(2009) Twins/ Triplets/ Multiples mummies to be

thanks bbq, i will try those non-wired but padded ones... i know i shld start nursing bra soon coz i will need them anyway when i bf...but hor, they simply look like 2 pieces of cloth wrapped around my breasts... and sometimes can see the nipples through the shirt type....dun feel "comfortable" leh

I also don't like some of the non-padded nursing bras but no choice if I don't want severe rib pain. I wear the slightly paded ones out and leave the Ah ma kinds for home. I think wired ones is also not good if you intend to breastfeed.

Hi girls! How's everyone??

I am wearing the wireless bra (from Sorella, I think) that has molded cups so it's not so thin.. quite comfortable also
then i always go braless at home so it's more comfy :D

i don't intend to buy nursing bras cos they look sooooooooooo ugly!!

I am wearing the wireless ones from ecochic series from Triumph. The other wireless no brands they showed me, the cups have a strange pointed feel which I do not like ;X I find the ecochic ones quite comfy but the price may not be as cheap compared to other brands.

Any advice?
am 24wks now

Am having red,white patches of rashes on hands & tummy. Is this common? Applying aloe vera already
Super Itchy & my next appt with gynae is 16Jul

Hi Marcia, I have severely itchy tummy every night, but the rashes only develops after i scratch my skin.. hee hee..
not sure what rashes you're having so i think it's best if you try not to scratch before your next appt, the marks will be really ugly

you can try pressing a cold towel against the itchy skin, i find that it helps for me.

marcia
My itch at the cheeks of my bum...super beh tahan...i tell my hubby its coz he never wash the toilet seats properly..now come to think of it...shld be dry skin due to pregnancy...i keep washing my ass....but after a few hours, still itch...cant be helped leh
i just bought 4 triumph non-wire bras (buy 3 get 1 free)..its new product under the home-wear model..

Hi all, my gynae recommended to go to KKH, because worried abt our twins pregnancy, he said it's high risk. He recommended Dr June Tan. Anyone can share experience/comment on Dr June Tan? Or will Dr John Tee be better? Thanks ...

I;m with Dr June Tan but so far I've only seen her once. Quite pleasant, and takes time to explain your queries to you.

However I think her schedule is quite packed (I guess its common at KK). I heard from the receptionist when I first called, that she only goes to the private suite on Tues. So you can expect all your appt with her on Tue if you are going there. Other days she's at Clinic A. She specialise in high risk pregnancy according to the receptionist who answered the call when I called the Pte Suite.

When I first called, they say her only available slot for appt is in early Aug. However, they managed to squeeze me in in early july as she needs to see me before my tests are to be done. And my next appt is in early Aug. I am quite used to seeing my ex-gynae(pte) every fortnight but I guess if its KK, it can't be helped.

Hi LuzBB, Dr June Tan did the FTS (First Trimester Scan) for my twins. my hubby and i really liked her! she was very patient with the babies even though one baby was wriggling like a little goldfish and refused to stay still for the measurements. she also explained everything clearly to us during the scan

i am seeing John Tee, and his schedule is quite packed also, average consultation time is about 5 mins only but surprisingly he can do the scanning, check for babies' growth and health, AND answer our questions etc during this short period of time! oh but my appts with John Tee are quite far apart.. during first trimester, i saw him every 4 weeks, then during second trimester it was every 5 weeks. into the third trimester it became every 3 weeks. i am week 33 now and my appt has been scheduled to every 2 weeks

hope this info helps!

76, how are your babies??? i am limping like lao ah ma now and was finally given HL today, but for two weeks only (John Tee says he will review me again in two weeks' time). then my mum asked me to move back to her house so that she can cook for me and take care of me..

Hi xiaofu and seeJay, thank you so much for the info. We will go ahead and make appt with Dr June Tan as recommended by our gynae ... hopefully we do not need to wait too long ... thanks ...

see jay
my apptment is tmr at NUH lor..every 2 weeks for now...me now week 27 liaoz...hanging on... they keep kicking me esp the lower one, kick my bladder...then for past few nights, i cant really sleep coz wake up and pee every other hour...anyone of you got such experience? but i told bbs its ok to kick, at least mummy knows you are ok...
wah, you finally convinced John tee to give me HL...good lah...think better for you to move back with your mum lah..now already week 33..so better got someone in the house...

Sorry to just barge in every now and then..coz no time, my hands are tied by my twins gals....I think they are actually two coffee-machines in disguise!

Just wan to share some of my experience with MTBs here...

About their wts - I had a mild TTS pregnancy and my twin gals at birth were 2.64kg and 1.92kg each (36weeks). Now at 5 mths, the smaller and younger one is still 700g behind her elder sis. But surprisingly, she fall sick less than her bigger twin.

About childcare - I dun ve a maid. My eldest 21mth old toddler is in childcare and my twin gals are looked after separately by my mum and MIL in the day. At nite, my eldest and the younger twin sleep with me while the elder twin sleep over at my mum's plc. Only on fri and weekend nites, both twins come home with me and my eldest daughter stay over with my mum.
So far, the arrangement is ok but I find that my elder twin is starting to have problem sleeping over at my hse during the weekends. (sigh..)

Abt breastfeeding - I did not breastfeed my 3 gals..I tried for 1 month for 3 of them but gave up eventually. Maybe I was too hung up and stressed, in the end, milkflow refused to come in.

Abt carseats and stroller - currently, I only have one carseat. (mine is a sedan car) If we bring the twins out, one will be in the carseat and I will carry the other one. If we bring 3 kids out, my dad and mum will follow to help out.
I m using a side by side mothercare twin stroller. I tried the front and back stroller and I find that the baby at the back has little space to stretch her legs.

Recently, my twins were down with stomach flu (DH for a week) and both of them were admitted to KKH. Actually they were 'miraculously healed' when they reached KKH (they stopped pooping), but too late, KKH wanted to admit them for observation. Had to spend 3 days, 2 nites there and paid $1000 lor... :p

Anyway sorry for the long post...here's a latest photo of my gals...

Oh yah, I go into my FB quite often and I hope to get to know mummies of multiples...add me at http://www.facebook.com/ngeileen

2689625.jpg
2689626.jpg

Eipsy
thanks for sharing... esp your TTTS... When did you discover about it? Was it worrying when your gynae told you?

There was a difference in their wts/ sizes since the beginning of my pregnancy. The difference got bigger and bigger.

Then at the beginning of my last trimester, my smaller twin slowed down significantly in growth as compared to the bigger twin. (I tink only increase about 50g per week) I had detailed scans every two weeks in my last trimester to ensure that there is still positive bloodflow to my smaller twin..$$$...

Once I reached 36 weeks, my gynae advised me to go for c-section and take both of them out, to be on the safe side. (also to put an end to our constant worrying)

On my delivery day, my gynae told me I was actually already 3cm dilated before the op. Meaning I would give birth on the same day even if I did not schedule my op

My gynae says my twins are most prob not identical twins (so shouldnt have risk of TTTS) base on the very initial scan. Currently one is also smaller than the other by about 1cm. I hope the smaller one will catch up.

Will be going for my Oscar this fri. Hope the smaller twin is big enough to qualify for the measurement. I think have to be at least 45mm?

Hi eipsy,

Your gals are so cuteeee! love their eyes!

I'm awating my bundles of joy too - currently 35 weeks... I'm trying for natural delivery since doc said is fine...wahahaha..hope it will be a smooth one...

Really pei fu you for not having a maid..i will have to get one after my confinement to help my mom when i go back to work

Hey, was wondering if you bought any medical insurance for the twins as soon as they are born? I'm worried about their medical expenses so doing my homework now but so far only got info for N**C since they have a shop at KKH...

Hi Eipsy,

your kids are so adorable.
Am a 1st time mum and now 24wks..delivering at kkh. tried to find u on facebook but so many eileen ng, u mind to addd me ?
Marcia Too [email protected]

Wud luv to ask u for advice

Hi Eipsy, your car is a sedan, and if your parents are following you out with your 3 girls, can all still fit into your sedan?
Was thinking of getting a car initially (considering MPV), because I already had 20-month toddle, and worried may not be able to fit into sedan with parents + 3 girls. Well, COE is just simply too high now ... thanks ...

Went for my 25wks blood flow chk at KKH today

Doc say one of the twins is bigger than another, meaning one of them snatching more nutrients and will need to monitor at the next 30wks bloodflow scan. what does this mean? Iszit normal and what does this imply or what will doc do?

marcia
did doc mention abt twin twin transfusion syndrome? for my case, bbs were diagnosed with that in week 21..one big and small and small one donating to the bigger one in terms of nutrients...its more common for twins that are monochorionic diamniotic (sharing 1 placenta and 2 sacs) if not, then nvm, coz quite normal for twins to be 1 big and 1 small.

little queen, my legs, feet and hands are very swollen and painful also. many people recommended massages, propping my legs on pillows when i sleep, eating less salt, drinking less water etc.. but nothing works for me and my swelling just gets worse and worse.. so i just tell myself that it's the final lap liao and everything will improve once the babies arrive.. heehee.. jiayou ok??

76, how was your scan?? i think waking up to pee a few times in one night is quite normal, sometimes i wake up once once, sometimes about 2-4 times.. my interval is not fixed de.. yah so happy i can finally rest my swollen legs, i think i got the HL because my condition really worsened a lot now.. but hor my hubby fetched me home on the first night so i didn't get to stay at mummy's place afterall :'(

eipsy, thanks for sharing your experience! your twins are adorable and they resemble their big sister also! how do you manage everything without a maid?? really pei4 fu2 leh

twinsmama, i'll be trying for natural too! hubby is reluctant but i hope everything goes on smoothly! me currently 33 weeks :D

marcia, KKH did the twin scans at wk25 and wk30 for me. mine had a weight difference of 200g at wk25, then almost 400g at wk30.. then this week, wk33, the difference narrowed down to less than 200g again.. dun worry too much, just be positive and keep encouraging both babies to grow and be healthy
as long as the blood flow to both babies is good, i think the babies will be healthy de..

Hi Seejay,

Jia you! Jia you!

Yes, final lap liaoz..I'm also suffering from water retention, rashes, piles, insomnia etc..haha...u name it! Felt like a whale in bed..can't turn from one side to the other without discomfort..

At first was quite apprehensive about natural delivery as most people usually go for C-section..anyway, since doc said is ok, I thought, just try lor...since recovery is faster

I find that the baby's scan for the weight is not accurate - is really based on the person who did the scan..One of my twins' weight was 2.4kg at 32wk, then when i went for my scan at 34 wks, it was down to 2.1kg?! (Did my baby go on a diet?) When we asked doc about it, he helped to scan again and he estimated it to be 2.4kg...

So glad no need to go for scan at ADC anymore..my last scan was real torture..the lady was so rough and kept moving the doppler? over and over my tummy, so painful...

Hope my next checkup at 36wks will be my last one!

CJ
my scan showed TTTS condition has stabilised...and the report does not show "TTTS" anymore... keeping my finger crossed that it will stay...my gynae ask me what i did to improve the condition...did i rest blah blah...then he said i needed to rest more...so i got my HL lor..I think better not to take salty food..coz there willbe water retention to dilute the salt...and face will appear puffy and all...
marcia
as long as doppler studies is good can liao...they always check for that..doppler measure the blood flow..and will show as some mountain-like chart on the screen..i always ask my sonograpger what is this what is that....i kaypo..wana know how to read chart

LuvBB - Can fit...I carry one twin on my lap, my mum carry my other twin while my toddler sit on the car seat. both my parents squeezed at the back lor...But that's only for now we are doing this and we seldom go out together. In time to come, we still ve to change our car to a 7 seater...

Seejay - we ve no maid coz our mums dun wan a maid at their homes and we can't leave the maid home alone when we go to work...plus financially, it's tough on us to have a maid.

Currently, we save all the housework to weekends. The only chores we do daily are laundry, milk bottles cleaning and boiling of water. We eat at both of our mums' place (on rotation basis), so no dishwashing.

My hubby and me split the chores equally on weekdays and weekends. (e.g. I vaccum, he mops. He hang the laundry out and collect them after drying. I wash, fold, iron them. He put my eldest daughter to sleep while I m in charge of my younger twin) Sometimes, we switch duties.

Although it may sound like I m very calculating to insist equal sharing of chores, but this was actually suggested by my hubby. I used to do all this all by myself but I had so little time for myself that I could only bathe at 11pm every nite after I do all the chores including putting the kids to sleep.

I think even if you have a maid at home, your hubby should still share part of your responsibities such as feeding/ bathing the kid. In this way, you and your hubby 'go thru thin and thick' together
And by sharing your chores, he can contribute ideas to make chores easier to do. (e.g. my hubby finally 'realised' and 'agreed' to the changing of our ironing board when he did the ironing himself)

Thanks 76 & seeJay
Its always good to get an 2nd opinion
as the doc always say things so briefly
will update u when am at 30wks

Went for my Oscar yest. Results were pretty fine and could see the babies kicking, waving and bouncing(!!) in the sacs. Really amazing to see it. They have grown to 5cm and 5.7cm respectively. ^_^

Hi mummies to be,

I have an extra set of Avent Electric Sterilizer to let go at low price. Brand New. Comes with bottles, teats, pacifiers, brush, tongs, and warranty. Sterilizes 6 bottles at one time. Can fit other brands of bottles too.

Selling at $130 (retailed at $186)

PM me for more information.

my tummy feeling tight of late... i think no space liao leh...how ah? do you all feel tight and stretched tummy? sometimes, will feel pulling of my tummy muscles when i lie down...extending to the anus..but when i take a look, my tummy has slanted to one side into a conical shape, my bbs are moving and stretching...i tot is contraction.. How do you know how contraction feels like? I dun wan tohave false alarm...i dunno whether i can hold till week 36 leh, now so tight...me now going week 29.

Hi 76,

Contraction is like the whole stomach tightening and the belly becomes very hard. At this stage, u can experience some Braxton Hicks. If u dun experience contractions at regular interval, then it's Braxton Hicks.

If u feel ur tummy very stretched or like wanna bust, then it's probably ur uterus expanding, and sometimes, it will be accompanied by itch.

twinsmama, nowadays when i'm in bed and if i turn too quickly from one side to another, my tummy will be soooo painful.. *scared* my next check is at week 35 leh, dunno if the doc will see me once a week after that?? cos if it continues to be once every two weeks then i'll be week 37 liao, twins mummies can pregnant for so long meh?

76, congrats on the good news! i think by week 30 or 32, the risk of TTTS will be greatly reduced already that's why KKH only schedule the scans between wk 20 to 30. you're already wk 29 liao, your babies will be safe and healthy de :D my tummy always slants to one side and becomes very tight also! i think the boys are just playing inside so i don't think too much about it.. heehee.. last time i was also very worried if i could carry the babies into week 30++ but somehow when it comes your body will cope (although not very elegantly). only 7 more weeks to week 36 for you, jiayou jiayou! btw have you chosen a date for c-sect??

marcia, get plenty of rest now before your tummy becomes too big for you to rest comfortably :p yeah, keep us updated on your next results, i bet your babies will be fine de

everyone, take care and stay cheerful!

Thanks Kel. Indeed, my tummy feels like wana burst...hope it dun really burst (though i know it wun)..coz it really feels that way..and i feel like i am carrying rocks at times.
see jay
Thanks, i have formally crossed into the 3rd trimester. Havent book c-section date. My growth scan at nuh this wed..but my apptment with Glen gynae next wed...so prob will ask only next week ba. how about you? what is your date? You c-section date will be which week of yours?i am playing with the tot of 090909...which is my week 35+..idea? But hospital will be damn crowded right? then i will prob be interviewed by the media?? oh no....(drama)

my mum just went to the wholesale shop opposite Bugis Guangyin temple to buy bbs clothes...quality good enough for home wear type...and cheap.1 whole big red plastic of 5 tops, 3 long pants, 1 brush, 1 pack of hanky, 1 pack of towel, 1 pack of cloth nappies (abt 9-10 pcs)4 pairs of mittens and booties for $50...my mum say she shop till v happy...so you can try that place if interested.

Seejay, I'm still seeing my doc at 2 weeks apart, seeing him this week..not sure if he wants to see me again next week or 2 weeks later when I'm at 38wks...?? maybe i already due liao :D Me having cold feet about natural delivery now..haha..kinda worried about the labour and delivery after reading too much...hiaz..sometimes ignorance is bliss...

76, could you advise on the address or give direction to this baby wholesale shop? I heard about this shop before and asked my hubby to look for it previously, but he wasn't able to find it..thanks in advance!

twinsmama
well, i din go to that shop personally. But from what i read and then briefed my mum, this is the direction: when you back face the temple, you will see a row of shops selling dried goods infront of you. That particular shop is on the extreme left of those rows of shops. heard near some public toilet. hope it helps.

just went for my detailed scan (again) at NUH. 1bb 837g, the other is 1091g. Will have to continue to monitor small bb. Blood flow (doppler studies) seems ok for now. from now on,its going to be weekly scan. My gleneagles gynae says looks ok..but i may probly have to deliver at week 34 or even 32...arrgh!!! thats like 1mth time!! gosh!!..havent prepared all my things...

Hi 76,
thanks for the direction, will try to look for the shop again! delivery at 32 or 34 weeks seems early...hope everything goes well in your weekly scan

Blessedone and twinsmama
gynae din say why so early coz he said over the phone to my hubby after he received the fax from NUH. Will ask him in detail next week abt exact date. Maybe he just trying to pre-empt me abt early delivery. Now just have to ensuring the weekly doppler studies are all right, then can drag as long as possible.

Hi 76,
Just keep talking to ur bbs...tell them to come out much later
Besides, you have to eat well also and have ample rest.
Babies whose mommies don't eat well, will wana leave the comfort of the womb as early as possible, coz of their need for survival.

Thanks Blessedone for the advice. Your last line sounds v logical...at which week did you deliver your bbs? When did you discover of your TTTS? i just hope that my condition will continue this way and be stabilised....every stage is a worry.

Hi 76...
yeah i read this somewhere...from one of the pregnancy sites.
I delivered them at 36 wks...but was hospitalised at 29 wks coz of false contractions...Doc discovered at my 35th week and advised me to go for emergency Csection.
just relax...maybe listen to music or swim...
i swam till my 34th wk in fact..

haio haio.. me juz back frm my wk 34 growth scan at NUH this mrng.. glad that results are not bad.. baby Mattea is abt 2.2kg n baby Keona is abt 2.1kg nw. Prof there quite confi that i might be carrying up to abt 5kg of babies at our delivery at wk 36 (12days latr)..
anyways.. im juz so thankful that baby Keona managed to catch-up with baby Mattea.... Praise the Lord!

lalala~

am now 26wks,
this morning experience quite bad cramps till evening but now feeling much better after long long sleep? just curious, iszit common to have cramps? any implications as this is the 1st time i experience it

hi everyone! me will be going for wk 35 check on monday! hopefully can extend my HL until i give birth :D my tummy itch is getting from bad to worse this week. it's so bad that i can't sleep at night and i often scratch the whole tummy until it starts to have this painful stinging sensation. right now, my tummy is really ugly with a lot of stretchmarks and red rashes. think i'll ask doc for some anti-itch cream on my next visit :'(

twinsmama, i am more worried about the after-pains and messiness of natural birth, cos i think with epidural the actual giving-birth part is not so scary right? *cross fingers*

bobo, congrats on your growth scan! both your girls have crossed the 2kg safety mark :D i can imagine it's gonna get tougher when they grow bigger and bigger towards your c-sect date! jiayou jiaypu!!

marcia, i had my first "cramps" at about week 15 or 16. it started with bearable menstrual-like cramps on my lower abs, then it got worse and worse until i couldn't stand up. then i went to the KKH 24hr clinic to check. after verifying that the babies were fine, the doctor told me the pain was due to my muscles stretching. subsequently i only got the painful cramps twice but both times the cramps didn't last as long as the first time so i didn't tell my doctor :eek:

Hi everyone! Wife currently in Week30 and KKH has requested her to choose the ward for her delivey. If we are going to use nack the same gynac we will need to choose class A / B1 which is no subsidy. The babies will go with the class the mother is in. Though we wanted to be delivered by the same gynac but at the same time we afriad there is pre-term delivery or any complications which will land the babies in NICU or SICU which will be a finacial burden. So all KKH mummies so what you all usually choose? Does Weeks 36 baby need to intensive care?

Joe Foo, oh the hospital has already asked you guys to choose the ward! i am wk 35 already but nobody has talked to me about this yet
anyways i will be going for A ward cos i want my hubby to stay with me. also, from my friends' experience, the mummy can get more rest in a single ward as there'll be less disturbance during the day (visitors) and night (cos babies have different feeding times). also, i don't want my babies to be delivered by any random gynae cos i've heard horror stories of randomly-assigned gynae in KKH :p

but then, i prefer not to think about the costs now.. hopefully my babies arrive when they're physically mature so there is no need to stay in NICU.. Hee..

See Jay
All the best for your scan..Do update us.
I have ordered my 2 cots from OG, different from the ones they advertise. they are white pine wood, free bedding set (2bolsters and 1 pillow inclduing covers), half bumper, mattress at $359. then i also bought another 2 bedding sets for change over. All in all, i spent $892.40. i will ask them to deliver only when i know my delivery date...coz pantang..probably when i deliver first day, will ask them to deliver.....hmmm, now left other "big" items like breast pump,car seats adn strollers. breast pump thinking of getting electric one...car seats and strollers have eyed what i want..will ask hubby to storm down to taka bb fair next month to see if got sales..anyway, not urgent,coz after confinement then will need those.