(2009/11) November 2009 MTB

morning all
juz came back from the PD...brought my #1 to see doc as he fell down yesterday and had scratches and bruises on his face...

agata, kkh children emergency is always a loong wait...at least 2 to 3 hrs one, unless ur case is super urgent kind... aiyo, hope ur nephew's hand gets well soon... once u have a kid, u never stop worrying, they will progress from colicky bb to "prone to injure" toddlers...haiz...

jeelomeelo, ur bb dun like the infant insert eh? i saw on the website, its juz insert in one rite, nothing to secure it? i also cant wait for bb's neck to be firmed up so i can use ergo or other carriers on her...the MIM sling now is ok but i can feel the weight piling and my shoulders aching after slinging her...

shirlin, u wanna email or call fitti again? 16th is like more than 2 weeks le

tanly, i will talk to the bb...play with them or let her self entertain at the bouncer or cot... i dun really wanna carry her for long hrs as i dun want her to cultivate the habit of carrying...

Mummies Lunch next week before 2009 ends!!

Date: 28 Dec 09 (Mon)
Venue: TCC @ Scotts Isetan
Time : 12pm
Reservations under Jane Ong (if can make reservations)
1. Jane
2. piggy (1st time)
3. sporty
4. 1sttimemummy (1st time)
5. zentan
6. shirlin
7. Ashley
8. superwalker
9. swanston
10. shihui
11.lovie

anymore mummies keen?!
add ur name in
come with or w/o bbs...

x (leeling),
yup, mine on similac and poo is greenish watery too..but he always keep the poo within for days before pooing a mountain full of it .. hmm.. dun know why or if it's no good...

sporty. no leh..not 45 degrees..but fully reclined so baby is flat on my tummy.. I'm pretty flat at the chest so not too uneven for him..hehe

all "struggling" mummies, jia you okie! this phase will pass soon... anyway, it can be worse.. someone i know just gave birth to a cleft lip baby.. cannot drink from normal bottles or latch coz lips will tear and the poor mummy cries everyday just from seeing baby.. my heart also aches from the sight of her.. and imagine the extra stress and $$$ when surgery comes.. Well, still, all babies are beautiful gifts i feel, so enjoy yours before they grow too fast!

chriszinc

how long have u been feeding ur baby with similac?
wondering will the poo colour will change if continue to feed similac..

It seems like we are all having the same issues! I was also suffering from post-natal blues right from the 1st week of delivery till now. Was crying everyday from week 2 until week 5-6. Still get teary now and then.

My bb also having colic prob, spitting milk and take many hours to coax to sleep each nite. Last nite was trying to get him to sleep from 9pm to 1am. Then he woke up every 2 hours to be latched on. He's now 7 weeks old but still cannot sleep more than 2 hours at one stretch.

I'm staying with my in-laws and have no privacy at all, though have help from MIL. I appreciate the help but am sometimes also frustrated that too many people are trying to have a say in the bb's management.

My MIL is suggesting Yao Lan for bb but I'm worried that he'll get too used to it and next time can't sleep without it.

Also having leaky breasts. Every night t=shirt will be wet. Somemore I'm having fast let down and bb cries whenever he latches on. Got to feed him against gravity...

Sigh....

Sporty,
Me & hubby also manage to steal a day or 2 to watch movie, it feels good thou after that i feel guilty to leave my mum alone and miss baby a great deal.

Tanly,
Ya girl, healthy baby is most impt.
If worst case scenerio, mayb u can consider "yao lan"?
If it can make baby cry lesser and slp longer while u happier, no harm getting one.
I usually let my baby play by himself in the cot if he dun wan to slp but sadly, it only lasted max 15mins before he start yakking.

Agata,
Understd your heartache of seeing the little one screaming like that, my heart crunch everytime my baby scream cos of colic.
Thankfully, its over but those few weeks were horrible and it usually happen in the night.
Dun worry, am sure your future xmas will be spent with a bubbly little tot & a wonderful dinner.
;)

Karen,
My mum also say 3m onwards will be very easy and we are half way thr!

Jeelomelo,
U are a super mum!
Reading abt your typical day, its so encouraging and motivating.
Despite a toddler & a baby, reflux issues & no help, u can still do dinner!
Kudos for all that!
So that leaves new mummy like me with mum's help no cheek to complain.

Rachelle & Saintbaby,
Thanks for sharing.
Lets hope all of us can pull through this toughest stage.

x & chriszinc,
Mine also on similac advanced, sometimes greenish & sometimes yellowish.
My baby poo abt 2-3 times a day.
Oh that poor baby with cleft lip, cant imagine gotto do surgery at such tender age and the poor mummy too.

Rhapsodyrach,
Not easy being women, harder being a mum isnt it.
we gotto endure 9M of pregnancy, body chges, mood swings then labour pain, latching pain, lochia for more than 6weeks, worry over supply, taking care of baby, engorgement pain & huge weight gain, Mummies are great, isnt it.

shirlin: i ordered through the fitti distributors..w/in a week, they send the pampers to me liao...COD

maybe u can try to email them again?

my S size finishing liao..dunno to start on M or buy S to continue?

wondering hor, if Pampers Brand, M size is smaller? cos i got a pack of that..

help needed!

i need help on how to defreeze FBM..cos me gg BKK next month..then need to teach my MIL and FIL on the above!

i need to steps!

TIA mummies..

My pd ask me to change the formula from S26 to Friso. Should I change direct or should I mix like 3/4 S26 and 1/4 Friso and slowly increase the Friso Content?

Pls advice.

gals, i read this on today's papers...my hb said why dun we migrate to australia and i be the "cow" as its so "well paid"...hahhaa...

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,26506918-953,00.html

chriszinc, hahaha...dun think u will be "pretty flat" la since u still bfing...hahha...yeah, i heard its not easy to feed a cleft lip bb and its very heartpain also...

rhapsodyrach, i guessed we have to one ear in and one ear out for those "advices" tha the old pple ard us give la... even now its my #2, my mum tha day juz mentioned why dun i supplement with FM to make bb sleep longer etc...so i juz listened and nodded but never forllow la... u never use breast pads when u sleep eh? thas why leaky boobs...

babylele, dun feel gulity abt leaving ur bb with ur mum for tha few hrs...u need tha few hrs to maintain ur sanity... i rem for my #1, i went for a one day getaway with my hb before i returned to work and tha was like the most peaceful nite tha i ever slept during my ML...hahha...but of cuz we missed our bb lots la... i agree mummies are great, thas why i appreciate my own mummy more after being a mummy myself

piggy, ur ebm is in bottles or bags? juz tell them to leave it in normal fridge like a day before feeding bb...then take out to defrost like an hr or two before feeding bb...

tanly, best to mix slowly for the first few days...so at least ur bb will get accustomed to the taste of the new FM... btw, why did ur pd ask u to change fm?

Sporty, cos my girl feeding on 80ml at week 5 and my PD think it is too little for her age. So he suspect the formula milk S26 doesn't suit her. So he recommend to change to Friso.

So should I start like mixing 3/4 of S26 and 1/4 of Friso and slowly increase to 1/2 S26, 1/2 Friso and so on?

Gals, my mil dun allow me to carry bb coz scared bb will rely on carrying too much. Okie tat I understand but I angry is coz she dun wan me carry yet she carry herself n yes I think she is possesive of my bb. I scared I will lose my bonding with bb as sometimes she snatch the feeding frm me. Ah.....
And dun allow me to go out is coz bb still small, she dun wan me bring her to crowded place. But I juz oni wan to bring her to downstairs for some breather n fresh air. PD say yes dun bring her out but to downstairs or open space is okie. Coz I am +ve for strep b so have to be xtra careful in handling bb.
Today bring bb to see pd coz bb feel warm n cranky n I was scared coz she was hospitalized 2 weeks ago due to high fever. Pd say no fever but gt to take temp of her several times per day. Bb weight is 4.465 kg nw n pd say we a bit overfeed her liao. Weight gain by right shod be 500g - 1 kg per month n she gain nearly 2kg in 2 weeks.

Date: 28 Dec 09 (Mon)
Venue: TCC @ Scotts Isetan
Time : 12pm
Reservations under Jane Ong (if can make reservations)
1. Jane
2. piggy (1st time)
3. sporty
4. 1sttimemummy (1st time)
5. zentan
6. shirlin
7. Ashley
8. superwalker
9. swanston
10. shihui
11.lovie

Reservation made under Jane Ong. C u babes there!

Hi, would like to know other than feeling sides of the breast lumpy to find where are blocked ducts, wat about the place just behind the nipple?

cos I duno if we shd feel the entire breast for the lumps of blocked ducts.

Thanks sporty and babylele for your encouragement. I really wish the 3rd mth will be better.I'm also afraid that once i go back to work, bb will be too attached to MIL and i will lose bonding with him.
My MIL is asking me to get a maid too but that means one more woman taking care of him. Sigh.. i just want to have an exclusive relationship with him..

one day when our babies grow up and reset us for being naggy, we should show them this thread and let them see for themselves how much we went through to bring them up! that said, hubbies should read this thread too because they're not at home most of the time and they think we're being unreasonable for throwing baby at them once they step home! ask them to try not being able to go to the toilet for the whole day lah!

RE: taking care of bb alone
we all have a learning phase to go through. baby doesnt know how to be a baby just like we dont know how to be a mummy - so learn together and get attuned to each other!dont expect too much from ourselves, after all, we're only human.

when i had #1, i was alone and hubby was out before we woke up, can count the number of times he bathed and changed diaper for baby on one hand and have fingers to spare. i was pumping throughout the day and night too but thankfully hubby helped out feeding at night.

in the morning bathe and feed bb, then let him lie in cot or bouncer and play for a while. lunch i ordered tingkat but after a while i got so sick so i bring bb down to buy lunch once he's bigger in stroller or baby carrier. this way bb and i wont be cooped up at home the whole day. most of the time i eat with baby in one arm if he doesnt want to be left alone. not forgetting gotta pump throughout the day too! must learn when's the best time to pump.. can vividly recall how many times pump halfway he suddenly scream, then i gotta stand with my pump still on beside his bed and stuff pacifier into his mouth. luckily got the handsfree.

by afternoon i'd be so exhausted and i know if put him down to sleep on cot or bouncer he wont sleep long, so i sleep on the sofa, prop my legs on coffee table and support my arm with cushions with him on my tummy. this way we both get a good 1-2 hr nap, sometimes even 3 hrs.

dinner usu hubby buys back or when he works late, order mac or my mum or mil will drop by to visit after work and they'll da bao for me. hubby has to entertain very often so lots of nights i'm alone too. i also entertained thoughts of covering bb with a pillow when he doesnt stop crying, and i just cried like no tommorrow in the dark. sometimes bb too cranky at night dowan to sleep properly and i get up more than 5 times in an hr, i also break down and cry then hubby will wake up and take over.

the good ole days~~

I wan to know how you settle your bb to sleep?
So far, if he gets v grumpy, whine n cry non stop to fight sleep, I leave him to cry in his cot for 10 mins.

Then if lucky, when pick him up, to cuddle a bit, he will sleep.
But I find this not very desirable..
anyone can share?

Kimifin, atleast your bb will cry himself to sleep. My girl can cry non stop until face turn red and breathless, those sscary type. Hence I dare not let her cry too much. So always got to carry her loh. Think diff for to kick off this bad habit.

Any of your bb cry like my girl until face turn red and breathless? How you deal with it?

Tanly, my bb also cries till the face is as red as a tomato...n usually can see him in pain, like kek sai look. I will definitely carry him cos I need to bring him upright to make him feel better (it's alway the wind). I will also sway my body n he sometimes settles down enough to fall asleep in my arms. I then slip him off gently back into his cot. I know this is bad n he may get used to being carried but at this point, as long as he stops crying, I dun care liao.

Sporty, hope your boy feels better! Ha... U can migrate to australia n launch your moo moo career. I can't cos after feeding my boy, I can only yield 100ml extra a day! Not enough to make a living!!! Lol!!!

tanly,
my bb also got red face, n start kicking his hands n legs.

If put him to breast, normally he settles down, but dun wan to make it a habit.

Merry Xmas!!

just briefly read the posts.. and see that many of us going thru the same thing... guess this is motherhood.. i been very naggy and asked my husband to help out.. he kept saying that fathers are very useless in the first 6 mths.. i am very angry.. cos it is so irresponsible thinking.. so now i force him to change diapers.. initially i ust wan to be considerate.. as he needs to work.. so i will do everything myself.. but now i am so tired!! so i force him and scold him that this thinking is very wrong!

anyway.. i am wondering where i can buy nice plus size clothes.. i really got no idea.. some plump ppl can also dressed up nicely.. how i dunoe how.. as i am afraid of too warm .. and if i wear leggings.. and cardigans.. i feel very warm.. but if i wear sleeveless.. i dunnoe where got nice clothes for plus size women.. so vexed over this.. cos i think my husband is very impatient and asking me to slim down fast.. but everyday i am so busy with bb.. i just wan to eat to stay awake.. and desserts and chocos.. makes me feel very happy.. i dunnoe how to cut!!

So tired today, bring my bb to see PD for the vaccination, 2 jabs (1 from 6 in 1 and another pheu... dunno how to spelll) and 1 oral jab(rotavirus) cost is 400+ ... *faint* but thought of let her suffer in one day rather than so many times, also the waiting time for PD is 1 hour, same like seeing my gynae and no place to sit some more.

tanly, my PD give the oral vaccination for rotavirus.

When my bb cry, she also cry till red and the best thing is she can instantly got tears one and cry till change voice type. Everytime she cry like that i will carry her , too heart pain to see her cry like that. I am not sure at this age, they know how to "teh" or not , today very tired and i let her cry a bit longer and i scold and talk to her in a bit stern voice, she like understand and stop the screaming crying.

catechins, what kind of plus size clothes you need? I am big size even before i pregnant, i use to buy my clothes from York Boutique, they sell clothes from L to XXXXL, not sure where you stay but I know they have branches at Jurong Point, Tiong Bahru and some other places, can't remember all their branches.

babylele, actually yea, when my targets per plan are achieved, i feel good about myself but if i'm not, just try another day lor. I don't feel like a superwoman, at the end of the day i am damn fatigue but i just needed to get things done and going. my cuz did come by twice, bought me lunch n kept me company. wkends are my best days, hb ard to entertain #1 and i just need to manage house and #2. sometimes just got to make do when i ask hb to do certain things, otherwise i'll go nuts of him not meeting my standards, rather than nag coz i used to nag and that lead to more arguments. when he say i'm naggy, the next time i rather do it myself than to ask him to do. since #2 is delivered I get my lousy days too, get upset and depress and i do cry too and i blame it on the hormones
life goes on... you can't always depend on others, plan for yourself and do what you deem right. if you are perfectionist try to loosen your standards a little, else you'll go nuts (which i learn over the years)

catechins - i oso am eating chocs just erm be happy and erm diet after we stop bfeed bah .. haiz ..

sporty - any lobang for carriers ?

hihi!

went shopping at ION today.. :p so many branded boutiques over there.. aiyo.. dun dare to step into most of the shops.. hahaha.. love Basement 4 most coz it's where all the nice food are.. hahahahaha... :p super tired by the time we reach home... :p

re baby crying,
i tried the 'cry n leave her for 10min' tactic... no use on my gal... she will cry till face super red.. and her voice will turn hoarse.. from got wailing sound till no sound... tried 20min max.. but no use.. very jialet.. in the end will still need to carry her.. she can't self soothe...
i'm oso wondering if i shd persist in doing this..

re taking care of bb alone,
i almost had post natal depression when i cared for #1 myself during the first 3 mths too... tt time, during confinement, in laws kept visiting.. den i couldn't rest.... n there were lots of opinions fr them on how badly CL handled my boy etc etc.. i almost cried everyday.. :p finally buay tahan n broke down in front of hubby n my mom.. luckily hubby stand on my side n asked my in laws to refrain fr making too many comments..

this time round, i set all the rules liao.. restricted to max 1 visit a wk for my in laws.. minimised contact with them.. dun chat abt confinement stuffs with them.. and my mom visited me frequently..
so my stress is better managed.. hehehe..

btw, anyone experience numbness in your hand n arm? my numbness quite bad... if i hold my hand in the same position for several minute, my whole arm n hand will become numb... the numb feeling will radiate fr my fingers all the way to my upper arm.. so jialet till i see the GP.. was given Vit B for the nerves.. n was adviced to go see specialist n do MRI scan on my neck.....

sporty,
i will be bringing #2 on Mon..

catechins
i normally buy from dorothy perkins.. they have outlets at PS, great world city, wisma.. there's also another shop call ViVi.. i can't remember where are their outlets but i go to the one at sun plaza, sembawang.. if not there's York like wad Karen said..

morning all...
sunday again!housework day!

starrz, think ur mil's juz protective of ur bb lor...how much are u feeding ur bb now?

jane, thks for making the reservations...cant wait to see u gals tom

tanly, yeah...i planned to let my gal take the rotavirus med when she goes for her 6 in 1...

rhapsodyrach, dun worry abt not having an exclusive relationship with ur son... no matter what, u are still his mum, the bond will be there one...dun worry
my #1 stayed with my mum on weekdays last time and in fact he's closer to us than my parents...its juz tha u have to make the effort to bond with him...

magical, my hb sometimes peep into this thread also to see whats the topic of the day...hahha... i agree tha nowadays we can sleep anywhere anytime anyplace even its for 1 hr! actually after being a mum, i never sleep past 12pm anymore...hahhaha...

kimifin, there's not standard way of settling bb to sleep...for me, i do a wipedown at 8ish to 9...dim the lights and feed her...slowly then she will fall asleep...usually i leave her in the cot when she feeling very "high"...normally she will sleep but at times she will still cry and need to try again lor

tanly, i think u have to be hard hearted abit to let ur gal cry...so she knos she wun get her way by crying...

superwalker, my boy is still active as usual but i hope the scratches wun turn into scars for him...haiz...

catechins, ur hb can help in feeding...let him feed ur boy like once a day using bottles...good way to bond lor... why ur hb so impatient and want u to slim down fast? the weight took 9 mths to pile up, not easy to lose all in one go lor... i agree with u tha we kept eating now since we are bfing, i'm gulity of overeating too :p

jeelomeelo, i agree tha when daily "targets" were achieved, u feel damn good! i have a daily checklist also...i planned to do some spring cleaning after my #1 goes to skool next yr so before CNY then dun have to rush... agree with u tha we always cant depend on others

ayukie, i sell carriers ah? how come i dunno? hehhee :p i have 2 carriers...infantino one and ergo...ergo is better as it can tahan greater weight till 18kg but can be used when bb's neck is strong

shihui, u still go orchard eh? after having kids, i seldom go orchard liao cuz very squeezy and my #1 will go crazy running ard and we will be ki siao chasing after him... hmmm...numbness in hand, better take care... great, can finally see ur gal tom

so fast, 2009 ending soon.... kinda miss this year... hee..... cos it means my ML going to end soon... i'll be starting work 1 wk before CNY... still got a month plus but seems like very fast finish liao lor....

aiyah, too bad cannot join tomorrow though i wish i can (i actually ask hb if he can jaga the kids while i go lunch and he complain that he on leave and i must let him lunch alone lor) ..... must org another such outing before CNY hor....

Shihui, I had numbness in my hands n arms since 8 months into my pregnancy till a few weeks ago. It was so bad that I would wake up with totally numb arms. I suspected that it was due to bad posture n hence kinks at the neck n shoulder area, cos I refrained from massages ever since I got preggie. True enough, a few weeks after birth, I finally went to "fix" my neck n shoulders by doing tmc massages. Work like wonders! Now the numbness in the hands n arms are gone....only one of the shoulder blade is still a bit numb due to fatigue. U go try get a sinseh to "set" your neck.

settle bb to sleep:

Sporty, I find nite and day time settle to sleep tactics are different. bb tend to like to sleep on the sofa or bouncer in the day, but v easily to wake up.

Nite, thk we all v tired, so need to coax bb to sleep from 8, using ANY method.. but must settle in cot finally. so this is really tough.

my bb wakes up for feeds 1.5 to 2 hr intervals again!

between the sleep, he made so much noise(which we can tahan cos he is not crying yet). so i wonder he really got sleep or not?

Just came back fr J8. Really cold sweat to bring bb out. So worried that my gal will be cranky. Went Crystal Jade for lunch but couldn't enjoy cos worried bb cranky and cry. So carried bb and hv lunch at the same time. Really cold sweat man...

I've been a silent reader until I see many start to discuss about colic, reflux & cranky babies. My baby gal is borned on 20nov.

I've been feelin quite depress since the day CL left us. Have been handling Bb alone and with some help from hubby. The day CL left, bb started colic and reflux and she has been crying a lot. I started to feel very demoralized, feelin tat i've Not done a good job as a mother to prevent bb from feelin so uncomfortable.
Another pressure that I have is my FIL is staying with us. He thinks tat we shd do anything to prevent or stop bb from cryin.
He even went to tell my hubby's siblings that bb is always. crying. They came asking me y.
It seems tat I've become a criminal to make bb cranky. I'm a 1st time mum. It's been 1 week since my CL has left. Still tryin understand my bb better so tat I could perform better in this new role. Deprive of sleep and social life is makin me worst! Right now, I'm losing my confident to look after my bb. Mb I shd juz find a nanny to look after bb day & night if they think tat I can't do it.
Sorry for the long message. Juz need to vent it.

hi mummies, good afternoon. Just wondering, does your bb make noise and struggle like "want to shit" kind ah? Yesterday night my gal been making "ee..ee... ah..ah.." sound and struggle like "want to shit" and always curl up. She didn't really cry but like uncomfortable like that. Any of your bb experienced that? what does that means? I wondering whether is reflux but she didn't spit milk leh...

tanly, so good, you can go JB ah? Now everyday me and my hubby like do the same thing and always confine at home cause we afraid to bring bb out scare she cranky. So far only bring her out to downstairs and visit PD which is downstairs also. Kind of boring maybe will suggest to my hb to go JP or IMM on weekday as he still on leave for another week.

Jasmine, hang in there. When my CL left, i also go through that, my mum was with me that time, and she so also keep saying don't let bb cry so much, so my bb always being carried, but slowly, we learn her pattern and after my mum left, my hb and I so far are doing fine. Just hang in there. Jia You.

I also experience hand numbness, I guess is because carried bb too much and using my hand to massage my breast while pumping. I try to move my finger more often, hopes it will get better.

Jasmine, our bb born on the same day. We got to slowly learn the habit and routine of our bb. At this stage now I manage to know that my gal will get cranky when she need feeding and when she want to sleep.

Karen, not JB lah, its Junction 8. Just nearby I already cold sweat don't say JB. But hb really supportive when we r out. I think I will slowly try to bring bb out again when hb no need to work.

tanly, sorry ah, i thought is JB haha...
I also wanted to bring my bb out, not sure my hb ok or not, so far he only go go downstairs only. But hor, i notice when go out bb is not so cranky leh... like yesterday go PD, she sleep in stroller and won't get cranky as she is at home.

btw tanly, why your PD ask you to change the FM ah? My gal taking S26 (night feed) and at wk 6+ (2 more days to 7 wks) , she weigh 4.335kg and PD says her weight ok leh.

Karen,

yes, bb cry for so many reasons. sometimes, I ended up offerring the comfort suck ...he relaxes and shit!

I tot he is fighting for sleep! dats y tot sucking wud get him to sleep.

Jasmine,

most of us are experiencing similar "shows" from our bbs. dats y it's helpful to talk to ppl in the same mth ur bb was born.

really, once the CL left, bb really show all his colors!

Dats y, I will feel v depressed when bb cry so loud n watever i tried, doesn't work. but i m glad hub takes turn to coax him. cos no point 2 person coax..ended up no rest.

esp i need to BF over the nite, need more rest in the day.

U just have to bear with it.
about in laws, its a mixed of feelings. If they help u to lighten other chores, it helps a lot.

but about the complains, let ur hub handle. cos is his dad...

is it we need to "squeeze" the entire breast to check got clogs? cos i find my area behind the nipple like a big lump...but v difficult to access during BF or pumping. Unless I hand express to squeeze out the excess.