(2014/10) Oct 2014 Mummies

I think it's an okay weight range...? Shld be okay I guess. Maybe just eat more proteins like you said, and make abit more carbs? But I think it's nothing to worry too much about. It shouldn't be a problem. Cheer up ok!!

thanks beac :) i think my gynae is also a bit conservative (he measured and measured the bb's weight sooo many times) so i'm trying to stay positive!

I have the same worry..and gynae also seems a bit concerned. Bb's weight is only 1.1-1.2kg at 30wks, around 5th percentile, when it should be 1.5kg. I've been trying to eat more protein like cheese, eggs, milk etc. hopefully that will help coz i really dislike durians hahah

My baby is also the same weight as yours. But gynae thinks it could b genetic cos I m small size n so is my hubs. I have been on a very high protein diet since second tri so to me I feel it's probably not a nutrient problem. My main suspect could b stress, since my job is quite stressful n I walk a lot so you might want to take it easy too. Don't worry most babies catch up even if small at birth :)

Yea my #1 was also small at birth which is possibly genetic (me and hubby are small as well). I was quite stressed at work when expecting #1, but now i'm a SAHM and still cannot take it easy! haha. I don't feel so mentally stressed now but always got things to do...

And yea I agree, my #1 ended up being a super chubby baby! I'm just worried that gynae will make me induce if this bb is too small and not growing in the tummy :(

Agaga and lervia: thanks for the advice.... both myself and Hubby would like to seek for 2nd opinion coz my son can see far... so my Husband is not convince that he required glasses.. he doesn't want my son to depend on the glasses..

Yea my #1 was also small at birth which is possibly genetic (me and hubby are small as well). I was quite stressed at work when expecting #1, but now i'm a SAHM and still cannot take it easy! haha. I don't feel so mentally stressed now but always got things to do...

And yea I agree, my #1 ended up being a super chubby baby! I'm just worried that gynae will make me induce if this bb is too small and not growing in the tummy :(

I also have the same worry as you, that I might need to be induced. But I heard that as long as LO is growing at a steady rate even though still smaller than the average, gynae will not have gd reason to take the baby out. As long as we continue to eat healthy n rest well I think it should be fine :) although I m still nervous for my scan at 32 weeks but trying to psycho myself that as long as she is healthy small also never mind

Went to gynae check up last wk, everything is ok but need to go for GTT test this wk, coz worried hv diabetic...:(
I was in wk 33 with bb weight 2.2kg, doc said ok....so i saw d EDD has push earlier 1 wk (15 oct to 8 oct)...
now need to control sugary diet....bye2 ice cream....

Haha.. ice cream... I had been coughing last week so totally din take cold drink and ice cream. Then I realised my knee cap no more pain. Always thought the pain came from my heavy body weight!

My lower back aches! And it stretched down to the butt bone/tigh area when I sit up or get up from bed. Hahah. Getting heavier everyday. :(
My weakness is DARK CHOCOLATES. I like ice cream too hehehe.

Ya me too! Lower back especially pain, almost got to stop walking. Pelvis getting more pain. Makes me very reluctant to get up from bed or from sitting position. These few days walk really slow and need to hold tummy, sometimes got to 'press n hold' my private part cos very painful.

Yeah I get the pelvic ache on and off also. Mostly when I pee!! Lol. Feel like the baby wanna come out. So funny. But gynae told me nth to worry as long as my tummy is not hard or contracting. Lol. Yeah, I can't walk for long also now. Walk also like tortoise so slow. -.- haha.
I did some stretching and yoga poses, which does help me to battle the aches and pain. Maybe you can try??

Haha.. Your symptoms very similar to mine... I even had problems turning in bed!!

Agaga and lervia: thanks for the advice.... both myself and Hubby would like to seek for 2nd opinion coz my son can see far... so my Husband is not convince that he required glasses.. he doesn't want my son to depend on the glasses..

My kid needs glasses too. She has been on them since 2.5yo. According to her eye specialists kids compensate v well. So there is no such thing as cannot see. But will affect muscles in the long run. But after fitting glasses there is also issue of compliance. Cos not every kid will wear it consistently. Once on it u Hv to b consistent else will make the muscles worse. If u don't fit now there is always a risk of getting worse without u knowing.

We got a second opinion and all say the same. If u r interested can go for eye therapy also. But it is considered not medical but an alternative treatment.

Haha.. Your symptoms very similar to mine... I even had problems turning in bed!!
Me three! I used to have backaches but they just disappeared. Now only pelvic and vaginal area pain every time I move from one position to another. Getting up from lying or sitting position is also a problem. Everyone comment my tummy is super big now. Like gonna give birth anytime but still got 1 1/2 more mths to go!

Yeah I get the pelvic ache on and off also. Mostly when I pee!! Lol. Feel like the baby wanna come out. So funny. But gynae told me nth to worry as long as my tummy is not hard or contracting. Lol. Yeah, I can't walk for long also now. Walk also like tortoise so slow. -.- haha.
I did some stretching and yoga poses, which does help me to battle the aches and pain. Maybe you can try??

Hi beac, can share what type of stretching / yoga poses we can do? i like to crack my back. lol.. but dont think it is advisable.
Think all of us walk like tortoise now, can only do online shopping. :)

Leocub, I still manage to crack my back every night on bed. Lie down sideway lift leg to side and crack. But during my #2, I can't do it amymore when I reach ard 5th mth preg.

Hi beac, can share what type of stretching / yoga poses we can do? i like to crack my back. lol.. but dont think it is advisable.
Think all of us walk like tortoise now, can only do online shopping. :)

Ok
For back can do:
ImageUploadedByForum1408959307.364461.jpg

This is child pose. Make sure you open your knees very wide apart and big tummy cannot touch the floor. If it's touching you must move your bum upwards so tummy doesn't touch the ground.

ImageUploadedByForum1408959726.817815.jpg

Legs wide apart like shoulder length. Then hands against wall and push straight to release tension on lower back.

ImageUploadedByForum1408959381.402573.jpg
ImageUploadedByForum1408959387.161362.jpg

Alternate between these 2 pose to relax your back/spine muscles. When arching your back you don't stuck in your tummy. Just point shoulder blades upwards. Cannot exert pressure on tummy. So one pose is up, when bum face down abit then when relaxing - bum turn up abit.

ImageUploadedByForum1408959454.924930.jpg

We cannot crack out backs but can do this pose to stretch our back muscles.

ImageUploadedByForum1408959493.019145.jpg
ImageUploadedByForum1408959498.377251.jpg

This is side stretch. I do with one leg stretched out to the side and the other leg cross/tuck in. Then side of tummy cannot press down on leg. Just turn outwards, so tummy doesn't press down... So if leaning to left, turn your tummy more to front-right side so your tummy don't press on on your left leg.

ImageUploadedByForum1408959646.814136.jpg

This one is good for hip widening. Promote easy birth. Next picture also
same.
ImageUploadedByForum1408959697.147857.jpg

Hope these helps and that you can understand my explanation. Lol!!! This is what I learnt from my yoga classes. There's more but hard to find pics and to explain the rest leh. Hahaha.

Me three! I used to have backaches but they just disappeared. Now only pelvic and vaginal area pain every time I move from one position to another. Getting up from lying or sitting position is also a problem. Everyone comment my tummy is super big now. Like gonna give birth anytime but still got 1 1/2 more mths to go!

My tummy not very big but had pelvic pain since ard 27weeks.. On and off.. Sometime more pain, sometimes less.. But always on the left of pubic bone...

Hi Tiffany,
I went for GTT test at week 28. Results show I have gestational diabetes.Followed the diet & exercise plan given for 2 weeks.I lost 2 kg. And BB gain 1kg.All nutrients go to BB.KKH still ask me inject insulin as the blood glucose reading still high.I refuse and talk to my gynae.Gynae say stop following plans cos now BB slightly big.Eat when I hungry.opt for low fat, Hi-cal food.Now I coming 32 week, Bb is around 2.3kg.now i eat till I dun feel hungry and stop.My blood glucose reading all pass:)

I'm having pelvic pain too, started since 32 weeks pregnancy. Today visit my gynae & he said it's normal esp for #2 pregnancy. This time round baby weight is more ideal at 2.7kg @ 34 weeks 5 days. Next routine check up will be next week which is weekly basis. Getting more & more excited.. :)

I'm now 31 weeks. Tmr my appt :) excited to see how's the baby growth. Worried my doc tell me I put on too much though. Hahaha.
After that should be 2 weeks interval till my last month. Then weekly appts.
Yeah pelvic pain is common I guess.

I'm now 34 weeks and just noticed i have brown discharge but no contraction. called gyne ask me to see him 2molo. not sure it is because i walk too much?

@beac

I don't really gained much since 30 weeks pregnancy. This time I only gained 500g which is ideal for me. But overall I'm 83.5kg.. OMG! At least my LO is absorbing all the nutrients.

I'm now 34 weeks and just noticed i have brown discharge but no contraction. called gyne ask me to see him 2molo. not sure it is because i walk too much?

Oh, I suggest u to consult your gynae asap. I remembered I have slightly spotting too during my #1 pregnancy & after a week, I experienced contraction. My #1 was born earlier at 38weeks.

May also due to long walking hours or not enough rest. Do consult your gynae & update us ya! Don't worry too much yet. U will be fine..

Me four... think i walked too much during the baby fair.. lower back and down to butt aching.. ytd i took mc to rest and slp.. haha..
Recently, althu i get hungry more easily but i losing appetite.. crave for sweet stuff.. same as beac n agaga... ice cream!

Weekly appointment starts week 35 or 37? My friend told me by week 37, can be counted as full term and can get ready anytime.. make me so nervous..

Yup by week 37 is considered full term . Baby can come anytime. I m feelIng the excitement even though I have 1.5 mth to go. Mine appt is still 4 weeks interval. Last visit was week 31, next visit will be week 34-35

Hi Tiffany,
I went for GTT test at week 28. Results show I have gestational diabetes.Followed the diet & exercise plan given for 2 weeks.I lost 2 kg. And BB gain 1kg.All nutrients go to BB.KKH still ask me inject insulin as the blood glucose reading still high.I refuse and talk to my gynae.Gynae say stop following plans cos now BB slightly big.Eat when I hungry.opt for low fat, Hi-cal food.Now I coming 32 week, Bb is around 2.3kg.now i eat till I dun feel hungry and stop.My blood glucose reading all pass:)
Hi Kitty,

Thanks for sharing...actually i m quite worried too coz my #2, i hv gestational diabetic, took d diabetic medicine...n bcoz of this history, my gynae ask me for GTT test for my #3....mind to share what u normally eat for lunch and dinner?...i always hv no idea of what to eat for my dinner....:)
so for this wk, i try control my diet not to take too much 'sweety' food....

Breakfast i only eat wheat bread/strawberry jam or oatmeal,lunch eat d normal food n hwker center hahahaha,dn dinner i try to eat lesser.how about u mommies wht u usually eat?

Actually I only take 2 meals, morning a bowl of noodles, evening half bowl of rice. This is usually my eating pattern before pregnant. Sometimes in between if hungry will eat something light like bao, queh, bread, biscuit plus milo. Ice cream is usually after dinner craving. I don't think I eat alot leh. Still, weight is increasing everyday.

Weekly appointment starts week 35 or 37? My friend told me by week 37, can be counted as full term and can get ready anytime.. make me so nervous..

For my gynae, it will be when I'm at the last month then it's weekly appt. so I think it's around 35 weeks?

For my gynae is start from 36 weeks is weekly visit. Next week will go for my routine check up agn.

Morning I only eat bread or biscuits with milo/HL. Simple lunch without rice or mee. Dinner is cooked by MIL with less rice. Late night after 10pm always craving for sweet stuff too. Etc, ice cream, M&M.. Hehe!

Breakfast i only eat wheat bread/strawberry jam or oatmeal,lunch eat d normal food n hwker center hahahaha,dn dinner i try to eat lesser.how about u mommies wht u usually eat?
@ Rhonna

Yes, i almost eat same like u...bf (bread or noodles or McD during weekend), lunch (mix rice or noodles), dinner (normally noodles or porridge or zhi char), but sometimes dinner will take subway, or fast food....but everyday will hv at least 1 or 2 serving of fruits (guava, rock melon or apples)....n i drink lots of water...probably it's bcoz outside food lots of MSG, that's y sooooo thirsty...:p

@beac, thanks for sharing. will go try it out. Doesnt look difficult.

@agaga, u dont seem to eat much leh. i usually still stick to my 3 meals. Bkfast usu is bread / cereal / bao. Lunch usual hawker fare. Dinner mainly meat /fish / vege but reduced carbo. But got sweet tooth lah, in between will sneak in a bubble tea / ice cream / yogurt.

@angel_loi, thats a good weight for week 34.

So exciting.. most of the mommies are near 34 weeks now.. Hope u all get the things ready.

Breakfast: I'll have 1-2 cups of milk, sometimes peanut butter or Nutella sandwich, sometimes hard boiled egg or cereals.
Lunch: I just eat foodcourt type of food cos I go work and normally drink ice tea.
If I get hungry ard 3-4pm, I snack on either biscuits or a prepack sandwich or afew cubes of dark chocolate haha.
Dinner: I eat whatever my mil cook for me at home.

Inbetween I drink a lot of water. And I drink my earth mama heartburn organic tea if I get heartburn. If not I'm drinking the third trimester tea.

In afew weeks time when I'm near 32-33 weeks I will start drinking raspberry tea. Anyone gg to drink raspberry tea? Heard it promotes a less painful delivery. Then later on for the last month I will drink coconut water.

@beac, you are so well planned.
What's 3rd tri tea? i'm intending to drink coconut water too..but nearer to birthdate. scared it will cause contractions.

Hi Kitty,

Thanks for sharing...actually i m quite worried too coz my #2, i hv gestational diabetic, took d diabetic medicine...n bcoz of this history, my gynae ask me for GTT test for my #3....mind to share what u normally eat for lunch and dinner?...i always hv no idea of what to eat for my dinner....:)
so for this wk, i try control my diet not to take too much 'sweety' food....

Tiffany,
My diet are mostly sweet,fried stuff during pregnancy and also have family history of diabetes.So doc say i must test lor...

For dinner,i usually eat brown rice, bee hoon, congee,kuay teow,wheat pasta or bee tai bak as the source of carbo (Try not to eat yellow noodles, ban mian,mee pok,mee sua all these)
meat : chicken/fish/pork(they recommend dun take red meat) or change it to tau kwa/tau hu/tempeh
large portion of veg : leafy vegetables( I eating bitter gourd, it does help to reduce blood glucose but not everyday cos it nature is cooling)
Fruits : Green fruits like Guava(I find the effect good), green apples (I noticed my blood glucose level go high when i eat red color fruits so i take them when i dun need to record the blood glucose level:)) Of course, no durian

reduce starchy vegetables like potato,sweet potato,pumpkin,sweet corn,tapioca,lotus root (if u take them, reduce carbo portion)

oh ya, take Hi-cal low fat milk... or skim milk... better also...

by the way,did ur gestational diabetes go away straight after ur #2 pop?

@kitty, why cannot take red meat?

Those going for natural, any idea if you in the delivery suite for >12 hours, will the hospi charge extra? by hour?
i went for Mt E novena tour, they dont have a waiting area. once admitted, they will put u in a delivery suite and the clock start ticking. After 12 hours, charge by per hour lor. Is it the same as other hospi?

@kitty

yes, my diabetes went away once #2 pop out....my gynae said due to this, this round #3 pregnancies hv to do GTT (this wk), so i dare not take red bean soup n ice cream (both r my fav and craving)....my gynae oso said when i grow older, my possibility of diabetic is high coz i hv records during my pregnancy :(

wah ur diet looked healthy leh...:)

for me, breakfast: i everyday take pregnancy milk powder + [whole meal bread (peanut butter, butter and kaya or slice cheese) OR econ noodles with fully fried egg]
lunch: mix rice (spinach, tofu, chicken/pork) OR mee hoon kuey OR yong tau foo OR mee soto OR chic rice
dinner: porridge with spinach, tofu, chicken/pork and egg OR Subway OR fast food OR zhi char (yee mee or fried rice)
but recently dunno y, i dun hv any idea for dinner leh...m hungry but dunno eat what...probably need to take some soupy food...

do u know where to get coconut water?...very difficult to find leh...most supermarkets or food court sells de is the Thai fragrance coconut (with preservative)...m looking for 1 whole coconut with skin de....u know where?

Those going for natural, any idea if you in the delivery suite for >12 hours, will the hospi charge extra? by hour?
i went for Mt E novena tour, they dont have a waiting area. once admitted, they will put u in a delivery suite and the clock start ticking. After 12 hours, charge by per hour lor. Is it the same as other hospi?
@leocub

each labor is different..some ppl take >8 hours (normally 1st bb)...then subsequent bb will take abt 2-6 hours ....
dun think hospital will charge extra ba...v cannot control right?...when bb 1 2 come ...:)

Just saw my gynae. Now I'm 31weeks baby is 1.88kg. But I'm 68kg!! Ahhaah. She say baby weight gd but I'm gaining abit too much. :(
Hahaha. Oh boy.
Now gg into every 2 weeks appt until my last month.

@Tiffanytei I get coconut water from ntuc or from my house nearby the petrol kiosk haha.
It's the can drink type. From Thailand 100% coconut water with chucks of coconut. I forgot what brand. If I go and buy and I take pic. :)

@leocub

each labor is different..some ppl take >8 hours (normally 1st bb)...then subsequent bb will take abt 2-6 hours ....
dun think hospital will charge extra ba...v cannot control right?...when bb 1 2 come ...:)

Yeah I agree. Every labour is different.
My hospital I choose is Mt Alvernia. They have a waiting area till you're about to deliver, then they will transfer you to delivery ward.

I went for maternity tour at Mt E novena too. Yes, after >12 hours, they charged ard $26 per hour if I'm not wrong. I heard Mt A charged $20 every half an hour? Is that true? I can't remember the charges during my # 1 at Mt. A

@beac

During my #1 with Mt. A, I was admitted directly to delivery ward leh.. Hmmp.. Where's the waiting area? I guess waiting area is for those dilated lesser? By that time I admitted is already dilated 5cm but end up still take 16 hours.

@beac

During my #1 with Mt. A, I was admitted directly to delivery ward leh.. Hmmp.. Where's the waiting area? I guess waiting area is for those dilated lesser? By that time I admitted is already dilated 5cm but end up still take 16 hours.

I was dilated only like 3cm so I guess they put me at the waiting area. It's in a corner of the delivery ward there. Wah 16 hours! I took I think... 11 hours? From waiting area to delivery.

Later I'm gg for the maternity tour at mt Alvernia! I will see if they say anything on the charges for the delivery ward/waiting area.

Ya.. think most NTUC should sell those fresh young thai coconut. *slurp*

My 1st is at TMC.. also waiting area first, the into delivery ward. Didnt' stay for > 12 hours though. But if includes the time at waiting area, then got >12 hours.
Mt E novena no waiting area. So a bit worried about the extra charges.

Can any mommy remember what is the range of PD charge if the hospi allocate a PD to you for the 1st few days you r in hospi? i'm still thinking if i shd appt my normal pd or just let the hospi decide. Thanks!