(2014/08) August 2014

Hi mummies ~

Just send my daughter go infant care...omg.. can't stop crying.. I mean me..my bb look sad..den want to cry also...bi cui (hokkien )..so heartbroken to see her like that... T_T

Can't bear to see her photos although I wan to ...but scare will cry more..wait the ppl @ train tot I got what problem...

don't worry. babies this age adapt very fast. she'll be in good hands. another 4hrs more u can see her liao. cheer up! :)

Thank you mummies for yr encouragement!!

Later will ask my hubby how is she when he go pick her up..coz I scare she dun wan sleep when in an unfamiliar environment...

Just now call hubby, both of them also sleeping (cox hubby on nite shift last nite ), so can't ask much...

Can't wait for knock off time!!

T.G.I.F. mummies ~~ :)

Thanks mummies.

How about babies in IFC? Do they have specific nap timings ah?

Asking cos... I usually put my boy down for a nap every 2 hours. He naps about an hour max then wakes up. But if I nurse him again he will go back to sleep. Wondering if I should just let him wake up or allow him to go back and sleep leh? Haha

Any other babies having sleep regression?

He's been at it for 3 weeks and counting. Wakes up every 1-1.5 hours at night. Hai. Good nights he gives me a 3-4 hour sleep in between, then continues waking up every hour

Thanks mummies.

Asking cos... I usually put my boy down for a nap every 2 hours. He naps about an hour max then wakes up. But if I nurse him again he will go back to sleep. Wondering if I should just let him wake up or allow him to go back and sleep leh? Haha

He's been at it for 3 weeks and counting. Wakes up every 1-1.5 hours at night. Hai. Good nights he gives me a 3-4 hour sleep in between, then continues waking up every hour
Mine too having this problem. Lo will wake up every 1-2 hr. Super tiring. I hv to either carry her or latch her. Not sure when she is able to sleep for longer time.

Thanks mummies.

my boy is in IFC. they don't have fix routine/schedule. the babies will sleep & eat when they want. some days he will nap a lot, some days he will nap very little. but most impt is he sleeps well at night, thou not thro the night yet. he feeds every 3-4hrs. so will feed then sleep ard 10pm then feed at ard 3am & 6am. but he will feed then immediately go back sleep, so still manageable.

is ur boy sleeping too much during the day? or maybe he's hungry or teething? or u can try give pacifier so that he can soothe himself to sleep?

anyone started weaning yet?

my boy is 5mths now. probably gonna start him on some rice cereal at 5.5-6mths.

the weaning process is super tedious. sigh. still remember the days when I got to make purée & cook porridge after work everyday/wkends & pack food whenever we go out for my elder one. think liao sianz. sigh.

He used to sleep 5-6 hours from 930pm. Then suddenly hourly wakings. Now no more bedtime timing liao.

Cannot leh. He doesn't take pacifier. OK la hope this sleep regression goes away soon

Same here. Dun knw when my lo can slp through. Previously he can woke up every 4 hourly for milk. Now back to 3 hourly again. Then also dun know why sometimes he can just suddenly cry n scream so loud. He can cry for a good 15 mins. No matter how we carry, pat, rock and latch. it just didn't help. This kind of situation already happened 3 times. Damn stressful lah :(

the weaning process is super tedious. sigh. still remember the days when I got to make purée & cook porridge after work everyday/wkends & pack food whenever we go out for my elder one. think liao sianz. sigh.

And I was thinking things will be easier once baby starts on semi solids lol!

My milk supply recently dipped and my boy is on total bm due to an allergy to cow's milk and soy. So I can't wait to start cereals to take a bit of stress off. Is it okay to start him on brown rice powder or cereals at 20 weeks?

I'm thinking of weaning my boy soon. He's about 5 months now. Want to ask experienced mummies what to introduce first? Rice cereal? And how many times a day when first introducing?

Do you buy commercial rice cereal products or make your own?

Thanks mummies!

My milk supply recently dipped and my boy is on total bm due to an allergy to cow's milk and soy. So I can't wait to start cereals to take a bit of stress off. Is it okay to start him on brown rice powder or cereals at 20 weeks?

20 weeks sounds abit early leh. nowadays the recommendation is 6 mths. probably u shld check with ur PD ba.

I'm thinking of weaning my boy soon. He's about 5 months now. Want to ask experienced mummies what to introduce first? Rice cereal? And how many times a day when first introducing?

Do you buy commercial rice cereal products or make your own?

Thanks mummies!

I start with (brown) rice cereal first coz suppose to be least likely to get an allergic reaction. for a start, just give once a day in very watery form, then slowly build up the texture & increase frequency.

I prefer organic brands like happy bellies, Bellamy, healthy times, organix, etc. I started my elder one with happy bellies brown rice cereal. juz bought a box of healthy times brown rice cereal from ntuc last night for my younger one. more convenient la.

btw, there r some cereal that comes with milk added in it & u juz got to add water kind. e.g. friscocream. u need to avoid those since ur boy allergic to cow milk.

Same here. Dun knw when my lo can slp through. Previously he can woke up every 4 hourly for milk. Now back to 3 hourly again. Then also dun know why sometimes he can just suddenly cry n scream so loud. He can cry for a good 15 mins. No matter how we carry, pat, rock and latch. it just didn't help. This kind of situation already happened 3 times. Damn stressful lah :(

Same! Screams and cries suddenly. But when I carry and sing he calms down. No one else carry can calm him down. So I've become even more sensitive about letting him out of my sight.

Last night he couldnt even enter deep sleep. He kept waking up every 30 mins. Zzzzzzz zzzzzzz

Think brain too over wired liao.

Same! Screams and cries suddenly. But when I carry and sing he calms down. No one else carry can calm him down. So I've become even more sensitive about letting him out of my sight.

Last night he couldnt even enter deep sleep. He kept waking up every 30 mins. Zzzzzzz zzzzzzz

Think brain too over wired liao.

same. my boy will scream & cry suddenly. usually within half hr after putting him down to sleep. and he only calms down when I carry & rock him to sleep. other ppl cannot. so I'll juz carry him for another 20-30mins then put him down again. I think quite normal, most likely due to night terrors (due to developmental growth) or teething ba. my elder one used to be like this too until abt 1.5yo ba. worse still, got to carry him (standing/sitting) for 1-2hrs then can put him down. that's y end up co-sleep until now.

I start with (brown) rice cereal first coz suppose to be least likely to get an allergic reaction. for a start, just give once a day in very watery form, then slowly build up the texture & increase frequency.

I prefer organic brands like happy bellies, Bellamy, healthy times, organix, etc. I started my elder one with happy bellies brown rice cereal. juz bought a box of healthy times brown rice cereal from ntuc last night for my younger one. more convenient la.[/QUOTE

Thanks so much for the advice Kopibeanie! Will look out for the brown rice cereal

I prefer organic brands like happy bellies, Bellamy, healthy times, organix, etc. I started my elder one with happy bellies brown rice cereal. juz bought a box of healthy times brown rice cereal from ntuc last night for my younger one. more convenient la.
Do u gv prorridge as well? Or juz rice cereal as a start?

for my elder one I started him on rice cereal at 5.5mths, then rice cereal + purée at 6mths, then porridge + purée at 8mths, then porridge + diced ingredients at abt 10mths. abit slow compared to others. I know some start porridge at 5mths & don't even eat cereal. but I didn't want to rush him to start solids. I usually let him try 1 new food for a whole week, tats y take so long to intro a variety of food. also partly lazy & no time la. I usually prepare the purée/ diced ingredients during wkends then freeze & eat for the whole week.

most likely will do the same for younger one. but got to see how he copes with it & adjust accordingly la. my younger one got feeding problem. super distracted when drinking milk, esp during day time. can take up to 1hr, & stop & feed 3-4 times before he finishes 1 bottle. sigh. dunno how he's gonna react to solids. keeping fingers crossed.

my boy is at My First Skool. infant care is from 2-18mths. toddler is from 18mths-2+yo. the infant teacher ratio shld be 1:5 according to guidelines (https://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/uploads/Infant_Care_Guidelines.pdf). for his centre, they usually have 3 teachers to max 10 babies, & the infant grp don't mix with the toddler grp. the babies at infant grp don't follow a schedule (i.e. no fix feeding/napping time) unlike the toddler grp onwards, but the infant teachers will slowly train the babies to follow the schedule once the babies reach ard 15mths.

Hi. Can I ask when is the earliest time to do the preliminary reg for infant care at My First Skool?

as soon as u know u r pregnant. so that u'll be ahead in the waitlist. just fill in the details to ur best knowledge (most impt is the date u want to start & ur own contact details) then can call them to update once details r confirmed.

Yeap.. I remember I was 12 weeks preg and no slot at all. Till my baby was 3 mths old then I got a call saying available but I go with Nanny since I have paid and confirmed and I never regret my choice.

Hi mummies, did u all get car seat for ur lo?
I'm currently using maxi cosi infant car seat.
Wana get another one since he'll outgrow the infant one soon.
Any recommendations?

Hi lululee, then what milk are you giving him now?

He is on full breast milk now. When supply was bad I tried a cow's milk free and soy free formula recommended by the pd but baby hates it. So now we're back to bm. Luckily supply came back phew. I just have to avoid dairy and soy in my diet.

Any recommendations?

I'm using maxi cosi opal. also got a maxi cosi carbriofix & priori sps for my mum's car. britax not bad too.

Any recommendations?

I'm using maxi cosi opal. also got a maxi cosi carbriofix & priori sps for my mum's car. britax not bad too.

Hi all, can you recommend any good confinement nanny in term of cooking confInement, helping some simple homework and clean and tidy. If possible can I have the contact and name? Currently looking for one in 2015. Thanks

Hi mummies, any recommendations for a good nanny to look aft my 5 mth plus bb at Cck area?
I m currently having a nanny to look aft my bb. But e nanny keep asking me to buy a walker over, where my bb can't even sit now. N she still threatening me, saying if u don't buy e walker over, I won't help u to look aft ur bb. Sigh... So irresponsible.
Thx in advaced for e recommendations.

Actually can sit on walker already. Unless u don't like the idea of sitting in one..

But again. . NANNY threaten for whatever reason isn't good at all.. its up to the parents not to nanny for all these accessories. A walker is not a must but more like a need..

can sit walker already once baby can support his head well. old ppl prefer to use the walker coz can let the baby roam ard by himself, don't need keep on entertaining him. my grandma, parents & MIL also keep on nagging me to get a walker last time, but I didn't let my boy use one coz read somewhere that it might delay him from learning to walk & cause him to walk on tip toes. I got a jumperoo instead. good to keep him entertained for 5-10mins, but not recommended for long periods of use.

My mil...want the bamboo chair whereby can flip over become baby chair retro type.. and said will walk naturally will know how to walk.. eat porridge also said will eat naturally will know how to eat...

So baby walker is totally out for my mil! -_-|||

Been using play station for weeks now. He enjoys it~ We place a pillow between his stomach and the station so that we feel safer for him (since he started off not being very strong with his back/neck area).

I feel that he is learning how to support his weight on his legs cos of the play station.

We kinda worry how to entertain him next time when he gets bored with the play station! ha...

can sit walker already once baby can support his head well. old ppl prefer to use the walker coz can let the baby roam ard by himself, don't need keep on entertaining him. my grandma, parents & MIL also keep on nagging me to get a walker last time, but I didn't let my boy use one coz read somewhere that it might delay him from learning to walk & cause him to walk on tip toes. I got a jumperoo instead. good to keep him entertained for 5-10mins, but not recommended for long periods of use.
But I think the nanny wil just put my bb in e walker as long as possible, so tat she will hv more free time.

It's actually understandable that the nannies jus want some slack time also.. sometimes it's jus a bit too tiring to keep the baby entertained throughout the day.. do u have a playmat for her? I think in the long run playmat will be better than a walker.. can jus let ur baby play on the playmat.

as soon as u know u r pregnant. so that u'll be ahead in the waitlist. just fill in the details to ur best knowledge (most impt is the date u want to start & ur own contact details) then can call them to update once details r confirmed.
Oh is it? I wrote an email to them & they told me I can only register once baby is born:

"
We appreciate your email.

We wish to share with you that our online registration is in line with enrolment procedures as such you may submit your application only after you have given birth and attained the Birth Certificate.

Please allow us to direct you to ECDA’s online registration for childcare where you can complete the preliminary registration for the centre of your preference: https://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/home/CCLS_HomeParentsWLReg.jsp

Upon receiving your online application, you will be placed in the waitlist. Please note that this is not a confirmation of placement on your preferred enrolment date. However, as registrations are processed on a first-come-first-serve basis, we wish to reassure you that you will be contacted as soon as vacancies arise based on your waitlist position.

Thank you for your interest in My First Skool."

Oh is it? I wrote an email to them & they told me I can only register once baby is born:

"
We appreciate your email.

We wish to share with you that our online registration is in line with enrolment procedures as such you may submit your application only after you have given birth and attained the Birth Certificate.

Please allow us to direct you to ECDA’s online registration for childcare where you can complete the preliminary registration for the centre of your preference: https://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/home/CCLS_HomeParentsWLReg.jsp

Upon receiving your online application, you will be placed in the waitlist. Please note that this is not a confirmation of placement on your preferred enrolment date. However, as registrations are processed on a first-come-first-serve basis, we wish to reassure you that you will be contacted as soon as vacancies arise based on your waitlist position.

Thank you for your interest in My First Skool."

u can pre-register here -> http://www.myfirstskool.com/our-pre-schools/preliminary-registration

then give them a call to update the particulars after ur child is born.

Mummies -

Any diaper recommendation?

My boy uses merries - he had diaper rash when we used Huggies when he was a newborn. I've tried mamypoko too, but nothing as absorbent as merries in my opinion. He can wear it for hours and no rash.

He's outgrowing all the merries sizes due to his heavy bottom. Wanna try out another brand. Deciding between pampers and mamypoko.

Any reviews on them? Absorbency, sizing....

Mummies -

Any diaper recommendation?

My boy uses merries - he had diaper rash when we used Huggies when he was a newborn. I've tried mamypoko too, but nothing as absorbent as merries in my opinion. He can wear it for hours and no rash.

He's outgrowing all the merries sizes due to his heavy bottom. Wanna try out another brand. Deciding between pampers and mamypoko.

Any reviews on them? Absorbency, sizing....
Hi mommy, u might wan to try Goon? My baby been using it for the past 5 months. So far so good

Yes do try Goon. It absorbs well and my baby has had no diaper rash unless he has diarrhea. Also easy to bring out as it's thinner.

I'm using pampers & mamy poko, depending which one got sale/offer. both also equally absorbent, but prefer pampers coz less bulky.

my boy's poo kana the back of the rompers when using merries. sigh.

is goon cheaper?

Ya same here. For merries gotta watch out for the back. But only cos it's getting tight liao. I tape at the edge for L size. Haha

Or if romper too tight then the poop flows upwards. But if leave more at the bottom the poop will just stay at the bottom of the diaper la haha

for my elder one I started him on rice cereal at 5.5mths, then rice cereal + purée at 6mths, then porridge + purée at 8mths, then porridge + diced ingredients at abt 10mths. abit slow compared to others. I know some start porridge at 5mths & don't even eat cereal. but I didn't want to rush him to start solids. I usually let him try 1 new food for a whole week, tats y take so long to intro a variety of food. also partly lazy & no time la. I usually prepare the purée/ diced ingredients during wkends then freeze & eat for the whole week.

most likely will do the same for younger one. but got to see how he copes with it & adjust accordingly la. my younger one got feeding problem. super distracted when drinking milk, esp during day time. can take up to 1hr, & stop & feed 3-4 times before he finishes 1 bottle. sigh. dunno how he's gonna react to solids. keeping fingers crossed.

Am also intending to purree for baby during weekend. May I know how do you do it and store the puree in freezer? Is the process : Steam, puree (when still hot) and cool down in container then put in freezer... ? Or put the hot purree into freezer directly?