(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

gd morning ladies..

Chermaine: my first pregnancy gynae gave the utrogeston, its a white color rounded pill/ tablet. if i remember correctly, its to.. erm..hehe~ sorry i forgot.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Evangelyn: IC. 12week. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sharky: you're not alone! me too..! usually when take shower will have tingling sensation when touch nipples. today morning, no feeling! wanted to ask around too.. i think its fine, right? somemore my back..very pain.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] feel very "heavy" to walk alr. i think water retention?

Managed to get the article from ST for working moms. Can't upload the whole document as it exceeds the size limit though, so if any of you would like to read it let me know and I will send it to you via email.

i've had utrogeston for this pregnancy and my #1. the doc's office say it's a stabiliser, so i guess works in the same way to prevent m/c? i only need to take it up to end of first trimester, but since i got a few more they said just take until finish. they also advised to take it at night as some people can feel a bit faint or giddy after taking it.

My MS (or rather nausea) and sore breasts just come and go...there are good days and bad day. I guess I just have to deal with it.

For DHA, I was told that it is essential to take during the last trimester..cos that is when the baby's brain cells has the most tremendous growth spurt

sharky: hehe~

isobellies: tx for coming to the rescue. yes, thats the thing to "stabilise".. sorry2.. really forget.this time round gynae never gave..

suelynn: what article. can send me la.. thru pm can? or email.. if cant pm let me know. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

im still having the cramps you know. today.. when woke up, nothing.. then aft, the cramps came.. not really2 painful.. but.. aiyo. make my mind go mad like that.

hi yan_er: welcome.. (i just pray nothing happen). im in my 9 weeks too... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Irma errr.. nothing happen???

waiting for 12 wks seems so long rite?

MS is killing me. Could be due to the utrogeston?

Really hope for miracle pill....

yan_er: had a m/c in aug this year.. thats y i said.. nothing.. as in nothing bad will happen.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hehe~

peck: [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] tq.. yala.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] never go lunch?

Hi Irma,

Sent you PM that document cannot be uploaded. If you do not mind sending me your email add, I can email the ST article to you.

HI everyone,

Can I check to see if you have been avoiding the following cooling stuff? I'm being told I should not be having them in the first trimester:

a) Black longan drink

b) Barley drink

c) Waterchestnut sugarcane drink

d) Chrysanthemum drink

e) Bitter gourd

f) Pineapple

Any word from your doc on the above?

I did not refrain myself from cooling stuff, as I believe the key is "moderation"..hee.

The only things that I do not eat is raw and uncooked stuff.

Thanks for your replies, quite a relief. Actually my doc also said everything in moderation, just no raw meats and soft unpasturized cheeses. Was a little worried she may be too liberal.

My youngest sis who is also preggers (1 month ahead) has been avoiding everything religiously. She's a 2nd time mummy. Just thought it was quite torturing, not just feeling terrible but having to avoid so many things.

Was at the gynae this morning. Doc prescribed Pyridoxine (aka Vit B6)to help with my MS and so far I am feeling much better (it seems more effective than the Metoclopramide which was given to me earlier).

I fedback that the Duphaston and the progesterone jabs seem to be making my MS worse and doc reduced dosage to once a day and jab once a week respectively. Looks like it's true these 2 affect MS.

Bliss: Bought Yummyearth this morning. It helps too. Thanks.

hi any MTBS here seeing dr adrian woodworth?

i din get any fish oil or iron and calcum pills,

i only got mulit vit pink colour...

Evangelyn,Isobellies,I also had utrogestron for 2weeks due to my previous m/c case. My dr told me it kind of hormone pill to strengthen my womb. Ya, it will makes u feel giddy so i only advise to take at night.

bebe75, may i know which shop sells maternity clothes at TPY ?

Ling, great to hear that yummyearth helps [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummy2nia.. thanks.. taking my multi vit and folic acid religiously..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think some mummies shld be feeling better now.. went for gynae checkup yester.. in 10 weeks already.. baby abt 3.3 cm long.. next checkup only 1 month later but in between will be doing down's syndrome test at TMC.

Can i check w u all ladies when u all do the down's syndrome test.. is it at ur gynae clinic or at the hos. How muc do they charge..? For my case, i will be paying abt 250 for down's syndo,e test and also the detailed scan.

Stephanie .. i am seeing dr adrain.. were u there yesterday night? He normally gives fish oil after 12-14 weeks.. thats when the baby really absorbs the nutrients.. thats what the nurse told me.. i nver got any iron or calcium tablets from him too.. i think probably the multivits includes this 2 already. i saw him for my 1st preganancy too..

Bliss.. what is yummyearth?? a sweet?

Ling.. glad that ur ms is better.. i also envy ladies w.o much ms.. Hope all these will be over soon... cant wait to feel energetic in 2nd trimester.. but honestly speaking like other mummies..i hate 3rd trimester too.. cant sleep well..pee so many times at night..walk so slow.. swollen legs.. and worst thing for me.. i had rashes and my toes were cracking and very badly swollen.. torturous period for me.. watched a lot of korean dramas at home during that period.. cause sch holis.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

genice, during my last preg, for D/S test, i took the triple test (only need to test blood so done at the gynae clinic) which costs abt $108, detailed scan (done at TMC) is abt $120. but tis time rd, i m taking the Oscar test (include blood test plus scan, to be done at TMC). This will costs abt $280 without the detailed scan which is done at 20 weeks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jeannie

actually OSCAR consists of a few tests, or rather risk assessment.

so my last visit to gynae he measured the spine (actually i think it's the fluid or something), and the result was 0.73cm, so the risk is low. then he took blood, and if i'm not wrong the blood test will be for rubella, thessalima (?? dunno how to spell), HIV, etc. and also risk of down's.

if blood test risk also low, he probably won't proceed with any other down's tests.

Irma

haha actually i just know it's to "stabilise", that's all! i don't even know whether it's hormone based or what. haha.

Genice, i am also in my 10th week but my bb is only 2.76cm. Read that it should be 3.1-4.2, yours does fall within the range. I am hoping that the MS can go away quickly so that I can eat and drink properly, and my bb in turn can catchup and grow accordingly. Having lost 5kgs over the last 2-3 weeks, my poor bb also suffered.

Yummyearth is a brand of organic candy drops. I bought it from NUH pharmacy this morning.

Irma: Doc also prescribed a suppository to help with the MS, but I didn't use it since B6 seems to work. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sberry, iso.. i think mine is the NT test.. the one that measures the neck thickness..its not oscars test leh..

iso.. i think what ur gynae did is the same as what i will be doing at TMC.. so ur gynae provides the service in his clinic.. hmm.. much more convenient..how abt ur detailed scan? also ur gynae do for u?

Ling!! u must take care.. u already lost 5 kgs?? Thats a lot.. eat small but regular meals k.. I think i am the one in need to lose 5 kgs.. from my previous pregnancy.. thank goodness haven start gaining much weight yet.. gonna control my diet liao..gained 17 kg for my 1st baby.. horrible..

Yummy earth taste good?? I also like to take sweets and sweet drinks to stop my MS but very fatttening.. I am so hungry and bored at home now.. want to eat but nothing much to eat at home..

genice, you are a SAHM ? i'm bored at home too. almost empty my house. can't stock much food too cause moving in 2-3 weeks time.

Yummy earth is nice. is real fruit and it doesn't taste very sweet. just like natural fruit sweetness. good for childrens too rather feeding them sweets selling outside.

i thought OSCAR would cost ard $500+... the equivalence of this test at KKH is called First Trimester Screening and I'll be paying around $360 for it...

jeannie

oh ok, i went to google it, so actually the NT is called nuchal scan (so many cheem terms!). when he was doing it i asked if it was the OSCAR test, he said something like it's one of a few tests as part of OSCAR.

the detailed scan last time i went to TMC, cos it takes almost an hour, and i think the nurses said that he rather not spend the time doing it, lol.

your nuchal scan must go TMC and not at the clinic? then the detailed scan?

ok here's what i found:

OSCAR stands for 'one stop clinical assessment of risk', and is a method for giving a Down's risk based on one visit to a clinic between 11 weeks and 13 weeks 6 days. At this visit a nuchal scan is performed, which is combined with a two hormone blood test (papp-A and hCG) at the same time. A combined Down's risk assessment can then be given.

just went for my checkup this morning. doc said everything is gd, bb is gd too. now bb is 2.76cm & im 9weeks 3days. given gestrenol & prenaforte prenatal formula but no folic acid leh. is this formula same as folic acid? doc said i can start taking "pu" (i guess its this med) for bb le.

re: forbidden or not food

a) Black longan drink - not yet drink, nobody tells me.

b) Barley drink - still drink sometimes.

c) Waterchestnut sugarcane drink - water chestnut yes, but not yet drink the water chestnut sugarcane.

d) Chrysanthemum drink - nobody tells me cannot drink.

e) Bitter gourd - still eat.

f) Pineapple - nobody buy, so i didn't eat.

jalgal,

i actually took leave to rest, very sian to go work. =p monday took leave to acc hubby as his rest day is on that day.

bliss,

i think the shop's name is corrona. can't remember the exact spelling.

im only scanning thru the thread, got distracted by son. c u all next week! =)

hv a gd weekend!

First few weeks, no appetite to eat, i lost 2 kgs now good appetite already, start to gain 1 kg back, hv to control control, last pregnacy gain total 26kgs, a bit scary.

bliss.. i am actually not.. just that now with my MS, i am too tired and uncomfortable to work and i find that after a few months in my current job.. i dun really enjoy the lifestyle that i am leading.. a lot of nights out meeting pp and weekends burnt.. this is not wat i one after all. I am actually thinking of switching job.. but wondering who would employ a pregnant woman.

Actually how do pp look for jobs ? i am totally clueless cause i was stucked in civil service for 5 yrs....and my current job was a recommendation by my friend.

Iso.. help help..

tiger baby.. maybe urs is the detailed oscar tests where everthing also test, like the fluid level in the sac and... i think mine is a simpified one..just measure NT thickness..

hi genice - did u see dr adrian tan from tmc too?

My last visit, the nurse told me it cost $400 plus for the oscas test + detailed scanning + blood test analysis?

Is it true that u pay $250 for the above? I am rather confused coz now jobless due to pregnancy. to fock out that much i nearly wanted to faint. I will be doing the test next wednesday.

Hey mommies,

Been some time since i cm in..wow...i couldnt possible finish the thread fm then...

I went for my gynae checkup earlier also, happy to knw that bb is fine...heartbeat is strong and measures at 2.02cm at 8 weeks...

Gynae gave me vitamin B also...he said will help in the nauseous...so will c how...cos i hv been controlling my mind not to tink abt it...so far not too bad...haha..

hi everyone also got back from gynae visit today baby 4.9cm have just done blood test for downs sydrome going for the scan in 10 days, cost around 380 for the test and another 100 for test for hiv rubella etc pretty damm expensive, this scan was the best scan I have seen even out of my last two pregancies baby waving arms and legs, feeling really crappy today feel like nausea and headaches have come back dont think the weather is helping!

jeannie

wah.. tough to change jobs now for us i think. probably the only option is to go back to civil service! private co.s, unless they're big MNCs, would be v unwilling to hire [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hi summerbel

i m seeing Dr Adrian Tan (ACJ clinic) at TMC. r we seeing the same doctor? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]wat i heard fm the nurse is $400plus for the Oscar test (include scanning of NT + blood test) + detailed scanning. n oso $88 for another blood test (for HIV, Rubella, FBC etc.) very ex.

Irma!! I only found out you are pregnant again when i browse through this June thread!!!

I AM SOOO HAPPY FOR YOU!!

Do u remember me? I also had MC in august, you left a msg for me in "6 week pregnant" long ago, I actually just read it recently.

Actually I also tested positive just last week! I am only in my week 5 now base on online calculation. I wasn't overjoyed at all, rather worried, want to keep it as low profile as possible this time.. I wish I could be as happy as the rest of the mummies here.. I got so worried on monday i just rushed to KK for a check up, but they didn't do a scan for me, it was too early to see anything. My 1st appointment is only on 1st Dec.

I had no nausea, just sore breast and bloated tummy, BUT!! my breasts are not so sore and heavy this morning, tummy also not as bloated as last night, made me so worried again!! Could there be anything wrong?

This time round, not much cramp like last time, so far, no bleeding and spotting.. I wonder whether my bb is inside, i keep talking to it.. hope it will grow well.........

saw the recommendation for yummy earth and preggie drops or pops. just wondering where I would be able to lay my hands on some..

in my 9th week now... and if what u gals said is anything to go by... this is prob the time where my MS peaks. i'm crossing my fingers that its now but i really do feel it more than previous weeks. either that or what my gynae said is really true. with twins, you just experience more exaggerated symptoms [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]