheelchair. A few times the wheelchair slip off one side when the maid wants to transfer my mum back to the wheelchair after bath. My mum told me she always lock one side and forgotten the other side.

Today worst. She washed the commode. But didn't fix back properly. My mum saw it and scolded her. Luckily my mum didn't use it. otherwise, she will fall off the commode.

I told my maid if she has no heart to work with me. I will also have no heart to let her go. And I told her if anything is gg to happen to my mum (hospitalised/operation), I am gg to charge the bill to her.

I will not hesitate to send her back after getting a replacement WITHOUT HER 2 YEARS PAYROLL if such thing happens. It is her negligence and she has to be responsible for what she has done. BTW, I kept all her pay.

Hopefully god will blessed me a good and reliable replacement maid soon.

hi mommies, anyone has had maid who claimed that their hands are painful with burning sensation? My new maid (Indon) who has been with me for 2 weeks just complained that she can't work coz her hands are burning and she can't even hold a broom.

I took her to a GP and the doctor said could be due to deficiency in vitamin B, hence the nerve problem thar causes this. Gave her medicine, she took for one day and said no improvement. I took her back to agent, she asked agent for an easier job so that her hands will get better. Agent didn't buy her claim of painful hands as there are no signs of peeling or cracks. She kept saying she can't work, too painful to bear. Then Agent asked her what she wants to do, she eventually said she wants to go back to Indonesia. If she goes back, it's unfair for the employer to pay for her ticket right?

I think it could be a made-up excuse to be sent home. Sometimes these first-time young maids think that they are here to get good pay with easy work/ The Agent said that most of them only did specific work wshile they worked in Indon, so when they come here and need to do housework, cook, take care of kids, they regreted working here and wanted to go home. So the only way out is to claim hands painful and can no longer work.

Sigh...just my bad luck for meeting maid like this. So far my luck also no good, this is my 3rd maid in 1 year.

I would like to recommend Best Home Agency at Bukit Timah,level 4. Look for Ms Pauline. She is very good in her service.

There is one very good scenerio that i would like to share with you about them. I took a transfer maid from them. This maid was chosen by my hb becoz my hb believed can 'train' her up. To our horror, she everything also 'ta ta wu', 'ta boleh', everything also dont know how to do. She can tell us she dont know how to make bed (tidy it), dont know how to wash toilet, dont even know how to fry a fish etc. And worst off, she dont bother or want to learn at all.
In just 5 days we sent her back to agency. She still has 7 months full loan outstanding.

In most of agencies i have come across, most of them will 'recycled' their maid to other employer. To my surprise, Best Home told me they will be packing her back home!

I am sharing my experience here and if you want to look for an agency, may want to try looking for Ms Pauline at Best Home.

babycutie,
You can call Pauline at Tel:6462 7055 and check with her. I think the new and experienced maid fees are different. Its better to go there so you can see the maid bio.

I've been using Best Home at Bt Timah. I think their policy is, if maid has been returned twice, and from their own observation of maid is not good, they will send back. If the reason for returning maid to agency is due to employer not good etc, then they wun send back home lah...

babycutie,
yup, it's better to go there, so u can see the maid. Indo fees are more than Phil. Indo Christian even higher fees. Transfer maid fees are slightly cheaper (if I remember correctly). As a guage for u, my Phil maid's agent fees were $188 (then. not sure if got any changes or not. haha).

CSI_Fan,
O, U get your maid from them too? At least twice no good, they will send the maid back to Indo. Other agency i come across, keep 'recycling' or 'sub' to other agent to help them sell their maid.

Oh my god! I can't get myself to finish watching the clip on the maid abusing the child. I really pray and hope the child is ok and not hurt.

How could the maid drag her, kick her and jump on her?? What is going on in this sick maid's mind? I almost cried while watching this, and I think if I continue watching I will be very sad...because the poor girl tried to stand up and everytime she stands up the maid kicks her down on the floor. Poor thing... :``(

The maid should deserved to be treated the same way she abused the child!! Poor innocent child got this trauma at such a young age, I wonder what will happen to her growing up? Sigh...really sad.

dymples

i can tell that you are very frustrated... ... is the maid agency going to recycle the maid? my contract with agency states that maid must be fully cured of illness before return to agency for transfer.

the surgery will probably be a day surgery, which is not covered at all by insurance.... when mine had hers done, she still did light housework but no lifting of heavy items. i did all the children clothes washings and hanging of clothes.

my maid also tells me her family very poor, offered to pay part of the cost... ... initially i did tell her that she will foot all the cost of follow-ups and meds, but i scared she complained to MOM cos "employer is to bear all medical cost".
so now i "bao" all.

my maid is grateful... ... she knows that most maids will kena sent home, told us that we very good etc... ... but hor, we tell her that if we renew her contract, no home leave. she ok... ... have yet to show her our new contract terms yet.

maid agency will bounce you around... ... so you have to decide what you want to do... ...

renew maid contract

dear all

i intend to renew my current PH maid, want to ask few things.

1. for renewal, what do i need to prepare? gonna renew her passport, buy basic insurance. for PH maids, do we need to get a performance insurance for PH embassy? we saw it with NTUC insurance... what that?

2. should she/we decide to terminate her before the 2yrs up, can she be transfer out via agency? if yes, any agency or back to original agency... i dun intend to go back nation for owrk permit renewal.

3. does she need to sign any documents at PH embassy for work permit renewal?

what else should i be aware of? thanks a million

kc,csi,

dun be too surprised if i tell you they send the maids home but market them again and place them out within 2 weeks.

this is what happened to my last maid. The agent said to send the maid home, even produced air ticket details for me as proof. but few weeks later, my fren spotted my maid at another fren's house.

also saw the video... ... it is amazing that bitch didn't break child back or chest... ...

stupid maid... my mum still can tell me that we must trust our maids, go back work full time (i now part time). wah lao, when things happen then how?

i heartpain my salary, but better than leaving kids at home with potential monster.