(2010/12) December 2010 MTB

bbribena: I'm working at depot road, so near your Commonwealth!

bubbly: My hubs has received several 'proposals' from friends requesting him to 'betroth' liz to their sons, and my hubs has started to 'screen' these potential MILs to safeguard Liz' sanity! Haha...

Mummies, pls advise whether blending steamed baby food using blender will introduce 'wind' into it? MIL insists that my 6mth old baby will get colic again, if food is prepared this way.

muddypaws: u dont accept PM leh.. U wana tell me ur contact no? btw, what's your name in FB? Eugene T? how come is a guy's name? i got the wrong muddypaws? Must be i anyhow add again? hahaha.. blurrrr..

stefie: alamak.. your internet slags shows BD is big deals :S see, u still the best.. google and internet also sa la..

bbribena: work commonwealth? travel so far to work? eh, u also near vivo ma.. then can meet for lunch.. hehe

Re: RWS scam

75,000??? gosh!! so much!

chercat> urm.....what does your MIL suggest instead? I dont think my boy is 'windy' after eating all the endless supply of purees leh...

Leelee, there are few kind of lingo, you see for TTCing (trying to concieve) lingo and normal internet Lingo. I go and find the TTcing lingo. Then you see[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://www.twoweekwait.com/community/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=36

Okay this is TTCing lingo.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am just KPO lah[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

muddypaws, our office used to be at Bukit Merah, even nearer! Sometimes we go over to deport road to eat Botak Jones. =P My sec sch was at deport road, it's an empty building now.

Leelee, yay lor.. when I first got this job at '06, I still live at my mom's place, only two bus stop away. But the flats at mom's place is very exp, so we nvr buy the hse ard that area.

Stefie/Bubbly,

our little one grow up so fast hor! My friend said usually the second one grows up even faster coz with 2 kids, total lost track of time!

have been trying to access to this page, but fail till now...sigh...

it has been a terrible evening for me last nite. i've once again caused my gal to "merlion" big time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

my gal has reflux problem since born, but it kind of taper off after on 2 rounds of medication. was giving her last feeding last night, and she was dozing off while emptying her bottle. after feeding, i carried her upright to burp her, but she struggled, thus decided to swaddle her (she still need to be swaddled to sleep [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] ) before continuing to burp her...but alas she merlion everything out while lying on our bed.... i was so so devastated. She has not merlion for months and not when my mil or hubby feed her...i am a lousy mummy, i can't even manage to feed my gal without her puking (this is the 2nd time in this mth)...i was really so so upset that i was trembling with guilt and anger, that i juz feel like jumping down the block...

though hubby tried to console me, saying it's not my fault, it's just that our gal has "shallow stomach" (胃浅) as what her PD mentioned, but why it's always me who caused our gal to suffer [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] now i really have reservation whether i should feed my gal....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Whisp: Please do not blame yourself. No mummy wants to see their babies merlion. The little one probably puked because like what your hubby said she has a shallow tummy and due to her struggle she vomited. I'm sure you are a good mummy to her. Please do not beat yourself up over this issue. As she grows older I'm sure her reflux problem will get better.

By jumping off the block, you won't be able to be there to see her growing years and meet her other needs as she develops year by year. So please don't think of silly things like that.

Leelee/Muddypaws,

I always find deport road alittle scary at night.... so quiet. XP Can't work late liao hor.

There's a condo building up very near your office, muddy!

Whisp, don't feel bad... {hugs} =) Perhaps try not to swaddle her until she's done burping, so her stomach won't get pressured on. Is she taking FM or BM?

Whisp> ((hugs))

From the way i see it, you are not a terrible mum! The fact that you take such good care of your little girl and is so worried over her well being tells me you are a GREAT mum!

As mums we always worry, we blame ourselves when the little ones get sick or hurt. Its just our programming...Because we want nothing but the best for them

I hv no personal experience with 'merlion' tho both my kids are happy spitters. It does get tiring and frustuating but they will outgrow it. As long as your girl puts on weight, grows well, it'll be ok. Cheer up, luv!

Whisp> ((hugs))

From the way i see it, you are not a terrible mum! The fact that you take such good care of your little girl and is so worried over her well being tells me you are a GREAT mum!

As mums we always worry, we blame ourselves when the little ones get sick or hurt. Its just our programming...Because we want nothing but the best for them

I hv no personal experience with 'merlion' tho both my kids are happy spitters. It does get tiring and frustuating but they will outgrow it. As long as your girl puts on weight, grows well, it'll be ok. Cheer up, luv!

muddypaws: JTC? bukit mearah JTC? I'm at mapletree pasir panjang..

whisp: dun be upset.. my boy also got reflux problem.. be it whoever feeds.. i know its really heart pain.. but its our bb's whose stomach is small and cant hold.. dun blame urself.. have ur gal start on solids? I heard frm the mummies here that solids can help [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bbribena: dont work late!! go back on the dot and accompany leah..

Roz,

the BP deal is cheaper than the deal offered by RWS directly. but hb and i did find it abit high risk so were still holding out on booking thro the BP.

old ppl always say dun freeze porridge will hv wind. anyway porridge gets more and more watery as it cools so probably won't freeze well. i do freeze cooked rice and resteam when i want to use it.

Leelee, I didn't realise I've been with this company for 5 years liao! Old bird in the company as I was technically their first employee.

whisp,

my #1 also hv very shallow stomach even until now. no choice hv to slowly feed, slowly burp and give small frequent meals.

when she was a bb she also merlioned so many times cos i tried to increase her feeds so that i dun hv to feed so frequently. cos everybody say their bb only feed every 3-4hrs blah blah....

i also felt so guilty cos i cos my bb reflux to get worse.

if u r aware and actually feel bad abt it, that actually makes u a good mum!

lovebyte/ bbribena/ roz/ leelee/ grumpus,

thanks for your kind words and assurance. something in my head is not working correctly, i've been having negative thoughts ever since i was pregnant.

i love my baby dearly, but at the same time keeps having the notion that i'm not doing well enuf, esp when mil is ard, i am worried that i perform badly and wrongly, even though my mil didn't mention anything...sigh..my bad [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

bbribena,

my girl is on fm now, but she has merlioned during the bm times. it's my stupid mistake to swaddle her before she was done burping.

Roz, the MIL wants to cook the food for hours n hours inside a pot until it gets totally mushy. Our fast & modern ang-moh way of doing things doesn't sit well with old pp like her. I, for one, ain't gonna wake up at 3am in the morning just to prepare baby's lunch. She can do it if she wants.

leelee: I'm next to the Interlace development. I leave office by 6pm everyday, so no chance to see the 'quiet' side of depot road.

Whisp: Please don't be too hard on yourself. It's no one's fault... You have done a great job so far and you are a great mummy! Like what some of the mommies say, you can try feeding smaller volumes at more regular intervals and burping her more often. Alternatively, you can also try to feed her at a steeper angle so the milk goes down better.

whisp: Happy thoughts, Happy thoughts! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Pardon me for being direct, but if you continue to have negative thoughts, you might want to consider seeing a doctor as it seems to indicate signs of depression.

chercat: I had notions of cooking your MIL's way, but now, we just boil the porridge with everything in a regular pot, then blend [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

whisp, everyone makes mistake =) That's why we come here ah, we remind each other how much we have done for our babies, what mistakes can be avoided, how much we love our babies. =) So no worry too much. We have tried our best liao.

whisp: u try not to lie her down after she burp.. btw think of happy things, moments.. be positive.. and everything will be fine.. dun blame yourself..

muddypaws: getting more and more confused.. stefie, wru???? walking GPS.. :p if u say deport road and botak jones.. then i know where issit.. Anyways, lunch soon ya.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

muddpaws,

yah, must have happy thoughts, dun wish to cause any more distress to baby and hubby. will try the method of feeding at a steeper angle, thanks!

thanks for lending me a listening ear. sorry for ending the day with an unhappy note.

let's go home to our dear family! i can't wait to see my baby! let's hope that my baby will be spared from been a merlion today. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chercat> if boil for hours, yes will become softened but most of the nutrients would also be broken down, bah. Can have your MIL prepare the porridge like that, then you can mix in your frozen veg puree?

Grumpus> so you can freeze cooked rice? Im not freezing porridge, i blended cooked rice with steamed broccoli and added the water from steaming to soften a little bit and freezing those hee >.< but what else can you do with frozen cooked rice?

Roz,

My mum never said anything abt not freezing rice :p

I freeze cooked rice for #1 though so I make fried rice or stir fry simple dishes for her to eat with the rice.

For bb I guess u can add stock, purees n blend to sort of make porridge?

Hi muddypaws,

Thanks. She's currently taking Bellamy organic rice cereal. Perhaps will ask pd this sat since she's going for her last jab.

Hi bbribena,

I understand how u feel. I used to dread going home cos I'll see my mil. Now things r better cos my mum looks after my kids. Will stay at my mum's place for dinner before going home. Lesser time to face her so fewer things for her to complain.

Roz

Babe, i really cant get ur sms.. U wanna email me???

I'm ok but u can give other mummies then..

Whisp

My gIrl also used to have projectile vomiting. I reckon that's what you meant by merlion? I was very upset and blame myself too when it happens. But as long as baby dont feel sick after that and not after every feed then it's ok.

My girl have outgrown it. So don't worry, when your baby

a bit older and the stomach muscles stronger will be able to hold the food down better. What i did was That time was feed smaller frequent meals, no sudden movement after food. Move her slowly and gently to as upright position as possible to allow gravity to help hold the food down. If can thicken the feed, that helps too though I didn't as that time too young. Then burp before feed to get any air out first or anytime when carrying just pat her see got burp or not.

LeeLee: hahaha... Ya, sometimes, I mute my calls and do something else..

Mudypaws: oh, your comp did the set-up? Not bad.. Quite crowded today, had fun seeing the new solutions..

Stefie: ya, i guess mommies have the ways to bite the bullet and move on.. :) sng sng means what smell?

Roz/DBaby i love to see all the formal wear in exhibitions.. Just one thing aways make me feel "puzzled" the appearane of some sexily dressed gal either distributing flyers or as usherers.. Communicasia still ok coz consumer, it's shows like metalasia that made me feel like, "huh, sexy lady like F1 race gals in such a dry show".. Hubby will say "you don't have to understand"...

Muddypaws: omg... Liz is so hot!!! You'll have headache next time when she's older :p

Chercat: i didn't hear my mil commented abt blending coz wind, so i guess not bah.. But waking up at 3am to prepare lunch is a bit extreme...

Bbribena: i can't even start thinking of having second one though hubby is dying for a daughter.. I say " can, if we strike toto and we get 2 helpers".. :p my excuse not to have another one.. Though i'll pity zaizai playing by himself, i think i'll pity him more if we are biased.. Sigh.. Still time to think but my hubby is old liao, can't think too long either...

Whisp: don't blame yourself.. Stay positive :)

Re: mil

Got home just now helper say mil got angry with her over something.. That mil was so angry she could lift zaizai out from cot to the hall ( mil has stopped carrying him since he was 2 months coz he's too heavy for her).. Later mil complained that helper took bath n baby cried, she said she shouted to get helper's attention but helper ignored her, and that zaizai was crying till he turned "green".. Sigh.. She was so angry when she conveyed to me, i say prob helper just didn't hear her, she says helper just choose to ignore her.. Not sure what's what.. :-(

good morning mommies.. I am a walking zombie today.. zaizai was so cranky the whole of last nite.. woke up every half hour sucking the quilt or biting his teether, then he'll cry out loud.. louder each time.. fed him, but he refused.. maybe painful.. applied teething gel, he was calmed for a while before sleeping again and the cycle just repeat and repeat till near dawn, he cried like so xinku, I carried him to sleep.. I thought they feel the gum sore only when the teeth erupting.. his teeth already out, why still painful de.. when dawn came, I beh tahan, woke him up when he was cranky and immediately he gave us a big smile.. ish.. he'll be cranky with his eyes closed, if his eyes are opened, he'll smile.. real pain or fake? :p

grumpus> Yup..and now is she say i say point here point there, blaming everyone but themselves!! And think that there are maybe more people involved who are too shy/pai seh to report!

bubbly7> morning dear...sounds like a rough nite [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but at least got a smile from zaizai :D

Good morning mommies and daddies[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mommies please drink more water, wear light clothings, eat more fruits and take your daily vits.

Had a lousy evening yesterday. Hubby missed his flight, so he will be returning to SIN today. I am having my mense now, so feeling very emotional.

Hubby was very angry with himself for missing his flight, as he needs to go to KUL this morning to meet very important customer.

He needs me to console him, so we msn. Talking very well, then I asked him where is his sis having 1 month bash for her son? Then he asked me am I going, I said no, cos I have enough craps from my MIL and the 1 month bash is like "wedding" dinner 20-25 tables. I am not looking forward. Then 1 thing leads to the other, we started quarrelling, he said I am making things different for him for not going to my PIL house, join them for makan, not going holiday with them. I am really tired to talk to him, cos I have to take care of Alexis, bathe, pack her IFC stuff, eat dinner (I had my dinner at 930pm)

He is the one who said, he will learn to accept whoever the person is, then he was okay with me not going to my PILs, not joining them for dinner etc etc. Now my conclusion is, men don't speak their mind. When they gets upset, everything will be back to Sq 1.

Now I am thinking of going to my PILs with a black face, don't let my MIL touch Alexis on Sunday. (cos I can't stand it, my MIL needs me to ask her to play with Alexis, must ASK one okay, if not she will not play with her and act act) IMO current arrangement is good, cos he can have pte time with his Parents, My MIL can play with Alexis and I can have ME time. Trying to be as positive as possible.

I think his sis's BB 1 month bash, alexis can't go, cos she is having cough now. Go with the flow now, and see how on sat.

Bubbly, is he having nightmare? I think he finds comfort in you, that's why he smiles when he sees you. Alexis also like that, see me will give me super sweet smile[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sng sng mean sour. Baby sweat smell abit sour now. I just love it and Alexis breathe also. BB smell are priceless, no money can buy[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Whisp, it is not your fault. Don't blame yourself, we are all here trying to be good mommies to our little ones. Now just try to adjust here and there when feeding her. Things will gets better, jia you[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Roz, Stefie: indeed when zaizai smiled, felt like wiped out the whole sleepless nite.. hahaha.. but I'm zombified again now.. hahahaha...

stefie: whoa! 20-25 tables for 1 month bash! that's ALOT! since Alexis is still coughing, then you have the reason not to go.. :p showing black face will not do you or hubby good de.. but blame it on hormone.. mense ma.. :) not sure if zaizai having nitemare, nd to see how tonite goes.. hahaha.. sour smell.. ya, love baby smell.. :)

re: sty/e

Any mommies have experience with babies with sty/e on their eye lid? like "bak chiam"? Zaizai got one 3 weeks ago, PD says blocked oil or tear duct, can do hot compress and it'll go away, but after so long still didn't go away, wonder what else can I do.. the cream PD subscribed says use for 1 week only.. I'm worried if I don't do anything it'll stay with him forever..

Bubbly, yes like "wedding" dinner hoh. You know Alexis 1 month celebration is only 2 tables for close family memebers. His sis hubby has alot of business associates mah, earning more than $10K or more per month, living in $1.65M (5 years ago price) condo in Bt Timah, drives BMW 5 series (That time even asked my hubby to get 3 series cos cheaper than his 5 series), getting another Volvo for her to drive. Trying to show off they are rich in any means. Sorry we are not atas, just middle income, eats in hawker centres, drives Japanese 2nd hand car, lives in HDB (5 mins from CC swimming pool), no helper, daughter goes to NTUC IFC and wears handme downs. Ha!! ha!!! Even talking also different levels.

Good morning mummies and daddies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bubbly7: ya.. could he be having nightmare? or another tooth is coming out?

Stefie: dun feel emo.. talk to us... rant to us.. talking helps [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] we are always here for u..

bubbly7: Jovan has blocked eye ducts before.. only one of his eyes.. and PD suggests we massage his eyes as much as possible.. ard 7 times per day around his eye.. she also suggest me to use bm to rub around his eyes.. hope this can help zai zai..

Leelee, thank you. I am taking it easy. I do hope I die in car crash, once and for all. Hate all these stuff. I can be positive for Alexis, but not on people I don't like. Mense makes my hormones ki siao. Very sian about life now. Only Alexis can bring sparks to my life. I feel like bring her to my mom, instead of facing hubby and his family.

stefie: as long as we are happy can liao.. no need stay high end, spend high end and use high end.. happy family most important and healthy as well.. wealth enough to survivie can liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

stefie: choy choy choy.. early morning dun say such things.. yeah, i see alexis, i also happy. the da yan mei with lots of hair... u dont intend to cut her hair?