(2011/10) Oct 2011

Juz to share...

I did the nts (neck fold) check for my #1. Scan results not good but ok for blood test. Being 1st time mum or course v concern n also read abt the high false positive rate.

So, end up going for amnio. Turn out all's well. Really made me worried for those periods.

This time, I go for amnio direct, not v painful, juz don't look at the needle.

Hi Fantastar,

I'm 29 and this is my 2nd pregnancy I have a 30 month active girl. I didn't prepare for a high risk OSCAR Result.Cos the Ultrasound done at TMC shows everything is fine baby is active wave hands to me, can see the nasal bone NT measurement is 1.4mm so when my gynea called me up and told me my OSCAR come out high risk I really shocked and keep crying.but I decided to go for Amnio test like what you said I dont want the baby to suffer.

hi dear mummies

jus to share i've jus had my OSCAR done ytd, currently waiting for results. my gynae says if nthg she wont be calling.. so im wondering can i still get back e report or scan details if everything turns out fine - which i hope it does..

i havent discuss abt this wif hubby- this's my 1st preg n we dun consider high risk thou im 29 this yr.. but i think shld anything turns out to be unfavourable i'll be going for e cvs/amino test (touchwood)... praying hard, keeping my fingers crossed.. from e scan so far i dun think my bb's active.. cos i saw some bb in this forum r really active n moving a lot whereas mine jus lies there...

mummies-to-be, i think i am going to have a nervous breakdown with the down syndrome testing soon!! i really really want this baby a lot (because have been ttc for 2 years) but so so worried about the results .. i seriously do not know how to tahan the wait until next week .. and the worst worst thing is that i got an upcoming audit next week =(

Minidiary : since u have signed up for the FBI card, think u can jus tell them Tht u are member. They will charge u member rate for the class.

FYI : last time I attended the weekend class, is held at AMK hub.not sure for this time

Creamdonut : I meant I wIsh to sign up the SBI card during the talk, hoped got discount, but when I call and ask, they say no discount. So not gg.

Oscar test : I think we take this test is for a peace of mind. If results not favorable, think is good to do further test, sometimes results may turn out differently?? Just my two cents worth.

I've signed up the ChildBirth Course under Mrs Wong (TMC) conducted at AMK Hub!!! Deliver at TMC and with FBI card only $222. My class will start 12th June till July, every Sunday...

rabbitbb,

don get nervous... enjoy the OSCAR moment [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Minidiary : enjoy ur class. Is beneficial. Then got 1 class they will sell some baby items eg towels, bath cloth etc

They also will have some milk powder company, den u can buy at special rates.

thanks babystarlet! looking forward to attend the class too. First time preggie, so must get some knowledge from the course... if not, i will be blur blur...

Morning mummies, TGIF!

Btw anyone keen anot to join the aquaclass? Interested?? Pls put your name down ya...

Place to held: YMCA or Vivi's place @ woodlands duration: once per week, 45mins Course fee: $185 per head (for 5 lessons) Start date: to be confirm (sat or sun)

1. Genesis

2. Vivi

3. Lizy

Wish0upon0star

same for me, for the next child I will just take the amnio direct, no point going for oscar at that age anymore. Planning for my next kid will be around 4 years from now where I'll be 37. That is IF I strike at the first try like my #1 and #2. The result will come out higher risk again, since I'm going to be at that age group, no point wasting $ on oscar screen.

Ytd i just went for my 2nd appt, and ard 10wks 2 days. EDD has changed to 31 Oct 2011 which Dr Paul TSeng said this is more likely to be .. my baby is 3.8cm now.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] he/she is so active kicking and stretching lol..

And he also mentioned about the OSCAR Test which is a voluntarily test.

However my Hubby feels that there's no need for me to go through this test. Because it's indicative so some how or rather the result will turn out differently? I also spoke with my auntie who is a senior nurse. she mentioned that i'm considered low risk because of my family background and age.

And on top of that, during my 20th weeks i will be scheduled for my detailed scan?

Can anyone enlighten me what does it mean for detailed scan? ??

I'm really confused with detailed scan, in this case.

and the nurse said if "touchwooooood " i go for OSCAR test & result is high risk they will follow up with Invasive test. but if i doesnt want invasive test. then she said it would be no point for OSCAR test.

FYI, i have not draw any blood for testing nor do i know my blood type yet.

I'm planning to wait till 20th weeks to see if everything is alright. do you think this is advisable?

Somehow after govt made this rule for all doctors to mention OSCAR test to all mummies..

i felt this is a double-edged sword. have both pros n cons, hubby asked me don't think to much and stress about it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Congratulations and hope you have a blissful pregnancy.

Wanna know more about pregnancy, motherhood, babycare and everything under the sun? Join us on our facebook!

www.facebook.com/joyluckclubmaternity

Look out for our monthly promotions on maternity and baby wear. What's more, we are bringing in a whole range of accessories including cloth diapers, baby shoes and slings. All to be announced on our facebook page.

Looking forward to 'friend' you! : )

Tamms- me must be aging too fast , not 35 yet but showing all sorts of symtops associated with older mums..

The agony and anxiety from th Oscar test is too much for me to bear.

snuppy : OSCAR is to check for Down syndrowm etc.

Detailed scan is to measure baby length etc, some can even see the gender during detailed scan.

hello mommies~

Back from my Oscar , managed to survive the blood drawing procedure too. haa.

beanie was uncooperative so first time scan cannot measure properly as the position is not right so went to see Dr Ben first before going to scan one more time. Dr Ben managed to get the beanie in position for a brief moment and mentioned can see nasal bone and also could spot something between the legs (??!!) but he said that one have to confirm during the next appointment which is 4 weeks later. Oh my edd date seems to push forward again to 14 Oct. I guess it will keep changing till nearer to birth.

he cleared me for light excercise and said prenatal pilate is best for backache. so now, i'm just going to sit back and relax till my next appt [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

minidiary> how u know the class is conducted by wong boi boi? I intend to take also but probably the sat one.

rabbitbb,

glad to hear that... Dr Ben keeps pushing me to go for exercise but I still havent find one.. so lazy la. It has been 2 times appt he asked me go for exercise...maybe Im fat? :p

The class you can register online. Got your FBI card? sign up and register here. after discount will be $221.50! Her May weekend class aredi full liao. Faster go sign up June weekend class!!!

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/parentcraft_centre.htm

minidiary> plse loh, u are so slim. then all the more he will ask me to go. haha. I think light exercise is good for us, have a easier birth (i hope) :p

i just sign up at TMC today, haven't got my card. The page keep crashing so I have to try on my other lappy later. So means all the class is conducted by boi boi?

some classes conducted by others...

hopefully they send u the FBI card fast, so u can register online.

my FB pic is 3months back... don dare to upload pic now. haha gaining weight aredi [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow, can spot something between legs? boy boy? prince? so happy for you! my last appt, wanna spot also cant spot... bb turns away and showed us spine... haha

Good afternoon mommies!

minidiary, I want to sign up for the course too! Do you know why the classes conducted at Thomson Road is "Class 2"?? My HB wants to sign up too but is it weird for guys to be in the class?? Hmm..

HB can join... in the form, u need to tick whether ur hubby is accompany you or not...

Im not sure about the class at Thomson Road Class 2. don think it's conducted by Mrs Wong... since not written there..

tabbyz... yah i tink hubby is complimentary... if u go into the website to see, there is a box for u to click if husband is attending...

wah nice.. phew.. I though HB gotta pay $200++ for the class!

by the way, I'm enjoying second trimester! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks for the advice.. Is more like spotting. Not bright red... Have decided to visit the gynae, just to play safe..

Pre-natal class: it will be good for ur hb to attend with u. Especially when they teach e breathing & light exercises, u need ur hubby to pull u up etc.

Those mummies without hubby around, they will have to partner each other. Last time I seen three mummies partnering each other, so take turns lol.

minidiary> same lah, turn here turn there or belly down just don't want to lie face up. notti notti. I duno lei, see what dr ben confirms. If boy good lah, think my MIL will like. If girl even better, alot of my gfs will like. haa.

ask u gals, how many godma can a baby have? i myself have a pair of godparents. then I have 2 gf want to be my bb godma, so fast chup liao. one gf is single, the other is married but not able to have kids of her own. hmm

snuppy

some info on detail scan that you can read up http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/scans/secondtrimesterscans/

you can't tell if your baby has DS during the detailed scan. However, the scan can pick up heart abnormalities, which is common in DS fetuses. Basically the detailed scan is to look for abnormalities such as heart/brain/lung/spinal problems, and can even tell if your baby has a cleft lip. It is an optional scan. At this stage, usually 20-22 weeks, knowing if your baby will have any problems after he/she is born can help you to prepare for any action after birth, eg surgery. At least you will be mentally prepared should baby face any health problems later on. In the worst case scenario should you discover any major abnormality, you can still decide if you want to carry on with the pregnancy.

I personally know of someone who discovered her fetus had anencephaly, which means that the baby has no skull cap. They had to abort the fetus at 20 weeks as it would not survive after birth. sad hor? hmm seems like I know of a lot of families who have faced these difficulties.

tamms, i got a fren who had twins.. one of the baby also no skull cap.. a good thing is that his gynae pick it up very earlier but still, she cannot abort the unhealthy one cos it will affect the healthy one..

Ended up she carried the twins to full term but the unhealthy one gotta let it go after birth.. So sad...

Tamms

thank you for your help,

Ya i already read this information.

first time being so stressed .. because of the OSCAR scan, hubby is very determined not letting me to go for this scan.. as OSCAR not "jun" based on the search result i read...

from ytd's u/s i can see my bb is so active [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

but still i know doing test is more of assurance.

haissssss

Goodbye mummies,

I'm knocking off soon..

Hope all of us will enjoy a stress-free weekends and "boo" to all scares & stress...

Take care and have a nice weeekend

I seriously hope to mine will be :x

WTS

Natal Care Plus (400mg): Each box of 30 capsules at $14.00 (U.P. $16.05)

http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/8470/img1140sx.jpg

http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/5936/img1141e.jpg

Natal Care Triplus (625mg) : Each box of 30 capsules at $28.00 (U.P. $32.10)

http://img823.imageshack.us/img823/6593/img1190o.jpg

http://img593.imageshack.us/img593/2861/img1191u.jpg

http://img830.imageshack.us/img830/9746/img1160a.jpg

All boxes with Expiry 2013.

Bought too many from Dr Adrian.

================================================

An Australian specially balanced formulation that helps fulfill DHA requirement for fetal / baby brain development, and optimizes the brain development of the fetus and infant.

The core element in NATAL CARE PLUS - Natural Fish Oil - contains DHA and EPA, which is particularly needed during pregnancy and lactation. Apart from that, NATAL CARE PLUS also contains Vitamin E, an anti-oxidant that helps to alleviate the negative impact of free radical formation, and increase normal cell function.

================================================

Cash on pick-up/delivery @ Jurong East or Raffles Place.

Kindly PM or leave SMS at 9 876 1872.

Thanks all and have a safe pregnancy!

Hi Mummies to be

I just bought 5 Moo Moo Kow Cloth Diapers from Tangs at $30 each. They are really lovely, comfortable and absorbent. Each comes with 2 inserts.

Unfortunately, my mom-in-law insist that traditional cloth diapers should be used. So i am parting them at $100 for 5 pcs.

Read more about it from the link below:

http://www.mummysreviews.com/2009/11/27/moo-moo-kow-one-size-cloth-diapers/

Interested, sms Vincent at 98733440.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5323629.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5323630.jpg]

hi babymummy, stay strong. i advise u to go for the d n e asap. the longer the fetus stay in u, the chance of infection will become higher.

i have been through this last year and i know how it feels. i lost my angel @ 16 weeks. no signs at all. and bb measured 14 weeks, no heartbeart and shrunk in size. ultrasound is usually accurate. the doc referred me to tmc for another ultrasound and i went for d n e the next morning. recovery is faster than i expected.

my prayers are with you.

Hello All,

My EDD has just changed from 1 Nov to 25 Oct. ^_^. Going for my 1st Trim screening on 20 April.

Feeling rather anxious too.

Beautiful sunday morning to all .. Just want to check if anyone of you feel 'tightening' of your lower abdomen on and off .. Me will feel that especially when I have got a full bladder at night during sleep .. Not too sure whether is this caused by the bladder and womb being squeezed in the same area ..

Hi MTB,

Sorry to disturb. I have gave up breastfeeding and have the following for sale:

1) Medela mini electric plus (preloved) - $100

2) Medela mini electric (preloved) - $60

3) Pigeon breastmilk storage bag (new) - $12

4) U shape nursing pillow (new) - $25

5) Maternity swimwear, L size (new) - $40

Self collection at jurong. PM me if you are interested.

Happy Sunday to all!

Yes fantastar. I have that tightening feeling in the lower abdomen when I wake up to pee at night too!

Hello fantastar, I have that feeling too. Sometimes even during the day [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Fionamom,

I am in the same situation as you are. All went well during the scan, measurement all well within normal range, but suddenly 2 days later the clinic called to say my risk showed up as 1:89 and I am shocked. Gonna see the gynae tmr morn to see what says. Can you share more of your experience with me? Hv you gone for the cvs/amnio yet?

yan & qiu ling: phew .. i thought it was just me and got a bit worried .. hubby even wanted to bring me to 24-hour clinic ..

was finally feeling hungry yesterday and managed to stomach 3 meals .. just when i thought my morning sickness bade goodbye to me, it came attacking early this morning =.=