I didnt identify a specific gynae.. as I'm subsidized patient. But my previous 2 deliveries were from same lady gynae at KKH. Erhmmmm...can't say its comfortable at times. This delivery I didnt think of identifying any gynae. Decided to pop and go home asap

Didnt really keep track but besides seeing gynae, I had to see thyroid specialist to monitor the pregnancy stage.. so it's not gonna be cheap. However I'm adamant to at least claim $450 back from medisave on these Pre-delivery procedure.

I also seeing my thyroid doc at ktph, so far every pregnancy the level went to normal and very good, but 1 yr after delivery sure pop back need take medication. Hope this time round will totally be in control.
U also been having thyroid for couple of years??
If no specific gynae at least can save up a bit... but if u go consultation they jus assign any gynae available on duty?

My gynae bills have easily reached $5k after adding the Harmony test, Oscar test, detail scan, glucose test and the gynae package. This has yet to exclude delivery charges.
I can claim up to $850 from my company.

For my ante natal charges, I haven't really sit down and total up everything. A rough calculation wld be close to 2.5k. And I didnt even take oscar or harmony tests. Lucky can claim 75% of the amt from husband's company. Just that it will take ages to get the amt bank in lah. But no complains. Hehhe...

As for total bill for delivery, again I have yet to really see how much it is. But had a glimpse of it upon discharge the other day, it is ard 6k. That's before medisave. I stayed in a 2 bedder and normal delivery.

For my ante natal charges, I haven't really sit down and total up everything. A rough calculation wld be close to 2.5k. And I didnt even take oscar or harmony tests. Lucky can claim 75% of the amt from husband's company. Just that it will take ages to get the amt bank in lah. But no complains. Hehhe...

As for total bill for delivery, again I have yet to really see how much it is. But had a glimpse of it upon discharge the other day, it is ard 6k. That's before medisave. I stayed in a 2 bedder and normal delivery.

U use any medication during delivery?

I succumbed to epi after 5hrs in labour room. I delivered 2 hrs after that.
I realised the older I am, the lower threshold level of pain I have. I tried to be strong, but I wasn't.
Baby's head was super low that during contractions I wanted to push it out and I was alrdy crying. But I was only 4cm dilated. The nurses kept on asking me not to push, but how!!

So that was when I told my husband that I wanted epidural. (And for it, it cost 700++)

I am also seeing thyroid specialist (endocrologist).. coz i have been feeling cold all days during pregnancy which is very unusual. :(

@nazriah the feeling of baby at the exit is like so near yet so far! Wow ur hubby company very good leh, can claim so much. Mine no benefit. So how u coping so far? Manage to start storing ur expressed bm?

I am also seeing thyroid specialist (endocrologist).. coz i have been feeling cold all days during pregnancy which is very unusual. :(

U got history before preg? Supposedly during preg hormones will tend to change for the better i thought? U not on any medication right? Best not to tk during pregnancy... Hopefully ur thyroid will go off after delivery too!!

No history.. but mine seems I got antibody that cause thyroid problem in the future. So taking medication now once a day and was told its safe for baby.. abit mahfan coz muat take very early morning and cant take supplement until 4hrs later.. can take breakfast only 1hr later.. and it continues for my whole life.. *sweat*

Im jus bk from e baby warehouse sale at AMK...
Went crazy wit my purchases..haha! But not bad...quite happy with my input(to my shopping cart) vs my output (from hubby pocket)..:))

@nazriah the feeling of baby at the exit is like so near yet so far! Wow ur hubby company very good leh, can claim so much. Mine no benefit. So how u coping so far? Manage to start storing ur expressed bm?

Yeah lor... so near and yet so very far! He hehe. ...

I am coping ok. So far so good. From being a whale who walked like a penguin, now I am officially a cow!

Started pumping on Thursday as breasts were sooo lumpy and I can even turn. And the very first pump, in abt half hour of manual pump, managed to get abt almost 90mls. Yest and today managed to get almost 120mls within 20-25mins. I stop at that amt first as I still wanna direct latch and also tired liao manual pump. Will only pump when I buey tahan. Hehhe...
Nipples kinda sore from all the milking. Had my first break out since delivering last night when my left nipple started to bleed during latching. Baby started to cry and I cried along with her.

Other than that, baby still sleeps alot and I get to sleep as well. So ok lah for now.

I am coping ok. So far so good. From being a whale who walked like a penguin, now I am officially a cow!

Started pumping on Thursday as breasts were sooo lumpy and I can even turn. And the very first pump, in abt half hour of manual pump, managed to get abt almost 90mls. Yest and today managed to get almost 120mls within 20-25mins. I stop at that amt first as I still wanna direct latch and also tired liao manual pump. Will only pump when I buey tahan. Hehhe...
Nipples kinda sore from all the milking. Had my first break out since delivering last night when my left nipple started to bleed during latching. Baby started to cry and I cried along with her.

Other than that, baby still sleeps alot and I get to sleep as well. So ok lah for now.
@nazriah, may I ask...
U only start producing milk aft delivery?
Which hsp u delivered at pls?

Dats good produce for such early stages :) jiayou ok!

Btw can use own breastmilk to coat the nipple if cracks or bleeds as alternative to nipple cream.

Yup agree on using breastmilk n let it air dry. @rainsun Can consider medela, lansinoh, avent, organic coconut oil, etc. alot brands in market to consider. Some ppl recommend putting on nipple cream n let to dry before pumping. N apply after pumping to prevent cracks. But i feel must experience the crack (at least once) den nipple more immune to the harsh latching n pumping also. Cos the suction from the pump not everyone can tolerate..

@nazriah, may I ask...
U only start producing milk aft delivery?
Which hsp u delivered at pls?

I was at parkway east with doctor heng tung lan.

I think there were alrdy milk on the first day, but I was just too overwhelmed with everything, crying baby, lots of visitors, inconsiderate next bed patient and visitors, tired and pain, hence I didnt really latch properly and there were lumps and my breasts were heavy. Only the first night, I managed to feed ny baby properly, but still quite lumpy. On my 4th day, I started my massage and got the breasts massage as well (its damn painful but had to do it else they get worst!) And the same night I started pumping and only after that the breasts felt better.
Been using milk to cure the crack nipples but still a lil sore. Some feeds I use nipple shield. It helps a bit tho.

Im jus bk from e baby warehouse sale at AMK...
Went crazy wit my purchases..haha! But not bad...quite happy with my input(to my shopping cart) vs my output (from hubby pocket)..:))
Wow i didnt know there is warehouse sale today though i was in amk.. what did u buy?

I think there were alrdy milk on the first day, but I was just too overwhelmed with everything, crying baby, lots of visitors, inconsiderate next bed patient and visitors, tired and pain, hence I didnt really latch properly and there were lumps and my breasts were heavy. Only the first night, I managed to feed ny baby properly, but still quite lumpy. On my 4th day, I started my massage and got the breasts massage as well (its damn painful but had to do it else they get worst!) And the same night I started pumping and only after that the breasts felt better.
Been using milk to cure the crack nipples but still a lil sore. Some feeds I use nipple shield. It helps a bit tho.
You are so good can produce breast milk on ur first day after delivery.. not everyone as lucky. I hope mine will come as soon as bb needs it.. :)

Do u engage confinement lady or all on ur own?

U ladies doing fine?? I'm encountering like super sore lower back and felt like my thighs are going to give way and detached from body.. my usual big actions are being limited :( my mom says it's cos of the cold drinks that I drink..but kinda can't survive without them..

I too been taking cold drinks..lol. Bad....
I think its amazing how our body works... Like wen baby cry for milk, breast auto will leak out milk..the hormones n emotion all mix up, sure very emo after delivery.

You are so good can produce breast milk on ur first day after delivery.. not everyone as lucky. I hope mine will come as soon as bb needs it.. :)

Do u engage confinement lady or all on ur own?

I am quite surprised as well as ppl always say that milk will only come in on the 3rd or 4th day.

Malays dont normally have confinement ladies to take care after delivery tho. Normally it's just own mother or MIL or most of the time all alone esp for the 2nd or 3rd born.

Even tho I am staying with PIL, I wld say I am all alone tho. MIL never had to look after the other DIL, am the first one to stay with them after delivery and they have no daughter. So she is kinda clueless abt post delivery care. Been cooking my own food since discharged from hospital. Just soups and porridge. Tips I get from my SIL is that just eat and drink enough and try to avoid cili and spices esp for at least the first month.

So far its manageable lah. But frustrating sometimes coz I am staying with lots of ppl but am kinda alone. Lucky husband has been supportive. <3

I am quite surprised as well as ppl always say that milk will only come in on the 3rd or 4th day.

Malays dont normally have confinement ladies to take care after delivery tho. Normally it's just own mother or MIL or most of the time all alone esp for the 2nd or 3rd born.

Even tho I am staying with PIL, I wld say I am all alone tho. MIL never had to look after the other DIL, am the first one to stay with them after delivery and they have no daughter. So she is kinda clueless abt post delivery care. Been cooking my own food since discharged from hospital. Just soups and porridge. Tips I get from my SIL is that just eat and drink enough and try to avoid cili and spices esp for at least the first month.

So far its manageable lah. But frustrating sometimes coz I am staying with lots of ppl but am kinda alone. Lucky husband has been supportive. <3

Don't worry nazriah, u r not alone. We all here cheering u on...plus your loving husband that's most important. Remember to eat well to help you recover quickly!

I already told my husband I will restrict visitors during hospital stay as I want to focus in bs baby and getting enough rest. Don't want unnecessary stress and have to entertain everyone coming to visit.
Nazriah, which brand nipple shield are you using?

@nazriah, Wah.. 4 thumbs up fpr u dear! I dunno how i can cope without my mother later..

Anyone gg baby fair next week?

I wld love to have my mother with me now!! Sometimes can cry thinking abt it. But no choice lah... no more space in my parents place. Well they are staying with my brother to begin with. If there is a lil space there, I wld love to go back there even for few days.
But like they say... beggars can't be choosers... if only my flat is ready! Things wld be different!

I already told my husband I will restrict visitors during hospital stay as I want to focus in bs baby and getting enough rest. Don't want unnecessary stress and have to entertain everyone coming to visit.
Nazriah, which brand nipple shield are you using?

I wish I can restrict the visitors... but those who came were immediate family members. And me being the eldest daughter. .. and giving birth to a girl... its kinda anticipated within the family. My parents have 8 grandchildren with only ONE granddaughter (she's 14yrs this year!) before mine. So, just imagine the wait for another girl in the family! I cant blame them tho.

For nipple shield I am using pigeon. Dunno what other brands there are in the market tho. Just learned abt the existence of nipple shield on my 3rd day and got my husband to go kiddy palace to get it the next day. He said only that was available. 13mm nipple shield.

I wish I can restrict the visitors... but those who came were immediate family members. And me being the eldest daughter. .. and giving birth to a girl... its kinda anticipated within the family. My parents have 8 grandchildren with only ONE granddaughter (she's 14yrs this year!) before mine. So, just imagine the wait for another girl in the family! I cant blame them tho.

For nipple shield I am using pigeon. Dunno what other brands there are in the market tho. Just learned abt the existence of nipple shield on my 3rd day and got my husband to go kiddy palace to get it the next day. He said only that was available. 13mm nipple shield.

Haha every one must be so excited to see ur lovely bb girl naz. She's beautiful :)

Ok I will go check out the nipple shield later. I also didn't know until u mentioned it.

hi dear..
if u want to have a change of food and interested in ordering halal confinement food...u can look for sizzling diyana in fb...

Did not plan to order but my sis insist on ordering for me 10days worth of confinement food for starters coz she knew i am staying alone and might have difficulty cooking for the first few days...lol

Since sister sponsoring y not right? Anyways...u are not alone. You have us here :)

hi dear..
if u want to have a change of food and interested in ordering halal confinement food...u can look for sizzling diyana in fb...

Did not plan to order but my sis insist on ordering for me 10days worth of confinement food for starters coz she knew i am staying alone and might have difficulty cooking for the first few days...lol

Since sister sponsoring y not right? Anyways...u are not alone. You have us here :)

Thanks for the heads up... but food wise, ok lah.. i think i can manage. Hehhe... am quite fussy in my food choices tho. Hehhe.... so I shld be able to cook some simple comfort food for myself for at least till the next couple of weeks. If all fails.. there are always cereals and bread!

Haha every one must be so excited to see ur lovely bb girl naz. She's beautiful :)

Ok I will go check out the nipple shield later. I also didn't know until u mentioned it.

The nipple shield helps abit lah. To me, its like condom for the nipple. Hehhehe... its good got short or inverted nipples.

Imagine for 37 years, my nipples have always been protuding out... and then the first day of me being a mother only to be told that my nipples are inverted! And when I looked at them, they were really2 short, almost gone. How sad can that be?! Hahhaha

I was in denial when the nurse said so... I rebutted her by saying..."no, they are not inverted!"
Hahhaha... then only when seeing them, I kept quiet! Hahhaha

Glad to know ur hubby has been supportive, cos can get really emo during initial stages!

But I feel someone in the hse, anyone in fact, does help when taking care of a newborn. I was alone taking care of my #1 for ard 4-5 months, very hard to go toilet or shower or pump. Foodwise i ordered tingkat so still ok. But when bb cries nonstop and you really need a break, someone ard helps.

Naz i tink can jus request for them to help. Keep a watch over e bb when you need to shower or wat. Good luck!

Talking abt being emo.... seeing taufik batisah wedding photos can make me cry yesterday. Hahhahhaa..... sooo beautiful!

MIL do help out abit lah.. esp if I want to shower or go toilet. But normally baby wld be sleeping whenever I need to go.

I just feel that sometimes PIL can help with a lil bit more (which I myself dont know what more they can help with!)
Make sense or not?!

On the other note, my parents came for visit just now. Yey! Even tho its just for a few hours.

Talking abt being emo.... seeing taufik batisah wedding photos can make me cry yesterday. Hahhahhaa..... sooo beautiful!

MIL do help out abit lah.. esp if I want to shower or go toilet. But normally baby wld be sleeping whenever I need to go.

I just feel that sometimes PIL can help with a lil bit more (which I myself dont know what more they can help with!)
Make sense or not?!

On the other note, my parents came for visit just now. Yey! Even tho its just for a few hours.

Sometimes less is more, more is less.. I aso duno what can my in law help with.. Even my mum stays with me i aso duno what i can do without her..

U bathe daily during confinement?

I told my photographer i not in hurry cos mine is jus family pic, so will wait for the pic to be ready after shooting the newborn..
Yeah I booked both maternity and NB shoot. For the printed copies it will come together with NB shoot for my package. But I got them to send me all of my high res soft copies so I can have random screen saver on my lappie.. Hurhur.. Narcissistic

How much ur package.... Can get back all d pics... So good

Any mummies sense their tummy drop abit? Mine like move towards bottom. Is it a sign to give birth soon? Experiencing cramps a few times in a day too

Sometimes less is more, more is less.. I aso duno what can my in law help with.. Even my mum stays with me i aso duno what i can do without her..

U bathe daily during confinement?

Yeaps.. daily shower.. before massage. hot shower that is. Sometimes afternoon/evening I just wash up a bit... to clean the jamu from massage. If I lazy, I just use the wet wipes.

With the weather hot the past few days, I cant imagine not showering.
Even tho I am not really that pantang... but I dont really spend long showering. I wish I can have cold shower in this kinda weather... but. .. can feel the 'cold' even from normal temperature tap water. So, just need extra care lah.

After shower I make sure my feet is covered with socks or at least bedroom slippers.

Yeaps.. daily shower.. before massage. hot shower that is. Sometimes afternoon/evening I just wash up a bit... to clean the jamu from massage. If I lazy, I just use the wet wipes.

With the weather hot the past few days, I cant imagine not showering.
Even tho I am not really that pantang... but I dont really spend long showering. I wish I can have cold shower in this kinda weather... but. .. can feel the 'cold' even from normal temperature tap water. So, just need extra care lah.

After shower I make sure my feet is covered with socks or at least bedroom slippers.

Do u apply clarins oil? I hav been applying regularly haha.. some said its useless some said its super important! :)

I think I am not so pantang too.. already preempt my mom I will wash hair and bathe with warm water as usual. Guess she bo pian.

@nazriah, Wah.. 4 thumbs up fpr u dear! I dunno how i can cope without my mother later..

Anyone gg baby fair next week?

Yes I will be going. Gg to get stroller. My last big item.

Anyone using pigeon sterilizer? My friend just hand me hers but found the basket holder inside with residue and a bit blackish. Wondering if possible to brush it off or does pigeon sells only the holder for replacement?

My co. can claim only $1800

So good. My previous company can claim $5000 but too bad now I'm not working. My hubby's company can't claim too. My gynae fees so far including harmony test, blood test, glucose etc... Plus deposit for delivery is already $8000. Can't imagine my total bill after delivery. My initial 4 months was unstable so have to see gynae every 2 weeks and no package then. Pregnancy is so ex.