(2011/08) Aug 2011

for tonics, i'm told cordyceps is good.. and american ginseng. best is go to a reputable chinese doc to prescribe the tonic for u after taking pulse. some ppl might not be suited to take cordyceps/ginseng cos it might be too heaty.

heard birds nest is good too. but its sooo exp! heard that white fungus is a cheap and good substitue for bird's nest

bbsee: sleeping on the right no gd ah? i mostly sleep on the right, cos i read that from 2nd tri shdnt sleep on my back, plus my tailbone is starting to hurt all the way down my left butt n leg, so sleeping on left hurts my left hip n bump! btw i was tempted to buy a doppler off amazon so i can hear bb's heart at home, but i also read that because the doppler also works on ultrasound, too much is no good for baby.. so end up didnt buy.

cac: am planning to store cord blood.. jus to keep peace of mind lor.

buny: thx [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

CP240,

We can start taking bird nest after 16 weeks right?

Do you know if korean red ginseng is good? We got a gift set...then dunno can drink or not.

changni,

i sleep on left and right side...seldom sleep on my back. Only when I want to laze, I will lie on my back...but my leg got to be supported by pillows ...dunno why oso or else very uncomfortable.

do you guys have pimples growing out from your forehead and hairline area? I am starting to have pimples growing along my hairline area...and I am slapping hazeline snow on those pimples..

carole~~ do update mine too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

EDD: 30 Aug 2011

Child: #1

Gynae: Dr Adrian Woodsworth

Hosp: TMC

btw, ive just added u on FB.. can add me to the secret grp ma? :p

Thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

~Joan,

Thank you. Although the scanning showed ok, but to play safe bah amnio will be the choice..

i can feel a bit of movement leh, nite time keep waking up to toilet and cant sleep well. Will wake up like very 2-3 hrs

Hi mummies, I'm an Oct 2011 MTB. This is my 2nd pregnancy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just to share some great products I've also recommended to other mummies in another forum:

Prenatal vits: http://www.iherb.com/Twinlab-Dr-Greene-Prenatal-120-Capsules/11053?at=0

Fish oil/DHA: http://www.iherb.com/New-Chapter-Wholemega-Prenatal-500-mg-90-Softgels/22651?at=0

This website is in USD (conversion rate now is good!) and they ship direct to SG.

You can use discount code YAF688 to get US$5 off your first purchase.

This is a very good website, I buy my son's supplements and toiletries (all organic) from this website since my boy was born in 2007. :D

If you don't have a credit card but want to order, PM me. We can combine orders (I stay at PG).

BTW, they also have organic products for preggy mummies. My face wash, body wash and shampoo are all bought from this website too (Aubrey Organics). Price is not expensive with the direct shipping to SG. :D

In fact, most of their products are available at shops in SG, but double or triple the price. :D

Hi ladies, I have been a silent reader in this thread n will like to join this thread now. I'm a sahm n expecting my no 3. I have 2 girls n hoping to have a boy but does not dare to expect too much in case disappointment. Hi Carole, can you pls help me update. Thanks! Edd : 6 aug 11. Child no : 3. Gynae : Dr WH kee. Hospital : tmc. I like to join in to the fb secret society too.

hi Pipi i heard that korean ginseng is the very heaty type while american ginseng is more of the neutral type. some people might not be suitable for korean ginseng type (too nourishing might get nose bleed or something)

u might wanna check with a chinese physician if u're suitable.

i think any time can drink birds nest! so long as long puke it out haha. 16 wks onwards shld be safe.

and i get pimples growing along the hairline area! and everywhere lah.. haha.. chin also..

hmm..think i will go to chinese physician (sinseh??) and get them to prescribe for me. anyway need to buy FM for #1 - cheaper there!

PiPi: Pimple outbreak also a sign of hormones during pregnancy.. unfortunately when we are pregnant, our bodies go haywire...

cp240: My chronic headache has been going on for days! But today I guai.. really stay off all painkillers!! How do you relieve ur headaches ah?

cp240: Tks for the recommendation. Hopefully it doesn't cont. My hub's been laughing off his heads when he heard I like joss sticks smell. Yes, with pregnancy hormones at work, our backbone becomes softer to accomodate the growing uterus. Posture becomes important. Been getting backaches when I carry my boy too long nowadays. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cutie - Already feeling movements? Wow,that's quick. What's your risk scoring? Must do amnio? If scan ok, that'll bring your risk rating down?

adv_sports - I'm interested in the prenatal yoga too. Can you also send me details? Haven't read previous threads but if nearby, I'll like to join too.

Shane - I took bird nest only from 6th mths onwards with my 1st baby. Just out of curiosity, do you see any evident benefits from taking the tonic? My sis has a lovely fair baby girl from taking bird nest which spurred me on. But my boy turned out pretty tan and he's got eczema. Chuckle!

Msgiggles- congrats on 3rd baby. You'll find your answer pretty soon. I am wishing for a baby girl. Heard they are closer to mummies even after they grow up. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi sus i drink lots of water, camomile tea and honey and eat lots and lots of fruits [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

HI LADIES.

Having just gave birth, I would like to advise all mummies here to go through all the listing on the confinement ladies in case you get a bad confinement lady. I had a bad experience with my confinement lady and do not wish any mummies here to encounter the same and waste your money.

Sorry to disturb but I just feel I really need to highlight to all mummies, thanks!

Hi Joan, I hope I can know this Thursday during my checkup. I also heard that girls are usually closer to the family. Hope you can get a princess.

Sorry gals, MIA for few days coz hubby broke his leg when slipped from staircase. Been 2 weeks on cast, once removed, the tendon tear again and hospitalized again. Just discharged today. About visiting in hospital, I think I don't know how many time went oredi, 1st, sis got urgently hospitalized for ovarian cyst removal due to the size and pain she endured. Then, my hubby ... tired like hell, but what to do... ppl said no mopping, no carrying heavy stuff, no squatting of washing toilet bowl, carry heavy stuff etc, i did all that, coz hubby can't walk at all. "Ming Ku" (bad life)

Came back from Oscar test at Mt E, bb is active, like floating in water enjoying. The scanning is done by my gynae herself. I should praise she is real good, patient and motherly. I really like her more and more. She scanned for 30 mins to get the right position without sighing or rushing to do the scan. When bb sucks the thumb, I requested her to print additional for me, and she did it without extra charge. She checked very thoroughly, including fingers, heart, the blood chamber to heart etc, head circumfrance etc... I would say, I'm very satisfied with the $450 damange, which include folic acid, consultation, 4 tubes of blood test, scanning etc.

Pipi, let me know if you joining the aqua in March after consult your gynae ok? Looking fwd to meet you. For me, I will take train from Buangkok MRT to Little India MRT and walk to KK. So, I wouldn't take taxi unless necessary, coz I believe at the later part, I may really spend a lot on taxi, so now, can save, then save lo. So, for those in NE line, can join me for journey there, or if rain, then we can even taxi pool eh.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Joyjoy, since you joining April de, then going to miss meeting you, may be in our gathering bah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bunnymummy82, hougang ave 6, beside ponggol cc, is quite near actually, about 500 m walk. Just need to walk straight heading to The Quartz, then turn right walk to compassvale bow. We can meet ard The Quartz go to The Rivervale or join milkyway18 at The Quartz. My living room can see straingt The Quartz, abotut 150 m away from The Quartz. See when we want to start?

milkyway18, thanks for offering your place. We maybe bump into each other at NTUC or kopitiam before since we are in the same neighborhood. Hihi... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Not yet read today's post as busy with cleaning after back from hospital. Need to wash all the clothes brought there... tomoro back to work... aiyo, backlog high like %*&^&(^(@*#&...look at $$$, swallow all the "bitter water" ... all this shall pass soon... look forward to better day.

wow so many aug mums to be!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/proud.gif]

so many leos!!!

babydreamqueen,

i can take NE line too...ok, I chk with my gynae then I let you know...Maybe if ok, we can car pool together home by taxi. Hee hee...

babydreamyqueen> I have also been missing out for the past few days due to my bad MS, taking some med to stop the vomitting & gastric reflux... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i will be joining the April'11 intake though Mar'11 will be my 16th week cos need to stabilise 1st.

Looking forward to see all mommies soon, do update me on the gathering venue/time once u all have finalized [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning all..

on mc for 2 days cos gynae ask to rest more... tmr going back to work already.. I wish I can stay at home forever.. haha...

anyone experiences numbness in legs? I feel that sometimes when i lie down to rest...

I'm staying @ buangkok area too!

Let me know if you gals are organising any meet up around our area ya!

Thks thks!

cwongst,

Are you on our FB secret society page? We are planning a meet up at Airport...if you are not on FB, can ask Carole to add u.

1. Takashimaya Baby Fair 2011

Dates: 9 to 28 March 2011

Time: unavailable (last year’s fair: 10a.m. to 9.30p.m.)

Venue: Takashimaya Singapore

Takashimaya Baby Fair is probably the most popular baby fair in Singapore, situated right in town and stretches over more than 2 weeks! Even though it lasts so long, attend it during the first week to grab your favourite sizes, colours and designs. And be prepared for huge weekend crowds. Read my review of last year’s Takashimaya Baby Fair here.

2. Baby Care Festival 2011

Dates: 18 to 20 March 2011

Time: 11a.m. to 8p.m.

Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 6B

Organiser: Mother & Baby Singapore

3. Baby Expo

Dates: 22 to 24 Apr 2011

Time: (Fri & Sat) 11a.m. to 9p.m., (Sun) 11a.m. to 8p.m.

Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 6A

Organiser: Vivacious Media Pte Ltd

http://www.mummysreviews.com/2011/02/14/takashimaya-singapore-malaysia-baby-fair-2011/

Hi MTBs,

I have the following extra supplements for sale:

1. Fish Oil (GNC Omega-3 Soft Chews) @ $40 per pkt (OP $57)

2. Nature Care Calcium Gummies (Strawberry Flavour) @ $8 per bottle (OP $10)

Pls sms 9824 1643 if interested.

Thanks and wishing everyone a smooth pregnancy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sus

wow! thanks for the info. will go see see look look. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

MS

my MS supposed to have improved by quite alot.. but today i just puked all my lunch out right after i finish it... :S

suddenly feel extremely tired after that.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Zzz....

Sus thanks for the info! super useful... i think we shld go load up on baby stuff during those fairs... dun think got anymore coming up.. and by then we'd be too tired to shop...

still can't decide on the brand of breast pump! medela or avent??

cp240,

I use avent manual pump for my #1..

#2,im thinking of medela..But need to read more comments on Medela freestyle.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

we can pool to buy medela freestyle if keen... maybe cheaper price. i was thinking of US set but had frens whose ones spoilt n not worth it... so i think i'll go for local cos warranty covers free replacement for motor

1) Anyone using mustela cream which prevent stretch marks...

2) pigeon vs johnson - which product is better for baby?

3) Breast pump? Which brand is good?

4) Steriliser? Any brand to recommend?

I know there is a taka fair coming up but as 1st time mom, not sure exactly what to buy.

pipi: pump i'm going for medela after reading up a bit. for steriliser, will jus take pigeon - my cousin rec its cheap n good cos she has both an exp n the pigeon one n she told me pigeon enuf so i save money lo

pipi: when i buying? i tot of buying only after 5 mths... so maybe i go for the apr one or i buy during GSS

PiPi

I like SebaMed for baby, it's PH balanced & gentle on baby's skin & it smells great! I used it for my son when he was a newborn. Now, I'm using California Baby & Burt's Bees.

I like Avent Isis Duo for breast pump.

I use Avent Steriliser.

PiPi

1) Using Clarins.. so far so good

2) For bath/shampoo, I use johnson. For sterilizer and warmer, I love pigeon.

3) Breast pump: Either Medela PIS or freestyle, or Ameda Lactaline - these are the more power and popular pumps I think.

4) Sterilizer: I love pigeon but heard Avent is as good.

Flowerie: As for me, Im using Ameda Lactaline and loving it. Its quite powerful and gives me a good let-down and has less parts to wash than Medela (cos Im a lazy bum).

sus: tks for the info. Super helpful!

msgiggles: that's quick! Good luck and hv fun guessing the gender [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Breastpump: I'll go for Medela anytime. Used a Medela Swing for my 1st one. Tempted to go on freestyle so I'll hv more time for my elder child. If anyone is looking for a Pre-loved Swing, feel free to contact me. I used it for approx 4 mths and the pump was changed to a brand new one when I converted my boy to formulae milk.

Welcome Cheuk Ling,

Congrats on your successful IVF and welcome to our club. You want to let Carole know your EDD and gynae...she will add you to the list..

Also, if you have FB, join us on FB secret page..none of ur friends will know...it's very fun inside FB with the other mummies. hee hee

Anyone knows gender yet? today's papers say mark lee's wife expecting 2nd child and due is late aug... n they knowits a boy liao leh.

CheukLing: welcome on board.

if you have FB acct, please add me [email protected] and let me know who are you. so that i can add you to our Secret Group in FB. where u post and will be kept a secret from friends and ur wall :p

Hi all Aug mtbs,

I've been following this thread and am 14wks today!

Carole, pls help me add my details, TIA~

Baby #2

EDD : 17 Aug

Gynae : Dr Geraldine Tan

Hospital : Mt A

Did my CVS n the procedure was very fast, easier

Than I expected. Now wait for results 2 weeks later.

For the fb account, if added in the group all post by all members will appear in my fb? Later too many to read ..

Any other alternatives to join?