(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

I received samples for mamil stage 2, and Similac stage 2. Anyone keen to exchange wif me, becoz my boy is drinking enfalac. let me know ya.. Thanks.

April / BB / joycec: my mum also taught me to soak the rice grains overnite, this way, the cooking time for porridge will be faster.

friso so generous and efficient, send in my request last week oni and they sent the free sample yesterday and is a 900g loh..

Reira, Zach is TBF so most probably is due to solids he took liao.

babyja, i thk as long as the stool is soft is not a concern cos it's quite common for FM babies. btw, is this number u called friso to get free sample 6734 9294?
I wan to get one to standby in case my gal cannot take similac.

Sophie, r u giving solids food to ur bb? could be due to cereals also...i heard can try oatmeal or barley cereals cos more fiber.

does anyone here give raw carrot/vege for your baby to bite during their teething period?
my bb's nanny cut a block of carrot for my bb to bite. so instead of biting a soft rattle, my bb will bite on carrot. do u all think it is ok?

also i only started my bb with only one feed on cereal. i have not started any other food yet.. so is it ok or not? haa... she's 6.5month already

Btw, i heard friso stage 2 oli for abv 8mths right? means if wan to take now hv to drink stage 1 right? cos my gal gng to turn 7mths tis fri.

bbja, besides Friso, Promil also sent a 900g sample.

donkeymami, friso stage 2 is for babies from 7 months onwards. I started Isaac on it last week when he was 3 days from turning 7 months.

Donkeymami,
i tink i request thru Friso F/B leh... it for 7mth n above not 8mth

Pris,

erm, this i am not sure. ha...but she told me it is a big block so that bb can hold and bite wor. she also give the french bean vege.

Piggy, i see! friso on FB somemore ah..haha

btw, u boy vy good le..take well to any FM u gave him heehee friso, mamilgold, similac anymore?

donkeymami
ya, i request from FB too.. when i click the free sample, this link come out.. so i gave this link to my friend too..

sweetmama, ur nanny vy funny like feeding rabbit give carrot to bite..but i thk carrot can eat raw la..but i thk french bean usually dun eat in raw bah!

Donkeymami,
hahha my boi as long as milk i tink he dun care if it taste diff same for solid.. no la dun wan to try so many brand keke... cos end of the day will still gave him Friso...

hahhaha, yahor! 2 tooth = bunny 2 front tooth. hahahah!

Btw, just wondering if anyone here has not started with any other solid food other than cereal? I know many mummies have started with many different types of foods, but my mum and nanny have the same opinion that i do not need to start so fast on other food. haa.. so i take for granted too as i don't know how to prepare other food other than cereal which i just need to add water. hahahaha.. lousy mummy.

sweetmama
if i recall correctly between 6-8mths old is more abt a period of tasting and introducing new foods.... but 8-9mths onwards... solids shld be a main componenent of her diet and not milk...

i oso dunno how to prepare mah... go read up on weaning recipes books..and try on ur own on weekends.

yup yup, going to library to borrow books..right now i m just relying too much on nanny. waiting for her cue when to feed bb.

don't know why this few days my gal has been waking at 5am to ask for milk~ her usual time should be 8am. i have not woken up in such an early morning for a very long time.

seeing all ur post made me so guilty... my boy din tried anything except cereals.. haiz.. firstlt, i lazy then he started long-staying fever b4 CNY, so i din try anthing else besides milk.. i shall make apple puree later on..

sweetmama, no worries start wif simple food 1st like apple (steam/fresh), pear (steam/fresh), sweet potato, pumpkin vy easy to prepare jz steam & mash/blend.

egg allergy> how come baby allergy to eggs, but heinz got those egg custard for 6mths n abv? i bought for my boy thinking of letting him try if got allergy or not. cos i feel like eating de custard too =x

ioroios> nvm. my boy only eat cereal, n all de heinz bottled purees =x i nv give him home made ones too. cos too lazy to make any

yesterday first time letting my boy try HB brown rice cereal. Mixed 2 spoonful of cearl with FM. He doesnt seem to like it after a few mouthful. Dun know what to give him next.

donekymami, ok will try this weekend. thanks so much... sound v fun.

i manage to stop my breast pumping. Take weeks coz i was so hesitant to stop! feel so 'sayang' to stop but i have no choice.

went for a neck xray and the report says that i've a loss of normal curvature. going to see specialist next month.

so for those who are still breastfeeding/pumping, please make sure you have a good posture. the pain of my neck is terrible, thus i really feel like turning back the clock to where my bb was just born.

sweetmama
for steaming of foods right? i will usually cut a appropriate size for the baby.. and steam that whole pc (instead of cutting to smaller pieces, this will prevent nutrients loss via evaporation). i had bought the smallest sized steamer for that same purpose as well.

so far, my understanding
1) fruits - 5 to 10 minutes (nowadays i dun even steam, just blend direct
2)pumpkin - 8-10minutes
3)sweet potato - 10minutes
4) potato - 10minutes.

u try it urself... first time u open the steamer at 5 minutes..poke with a fork.. if too hard.. continue steaming another 3-5minutes... then next day u can directly steam 8-10minutes oredi, instead of always having to open the cover..just fine tune it everyday k?

hi smurfy thanks! i don't have a steamer so i guess i have to do a manual steam. hee, thanks so much for your sharing. will do that! cool!

Hi welcome back Pris. Ray is fortunate to have tried so many variety of food. I wish I knew more about cooking too. Will have to pick it up along the way as I want to prepare wholesome food for Sophie too. So far she enjoys her rice cereal with fruits. But only tried apples and bananas so far. Am going to introduce her to carrots, sweet potatoes next and then back to fruits like pear and papaya.

I have been using my philips steamer and blender and find it really convenient and fuss free. Steaming is about 5,10 mins, depending on the food item. Then can just blend after steaming is complete and food is ready. Hehe as you can tell I'm rather lazy so getting this was quite good buy for me.

Confinement lady with G6PD experience
Asking on behalf of colleague who is now expecting. Gyne told her chances of her baby having G6pd is high so she wants to engage a confinement lady with experience with G6PD babies as she will not be able to take ginger and herbs. Also preferable be able to converse in English as my colleague cant speak Mandarin. Any recommendations mummies?

Night wakings
Sophie has been waking up crying every night since thursday. She usually cries in the middle of the night and she'll arch her body like she's in pain. Most of the times, me and hubby will carry and pat her and she'll sleep after a while. But last night she didnt sleep until I gave her the teething tablets as I suspect she's teething. Will teething cause babies discomfort like that! Pris, you mentioned giving Ray frozen hankie but wouldn't it be dripping wet when he bites it?

eunice~how u doing liao???? u can give the food listed these few days

is lucas oki with karihome????better?

pris~frozen hankie~~~good idea le :p

weishy - i am ok liaoz but still on mc....relaxing at home.

i shall try giving him those food. have not put him on karihome yet. have u heard of HIPP formula powder? was recommended to me by my friend.

anyone giving ur baby fish oil and probiotics?

eunice
wat is HIPP formula?
javier dun wan the HB brown rice cereal too after a few mouthful.. but he's like that leh coz tried other brands also like that..

Hi April,
Hmm...think i will try your "recipe" this sat/sun. haha...For someone who doesn't cook at all, i hope that i can get it right. BUt must get the fish. Quite tough for me cos usually don't cook and if we go marketing on sat already quite late liao. Will check with my MIL if she can buy more for me to bring home to cook. By the way, you free to meet up on weekend? haha..always say that sengkang/punggol mummies meet up but never successful. Haha...i'm only available on weekend cos weekday working.

Hi Pris,
Will the hanky have those furry stuff if we give it to the babies? I wanted to do it over the weekend but HB stopped me from doing it.

babayja - HIPP is an organic formula milk. My friend highly recommends me. Heard it is available at Brown Rice Paradise in Tanglin Mall.

claire,
My little M has COMPLETELY healed! Praise God. I brot her to Chee something one in Thomson, cos I made appt already and that's the nearest to my house.

Perhaps you better bring yours to see one of the drs?

Just to share with u my experience at Chee.

Waitig time: Short (Abt 15 min)
Doc: Old, experienced. I didn't even tell him what was wrong with little M. All he did was touch her hands, left and right and then he could tell me all that was wrong with her (I was SO Impressed!)

Fees: No fees (Just give doc any amt as an ang pow), only need to pay for medication. (Medicine ex - $14.)

He told me to go again, but since she's well and the phleghm somehow "disappeared", I reckon no need go?