(2011/08) Aug 2011

Good morning MTBS...

Diapers:

I have been checking out on diapers too...hopefully this Thur, NTUC got diapers sale then I can bring the mum's maid to cheong for it on Friday. Hohoho..

Below per what I read on FB:

Pampers NB - Cutting v big, can wear up to NB chest.

Huggies NB - Best cutting for NB. Then proceed to Huggies S, then proceed to Mammy PoPo and PetPet S when bb's skin more tough.

Some mummies say they will order from http://www.nepia.com.sg in hospital (1 day b4 discharged) so the diapers will be delivered to their doorstep the next day. Not a bad idea too cos at least you know if you have a big bb, you can order more S.(maybe I can chk out the price at NTUC for this brand. Seems not bad)

Mrs Lim: My EDD is also around 1st week. But my mum says bb will be out earlier. I haven't pack yet. I am actually waiting for my maid to arrive (1st week of July) to wash all the bb's clothes + mittens + clean bb cot, etc. I also haven't pack my own cupboard. Alot of preg preg/preg clothes in my messy cupboard. My hubby dunno how to fold clothes at all, and the cupboard is in a mess. Waiting for maid to come in and sort it out for us. (cos I am moving the pre preg clothes into cartons 1st)I hope I have time to pack up before bb suddenly pop out.

Elin: I am also going to Guardian or Watson to get the cotton pad. Cheap and good!! And also get some cotton balls. Was thinking if I should buy those bulk type and ask maid to roll at home. (but then again, I scared her hands dirty..afterall this is our precious #1 so gotto treat her w delicate care. Hee heee...

Elin: Good for you that you got the bb bath tub during wedding. I din want the bath tub cos so "chor teng" so in the end only got the face basin. Now need to go and buy.

Elin: I think most of us here having #1 may feel scared that we are unable to detached ourselves from bb after bb is out. But like what my hubby says - If I go to work, I can buy many nice things for my bb and give bb the best. So after hearing such motivational words, I MUST GO BACK after 16 weeks. Tell you something more stupid abt me. I keep telling my hubby I am not ready to pop the bb, and am scared. My hubby said - If trillions of women can do it, you can too!!! Wow lau, buay tahan my husband. Every worry I have, he got something to say to comfort me!!!

Elin: Your boss not "zhi tong" huh..weekends also sms you? Siao ah? I work Mon-Fri so if boss sms me on weekends, I take my time to reply. But I have worked for a firm whr I was being called at 4am in the morning to do some shit work by logging in from home. Thank god I left the firm. This type of firm no need to stay so long cos they dun appreciate staff.

Morning all mummies. Wow u all are early[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Now in my office toilet trying to ......

I decided to put my baby on diapers once born because washing if cloth nappy need water, time, trouble, laundry detergent . After all these I think diapers is a better choice for me and maybe cheaper....yesterday I don't really sleep well my little bunny keep kicking my bladder and I keep going toilet

Feels sleepy and giddy now

Back then for my #1 , i think we trial and error a few brands of diapers , Pampers , Huggies , Nepia , Mammy poko...

Pampers amd Mammy Poko the best. When they are a few months older, can use Pet Pet. I find it cheap and good for day time.

There's a fair coming this week, see any bargains on diapers.

For cotton pad, remember to get the sterialized one as need to clean bb's eyes.

mrs lim: yest i told hubby i will start to pack delivery bag so he knows where to get them when i pop. btw, my edd is 22 Aug. so my gal mayb got chance to be national day bb if she pops 2 wks earlier..

pipi: ordering diapers online sounds like a gd idea also... like that the hse will not be like mama shop. i bought the space saver bags from BP and i found them very useful... managed to pack my mountain of clothes into the bags.. u can consider getting them and pack ur clothes into carton.. can save a lot of space.. i will get the sterilised cotton balls to clean eyes bah.. then rest of the body use cotton pad.. hee! pipi.. u r not alone.. i told my frens how i wish bb won't pop and just stay inside me.. like tat go shopping also easier.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yufeng: nowadays i hv this feel tat bb is kicking downwards... scared bb will burst the water bag.. toilet trips have increased a lot also...

thks hamtaro for the info! my fren told me she used drypers (cheaper) in the morning and nite time use pampers or mamy poko...

Hi Elin

My EDD is also around that date. 20 Aug 2011. I also hope for a National Day bb.. U delivering at Mt A? Me too. Mt A will be giving bath tub .

hamtaro: we are likely to see each other at Mt A then.. hee! u getting 1 bedder? how's ur prep for the bb?

personally i prefer to pop closer to edd.. then i can hv my full 4 mths ML then take a few more days of leave and go back to work in 2012!

I think I will pack my

delivery bag next week , because I have not buy all things and baby clothes have not wash yet..my mother in law says still early can pack the bag around early July. Think I will stock up another4packs of diapers .I'm getting easily tired recently other than coffee don't know what can perk me up

*slaps forehead*

ALAMAK! sheng siong selling Pampers newborn for $6.95/pack! Go stock up now! Tomorrow last day of promotion! S sized pampers going for 14.95 for 48 pieces too!! Go stock up!!!

For those packing, Kotex Maternity pads are at 3.25/pack of 10s. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yep, did heard my cousin saying sheng siong sells cheaper diapers.

But for maternity pads, I thought the hospitalw ill give us 1 pck? Can I check whether its enuff or not? Or we should buy another pck to standby?

good evening mtbs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yeah, the thread is alive!

elin, glass bottle is BPA free [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my fren recommends me to use them with nuk teats (to avoid nipple confusion for new born)...

i tried a few brands and nepia suits my #1 -- plus the convenience of home delivery... the cutting is bigger though -- huggies ultra newborn has smaller cutting which suit new born...

pipi, here's a pic of the setup for bath tub in my toilet -- table to cover the toilet bowl. So that my mum/hubby/me dun hv to bend/squat when bathing baby.. i bought the table from ikea...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5531904.jpg]

mrs_lim, yes, my gynae is very nice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] that's y i go back to him for #2 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks for sharing thr prices of the various baby products [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: stretch marks

elin, my stretchmark was under the belly for #1 -- din apply stretchmark cream at that area as cannot see :p but this time, the stretchmark is ard the belly button which i hv dutifully apply the cream since 1st tri [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

re: maternity pads

personally, i find kotex maternity pads very hard and uncomfortable -- my stitch wound pain was worse than labour pain as i cannot take pain killer due to allergy! instead, i used those extra long pads(34cm) and stack two of them together -- more comfy for me.

pipi, KKH will give 1 pack of maternity pads... not enough as lochia will last for 1-2 weeks...

re: hospital bag

arhhh, haven't pack yet! so unprepared/bochap this time :p will get it ready when i m ard 32 weeks...

for #1, i was caught off guard when baby wanna come out at 33 wks -- din pack hospital bag and went to KKH delivery suite with cordlife kit only... after the false alarm (gynae managed to stop the early contractions), i quickly get ready the nursery and hospital bag... the hospital bag is put in the car juz in case...

adv_sports: I think the table looks handy. I just need to go and find from Ikea. One thing about Ikea is sometimes we are so spoilt for choices.

I think I will get 1 pkt of either goon or nepia diapers to try on NB. If really good, I will just bulk order from website. But hor, I haven't calculated the cost yet...dunno how exp/cheap, haven't done comparison

Anyone booked the post natal massage? I never did for my first one so was still thinking whether to do for this one. i have the impression that it's going to be oily and i do not like this feeling...

Hamtaro: now I'm also in a dilemma whether to book or not. Because some oft colleagues done the massage but their size and shape still looks same to me . So still considering to book or not . When is the expo fair ? My friends telling me there might be having good deal .. You may take a look first.

Adv sport: thanks for sharing the idea and photo[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Elin2201: may I know what is space saver bag? Care to share? Thanks

pipi, nepia newborn is 60pcs per pack -- so will be $0.25/pc...

before u go ikea, take measurement of where u wanna place the table... then go ikea and choose the one that fit in... the one i bought, the table top can be extended...

yufeng, u r welcome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] as my mum is 60+ and having backache, i tried to make it as comfy for her...

hamtaro, i got this malay lady to come to my place to do post-natal massage+wrap 3 weeks after giving birth as i was recovering from stitch wound pain.. she said best to do it immediately after giving birth (natural delivery)... maybe will call her again as she also helps to massage my breasts to encourage milk supply (gosh, milk was spraying though i juz latch my baby before the massage!)

yufeng, space saver bag r those bags that u pack ur stuff and vacuum out the air to make it coompact... i use jumbo zip lock bag to do the same thing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yufeng :

Motherhood 2011

Parenting and Baby products

Date: 2 - 5 June 2011

Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 6B, 11am - 9pm

adv_sports :can share the massage package? and do u feel oily after the session? do we need to wear the binder til the next day? isit uncomfortable because we need to breastfeed bb after the session.

pipi,

i've tried nepia and goon before they have a minimum order b4 they do delivery for free.. my boy can't use it. it leaks for him.

maternity pad - i used the 1 pureen maternity can buy from pureen counter at motherhood fair or kiddy palace. if i dun remember wrongly its bout 20 pieces for bout $8 or less.. i used 1.5 pkts that time plus the 1 provided my hospital. i tried to change freq cos abit smelly the lochia..

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5535472.gif]

above is the some comparison i compared between luvbabies web and ntuc (before %) jus a rough guide on the price comparison of each diapers.

hi Hamtaro: thanks for the event infor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Janice: thanks for the table of the diapers

Adv sports pls share more on the post natal massage package ....

feeling a bit sleepy ..

this coming weekend hope can buy all the things that i need ..

~Janice. Thanks for your table of diapers. Now I can make a good comparision! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

~Mrs Lim. Are you joining the childbirth edu. course from TMC starting on 11th June? I've signed up for the one with Mrs Wong classes at AMK. Anyone in the same class too?

~adv_sport. Re. hsp charges. I thought hsp charges starts from 12 midnight.. hmmm will ask my gynae at TMC

~Rooms at TMC. Anyone else delivering at TMC? I am thinking of getting a single bedder premium (cost roughly $240/2 days more than a non-premium single) I really wonder if the extra cost is worth it...

~Fengshui/name master. Seems like going down personally is the only way. thanks ladies for feedback!

mrs lim: my fren told me pampers nb oos at the sheng siong near her place. think everyone stocking up diapers. maternity pads i have not get also.. will be buying them this wkend.

pipi: think 1 pack of maternity pad from hospital not enough. If u use more than what the hospital gave then the price is higher.

adv sports: thks for the info on the glass bottles. i started applying the stretch mark cream since 1st trimester also. duno my hardwork will come to waste anot.. hee!! your bathroom looks rather spacious after the setup. so gd.. mine is very small.

yufeng: space saver bag is what adv sports mention. u can vacuum seal the bag to compress clothes, quilt, winter wear, etc. I will go to motherhood fair to see before i make my booking for jamu massage. long time no massage liao,,,

Thks janice for the table!

tunis: mine is starting 7th June at AMK hub with Mdm Wong. heehee. I think i'm a little late..like 32 weeks then start. hahahaha.

Rooms @TMC: I was considering double bedded, my opinion and SIL's and friends experiences had me changed my option. Consider these:

1) Do you want your hubby to stay overnight to keep you company? If yes, singled bedded.

2) Will this be your firstborn, therefore more friends and relatives to visit? If yes, single-bedded.

3) Are you noise-/light-/snores- tolerant? If no, singled bedded. My SIL had such BAD and INCONSIDERATE room mate (but poor lady went thru C-sect, she yelled each time the nurse went to clean her stitches) that she regretted going for double-bedded.

I've chosen single at TMC [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pipi: maternity pad think not enough. i pack = 10 pieces. usually will leak for about 2 - 3 weeks. so got to get more first before poor hubby has to run all over to get it, not very frequently stocked up at our local supermarkets.

hamtaro: me probably going to Master Jin longzi (located near aljunied mrt). think his charges are $88. to pay upfront first, when deliver then just need to call him to let him know the details. hubby then need to go down to pick up and seek for some advices. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my bro's and cousin's kids' names are all picked by him. believe it or not, the kids have been bringing luck to the family. members strike 4D, win big at casino. I don't need that, just want baby to be healthy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Think i forgot to answer how to store colustrum. From the book, it says you can store in the syringe and freeze it since quantity is not a lot. You can search in google a bit as I not yet have any leak yet.

Elin, how much is the jamu massage? How many session? Do at home?

Mrs_lim, my mum said for her gals (me and 2 sisters), all the 3 were out 2 wks later, while my brother (#1) is out like 2 wks earlier. Does it means my gal will be late or on time at least? I feel like sitting on time bomb, don't know when my gal want to say hallo to me... ~_~

Mrs_lim, I stay in Buangkok. Where you stay? I will be going to Master Jin longzi too. I have called, it's $88. Have to go down pay and give name of parents, and bb's desired name. Can provide a few, then they will comment, if all given names not good, they will suggest. Then they will base on bb's timing to suggest further also. When you plan to go down? May be we can ask for bundle deal... hihi... or get companion to go down together? ;)

Baby dreamy:ya u agree use nappy in day can realli save alot n oso gd for bb buttocks!i bght pigeon liner tiz x to try cse kiddy plce twenty off for member

Mrs lim:my gal cght bad virus fm fren in skool lor tom need to go bk for review...had been taking cre of her past days so nz n tired cant cme in thread'

Ya huggies cutting like to cut narrow at buttocks so the flesh will come out one.Huggies red comfort is mre absorbent bt cuttg smaller than huggies Dry Blue col one.i used tt when my gal was a toddler.oso used higgies value pants when mre active n learng to toilet train.

Wow seems alot gonna use nepia.i ordered 1 for my no 1 tat x.didnt work for me it leaked.Agree w hamtaro best is pampers n mammy poko.i using MP tape for my gal for nights cse itz realli absorbent n feels v dry on surfacewan her hve gd nite sleep

Mummies can share the jin zhi long no?i wanna enquire for c section date lei..Xie xie!

Mrs lim:so sad i missed the pampers sale!i juz told my hub he say will go over c this weekend  i still intend use pamers or mp nb tis x.actualli laz x sheng shiong sells Pampers Red packaging called Pampers dry made in japan cheap n gd.i used till the sizing cant wear liao but too bad now they no mre sell already.

Morning everyone. Looks like this master Jin is popular.. Kiddy palace still having 20% , hope to grab more bottles ... Going to set off for work already。。。。

morning mtbs!!

mrs lim: u r not the only one who's late in registering for the class. I'm having mine next thurs. I heard mdm wong's class very popular with mtb. my hubby wanted me to take 1 bedder so he can stay over. question time! which brand of maternity pad is gd?

babydreamyqueen: i've been surfing net and shortlisted origins jamu and malay heritage jamu.. u can google for them for their webby. they hv package for 5, 7 or 10 days and all done at home.

Afternoon mtbs, hope you had your lunch already.

Diapers:

Thanks Janice for putting up a chart. Very helpful. I am actually going to NTUC online to chk out the prices as well. With all the feedback about diff diapers - I am abit lost now. Hee hee...maybe buy 1 pkt to try.

Maternity Pad:

Heard alot of negative comments about Kotex. Any mummies can recommend better maternity pads to use? I like those soft, stick on type. I dun like those plastic top type (ie: whisper).

Disposable panties:

Wanted to ask this qn but always forgot. Do we need to get disposable panties? If yes, how many?

Massages:

Those of you who want to try Origins Jamu, pls look up the website cos that's the price I paid, with freebies.

For freelance massage lady, you may need to confirm in adv. (Just in case they are fully booked)

Antenatal class:

I am finally finishing my antenatal class. So happy...Those of you who are just starting, just enjoy the class. And share any info you found k..

Thanks Adv_sports...I was actually looking at ikea website the whole day yest to find the ideal table top for the bath tub. I also need to get a mini dining table(2-4 seater) to put in the kitchen so that I can eat in the kitchen during confinement.

pipi, which package you have taken?

y are there so many different types?

must massage for so many days?

so sorry to ask so many qns.

very blur over this matter.

Diapers:

I have read a couple of reviews here and there and finalised that for NB, the most popular brands are Pampers NB and Mammy Poko NB.

G-Market:

I also happen to surf around and found that someone is selling pampers in G-market at a much cheaper rate. But I think it's impt we find out where it is made. Cos I heard those diapers made in Msia is not v soft (for bb butt).

Maternity Pads:

I also found in G-market (under nursing pads) which cost $25 for 90 pcs. But dunno good or not.

Kristine: I took Origins Jamu for 5 day package.

Btw, what type of disposable panties did you buy? Is there any size? Did you get those cloth disposable one or normal tissue disposable panty

pipi: i buy those cotton disposable one.

i find those tissue ones easily torn.

regarding diapers, really must stock up?

what if the baby nt used to brand?

wah, so many mommies have done the task le.. me not yet..

i was telling DH to start washing the bb clothes mid of next mth so they wont get dusty so soon hehe.. & need to clean up the bbcot, the cupboard which is not fully occupied by no.1 pinky clothing ;p

i hv yet to stock up diaper, maybe will let bb use the nappy during confinement period that 28days then later on use disposable diaper when i m alone taking care of bb.. I might be calling up Fitti to check if they still hv promo on their diaper, tried their diaper on my no.1. Not only good and convenience for me coz 6pkts= 1 carton so they can deliver to my door step.. Most importantly, the waist part is velcro type not tape so wont hurt bb's thighs.

Thinking to pack my delivery bag also mid of next mth, this time i will pre pack the red date/ wolfberry & dried longan in the filter tea bag so that i can drink in the hospital aft delivery, juz pour the hot water will do [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

DH asking me if need his company or not, i wonder how coz nobody can take care of no.1. I can go there myself and must not neglect my no.1 loh.. if DH can take good care of no.1 then only i can go into the delivery suite peacefully mah..

im planning to use cloth nappy but night time will be using diapers cause hope bb will sleep better.

i already started washing 1st batch of 2nd hand clothings just in case when my tummy gets bigger. i have no energy to wash them. i cannot ask hubby to wash cause he don no how. haha.

actually this is my 1st bb.

and i am so scare that i cant take care of bb.

Kristine: Where did you get your disposable panty? I read we can get it from Guardian, Watson, OG (maternity), CK (maternity section). I am under KKH, maybe I will go to the pharmacy there and ask them.

As for maternity pads, saw a few mummies using Pureen. But they din say much so I am not sure..maybe I will go KKH and ask too cos there is a Pureen store there. Kekeke. So happy I am using KKH, under 1 roof.

Diapers:

I am not going to stock up. I will just buy pampers NB (cos cutting smaller)for bb to try, just to make sure bb skin is ok. And 1 pck of Nepia NB to make sure bb skin is ok before I stock up thru home delivery service.

My friend recommend Goon but damn exp lor.

pipi: i bought from watsons.

me too lazy to travel here and there to buy disposable panties. haha...

me too just buy a pack of pampers NB. later on then decide whether to buy.

Kristiine,

juz talk to ur friend or log on here to chat whenever u feel bored or bothered so that u wont be stressed up. I almost got depression when CL left. Didnt know how to cope & feel so lonely, didnt dare to call back coz i didnt want my parents/ family to worry abt me. Luckily my sil supported me a lot, asked me to move back to stay wf them. Meanwhile, they can c the bb n help me also. I m very touched til now. But I believe this time round i can do it well. I cant go back to stay wf them for few mths since my no.1 is in preschool, cant skip class for too long.

PiPi,

ya Goon is too ex leh, for NB they change diaper pretty fast so no point to invest so much. Perhaps u want to buy better quality one for nite time only.

I m plus size so hv to source for big size undies, the shop i used to buy disposable undies already closed down so hv to look ard liao.

disposable panties: Same as Kristine, I'll be getting 1 mth of supply at least for convenience. I bought the cotton type cos the paper type seems flimsy.

Maternity pads: will be going to Watson and NTUC to get.

Washing of bb stuff: started washing some of the items liao.. hopefully weather will be gd for the next few days then no problem with drying..

If sign up with Origins Jamu, they will include at least 2 pcs of Goon diaper. can use as trial and see how.

for me, i come in here to chit chat and find out how the rest are coping. see whether i left out anything anot. tdy i learnt something new from cutie.. to pack the red date/wolfberry and longan in filter bag so tat i can drink in hospital.. gd idea! hee!

Hello ladies. Yay! Good to see more mummies coming on to chitchat.

Queen: I shall call master Jin tomorrow and say my friend also interested, see if can get cheaper deal. Hee. Keep u posted.

Wen: got to take care! 3rd tri with ill #1, not easy. Dun neglect own health k? Jia you jia you!

Pipi: Kotex has 2 kinds-1 loop and 1 adhesive. Loop ones, usually provided by hospital, are uncomfy to wear, according to other mummies. Pureen can be gotten thru kiddy palace. Heard less absorbent as compared to Kotex adhesive lah. If not, we can also fall back onto our fav overnight sanitary. Best to get those super long ones, like Sofy, 42cm! Almost like adult diaper le! I'm packing both Kotex Maternity adhesive and Sofy overnight for my delivery lor. Better be safe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pipi: disposable undies get cotton type. Paper ones tear easily and once u need to change pad, u need to throw whole thing away. Cotton ones are breathable too, better for the wound down there. I've gotten 30 from NTUC, one pack of 5 pieces going for $3.30. Been to a lot of hyper marts to look for it, had a hard time locating cotton + polyester ones. My two cents worth lah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kristine: *hugs* I'm first time mummy too! Apprehensive abt the confinement and stuff too. Scary thinking about so many things-what if no breast milk, what if baby keeps crying, who going to do household chores, etc etc. Hubby just said I think too much. Chey. What a response. We have one another here at least! We jia you together k?

I'm staying in khatib kampong. Hee. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wen, Jin Zhi Long master's number and address as follows, hope no change, but i just called the 6741... number to ask abt the price last 2 wks, it's still at$88, so i think it should work still [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

64A Geylang Rd Lorong 25A S(388252)

6741 7377 or 97439161

Thanks for the Jamu contacts and diapers comparison. My friend helped me bought some from JB, really cheap compared to SGP. So, do get them get you some if they are going. ~_~

Re: Washing of bb item:

You can wash first and dry, then when put in wardrobe, can cover with big and thick towel, then rest assured no dust. Coz, by few more weeks, I think we will have less and less energy. My tummy is sooo bloated now. Like on the bed, I feel like roll to the side of the bed before get up. Can't imagine if 2 more months when closer to EDD ~_~

Mrs_Lim, you are far from buangkok. Can't have kopi or drink then... those in BKK, may be we can have snack or food at Wendy's. New opening. I also very scared as 1st time mum, working full time, and no maid, no help, no CL, just my mum to help for 1st 2-3 wks. Scary to think abt it. Can't depend on my hubby to help, coz of his health condition. I have to get ready from financial to actual hand on work... including house hold chores etc... once I think abt it, I really no idea how I'm going to cope lo... sigh... I hope i'm strong enough and temper will continue to be good, and not end up in depression.