(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

Steph..

Yup organic shop closed down! But Tampines 1 Cold Storage stocks on organic snacks and raisin etc! Bought some today! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lamb..

Hope yr gal get well soon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

SP..

Ic..haha..my bread machine is a white elephant! It was given to me though..didn't buy it.

LSn..

Class- Should be after CNY. Weekday though.

Weekend can only arrange Sunday but will have to get another teacher to conduct.

Mindy..

East which part of east u looking at?

I know for Pasir Ris area- Riverlife and Pentecost Methodist Kindy has good reviews.

Was yr boy's party the one at the fish farm??

Fantastic idea to hav it there..really looked fun!

Sp callalily

I cut my boy nap time to once coz he started waking up at nite and as wat GF suggested to reduce to 15mins or cut it out totally. I cut out totally n he sleep thru again. Didn't bring forward lunch time, still feeding at b/w11.30 to 11.45

tam>we buy the chee cheong fun from the stall in the wet market that sells noodles, etc and steam it ourselves. Much cheaper than buying from the hawker centre. buying 1 piece at the stall costs us 20cents but buying from the hawker centre costs us 70cents.

but yes, we asked for zero toppings if we get it from the hawker centre.

Tam:

I am currently using the Avent not spill-proof spout cup too...to let her learn how to control the flow of water too[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. Just that for milk, i rather she uses the NUK non-spill spout. The juice from the blueberries can be quite tricky to clean off though so if u dun want R to get blueberry stains on his clothes, just make sure he has a bib on[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].

Kokamee:

I see. How many times did yr boy wake up in the night? He can eat his lunch and not be cranky during lunch?

Steph

Gimme ^5! My girl also drinks 20 ml at times, 120 ml at times. But I notice that when she's drinking from the bottle that my mom is feeding her, she can finish any amount that's in the bottle. I've stopped pumping and she doesn't seem to be interested in my frozen stash (which are more than 6 mths old already anyway).

I give her whatever sample FM I got. So bad hor. She's drunk Mamil Gold, now on Nan. I have another can of Enfapro. See how lah. I'll decide if I want to give Enfapro or nan after this.

But yeah, i feel liberated without the pump! When I get home, I still latch. I still see some milk around her mouth, so I guess I still have milk. Hehe.

Little Lamb

This viral thing will never end lor. But it's OK, she develops resistance with each illness. hang in there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wow, so many bb celebrating 1st birthday! so much effort put in by you mummies, am sure you had fun.

Now that mine also approaching 1, i think of the time not long ago, when she was just a tiny dot in us. Many times when she is lying there asleep so sweetly, I take a moment to think how exponentially they have grown in their first year of life, physically(1000x), cognitively (100X), and socially (50x)!

Smalldreams

I also got some packs of FBM trying to clear. Half of the time, she reject it when we offer her, will show displeasure sound. For FM, she seems more receptive. Am trying out normal cow's milk powder too, i am not concerned it does not have DHA, taurine etc.

Furby

Which cow's milk powder are you giving to Xyii?

I guess one can also get DHA if one is an avid fish eater :p

I'm really amazed at the efforts some mommies go through for their kids' 1st! Esp Mindy!! WOW!

Am going to try any of those family pack cow milk powder like, fernleaf, nestle, Everyday brand etc. I don't usually stick to any brand.

Birthday

I don't do big birthday party as I feel it's more for us than them when they are very young. But of course, as long as mummies and babies enjoy it and see the happy faces, it is worth the effort.

smalldreams

part of the reason is also I boycott baby milk powder for the excessive commercialisation, never mind there are extra things added in or free sample, I don't really use them

Furby

That's what I'm doing for my #1. He's turning 4 soon and I stopped giving him FM when he was about 2 1/2. It's ridiculous that a 1.8kg of milk can cost $60!

But there can be a lot of sucrose in such non-FM milk too. So must read carefully.

smalldreams: at least ur gal still willing to latch, mine refused since 6th month after i snapped his ear cos he gnaws on me.

I haven't started him on fm, i have a few samples maybe i will give to him randomly? heeee

Tam - I have not tried yogurt with fruits cos I was trying to find a blend of carbo, protein and fibre for the 1st meal of the day. Can they really be full with yogurt and fruits? Not too much sucrose (sugar)? Have made scones though but he is not a big fan as it can be quite dry and he has difficulty swallowing. He don't fancy water or milk to help him swallow either. I am seriously running out of breakfast ideas. Hope it will alleviate the problem now that his 1st tooth has finally popped about a week ago.

Smalldreams - even FM has sucrose too! Moreover, S26 which Bryan is taking has vanilla flavor at stage 3. Gave me a good shock as I am not prepared for it at all.

Furby - Bryan rejected EBM and the frozen ones when he was about 7 months when we fed him from bottle. We spent most if the time pouring everything away. Only time EBM was used was in making his cereal. He also self-wean. Hence, I stopped expressing when he reached 9+ months.

Elynn

I thought Bryan enjoyed scones as he ate quite a bit that day during our playdate. Or perhaps he was really hungry that day. Aww, so cute, now got tooth liao.

How about pancakes? Less dry than scones. Use buttermilk - I think that makes the pancakes creamier. or how about a banana? hehe, sometimes I feed a whole banana to A for breakfast. Sometimes I think if our family's diet rarely consists of yoghurt/blueberries/fruits, then we shouldn't feed our babies that. We should just feed whatever the other family members are eating already. Makes sense? hehe, but I guess many babies are here still not 1 yr old yet, which is why some things are still forbidden.

Stephy

If yr baby's not the sort who's got a high chance of allergy, think should be Ok to give whatever samples you have. Lucky for me, A takes whatever FM my mom gives. She still resists the bottle when it's me who's feeding tho. sighs. her bro had no problems by 9 mths.

Big foot:

On days when Aly is not too enthusiastic about breakfast, i will give her avocado and yoghurt and mix in some crushed biscotti for texture and colour. I have recently just introduced cheerios to her cuz she's a HB puff addict and i rather she eats cheerios which is more nutritious than HB puffs. Can also try things like pancakes as suggested by smalldreams cuz it's definitely less dry than scones. If it's just baby cereals that Bryan hates, maybe u wanna consider adult oats? I am looking into that option after my baby cereals run out.

bigfoot

since starting solids at 6mths, for breakfast, i serve plain oat cereal with fruit puree (banana, papaya, orange, apple, pear, grapes etc.) the kind of instant ones, just pour hot water, and best, it has no sugar/salt or additive, just plain oat, not fanciful bb cereal which I don't like. I bought 1 big tin for about $5 and lasted like 5 months! She loves it till today. But of course i also intro bread, cheese, yoghurt, but oat cereal is her favourite. It has carbo, protein and high fibre

For me, the bb will transit to adult food by 1yo, no special preparation needed, of course, with good sense of reduced/avoidance of any sugar, salt

bigfoot

also, maid just now report to me she spit out the fbm, so i don't know what to do with those packs left, lucky not a lot lah...maybe just throw away

smalldreams > if scones as snacks, he is still ok. As breakfast, he is not very good with it. Had to coax him for a while just to get 2 pieces completed. Moreover, I dipped it with his beloved yogurt. Haven't try pancakes cos a number of pancake recipes I saw include eggs and I only introduced egg yolk to him for the 1st time last Sunday. Banana, he is still ok but would usually add to quaker oats as didn't want him to take such sweet food.

Callalily, furby - I have been giving Bryan adult oats (quaker oats) for at least 2 months now, but he refused to take plain ones so I have always been adding fruits or yogurt to it. However, he is also loosing interest in it already. He also does not like white bread, and it has a tendency to stick to the roof of his mouth too. Breakfast is getting to be a challenge though I try to space his morning milk and solid like some 2 hrs apart. Nevertheless, I shall try the yogurt, avocado and biscotti idea. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Furby - don't waste the milk. Use it with cereal, baked potato, or whatever you can think of!!! My cousin was telling me that babies don't fancy FBM as there is a smell and taste which can be quite distinct. Moreover, after taking all the yummy food, BM is simply too bland for them.

Pancakes! What a good idea! I am so bored with oats and fruits for Arwen's brekkie. Ok, will do pancakes this Sat!!!

Arwen these days like changing again, like to sleep on her tummy and keep having like dreams cos she will suddenly yell abit or whine whine whine! Like processing a lot of things like that!LOL!

Sp callalily

Before I cut his morning nap he woke up twice n sometimes 3 times !! But after cutting he sleep thru again ! No, he's not cranky at all during lunch n eager to eat.

Wah all mummies here hv the same 'issues' of wat breakfast ideas for our babies ! So I'm not alone....

But I think our groups of mummies are very ON n hardworking leh ! Kudos to all of u ! ;-)

Bigfoot:

The pancakes i make for Aly does not include eggs as i only plan to intro eggs to her after 1yo. So, it's just 1/4 cup wholewheat flour, 1/2 cup milk and cook with some unsalted butter till golden brown. It's that simple! Then just serve with some fruit puree and yoghurt. Healthy, nutritious with just the right blend of nutrients[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. And Bryan gets to self-feed the pancakes too. And if Bryan has already turned 1yo, u can start introducing egg white and make muffins, French toast etc for him[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kokamee:

Thanks for sharing. I will start to cut out her morning nap real soon!!!

hello charis! sorry missed your msg. yeah, T3 shops are closed. Tampines 1 have? i haven't been Tampines 1 yet!!!

furby_pet> what brand cow milk powder you are using? nestle? does those DHA, AHA really makes our kids smarter? i went to supermart the other day and was my first time looking into all the #2 formula, gosh they are so ex! and some brand, actually can start #3 and it's cheaper! heh

steph

I get any brand of family cow milk powder, as long as she drinks it, better still, get fresh milk. If you ask me, maybe DHA, AHA do help in brain growth. But if the diet is balanced with no deficiency, is there a need? Seriously, in other countries, they don't tout baby milk powder like we do here.

I mean, it's the same as sending the kids to those brain development programs as young as 6mos, baby gym, queue up for popular kindy, load up on vitamin etc. Maybe the bb becomes brainy as it gives them a headstart. On the other hand, one can bring them to the beach, park, roll about on the sand/grass, fly kite, hike etc. It's where we think hard as parents what upbringing we want in them

furby: As usual, you make a lot of sense and I was glad to read your thoughts. I was again torn in between of sending Arwen to some music class, play group etc etc as a lot of neighbors kids are going. I felt abit of pressure, not so much if Arwen is going to be behind others but if she is missing out on social interaction .

She has her regular friends who play with her here everyday but I was worried if she miss out other things too. Deep inside I know it is not true . She knows how to "chat" on her phone , drink from a toy cup, learning how to eat on her own etc etc..I still think the best teacher is life. Letting her participle in everything we do helps her to gasp her world faster. Bringing her out to the parks and all and explaining nature to her is also very vital.

I do however feel if there is a French class for toddler, I would sign up as her exposure to her native language is really very limited. Maybe when she turns 18 months.

I can't wait to go back SG to bring her to the zoo, the bird park and all !

And she is growing to be quite a vainpot!Today we as usual, comb her hair and forgot to put a clipper for her, she fuss and keep pointing to her hair and we wondering why! Then we realise she wants a clippie, so we put on one for her. She then go to the mirror and actually look at her hair turning her head side to side! So hilarious lor. Last time she will immediately pull it out now she actually keep it intact! And she will soak in all the praise with a very smug look. MUAHHAHAAH.

Jessie

arwen is really funny!! and I definitely support you putting her in french class, i mean, she is french and should learn her roots/language/culture. She is such a lucky baby, soaking between two wonderful cultures

Jessie

Hahaha! That's super cute lah! Hmmm, did she get her vainpot genes from her mummy? hehehe.

I echo your thoughts too. Truthfully I also feel that I'm giving A the bare minimum. No baby classes, no flashcards. She only plays with toy trains & tracks and when I'm cooking, she's content with a baby spoon & a plastic bowl to play with. But I think I'm happy with her progress so far. So, I shall leave it as that.

Soon, my #1 will be in P1, and I'm facing the dilemma of whether to place him in an enrichment class. My friends are moving houses to secure a place next to a good primary school. Haiz.

Furby

I guess life in S'pore is not as easy as life in another country. People in other places are so much more relaxed about education. But over here, things are different. I'm trying my best to take things easy and to let my kids absorb as much as possible through natural settings. I hope I'm doing the right thing.

A friend also once shared with me something she read. In order to boost a kid's intelligence, it'll help if moms talk and talk and talk to their kids. About anything, the surroundings, observations etc. That'll increase the child's learning capacity & ability to pick up vocab. I thought that does make sense. That also means poor people who can't afford to send their kids to enrichment classes have a chance to have intelligent kids. :D

Aiyoh so lor soh, sowie!

saw the article of parents overnite q to get on waitlist of kindergarten..i was so stressed when i c tis article..is it time to enrol on waiting list now??? i hve not even settle his eating habits, nw education..i wanna 'peng san' liao..

MamaD

Hahahaha, don't faint! Take things easy lah :p

Anyway, I'm thinking of getting some shoes from : http://shooshoosusa.com/

Would anyone be interested to share shipping costs? Each pair shipping is about USD$8 but this could be lower if there are additional pairs.

Just testing response first only, because it seems that the BP is selling a pair at SGD$39. If it doesn't go thru, nevermind, I'll buy from Bata, kekeke.

(I know Furby is shaking her head. Probably thinking it's crazy to pay $35 for a pair of baby shoes. Hee Hee :p)

Smalldreams, talking helps ah? I m so lorsoh wonder if it helps cos i also give him very minimal. Only been to some trial classes n thats it. Nvr start him on Flash cards cos he jus throw after snatching.His fav is jus his baby blocks, a shape sorter n a old baby bk fr my neighbour. He have many other toys fr his bday n full mth but he plays for 5 to 10 mins he sian le. We r quite happy with his progress too. I jus wanna find a sch near my plc or maybe mums plc that's to our convinience but seems like it's quite hard so ppl had to b kiasu....

Jessie, so cute lor to see them behave like vainpot!!

I remb my niece was slapped by bil n next thing she went straight to the mirror n looked at herself! We couldn't stop laughing!!! She was like less than 2 yrs .. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Smalldreams, I am interested in getting !!! Hee let me know if u ordering. Thanks :p

Tyl: Okie.. Shall look out for it when I go to the market. Thanks!

Callalily: Thanks for the tip on blueberries. R has got some cloth bibs that were horribly stained with plum juice.. So now I only use plastic bib when he's eating.

Big foot: So far when I give R yoghurt n fruits for breakfast, I think should be quite filling cos he didn't 'ask' for food til his lunch which's about 4-5 hours after breakfast. Actually for scones, that time I tried making it a bit more moist by adding more milk n not baking it for too long.. Of course gotta make sure it's full cooked. The dough would be quite sticky n soft if more milk was added. Like what Callalily n Smalldreams suggested, u can try pancakes. Maybe add some mashed fruits to the pancakes if u wanna add flavour n fibre. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jessie: Arwen's so cute! Can even 'request' for a clippie!

Callalily - Thanks for the simple recipe for pancakes. I have not seen any that is as simple as yours. Cool! I shall try making pancakes for him. As for eggs, I am not ready to try whole eggs (or rather egg white) for Bryan yet as it is yet another highly allergic item.

Tam L - Hmmm... Ok, never occur to me about fruits can be full cos this mummy here gets super hungry after taking fruits instead. Yea, you could be right that the scones might be too dry. Will try again and make it more moist. Maybe that's why he loves the ones from Smalldreams.

Furby, Firipy, Smalldreams - I also strongly believe in letting Bryan grow naturally, so there is no such thing as shichida, gym classes, etc. other than the couple of trial classes he went. In fact, I don't even have anything at home for him to climb on and I was being told by the teachers in IFC that that is important for him to build his gross motor skills. I was pleasantly surprised that he could actually climb onto a chair and sit on it properly all by himself, climb steps, etc. till I witnessed him doing all these stunts in the IFC. Hubby is now asking me if we should go to Ikea and start buying all these small tables and chairs.

Mamad - Though I echo natural growth, but when I saw that piece of news, it actually set me thinking again if my move is right. I actually bugged hubby to check with his so-called boss to find out which are the good pre-schools in my area.

Jessie - love your Arwen. She is forever the cutie-pie here!

Yesterday was a very significant day for me - it was Bryan's birthday and he took his 1st step (in fact, 3 steps)! When I reached the IFC with his birthday cake, he walked towards me!!! I also managed to reach the IFC just minutes after 3 (when I tried to reach before 3), so I got to celebrate his birthday at almost exact of his birth time (he was borned at 3pm).

Bigfoot:

Happy belated birthday to Bryan! I can identify with yr excitement cuz i was equally excited when Aly took her first few steps some 3 wks back. Now she's toddling all over the place...very cute to watch[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I have to let you know that the pancakes are not those yummy fluffy kind. It's more like chapatti except that they r less dry. Just give with some fruit puree/chopped fruits and yoghurt for a more wholesome breakfast.

Sorry to intude,

I have tins of formula to let go..

Friso 2, 900gm - $18 (June 2011)

Mamil Gold 2, 400gm - $10 (March 2012)

Nan pro 2, 400gm - $7 (June 2011)

Nan HA 2, 400gm - $11 (March 2012)

Welcome exchange with vouchers too!

I also have the followings:

Elmo / Sesame st birthday party items - http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?449183/4979431

BNIB Fisher Price Poptivity table to let go at $35.

Pm me if interested! Thks.

bigfoot> happy belated birthday bryan! what a great feat to start walking on his brithday. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] you must be so touched to see him walk towards you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

breakfast> i'm still giving mattias hb cereals. :p left half a tin already. pancakes can make and freeze? dont think i make every morn coz usu he'll wake up once i wake up and cant sit in his high chair for long by himself. :p

smalldreams> i've got many pairs of shoes at home that mattias cant fit into. so i decided to let him try then buy. hee.

jessie> arwen really cute leh. they all starting to have a mind of their own hor. i really hope that Mattias can sign more so that I know what he is thinking. :p

on schooling> i'm very tempted by all the bombardment of gym classes and right brain training. but after gg for a few trial classes, realise that can actually do most of the stuff at home too. it's just whether I want to, esp since i'm SAHM. saw some blogs of mummies who do flashcards and all for their child, so impressive. my friend once set up a 'toy shop' in her home. haha.

Evening mummies,

It's been a while since I last posted!!!

Jessie> As usual, Arwen is really very cute...still know how to ask for clippie... Lucas also loves to look at himself in the mirror and will keep smiling to himself!

Bigfoot> It is so exciting to see the little one walk... Lucas also learn to walk a few steps just slightly before his birthday... Then, surprising on Xmas day itself, he started walking non-stop, everywhere and anywhere he wanted to go. He is taking small little steps initially but now am realising that he can actually walk quite fast on his own. I must say he is a daring little boy.

smalldreams, furby> I agree with the saying "simple is beautiful". Agree that SG has too much marketing on FM, trial classes and the rat race goes on and on.... Totally agree on the adults talking to babies and you will be surprised that they will be able to just speak suddenly!!!

MamaD> The KidStyle old shoes exchange offer is very tempting.. I also got 2 new pairs for both my boys!!! Haha!

hi, haven't posted in long time cos was involved in a car accident last Sunday when hubby's car skidded and rammed into a tree. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Luckily the kids were not in the car but both of us suffered fractures so it is still a long recovery road. But at least we were discharged today so can start to recuperate at home. I got to wear a brace to avoid aggravating the mild fractures on upper spine so won't be posting much until I can find a way to prop up my laptop so that I dun have to tilt my neck down. :p

Pauline : HUGS!! OMG!!! Thank God you and your hubby are ok!! Must be so scary for you both... rest well ok ...

luvbabe : Lucas also very fast learner eh, can walk liao. I think Luis will have a very fun brother to play with very soon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jessie, thanks, I got whiplash injuries, seat belt injuries n compression fractures on 5 vertebra (t1-5) but luckily never press on any nerves. sigh, super duper sian cos got to wear the neck to waist orthoses for 6 weeks but Bo bian. At least we r alive though the car is gone. :p

Jessie, ya lor, it was quite serious. that's why the car got decimated. hubby still needs to go for hand surgery next wed cos he fractured his Meta carpal. but compared to others we r still considered lucky cos at the hosp i was in, there was a 18 yr old gal who became paralysed after a lorry accident, even more kelian.

pauline>oh no. hugs. so glad you and your hubby are ok. get well soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

pauline...hope that you and your hb get well soon!!!I was in a car accident last wed too...thank God no injuries but my poor colleagues car quite badly damage, radiator and engine also kaput!!!

pauline

oh no, so bad. Rest and get well soon. Your in-laws helping you with the kids?

me also had a minor 'accident' today. was crossing the road at a busy carpark when a car reversed and hit me off balance. Luckily I bang, the car and the driver stopped in time.

all mummies must take care wor...

Pauline - Oh gosh! Please rest well and hope you and your Hubby get well soon.

Megan, Furby - hope both of you are ok too!

All mummies, please take care. CNY is so close and I am sure some of you will be real busy preparing for the new year, but remember to rest well too.

Thanks, YL, megan, furby and big foot.

Furby, no, my ILs were helping out when we were in hosp though they never brought them to see us so I missed them lots. Now, that we are home, we are looking after the kids ourselves with the maid which is very difficult cos I'm not mobile. But bo bian lar, cos my ILs cannot handle the kids esp RaeAnne who is sick. My hubby even have to leave the hospital to bring my gal to the Tampines PD himself cos FIL said it's very difficult for them to do it. Think we'll be ordering tingkat so that at least the meals will be settled cos the maid can't look after 2 kids plus prepare and cook. :p