(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

roger>hee, more biz for you. :p

jessie>thanks! all the babies look great lah. My ex boss and colleague were so ga-ga over Leticia.

mommies who went to ayden's birthday party>sorry ayden's uncle (the naughty boy who was banging the balloons) was so naughty and might have scared your bb. I asked my mom to bring him away when I heard he was misbehaving le. hope the babies weren't too upset cos of him.

TYL

Glad the party went well. We ended up resting at home the whole day coz both my kids had some runny nose. So nice of you to invite us anyway [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Febie

Ya lor, sometimes family & friends already so many, how to invite outsiders. Anyway hv fun and hope he gets lots of hong baos! Later CNY can collect some more. Heh heh :D

Febie, Firipy

I brought my 2As to library yesterday. #1 was bz trying to find Thomas train books but lucky i managed to find just one! And lil A was too happy walking around the library and also checked out the waste paper basket! In the end we just chose some books & went home. At home, we read the books. I was reading to #1 and #2 kept toddling over to sit on my lap. Haha. Nevermind lah, it's natural for kids not to be interested in books yet, but just keep exposing them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Firipy

Wow, lego blocks uh? If you havent already, this is a great time to buy mega blocks or wooden blocks! I think the ones from Plan Toys at The Better Toy store are so nice, but I just bought some simple ones from Toys R Us. Both my As love them although I hate the packing away afterwards :S Messy lah!

Jessie

I think it's really normal of singaporeans to complain and complain esp when we're overseas. Everything here is almost perfect and run like clockwork (even stress level [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] ). The most important is we stay grounded and try to be positive! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jessie,

Wasn't the snow earlier simply gorgeous? The flakes were so big. It has totally taken all my 'cold blues' away. LOL. Think the snow has also helped raised the temps a little. Hopefully you're not having the ice problems anymore.

Yes, you are right in saying ANYTHING can happen and we have to be mentally prepared. Actually even before Nat came along, ever since I moved to China, I told myelf, ANYTHING can possibly happen. Think being in Singapore, we have been way too sheltered. Everytime I go back and take a taxi, and the driver complains to me about how much he hates being in Singapore, I roll my eyes. I think people who haven't travelled out of the country will always think that they're in a shitty place. Not until they have travelled out and then realized how much worse conditions other parts of the world is, then they'll realize.

I am not speaking for the government but honestly, I think they did a great job. HDB for one, is a great project. If it weren't for that, middle class people like us will probably still live in slums? Where in the world can you find decent affordable housing? Yes, while prices have increased for property, so have our standards of living. When you compare housing back in Sgp and housing here, oh man ... my condo here can't even be near where my HDB in Sgp is in terms of quality.

In fact, it didn't take me living in China to realize how good we are back home. When I was traveling to US and realize how inaccessible a lot of places are without a car and I think back about Singapore and it's public transportation, I think it's done a fabulous job. So yeah ... why do Singaporeans enjoy complaining so much ... maybe it's become very much a way of life, just like kiasu-ism?

smalldreams & febie - Yeah, we just having one of those emo days over the weekend. I guess I'm so close to being home yet stuck in Shanghai being miserably sick, had to rant it out a little.

firipy - Yeah, I think for me, I still don't realize how much Nat has grown from before until I look at her younger videos or when I compare with younger babies. Then I realized my gal has indeed grown. But maybe coz' she still hasn't taken her independent steps, she still feels very much like a baby to me. But she does babble a lot and like to 'join' in my conversations with others. And these days, she can go about doing her stuff, halfway through, she'll crawl or cruise back to me and come give me a hug or kiss. It's quite endearing actually and I wonder if it's a gal's thing.

smalldreams>I miss aifah mah. :p n you too of course!

lamb>eh, HDB is not affordable for a lot of people these days. prices are really crazy lor

lsntyl - You referring to those in resale market? Well, those are prices that are being played up by the dwellers. The new flats are still rather decently priced lah.

lamb>not according to friends and relatives who are looking to get new flats. prices are high but space is smaller and competition for flats is still high.

yl, thought u would have asked your friend Theo to help out for the party ;) but agree that Roger's pics r really well taken. $ well spent! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

agree, new flats r still cheaper than resale but it is still all time high compared to a few years ago. and the cheaper price is a trade off in terms of unit size, amenities n public transport links. quite difficult for newly weds to stay far from grandparents support network if they want to start a family within 5 years cos they r not allowed to sell their new hdb flats. but though I long for big houses in neighboring countries, there is nowhere like home. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pauline>I actually booked Roger for a studio session with the intention of getting photos of him and his grandparents. But it was v difficult for the grandparents to agree on a date so ended up I asked Roger if I can top up and convert it to photos during the party instead. He was kind enough to agree.

But I was so busy on Sun that I forgot to specifically point out my parents to Roger and ask him to capture photos of Ayden with them. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Ended up no photos of Ayden with them except for a posed photo with my mom. There were photos with my MIL but then we already have tons of photos with my ILs lor. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

anyway, Theo wasn't free on Sun cos I invited him too.

how are you and your hubby feeling now?

any kids on regular enrichment classes now? looking at 1 to enrol my boy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lsntyl,

I think my point is in referencing to public housing in other countries. In terms of quality, I don't think it's anywhere near. Plus I do believe that HDB will consider singaporean's wages against pricing their flats. Frankly ... I always feel that although Singaporeans are always complaining about economic crisis etc, yet we still have news reports of people going on holidays, going IT fairs etc. I would imagine if the economic crisis really hits them, people would be worried how to get by day to day and not even think about holidays. So really ... when singaporeans say flat is expensive in singapore ... it's just 'say' only. In the end, if you really need a house to stay, you still have to buy right?

But of course living everyday frugally. But Singaporeans being singaporeans, living frugally means no money. In China, no money literally means no money. Dun say no money in bank, no money in pocket even. And sleep on the streets kind! Maybe not so much in Shanghai, but other parts of China, yes.

I think the issue that is at hand for HDB is the lack of supply, not so much the pricing. Like a lot of people wanna get married, can't get married coz' no place to stay and dun wanna stay with in-laws. And condos and resale flats are just too expensive. At least that's my thoughts lah.

yl, oic, thought they will be very gian to take photos in studio. never mind, u never know. I did remember to ask the photographer to take pics BUT my RL ko immediately after cutting cake, end up she is also missing from the group photos I had with my mum n bro. Plus my ILs insisted that cannot take pics of babies who r sleeping. duh. :p

I am most comfortable lying down on the bed actually cos no need to wear the brace n can use iPhone to surf net. but very straining for my eyes. :p hubby going for day surgery Tom, poor guy got to go alone n come back alone cos he doesn't want to trouble his parents to accompany n they also didn't offer too.

pauline>oh no. so sad for AC. Hope his surgery is a success and the recovery process not too painful.

my ILs are v on but not my parents. N I feel a bit 'unfair' that they have so few photos with Ayden when they are his main caregivers. Next time, if Ayden misses them, no photos to look at of them with him leh. But they don't want to take, I also cannot force them. So was hoping can use the party as excuse to capture them with ayden lor.

lamb>another issue is the PRs coming in and being willing to pay a lot more than Singaporeans for resale flats. This increases the price of resale flats and makes it hard for many Singaporeans to get them. N HDB prices flats based on 'market rate' and not the cost of building. So if resale market is expensive, new flat prices will also increase. Its really not that easy these days even in Singapore.

lsntyl - I agree about the PRs issue. I thought they recently did something to regulate it? Anyway ... life is never easy in the first place. Whether we're in Singapore or other parts of the world. But you have to admit that being a singaporean is really far more fortunate that being a citizen in certain 3rd world countries where poverty is a constant thing.

lamb>definitely. our babies are a lucky lot. imagine if they were born to parents in poorer countries. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

the govt has introduced new measures to help regulate the property market but its not easy and will take time. I've friends paying 300+-400+K for 3/4 room flats in Punggol/Woodlands. These are new flats by HDB so can understand their pain. The 4 room flats are the size of old 3 room flats

yl, oic, yup, I will want my kids to have a lot of photos with my parents too but they very camera shy. but I bought a cake for my parents' birthday recently so luckily took a photo of the gals with my parents then. maybe u can try that? buy photo taking session as your parents birthday or anniversary present then they will be more obligated to go? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yl, yup, $300+k price of my 5i flat. but nowadays market price is like that so Bo bian unless your friends want to bunk in with parents or rent first. :p

TYL

Sometimes I wonder if kids born in poorer countries are happier than our s'porean kids.

They get to play and learn through experience.

They don't live behind doors or go to plastic playgrounds. Their mommies are at home to attend to them instead of having maids to supervise them. Oh well, the grass is always greener on the other side [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pauline>my parents don't like cakes so that's out. buy photo taking session I'll get scolded lor. :p

smalldreams>that's true too. but then they're more at risk of disasters, etc. saw photos of children affected by the Pakistan flood. so sad. also v sad when I see child beggars or think of the poor children in India as shown in movies like slumdog millionaire. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

TYL

True true. So that shows we can't have the best of both worlds :p

Guess we should just maximise what we have and don't sweat the small stuff. hehehe. Happier that way.

yl, my mum doesn't like cakes too cos she doesn't take butter or eggs or dairy stuff. but I told her 'i bought a small cake so that your granddaughter can help u sing birthday song n blow candles n celebrate with u'. And she smiled leh n played along even though she didn't eat the cake. The rest of us did. Kekeke.

lamb, tats the thing abt having girls lo, so loving. My boy will do that but its only occasional n nt often. I must trick him into hugging me, he nvr kiss me yet lo...sad! Had to hug n kiss his Eyeore to make him jealous then only he come n hug me.

smalldreams,he has his blocks fr my neighbour cos the boy has outgrown the toys.He enjoys his blocks for quite long with his disney channel n I can go shower or bring in the laundry. I tried reading to him n he always flip the pages back n forth,I can't finish my story/continue...haha! I am quite lazy, always watch kids program with A instead of doing flashcard etc. I wld explain what happen(sometimes when I have the mood), tink I m a very lazy SAHM ahahah

febie, shayne looks so "grownup", so handsome

cy, Leticia looks so blossomed lo!

hi parents! glad u like the photos.

just got back home from a magazine shoot and saw the comments. really happy that everyone likes them.

do drop me an email at [email protected] for any photoshoot stuff. will be busy this week with magazine shoots but i will be able to respond at night when i get home. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pauline> hope you'll get well soon. and your hb too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

these few days mattias v sticky coz abit unwell. so cant come online.

hope everyone stays well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

the photos looks very good. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

firipy> mattias also dont like to be hugged except when he's falling aslp. :p

Xin, thanks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Firipy, Raelynn is a girl but doesn't like to be hugged much. She will struggle and try to climb down to walk. She likes to hug people from behind once in a while though. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pauline, was shocked to read abt what happened to u n ur hubby. Hope both of u get well soon.. Rest ur back as much as u can. Take care..

Have been reading, hearing lots of accidents happening around.. All mummies do keep well.

YL, Roger, the photos r really nice!! The babies' expressions were wonderfully captured.

wah,, haven logged in for the longest time..

TL> yeah, the pic all looks great! really $$ well spend...

Do we get a special rate if we engage Roger for any of his services hahaha

Yez Roger, give us special rates please... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

HI mummies,

re: diapers

My son loves to face dw n slp on tummy.. n everynight without FAIL! the peepee sure leak out cos his Birdy pees only the front diaper n is being pressed when he slp on tummy n wet the bed n himself!

he is currently wearing mamypoko to bed..

anyone has this problem?

or any diapers more suitable for boys?

Afann> Do you change diapers for Ashton in the middle of the night? Could it be that his pee is super power and the diaper is not tight enough? Lucas also likes to face down to sleep and it ever happen before especially when he drinks a full bottle of milk before he sleeps.

MamyPoko is already a very good brand. Others which are equally good is Huggies Ultra or Pampers Active. I have tried Nepia recently and found it to be so-so as it leaked big-time!!!

One more thing is to put the waterproof mat below the bedsheet, so that it won't wet the mattress which is more difficult to dry.

luvbabe- no leh i nv change one unless leak.. n if i change the diaper when it leak.. the diaper is so light.. not possible lo..

im gg to try buy again pampers..

previously used tt n i love it lo..

pampers exp leh..

waterproof mat is a great idea! thanks!!!

afann, my boy also recently likes to slp face dwn n his butt can "kiao" so high. I use pampers active at nite n no leakage prob so far There was twice got pee leak when he wear drypers pull up as he refuse to let me wear his diaper properly cos he roll abt in the nite n the diaper became "wedggy"(stuck like g-string)! Diaper nt wet, tink only pee once but his bed n top is wet, pants nt even wet lo

I ever tried 2 samples fr giant b4 which is very gd, forgot the name, looney tunes on the plastic de, its very absorbant, the diaper is super soak but nvr leak. We ald stock up on pampers active so I din buy tat, tink its quite ex oso

pauline> whoa, your hb so talented. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Afann> i feel that mamypoko better for poo and not so good for pee. :p

pampers can hold quite alot of pee in front. huggies ultra and dry comfort also can hold quite alot. i prefer huggies for pee coz it's not so smelly. :p. pampers always have urine smell.

mamypoko also ex right? i bought pampers when it's on dist. cheaper than mamypoko. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

firipy> mattias also leak coz never wear properly. :p i was carrying him in the carrier lor. i was all wet. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

my hb's no pay leave approved liaoz. so confirm i gg bk to work and he's gg to be a SAHD.

reality hits and i feel very sad that i'm gg bk to work soon.

quite worried that i wont have time for mattias. coz i'm not like hb whose workplace so near home and everyday can leave work on time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Xin,

I also feel very sad when I had to go back to work 2mths ago after staying at home with my boy for more than 9mths since he was born. He has never left my side before. I cried on the 1st day to work and miss him every min. I even came home during lunch to latch him. I'm very worried I don't have time with him and he'll not be close to me at all.

However, after a while, I'm used to working already. I still miss him as much but I have more money to buy things for him. I will look forward to going hm and see him. I'm sure you will get used to it soon too. So don't be too sad yeh. Are you still latching mattias?

Thanks, Xin. He likes to draw, I only hope my gals will inherit his drawing talents, not end up like me. I always scrape through my art exams in secondary school. kekeke.

I have both Mamy poko and Pampers (stocked up during NTUC offer) but the maid keeps complaining that Pampers will leak at night. So, waiting for NTUC's next offer before we stock up on MP lor.

Jia you on going back to work. I think definitely will have adjustment period for you but it's also good to give your hubby a chance to bond with Mattias. His job so good, can apply for no pay leave. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xin>will get used to it de. Now I work through lunch if I have to just to be able to go home on time to Ayden. But sometimes still OT abit lah. But means I treasure the time more with him although it can be exhausting at times rushing home for my second 'shift' with ayden.

The 'me' time at work is great too. :p

How long is your hubby's no-pay leave?

Pauline>you any better? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] How is your hubby's surgery?

diapers>we use drypers drypantz, huggies ultra and huggies dry comfort. so far no major issues with pee except when we didn't fit it tightly cos Ayden struggled.

yl, thanks, improvement very slow in terms of stiffness n pain, think i got to rethink mindset n hope to be better in weeks not days. :p

my hubby's op was delayed by 4 hrs yesterday. instead of 1pm, his op ended up at 5pm. poor guy fasted for almost 24 hrs cos he had not eaten anything since dinner the day before. but bo bian cos there was last minute emergency operation yesterday so all the surgeries got pushed back. by the time he came back last night, it was almost 11pm. :p

Later today, celebrating Raeanne's birthday in school but my funny gal refused to go to school for her own party. Maid had to carry her there. duh...

oh no. AC must have been so hungry. convenient to visit you guys mah? but I also worried you need more rest. You update me?

Happy birthday to Raeanne! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hmm, like this means no need to do CNY visiting? Also good cos more rest for you guys. Hope you recover in time to enjoy your Phuket trip. That's in Mar,ya? still far. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xin

You should do a diaper review, lol.

Anyway when are you going back to work?

Is yr school in the east also?

Your hubby is really courageous to be a SAHD!

Wow, am impressed. It's one of those things you

can only hear of in western countries.

Oh ya, re diapers,any todd wearing L size already?

TYL

I agree with you about the me time. But after a long weekend, I feel that A is more clingy to me.

any moms using drypers wee wee dry? saw quite a good promo at guardian.

bring any non dryper wee wee dry pack wrapper (min 24 pieces) + buy any drypers wee wee dry pack at $14.45 to get a free 1 pack of the same size purchased.

personally, I don't like wee wee dry cos of the loud tape though. :p otherwise, find it quite ok to use during day.

smalldreams>ayden is using L for huggies but M for drypers drypantz.

think xin works at MOE hq.

yl, ya, but my hubby mr nice guy lar. i was the one who complained to the nurse cos I wondered why he's not home after so long. :p

thanks, maybe after my dr's review next wed bah, see how is the progress. Yup definitely no cny visiting for us but we welcome visitors. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] anyway my hubby on mc till 2 feb so u can come over during cny too. yes, luckily my Phuket trip is in march, otherwise confirm cancelled. :p

TYL

Ya lor, I don't like dryper's tape. If only they could use something less noisy & reusable.

Pet2 is not bad also. Quite value for $.

But i think once pple have used pampers & huggies, they won't want to use pet2 or drypers.

smalldreams, I like pet pet, cheap n good. we used it a lot for day but RL always twist n turn so the open diapers more difficult to put on.

been sometimes since i popped in. no time to catch up w previous posts. hope all mummies & babies are doing well!

im struggling w closing n audit for almost whole of past 2 weeks *sweat*!

hope it will all end soon!

afann: u can consider using huggies ultra? for me i will use ultras for my boys at night and it can last from 9pm to 7+am next day w/o any leak. if i use the normal huggis comfort, it will leak so i use comfort for day use. pampers active is also good for keeping pee cos it absords v fast and its lightweight/slim too.

xin: ur hb is so li hai to be a SAHD. if i leave my hb to take care of yr alone for a day, the house n him will sure go crazy!

gainIQ: anyone drinking this stage 3 milk, its going for discount at guardian till this sat i think. now selling around $58+. now really a very good disc, just $3-4 off but better than nothing. i stocked up 6 tins this time..