(2011/06) June 2011

Qiuen & shymz

thanks for the info. I go buy some prune juice this evening btw where can I buy fybogel?

Eileen

i think TMC oso can hv water birth cos I remember when I went for the hospital tour for my #1, I remember seeing 1 delivery room has the tub oso but I think u need to engage some1 specialise in it cos nt sure gynae can do that or nt. Mayb u can check with ur gynae oso. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lazy mid-Sat afternoon. Body not too good today. My whole back and shoulders have been aching and my stomach feels a little bloated. Dunno why.

My SIL told about this baby bellies pre-natal massage. She went when she was 9mths preggie. She says it's really relaxing and good. Here is the URL.

http://www.babiesbellies.com.sg/3_services_nfo

Quote: Pre-Natal Massage (Recommended to be done after the 2nd trimester)$55 for 60 min

A therapeutic bodywork from head to toe except tummy specifically tailored for the expectant mother's needs as her body goes through changes. This massage enhances the function of muscles and joints, improves circulation and general body tone, as well as relieves mental and physical fatigue."

It says recommended to be done after 2nd tri. Means we now in 2nd tri cannot go yet? can only go in 3rd tri? I'm a bit confused.

I have registered for AMK hub class on sunday 12.30, starting on 20th March. Any mums attending the class as well?

Gynae wants me to adjust my sleeping position soon. Wants me to sleep between 10-90 degree

Have to put pillow on my back to support, and the other between my legs. After all the pillows, how is hub going to squeeze onto the queensize bed? haha

Reason why we cant sleep on our back is that, we have a important artery near our spine. With the BB growing bigger, it will exert more pressure and restrict the blood flow. 1 of the symptoms will be dizziness.

Mel & Hanis: THanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] it says 4D real time on the scan. Wonder whats the diff between 3d and 4d hmmm

Wah, it's really very clear...

I read also about not sleeping on our backs. Nowadays, feel very uncomfortable and I will wake up with backache, or find myself on my back.

Suddenly my tummy is really bloated and hard. Anyone noes why? I really hope its not a re-run of the stomach flu. How do you get rid of gas and bloating?

Hi everyone, I would like to join this thread.

EDD: 18 June 2011

Gynae: Dr Yvonne Chan

Hospital: TMC

BB No: 3 (2 girls already)

Does anyone know how much it costs to do a 4D scan? Dun think my gynae offers 3 or 4D scan.

Happy to join this thread! ;)

Altariel. U are right! Found site explaining it.

4D Ultrasound enables us to obtain the movement of the fetus that seems natural. Usually 3D ultrasound technique will only provide still images of the part of the baby such as face, arms or legs. 4D ultrasound will help us to see the baby when it yawns; open its eyes, etc. With 4D ultrasound, all of these movements can be clearly noticed as if we film them by video camera

http://www.seebaby.org/helpful-information/2d-vs-3d-vs-4d

Welcome destinee. Will update the chart on Monday.

Not sure how much my scans cost. Bill with hub. But in total. I spend abt $160 per trip to gynae.

qiuen,

your darling's adorable! Is it expensive to do a 4D scan?

For those who are interested in the mumsfairy breastfeeding workshop,

I attended it yesterday night. Found it really informative and helpful. Sister Kang, Juliet and Valerie are all such nice ladies and willing to share. I'm even more motivated to BF now after attending it. Bought a book written by Sister Kang "Successful Breastfeeding: A practical guide" ($20 at the workshop) which I understand can be bought from outside bookstores too (abt $27 i think). If you do not wish or unable to attend the workshop, can always consider buying the book. I glanced through it and It's really comprehensive.

Asked hub to let me see bill. Total costs for my scans is $90 before gst. I usually bring hm 1*4d pic and at least 2*2d pic each trip. Gynae consult $60.

How much u ladies paid for your scan?

Syrah. Oh. Shall see if I can make it for mumsfairy next class. Thanks for letting us know ur review on it.

Thanks alot JJ! I have no idea about how my colli thought that, she delivered in tmc anyway. Thanks so much for checking. Seems like the cost to deliver in tmc n mt a is not much diff? Think will decide after ward tour [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] does it make any diff that I've already bought the First Born Incentive from tmc if I decide to deliver in Mt A?

chili_padi, no problem, the FBI card can only be used in TMC wor not applicable to MT A. keep your options open, choose whichever u are comfortable to. My $ in SBI card is well spent, i checked my card is expring in july 2011 and i going to use the same card for my next delivery, whoohoo!

mummies, anyone of u here ve giant stamps & dun wan it can give me? TIA

qiuen> i'm attending the same class as you!

destinee/ syrah> heard that it costs abt $200+ to do a 3D/ 4D scan at TMC. Think before that you need to a test first. Then they will give u CD at the end.

Btw, anyone doing any form of pre-natal education? First time mum, not sure what to do..haha

mummies - does any of ur gynae request u to do a gluccose test? I was advised to do yesterday, but the thoughts of drinking that yucky sweet drink send me goosebumps! I immediately told hubby I wanna skip this test, if really necessary I'll wait till my 32 weeks appt before I consider doing it

Hanis,I find that I m in the same situation as u lately especially after a meal..can't sit at all..it feels like my tummy is stretched to the max..

Just went for my detailed scan. Placenta found to be low lying. Is anyone in the same situation as me? Advised against excessive walking & strenuous exercises.

Went to Europe for almost a mth in Dec, wondering if the walking caused this or it is a natural occurence. She did mention that 1 in 2 pregnancies hv low lying placenta, but most will move up after some time. If it doesn't, I'll hv to deliver by c-section. Oh no~

Qiuen > Will u pls update my bb's gender? Expecting a boy. Thank you.

winniepooh: think all MTB will need to do the glucose test, usu done after 20weeks to screen for GD(gestational diabetes). coz GD has associated risks for the baby, IMO it's better to do it...

shymz

thanks will go guardian to see. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hanis

I have done my pre-natal massage last sun, bodyaches is musch better after massaage. My gynae said can do lei in 2nd tri. Btw my massage lady came to my hse to massage for me. Mayb you wan to double check with ur gynae.

del > i'm first time mum too and intend to go due to suggestion from my auntie who benefited from it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

winnie > my gynae don't ask me lol he actually doesn't ask me to go for amnio too (i'm in early 20s) and the detailed scan. He has 4D scan machine though :D the only test he asked me to go is the blood test and nearer to the date vagina swap (or something like that) test

qiuen > im thinking of AMK class too but actually i'm going to ask if they can put me on earlier slot, my husband going reservist on end march T.T I dont want to go alone la (ask prenatal course is also time for mum and dad to bond together)

Oh and my gynae don't extra charge for the scan but his package on the expensive side (1.8k) exclude medication and lab test

claire> there is another class starting this month but think it's full. the next class is in march. think if u dun mind, u can check the other location at thomson.

rata, i have a couple at home... how do i pass u?

^moon^, my frd whose edd is next month has the same problem. i wonder is pre-natal massage helps? cos i know the massage lady can help to change the position of the baby head thru a few sessions, no sure if it works the same with placenta.

Morning mummies.

Sob, had not slept well last night again, dunno why ever since in 2nd trimester, will experience backaches and kinda gastric pain so frequently when i slept at night. I wonder is it my sleeping posture that's causing all these discomfort. =(

Hanis/Clare > I also have this bloatedness and tummy tearing apart feeling. I've asked my gynae, she said cos it's first pregnancy, the skin is tight, and she said could be due to doing too much sit ups before preggy.

mummies, regarding sleeping well, i am now using this S-shaped pregnancy pillow which I got from My First Years for $139. It is very comfortable and support every contour when you sleep. Only thing is when you flip, you have to flip with the pillow and may disrupt your sleep a little. I got it for my first pregnancy and is using it now. No backache whatsoever. I think it is a good investment.

Hanis> I check with my gyne on tummy got gas... he did mention to me that its part of preggy package but to reduce it can reduce the intake of gas genarated food (eg) cabbage.

Claire> I am attending the first mums and dads congress [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mel> I am a first time mum too and will be attending pre-natal class in Mt A. Its call Child Birth Education.

Krex78> http://www.mtalvernia-hospital.org/happenings.asp#ladiescard

Call the hospital ask for the price cause the last time I paid is a promotion price at S$68 for 2 yr. please call 6347 6788.

Oceanicgal> I think you have heartburn le cause if it happen at night most of the time and you have to sit stright up during the night time.

mummies, just to share that u have to make sure that the massage lady u engage has many many many years of experience on pre or post natal massage. take changing baby position for example, one of the biggest risk is baby entangling with the umblical cord, if change baby position, then how to change the position of the cord such that it doesn;t entangle. For gynae, they can see through the ultrasound machine but massage lady ?

Even for post natal massage, i read about cases where the lochia all came out for just 1 session of massage, that i think is too strong already...

My massage lady told me postnatal massage should not exceed 45 mins, doesn't mean the longer the better...

just a word of caution here... hope mummies dun mind ya...

moon, most cases do move up, some much later, so u just need to be careful now regarding overexerting that area... i also have to constantly remind myself...

quien> my scans so far has all been between $150 to %185. It varies depending on complexity and length of scan. I usually bring back 1x scan picture, plus a dvd which contains about 8 pics or video of baby moving. mine is nett no gst. haha so i think ur scan price quite ok liao

claire> my gynae dun even provide package lor. at all. so now every time go must pay. super xiong! haha so i already envy your $1.8k package

moon> i have same problem as u. gynae said my placenta is a little low too.. so he told me dun run or jump abt or do excessive exercise.. i originally planned to start swimming after wk 16 but now im holding it off till after next scan then see wat doc says..

i have also been having some backaches but i rather suffer than go for the pre-natal massage cos i read before that if they didnt massage properly, there will be complications later during labour. i rather not take the chance. just my opinion and me being uber kiasu and paranoid la. im sure if the massage lady u go to is extremely qualified then there probably shouldnt be any problems

oceanicgal/christy> my cousin-in-law had very bad coughing during her preg and couldnt sleep at night unless she sit and sleep. end up her baby leg a bit deformed. not sure whether is it because the scrunched up position affected growth la. but better to sleep slightly inclined and not too straight up yeah?

anyone knows if mount E has a similar scheme like TMC's FBI/SBI or Mount A's ladies card?

ann01jan> I am interested in the S-Shaped pregnancy pillow that u mentioned. My First Years is an online shopping website? Any idea where else can I buy this support pillow?

Christy> huh.. heartburn.. sob sob! Will it go off easily if I watch my diet?

ann - I show my hubby the pillow. first question from him "is there a need to buy, worth to buy or not?" *faint* I think I'll buy when I have difficulty sleeping cos now I still can sleep very soundly hugging my bolster

winniepooh, actually my reaction is the exactly the same as your hubby... worse still, afterthat i have to store it in my storeroom and it takes up a lot of space...

btw, i use it for breastfeeding also, and during confinement, i use the pillow to sit up for more support... so this pillow follow me from the living room to bedroom... if not, you will still need 2-3 cushions to prop yoursefl or the baby up for a more comfortable position... preventing the aches is better than curing it later right ?

ann - I already start to have backache already but not possible to bring to work hahaha. at home if I use lappy in the room I need 3 pillows to support my back, my first trimester backache is much worse than now. I think hubby trying to cut down on expenses cos we really spend a bomb on this precious

ann01jan > ur hubby really dotes on u leh. I wonder wat will be my hubby's reaction, hahaha.. but indeed it looks huge and bulky. But hearing ur reviews, I guess it's really no regrets huh. Will check it out at KKH or Paragon. So glad no need ship from USA.

oceanic gal, hey we both expecting girl & at bt batok!

this wk 18th wk, looking forward to see my new gynae.. changing to Dr Douglas.. hope hb ok with him. been feeling so tired..

alterial: like you, my gynae dont provide packages. Since i am comfy with her and she only delivers at Mt E, I dont dare to ask her delivery charges incase hub faints. haha

qieun - my gynae also no package & I only start to see him from 24 weeks onwards. want to change to Dr Jocelyn Wong but hubby saw the queue at the clinic & start to shake head. I'll stick to my current one maybe if we decide to have #2 then change gynae

Claire & Christy,

I should be attending the First Mums' and Dads' congress too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

altariel, moon,

same here the gynae said it was low during my 16th week check up. no running, jumping, no squatting too. which was kinda problematic coz sometimes ur really need to squat and pick up stuffs etc and not all the time someone is with you.. my 20th week checkup (detailed scan) is on 25th jan.. hope to see everything all right by then.. no sense of kicking yet leh.. kinda anxious =) i think i'll jump in joy when i feel it =)

JJ,

thanks for the help in asking! Ya will keep options open.. though it almost looks like TMC is comprehensive enough.. i just had comments from others to opt for Mt A when possible and i think it puzzles me, and kinda shakes my perspective..

i've been losing sleep these days.. skin started to have itch between fingers and toes.. GP called it pompholyx.. can't use steroid cream. so just keep moisturizing... but still itch like crazy especially in the night. on oral antihistamine but kinda concerned that i'm always popping pills even though they say it's safe for pregnant woman [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] anyone facing this too?

qieun> got more info on the pre-natal course at mt alv?

winniepooh> i'm also seeing dr joceyln wong. first time i went w/o appt, i waited for 4 hrs. but now with appt, usually 15 - 30 mins wait. she's a nice lady [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Altáriël> I dun encourage sitting up and sleeping la.. think I did not put the question mark behind my question :p Its very tired to sleep like that too. But most heartburn will go off if u standup or sit up position.

oceanicgal> Heartburn and Indigestion are quite the same just that you have to avoid rich or spicy dishes, chocolate, citrus, caffine and alcohol. Must allow time to digest your food before you go to bed... dun go to bed right after your meal. Dun eat too full, must take small light meals.