(2012/05) May 2012

FAAA: to find out her weight, weighed yourself first, then carry baby n weigh again

My gal slept late at 1am again! And I found something funny, she seems to be jealous when I'm kissing and hugging my boy! She was wondering around along the cot (I use it to prevent her from falling out of the bed) then I was kissing n hugging my #1 loudly. Suddenly she gave up her climb and crawl to me
usually she won't give up until I forcefully carry her away from the railing!
So when she dun sleep again, I tried by kissing my boy ( now he asleep already) loudly. And within minute she's beside me again ;)

Tuesday i fed my boy 1/2 avocardo but my mum claims its too much for one feed and it cause him to cough out phelgm twice the following day. I asked around, other babies around same age also eating 1/2 mah.

Today introduce him to peach. Its quite troublesome having to steam the fruits, like apples, my mum says last time she fed us raw apples by scrapping it. Apparently docs and internet says fruits ALL have to steam with exception banana, papaya, avocardo.

Dolly, your gal sleeps little too.

Yest tried to let my boy swim in the inflattable pool at home and he did not enjoy..haha think water is cold? Must we get thermal swimsuit before letting them swim?

This is my no 1. No intention of no2 at the moment.

No need thermal wear la.
Actually depend on the timing u bring them go for swim, normally i bring them ard 4-5 pm. Cos the afternoon sun had heat up the water. So wont be so cold.
Also, after swim they normally feel hungry, i will bring porridge along n feed them.

Rabbitz I can't recall the brand but stumble upon the gadget at mums n babes at united square so I bought 1 to try. U need to try a few times. I started with combi bowl and spoon set and he's not fussy or particular about feeding spoon but likes to play so got kind of messy with the cereal, all over on his hands, top and bumbo seat. U can put the blended purée inside also. Have fun....
Hm... Use mouth to suck out the mucusI don't dare leh
As for fruits so far tried apples, banana, papaya only. Didn't steam but straight from fruit. Apples I'll use the bowl grater to scrap then mix with some water to feed else too sweet.
I recall my pd saying to let bb try eating egg yolk when he turns 10 mths. Can start early? What is the purpose of eating just the egg yolk?
No plans for no 2 yet this is my first child and I'm still enjoying and learning parenthood.
My boy has recently developed a weird habit he'd scratch his butt whenever I change his diapers, then when try to stop him from doing it he gets frustrated and he screams and start scratching his head. Really puzzled and clueless as to what I can do. Any suggestions?

can anyone recommend a good PD specialist? I want to bring my baby for review if there is anything wrong with his throat or swallowing etc. I just couldnt make sense how come since birth he refure to take milk and food, his intake is barely sufficient to keep him not go hungry.

I am at the ends... really duno what to do. Today let him try Healthy Times oats, he also refuse to open mouth. Ytd entire day took only 360ml milk and 1/2 bowl porridge and some brown rice. I cannot let him continue like this.... although he is very very active, i still feel something seems wrong.

I dont know whether it is advisible, i'm thinking to let my baby be Kwan Yin godson. Last time i hear people do this when their child is very naughty etc. Actually i also duno what is the rationale or under what circumstance we can let our child be Kwan Yin godchildren. Can anyone advise me? I'm jus thinking it might be able to help him in the current situation????

Rabbitz I just return from the pd visit as boy is still not completely well. Dr Ong is a very gentle and patient pd. He's located at united square, Aglow. Perhaps it's worth while to seek for a second opinion. U can also check out the squirt spoon. I think u need to be very patient maybe yr boy eats little and prefers small meals and variety. U can distract him during meals let him hold a spoon or watch baby channels then bluff him to eat. Say argh when u feed see if he follows then feed bit by bit.

thanks for e recommendation, phyllis.
tried everything. play video, babyTV, carry and walk, go downstairs, play with toys, funny faces but as soon as spoon comes, he shuts mouth and cant even stick it in. Or push bottle away. Always have to force feed with him wailing. Heart very pain. Last time when i used to BF, he latch like 2min ione side and done. Been on 60-90ml per feed till about 7months? Cant do anything to encourage him to drink or he will just cry and stretch arch his back making me so worried he will injure himself.

Rabbitz,

My boy dont have feeding problem. But he like to scream at the middle of the night n start cryin. We did went to ask the god (tang key) a few times. One recommend my son to be godson of what god ( but we didnt do) only take the tailsman.

U might want to ask tang key first see what they say

Hi rabbitz,

I can understand how you feel about feeding yr baby. Does yr baby have reflux or shallow stomach?

My boy was like that when he turned 2 months. Suck a mouthful and refused to drink. Was told by my pd that he has reflux and shallow stomach. I was very anxious then. He only drank when he was about to fall into deep sleep. This lasted about 2-3 months and almost drove me crazy. When he started solid, also refused to open his mouth. My neighour advised me to stretch the hour and now he has no problem.

Now, he still drinks very little milk per intake, about 130 - 150ml. He also chooses who to feed him. If I feed, ok. But, if my mum or hubby feed, refused to drink. Rather go hungry.

How's yr baby weight gain?

Ruhee: my PD says slight reflux is very common in new borns when i asked about his low milk intake since birth. But after 4-5 months which he should already outgrow reflux, i asked PD if he had problem swallowing or tongue issue etc etc. PD says everything normal. Yes, indeed his refusal to eat/drink drives me crazy too. Everytime its on my mind on how to improve his appetite or what went wrong. I'm totally clueless. Now he's teething so i tell myself after this phase it will finally past (fingers crossed) but recalling his reluctance to drink since birth, really saddens me. He is only 7.2kg at 9mths. It hurts seeing him so small and i felt a failure as a mum.

Rabbitz, i am also experiencing the same thing as u. My girl is only 7.3kg at 8mths plus to 9mths.

She started on milk strike since 3mths old till now. Everyday i tell myself she will grow out of this phase one day. But that day has not come yet. I totally understand how u feel. My girl used to drink when she sleep. Now she grows smart. She only finish abit. I am giving her 100ml per feed. When she cant finish, i use the rest to mix with frisocrem and feed her when she is awake. When she is sleeping then gotta throw.

She has no interest in food. PD say some childrens are jus Not eaters. As long as they are active its ok. I already KAN KAI le, though sometimes i still get very upset.

I have tried all cerelac cereals, heinz breakfast cereals, super nutritious porridge, plain porridge. U name it i tried it. I kept telling myself there are worse case out there who are on tube feeding to make myself feel better.

I even checked on KKH website, they have a feeding clinic for those with feeding difficulties. Still comtemplating if i should bring my girl there. I totally have no idea what is going on in her mind. Totally not hungry.

In order for her to eat, i must distract her with toys, use snacks like peach stars to make her open her mouth etc. I know these are not good practices. But its the only way to make them eat. People who have not experience kids like this can tell u this no good that no good, should use these techniques. But as parents who want to see their kids go malnutritioned.

My girl only take 300-500ml milk a day. You are not alone.

Let hope our kid get over this phase soon. *Hugs*

i brought my baby to the 'feeding clinic'at Thomson. They call it Parent Craft Centre when he was coming 4months old. Straight away the consultant, Mrs Wong saw my boy and comment that he was too small and i have to supplement him with FM. Till i explained he cant even finish my BM and i over-stocked so much BM cos he not drinking. The nurses and herself tried to feed and the conclusion is feeding method everything is correct, he just habit doesnt like to drink. So bobian.

I also tried lots of brands of cereals and diff flavours. He only likes banana and avocardo which i cant feed too much cos it cause phelgm. Also cannot understand why my baby not hungry too! I am considering to see another PD to get second opinion. Now i can only go temple to pray for him.

I did so many online research. Even experts cant find the reason why some kids just refuse feed. Think we can really only pray. I have friends with kids who went on milk strike at 5mths then ok at 9mths then suddenly strike again. Recently she is 14th mths then she starts eating alot. Gave vit 12, gave a solution called kidease (herbal) to increase apetite which works for awhile. None last for long. Vit b12 can cause constipation also.
I really hope mine will really grow to like food when she is older. Every feeding is a torturous one. Caregiver stress baby also angry. Helpless.

The other PD which i brought my baby to, dispense what he called 'vitamin'to boost his appetite. But we googled the syrup name (i forgot the name), its actually some stimulant which has side effects such as sleepiness and anxious behaviour. My baby was sleeping and restless after the medication and i stopped after one dose. Gave up. Cant bear to see my very active & cannot sit still baby being drowzy whole day. It puzzles me where he got so much energy although his intake is so little. He has lots of strength too... Then i also worry he is hyperactive thats why he cant sit still to be fed? Although none in our family history.

When i go shopping, i see all other babies so chubby i'm so envy. I dont need my baby to be fat, but at least reach 30-50 percentile i will be happy. When i keep thinking about it and its making me depressed. Cant help but blame myself for insisting of total BF him my low quality milk and making him skinny and dislike milk. If i have a second child, i will not BF anymore.

Rabbitz, how u know ur bm not nutritious enough? My girl also super active but not hungry. As long as they not losing weight it should be fine. Pd say they need not be fat but must grow taller. Actually we did all we can already, cannot blame ourselves. Must treat all kids as individual, some kids have more serious problems. Jus hope they are healthy lor. Thats what I always tell myself. Else very miserable leh. Whole day worry abt their feeding.

i'm a picky eater and do not eat veg in general. I took Obimin and Fish oil diligently though throughout my BF cos i know my diet is not good. I also ate little as i have low appetite during preggy and after birth.

Have you tried bringing your bb to see chinese physician? Heard that the TCM at Imperial court (Thomson Road) is very good at seeing bb..even heard babies appetite improved after visiting them. Name is Chee Seng Tong. Google and you can find the contact. No harm trying cos I personally think chinese traditional medicine has lesser side effects than western med..My bb has alot of phelgm and runny nose..condition has improved after 2-3 days taking medicine.

Hilda, I know abt that Chinese physician but I din know how babies can take their herbs so din try. Will bring my baby there soon. Thanks.:)

i am giving my baby Si Sen powder 1/2 of a milk scoop (30ml type) once a day, just estimate. It's from Eu Yan Sans. How much si sen are you all feeding?

May i know how the herbs for baby is in powder form? The TCM i visits tells me that infants are too young to take herb. Even i asked if can take 'Pao Shen'which is blended in brown rice, was advised wait till older.

Hi Rabbitz and WinEdBee,

My heart goes out to both you and yr babies. I can understand how you feel. All of us are great mums who want the best for our children. We can only do that much, the rest is up to the babies, so don't blame yrself. Just hope that they will outgrow it.

rabiitz, I think you are right to be on BF cos breast milk is the best milk. Dont doubt that. So long as baby is healthy and active, they should be alright.

Rabbitz you might want to consider bringing him to this TCM at Blk18 Upper Boon Keng Road #01-1129 Tel:67480032
Call for appointment.
I brought my girl to see this practitioner since she was 3mths

Eunice, may i know yr baby went there for consultation for what problem? I will keep that contact. Which sinseh is good?

I actually duno if seeing TCM can help cos my baby shuts his mouth tight, cant even attempt to 'force'spoon inside. This happens after 2-3rd mouth and its very distressing. Perhaps some feeding therapist? If there is one.

Happy New Year mummies!!

Hope you all enjoy the first CNY with your babies.

Like to know how many times does your baby nap and how many hours in total. How many hours do they sleep at night? Sleep through already? My baby nap 3 times a day and each time just 30mins and he will wake up on the dot. I am cracking my brain to try to adjust his schedule so that he can sleep longer. I have tried ways such as playing soothing musics, drawing curtains but all these do not work. Its tough to make him sleep. Anyone care to share.

Are your babies taking 2 or 3 times solids? Mine still wake up in the middle of the night for milk and currently taking 2 solid meals only.

my baby wakes up about 7-8am and takes a mid-morning nap and another after lunch and sleeps at 10pm for rest of night. Each nap is about 1-2 hours. But now teething period i notice he gets drowsy easily.

I know there is a FB page for May Mummies group here, may i know who is the admin? Can i PM u to add me?

Rabbitz, u mean ur baby can stay awake till 10pm after the afternoon nap? Tats long.

Does ur baby takes pacificer? If not how do u put him to sleep?

yes after nap which ended 4pm+ onwards he can stay awake. When he shows signs of sleepiness like rub eyes or whine then faster give him some milk and pacifier. At night usually he will toss n turn in his bed for abt 30min then slowly drift to sleep. By then usually about 10pm already.

The one at thomson gave liquid..dont smell nice but can try using syringe to feed bb who refused to open his mouth. Or try to feed bb alittle of those Heinz fruit juice (Apple or grapes) they tend to like sweet drinks..followed by bits of the medicine and followed by another sip of the juice..it works for my bb for the first time she took the med..she was 8mths when first taking chinese medicine..

Eunice, i recall reading there are some live enzymes in honey. If u google about foods babies should avoid, they always state egg white and honey. I read its best wait till after 2yrs old then give.

But i recall last time my baby cousin had honey dipped pacifier during his 'pacifier training'. Now he is a healthy 19 year old. So i guess no need worry if u given honey, just stop doing so from now on.

Hello mummies.. I am fr may2012 batch too.. Seldom seen but have always been quietly reading all d tips, problems etc..

My gal jus turn 9mth today n weigh 7.6kg.. She is crawling n learning to stand wo support, can wave bye, clap hands n imitate us, fun but cos we hav no helpers, really v bz n tough since work is v hectic too.. Sometimes get home feel v guilty cos hardly got time w her, she always at infantcre..

Recently my gal has been having on n off fever, dunno issit due to teething, fed her progesic for few days le but on n off cum bk, cannot fully recover.. She jus recovered last wk tis wk back again.. She still eat well n sleep well, play as well, no other cough or flu symptoms, so really dunno wats wrong, issit really teething? Any mummies encountered d same?

My boy also teethin period but didnt have fever.
Normally the 1st 2 teeth n molar will have fever. But this depend as long as can eat n sleep well should be alright.
If u still afraid bring her to pd to have a check.

What i know once they have fever, infant care will ask u to bring home.

My son is very shy and scared of strangers so he was crying throughout CNY.

Any suggestions to help solve this problem. Thinking of bringing to some classes to gain exposure to more kids but dnt know where to bring him. Pls advise

Ruhee.. Added u as friend.. Pls accept request so tt i can add u into the grp.. My fb name is vryn ang..

Also added Nefib..

Rabbitz.. Dint get ur pm..

Wondering how ur bb sleep at nite.. My gal needs to be pat n carried to sleep.. Wanna try let her sleep on her own but minute put down in playpen she started standing n playing w d hanging toys, refused to sleep.. She can tahan for v long wo feeling tired, by time she really shag n sleep may be 12am i guess, she oni wans me to carry at nite cos i hav always been d wan carrying her to sleep at nite.. As she gets older n heavier, i think tis shd stop but dunno how to.. Anyone can share pls? Thanks.

lingger, i've the same prob as u! my son will stand up in his cot, toss and turn and refuse to slp. Will only slp if i start carrying him and pat him to slp. It's really tiring and sometimes i can spend 1hr jus to make him slp. If he is very tired then im lucky, he'l jus drink his milk and as he suckle, he will slp..jus need to pat him awhile

My frd told me to just put him in his cot and let him be..but i tried and he will cry out loud...dunno how to let him slp on his own

Btw, any idea on hw to celebrate our bb's 1st birthday?

Mummies using Friso Gold 2, can give feedback? It heaty/ constipation/ phelgm? Any issues? I saw promo but duno whether to switch from Manil to Friso or not. Didn't had sample to try. Any feedback on Friso?

Hi rabbitz,

My bb boy has been on Friso since birth. Now, using Friso Gold 2, so far no problem with heatiness or constipation or phelgm.