(2015/12) Dec 2015 Mummies

Dear mummies giving birth in December,

If you require a part time staff to cover your 3-4 months of work duties while you are on maternity. Please drop me a pm or contact me at [email protected].

I have more than 10 years of experience doing office administration, operations, finance and in human resource.
Able to handle Microsoft Office 2013 well. Fast learner. Internet savvy. Organised. :)

Anyone having diarrhea or loose stools? I am had this two times today. And stomach feels uncomfortable and cramps after that. I read that diarrhea may be indication of premature labour. Am I getting paranoid?

Hmm, just sharing what is happening to me (best to see gynae to get some assurance)

I had tightening at the area above pelvis (lower abs) since last weekend. This week had diarrhea and cramp like tightening at the same area. Went GP and was told that it's normal as our pelvic muscles loosen.. but my hubby wanted to hear it from gynae, so I went down to gynae to do check up. He got me to do a CTG for an hour, and turns out I am having mild contractions (my first bb, i dunno the difference between cramps and contractions) so I was given an option of being warded or to be on bed rest. I took the second option... so I'm now on bed rest with progestogen to insert daily. Too earky for me to have contractions, coz I'm only 29 weeks.

In my opinion, it's always best to seek advice from gynae. Of course I hope yours is not like my case lah.

PS: My diagnosis on the hospitalization leave slip is "preterm labour", but I dunno what it means.

Sorry mummies what kind of pain do you experience . This few day i os run toilet few time esp after every meal . I will have super pain at tummy den will do "business" 1 day can be 2-3 times

I feel tight at the bottom part of the tummy. Don't think it has got to do with intake of food. Coz my tightening and cramp like feeling go on and off...

maybe it's the pressure of the pelvis that's causing loose stools for u?

I learnt the lesson the hard way. I used to think that seeing a gynae for a small problem like this very waste money lah. Coz my gynae charges not cheap. But now, I've changed my mindset.. better to put my mind at ease & ensure my bb is healthy.

Hi LCL26,

Thanks for sharing. My diarrhea is no more today. But I feel some mild cramps. I will monitor and see gynea if the cramps gets worse.

Can I ask if your cramps gets worse? Or it's on and off every hr? And is the cramps unbearable?

Sorry mummies what kind of pain do you experience . This few day i os run toilet few time esp after every meal . I will have super pain at tummy den will do "business" 1 day can be 2-3 times

I have the same as what you have. Either after meals or mid day, I would feel pain like stomache and would would do "business" and it's 2 times since yesterday. Today, I have the same stomache feeling but no "business" yet.

I still can feel bb is moving around actively today.

Actually it's common to have false contractions, also called Braxton Hicks. These are mostly painless and feel like a tightening of the abdomen. But if they get more frequent or painful, go and see the gynae. More than 4 in an hour better go see doc.

Hello fellow mummies
I'm also have the same problem as LCL26.
Mine is a shortening cervix. Hence need to bed rest too:( cannot walk around if not it will be shorten further. I'm at my 23 weeks now, need to hold on till at least mid dec! Jiayou all mummies !

Hi all Mummies...

just wondering if it is my problem or a problem shared by everyone... do you find the weather these few nights horrible? so horrible that I can't even sleep! It is not helping when we are already like having not enough sleep... and it is sure not helping when you see your hubby next to you snoring away while you struggle to go back to sleep... =[ hubby place has no air con installed so we can only use the fan...

Hi all Mummies...

just wondering if it is my problem or a problem shared by everyone... do you find the weather these few nights horrible? so horrible that I can't even sleep! It is not helping when we are already like having not enough sleep... and it is sure not helping when you see your hubby next to you snoring away while you struggle to go back to sleep... =[ hubby place has no air con installed so we can only use the fan...

me too :(:( but not due to weather.. more of whatever position i try to sleep in is not comfortable at all. We have air con in room but both of us not able to sleep in air conditioned room if not will wake up with blocked nose. AND same as yours, frustrating that i have to wake up twice (frequency starting to increase recently :() to go pee and all the while hubby sleeping so soundly and snoring away :mad::mad:

Sorry @DesperateMummyWannabe but i think i am very bad... imagine our hubby wake up in the morning then we give them the same face the dog in yr DP shows... i think they be like what happened sia... dunno why but as I was reading your reply, see your DP then think of this... =X

@strong_seagull what's DP??? Actually morning he won't see any facial expression from me cause i wake up earlier than him. And i don wake up in angry mood.

Hi all Mummies...

I have the same problem. I can't find a good position. I have been sleeping on my left side and my feet would feel numb and woke up and I have to adjust my position. On top of that, I have woke up 6 times last night just to go pee. And plus whenever my bb moves or change her position, I can feel either she push my chest or my bladder... Both not comfortable. Sleep quality is getting from bad to worse. :confused:

Hello fellow mummies
I'm also have the same problem as LCL26.
Mine is a shortening cervix. Hence need to bed rest too:( cannot walk around if not it will be shorten further. I'm at my 23 weeks now, need to hold on till at least mid dec! Jiayou all mummies !

I have the same issue as u. Cervix shortening (only 1.8cm) and a few weeks ago it was even funnelling. Gave me a shock...im around week 23 too. Have been bedresting for 3 weeks..

Did your gynea prescribe u with any medications?

me too :(:( but not due to weather.. more of whatever position i try to sleep in is not comfortable at all. We have air con in room but both of us not able to sleep in air conditioned room if not will wake up with blocked nose. AND same as yours, frustrating that i have to wake up twice (frequency starting to increase recently :() to go pee and all the while hubby sleeping so soundly and snoring away :mad::mad:
Same here! Will toss and turn and no position is comfortable! If I try to sleep on my left side I can't fall asleep so I have to sleep on the back with a cushion on the back! :( and my hubby also snoring away! everyday so tired and still got to work!

I have the same issue as u. Cervix shortening (only 1.8cm) and a few weeks ago it was even funnelling. Gave me a shock...im around week 23 too. Have been bedresting for 3 weeks..

Did your gynea prescribe u with any medications?
Hello mongchichi
Sorry to hear that :(my is 2.8cm 2 weeks back and down to 2.5 last week. Was on the hormones pills . The pogestrone cream and weekly injection. Are u given the same?did gyne recommend admission to hospital ?As advise by gyne , we cannot walk around too much. Cant stop worrying but only thing is to do is not to walk around excessively and hopefully things improve.. Jiayou mongchichi :)

Hello mongchichi
Sorry to hear that :(my is 2.8cm 2 weeks back and down to 2.5 last week. Was on the hormones pills . The pogestrone cream and weekly injection. Are u given the same?did gyne recommend admission to hospital ?As advise by gyne , we cannot walk around too much. Cant stop worrying but only thing is to do is not to walk around excessively and hopefully things improve.. Jiayou mongchichi :)

I was given progesterone only.. my gynea at TMC told me that i can be on bedrest at home n she referred me to a doctor in kkh instead. I went for an appt at kkh last week and e doctor suggested to observe me for another week first. If it shortens again then I'll be admitted. For now jus relax and rest as much as possible.

Hope things will get better for us! Jiayou together!!

I was given progesterone only.. my gynea at TMC told me that i can be on bedrest at home n she referred me to a doctor in kkh instead. I went for an appt at kkh last week and e doctor suggested to observe me for another week first. If it shortens again then I'll be admitted. For now jus relax and rest as much as possible.

Hope things will get better for us! Jiayou together!!

Just curious if you dun mind sharing, can I ask how does the gynea know cervix shortening? Through ultrasound and measurements?

Hi.. i asked for an extra cervical length chk during e week 20 detailed scan. They used transvaginal ultrasound to see whats happening and also took a few measurements of the cervix. The report was sent to the gynea after that..

Oh I see. I didn't ask for it during my week 20 scan.... Cause I didn't know need to check for the length. Thanks for sharing.

For low risk mummies to be, my gynea said theres no need to check. It was when i insisted then she added in for me. I was having constant cramps, so wanna find out if it affects my cervix.

I am feeling confused and frustrated. My doc keep telling me not to take too much food especially carbohydrates (rice and bread). But I don't understand what the doc mean. I have been taking normal potion of rice / noodles and if I don't take enough, I will feel hungry. So should I take less and endure the hunger? I don't have the luxury of cooking at home due to work and has to eat outside. Most of the time, it's either rice or noodles. I am really frustrated when doc tell me not to eat too much and not giving me a clear direction what I should do. Should I just take all meat (protein)? That means dining at cafes / restaurants and not food courts.
I take fruits everyday and they said cannot take sweet fruits. What is definition of sweet fruits?

I am going for blood test this weekend for sugar level. Hope everything will be okie.

I am feeling confused and frustrated. My doc keep telling me not to take too much food especially carbohydrates (rice and bread). But I don't understand what the doc mean. I have been taking normal potion of rice / noodles and if I don't take enough, I will feel hungry. So should I take less and endure the hunger? I don't have the luxury of cooking at home due to work and has to eat outside. Most of the time, it's either rice or noodles. I am really frustrated when doc tell me not to eat too much and not giving me a clear direction what I should do. Should I just take all meat (protein)? That means dining at cafes / restaurants and not food courts.
I take fruits everyday and they said cannot take sweet fruits. What is definition of sweet fruits?

I am going for blood test this weekend for sugar level. Hope everything will be okie.

Hug hug... try replacing white rice with brown rice? or take food that can make you feel full longer like oats... basically food with lower GI? make u feel fuller for a longer time as your body is slowly digesting... some examples are listed in this web... http://www.the-gi-diet.org/lowgifoods/

hope this helps! enjoy the food and dun get so stressed up ya? Jia you! few more months to go only...

my girl is at 1kg on 12th Sep (25 weeks) so gynae said slightly big (1kg is supposed to be for 28 weeks bb) so told me to cut back on sugar and milk. so now morning ill have oats with half a spoon of milk powder(meant for pregnant mummies,for flavour) .
Sometimes i'll add a handful of dried cranberries to it. To last till lunch time, i either take a slice of whole meal bread or oat crackers.
Lunch ill try to avoid sweet , fried and rice stuff.
Dinner on certain days i'll cook and i'll take just a handful of rice (cause no one at home eats brown rice so cant invest in brown rice) with veg and fish or meat .
Used to take 2 types of fruits within a day , now cut back to 1 type in the morning, as certain fruits can be high in sugar.
Seeing my gynae again next sat ..hope i manage to maintain my girl's weight (cause mine weight gain is within the normal range. All the nutrients went to her )

Thanks for your advice. I am going for blood test this weekend. I hope I will pass the test. Just worried about the sugar level as my mum has history of diabetes and high blood pressure. Therefore my gynea recommend me to take the blood test and I have to fast 6hrs and take 3 tubes of blood at 3 hr interval. I am trying to control my sugar intake and carbo intake these few days as well.

I also have family history of diabetes. Gynae asked me to fast from 12 to 9am and drink solution at 7am and take blood at clinic at 9am. I hope my sugar level will be ok.

Do like us today to get cute unique stuff for your baby. Also, we are having great promotion on lanterns selling at a super cheap price plus we are selling masks for your kids to combat the haze and Flu season too.

Like us today atwww.facebook.com/precioustotclosets

See you there. Thk u.

Hugs, don't be too stressed out!

I'm like you, I can't avoid carbs or I'll constantly feel famished (and moody), so have to substitute with lower GI carbs. The link @strong_seagull gave you is practically my bible haha. Agree with the rest that oats for breakfast are great for feeling full longer. If no time to cook oats in the morning, can try overnight oats - lots of suggested recipes online - takes only a few minutes to prepare the night before. When eating out, for example, can choose beehoon since its lower in GI compared with white rice or yellow noodles. My go-to is always the yong tau foo stall, get bee hoon then load up with protein-rich tofu, vegetables etc. Food court western food can ask for more side salad no fries. At salad shops, they often have the option of adding quinoa, soba noodles or brown rice to fill you up. At subway can choose either the wrap or the wheat bread. I have to also keep nuts around to snack on cos constantly hungry :/ It's troublesome to keep to the list when eating out, but after a while hopefully you will find a few default stalls to keep returning to. TBH it has been costing me more to eat "better", but no choice cos I'm scared of pricking myself every day in case I get diabetes.

Fruits that taste sweeter like mangoes, papayas, watermelons contain sugars that our bodies need to work harder to break down. Stuff like prunes, dried apricots, kiwis are okay. I also just learnt that we need Vitamin C to better absorb the calcium we consume, so cannot do one without the other. Aye, so many things to remember.

All the best for the blood test!

I understand how you feel. Recently did my glucose test and tested mild diabetes. My family has diabetes background hence Gynae asked to take the test. Immediately I was referred to a specialist in Mt A & a dietitian as well. Currently have to monitor my blood sugar 4X daily.

My baby boy weights 1.6kg at week 29 and gynae say he is abit oversize. Hence I have to watch & control my diet. I was told by the specialist not to cut down on carbo intake as it should make up to 40%. Basically should not have too full meal each time. Avoid sweet & fried stuffs. Have more green vegetable & 2 portions of fruits each day. Dietitian mentioned 1 apple and 1 pear each day is good. If take grapes, only take green and 6 seeds per serving. I take whole grain bread now, low on GI & sugar. Avoid those 3-in-1 instant drinks, take Milo or Horlicks without milk or sugar. Take a 20 mins stroll after each meals.

Hope it helps!

Can I check if it's okie for me to do housework at this stage now? I do simple stuff like vacuuming and mopping. I ask my hubby to help carry heavy pail of water. I take breaks in between to take rest. Anything that I should be avoiding?

Not sure if anyone plan to bank the cord blood, I was hesitating between stemcord and cord lift, no more hesitate anymore now.
I booked a seminar from stemcord month ago, they had confirmed with me about the seats just few days ago, but today after I went there my name became unconfirmed, and they give me a temporary number to go in, however it makes me so confused, they even cannot did the simple registration system well, how they could manage their system, hence I left immediately.

Not sure if anyone plan to bank the cord blood, I was hesitating between stemcord and cord lift, no more hesitate anymore now.
I booked a seminar from stemcord month ago, they had confirmed with me about the seats just few days ago, but today after I went there my name became unconfirmed, and they give me a temporary number to go in, however it makes me so confused, they even cannot did the simple registration system well, how they could manage their system, hence I left immediately.

Is it that bad? I am considering on signing up the cord bank.

Anyone has to face staying alone at home while husband out of country for business trip for weeks? How do you keep yourselves occupied? I tend to feel anxiety when husband not around. Fearing that no one will help me if there is an emergency. Cause left with 11 weeks to go. And I am feeling the stress. But hubby has to go overseas for a few weeks. :(

My husband is planning his trip but worried about me as I am already 29 weeks, but I think it should be fine, I did encourage him to go.

My mum offered to stay over when my hubs went away but I declined :p I kinda liked having the place all to myself. As for emergencies, his family, my family and our close friends were aware he wasn't around. If anything they would have been one phone call away.

My situation is opposite. I am still traveling for work at week 29. Hubby seem to be ok but MIL made noise as she didnt know.

I went back to my mum's place when hubby not ard. More out of boredom den fear or anxiety. Go back can chat wif mum n sis. Heehee.