(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

hello dear, thanks for replying so quickly.. i didnt feel much pain when the long needle was inserted. however, i was v v nervous. which COULD result in patchy numbing,according to my gynae. sigh! i m scared to go again!! but anyway,i will try to rem dr Winston Jong and see if i can get him on my next delivery (i dunno when!).thanks for explaining to me hw the epi shld work..the numbness def didnt reach my breast area! sigh!maybe my gynae din wait long enuf..i believe i was only injected for 10mins or so,before e cutting started. *Horrors*. i rem all my gfs telling me epi caesarean doesnt hurt at all.they dun even know its done, some of em, so i was so shocked when i felt the CUT! anyways right after my op, when i was wheeled out, i was in major pain (which i tot was natural!!),i rem breathing in and out to try to contain the pain.. only later when i had painkillers,the pain was relieved. oh my... sounds horrid right. to think i picked caesarean myself, despite all my gfs n gynae telling me to try natural, thinking it is less dramatic and that i can be more in control. anyways thanks for sharing...u r so experienced!
appreciate it!

hello TJE, thanks too for your comment. i guess our bodies react v differently to the epi... let's see.. wish me luck. zzz. maybe ONE is the way to go. humph.

i didnt do the rolling!! i was lying there stiff and waiting for the epidural to spread? maybe thats why! i shld do the rolling too..

feel like killing my gynae now, even though i like to think he knew what he was doing..(havin been a gynae same year my hb was born, 33 yrs ago) since he was quite a sweetheart during my entire pregnancy,and did some nice sewing which resulted in a flat 6-7cm scar which appears to be disappearing slowly now.

for vanity reasons, i m thinking of going back to him...

Dino-mum: My colleague has got kids 4 and 2 yrs old, she was at USS a month old and told me that she dont think USS and the rides are suitable for 2yrs old. Even her boy at 4 yrs old is quite frightened by some of the motion rides. Her girl at 2 yrs old was practically sitting on her lap even for the 3D shows. She think Disneyland is more suitable for kids our baby's age.
Time for you to get an airtix to HKG.

etirto
i order last nite already i order nature way i tink

looks like its good time for me to make my insurance premium since usd is weak
hiak hiak hiak

Lamagier, read your post about your friend's experience with her MIL.. Sorry but even being a mute she is quite mean, I wonder what she'll have to say if she isn't.

Trista, welcome back and sorry to hear your horrific epi experiece.. I thank God for my good "happidural" experience. I was not offered the choice of anaesthetist, I just say get me my happidural and the nurse called. May be I can ask my OBGYN to check his name.
To add to the horror, does anyone here know there are small percentage of people who has no normal reaction to even GA? I watched a discovery program before when I was in USA, that these people were conscious of the pain but due to the drug, they cannot move their body or talk, and can feel the pain when they were sliced. They only passed out later when the brain shuts them down due to pain. I meant you gals know right, when our body goes thru a trauma, the brain shuts us to protect us from the pain. hmm, may be the doctor can explain it better..

Anything interesting posts I missed besides these 2?

Experienced mom, K will be going for MMR this coming monday, anything I need to prep him before and what's the usual symptoms after? Fever? Flu like symptons?

Also, for moms who are going outdoor often with little ones, applying insect repellent is like sun block bcos dengue is prevalent and it gets dark earlier now.

kk
i tink mmr the fever comes like 5 to 7 days after the jab... some kids get high fever w rashes.. some dun wan to eat =(

Regarding small child.

There's this Growth Booster jab that PD would recommend for a child only if the child is severely underweight and short. It can help to increase 2-5cm taller. However, there maybe side effects when the child goes into adulthood such as diabetes.

Peanut

really? What is it called and where is it available? I've not heard of it other than the growth hormone jab and it's daily jab until puberty. The endocrinologist at kkh is asking me to consider that.

My Pd did not go into details as she said my child does not need it (yet). She herself did not give it to her son who genetically inherited her petite built. She wants to try TCM and hopes that her son will shoot during puberty. U may want to seek opinion from a second Pd.

Poor immune system due to MMRV? Hah, tell me more...

Yes it's strong because of M, and so it is the same for MMR.. I only know it is a live virus vaccine unlike the other vaccines.

Lavenderbear,
We jus went to USS & stayed overnight at Festival Hotel last week... Overall, I would say the trip is worth it... Lil Dino had great fun at USS that she endure the entire day w/o getting cranky although she only had 30mins nap that day... I do agree that some rides are not suitable for small kids since there is height restriction, etc... Dino took more rides than me coz I was only eyeing the Battlestar Galactica roller coaster which is still close for inspection/investigation UFN, I was bored by most of the rides and got daddy to accompany her for the kiddy rides... Daddy is aiming Sesame Place Theme Park at Philadelphia since dino loves sesame streets more than disney characters, but then he would take a long time to save up to bring her for that trip...

Btw, wat is MMR? Is it the chickenpox vaccine? Or? I only remember dino's last vaccine was Hep A, next vaccine in dec but i dunno wat vaccine is that... Hubby says its the chickenpox vaccine... alamak, will that cause fever like pneumococcal vaccine?

Re: Growth Booster jab
dino is underweight since birth but then she isn't v short at the moment thou... Will the growth booster jab helps?

paging for Mashy...
which one of the hyland teething tablet that u using? is it this:
Hyland's Calcarea Phosphorica (Calcium Phosphate)

Dino-mum,
MMR is measles, mumps, and rubella vaccine, usually given after 15 mo in Sgp. There are a few recommended vaccinations to be given btw 12-24 mo; namely, MMR, Varicella (chicken pox) and Hep A. MMRV that earlier posts mentioned is a combo of MMR and Varicella (chicken pox).

My #1 did get a high fever after MMR, which also ended with a rash... Char is getting hers this Fri, not looking fwd to that

Dino-mum,
Now I'm having 2nd thought, may defer it till I beef her up a little more...

Re: Teeth
Char only has 4 teeth... Any other babies with few teeth like her?? I'm wondering if it's due to her lack of calcium cos she doesn't drink much milk (<300 ml/day)...

Noelle,
My Dino only has 4-5 teeth... Her first tooth pop out after 13mths... My PD says Dino is the minority 5% babies whose first tooth erupt after 1yo... But he says it's okay as long she has no problem taking solids... Even when she is Bo gek, she still chew v well when eating our adult food...

eh how come your Dino only go for MMR in Dec le? she will be 18mths. I'm not looking forward to it as well...thought want to delay longer...

I dunno leh... Her last vaccine in Sep for Hep A, I think... Next appt in Dec, I assume that is the chicken pox one, not sure if Dec also include MMR...

mine gal have 4 teeth on top plus 1 molar teeth and 4 teeth bottom. last week my house turning up side down due to her first molar teeth. even when she sleep, she also scream and shout. No choice i have to give her panadol to stop the pain.

My boy just did his MMR + chicken pox vaccine on Monday. My whole world turned upside down since, he used to be able to sleep through. If not, you can just pat him back to sleep. After the jab, he wakes up between midnight - 2am, asking for milk. I discourage midnight feeds so i give him 100ml, but that's not enough for him. After he finish, he cries for more, end up having to give him 100ml more. On top, he is rejecting his lunch and dinner solids, prefering to wake up in middle of night instead.
I dont know if this recent habit of his is related to the vaccine.

sorry to interupt, im from 09 Nov mum thread and is looking for a lightly used or brand new birthday banner for my girl's birthday, (esp. from birthdaydirect), please PM me the picture and your best offer price...

Thanks a lot!

Kinderbliss (a spin off from Pedipeds) having 40% off everthing. But pretty limited Pediped shoes design to chose from.

Mummies, can ignore my previous post. The kinderbliss prices are crap. They work out to be the same as pedipeds price after discount.

There is a baby fair tom till sunday at Expo Hall 4B. For those of you who want to stock up on Huggies, Mamapoko diapers, they are having booths there. Other brands like Pigeon, Pureen, Nestle etc plus other babystores are there too.

Hi mummies, my boy is 15 mths now. I m staying in the east at Bedok. Any recommendation for half day school daily?? Or any mummies keen to eroll our kids together??

Need some advice here.. Gareth was scalded by hot water on lower leg. And most likely will have scarring when he heal. Any recommendation for a good scarring cream.. Many thanks

the scarring is not permanent.
i was scalded by boiling water meant for tea at the hawker ctr when i was 4yr old. whole chest kenna. was in bed for weeks.. by the time i was in pri sch i dun rem any scar left.
prob tat why i not very well endowed LOL

Yan - yeah, don't worry! At this kind of age, the scarring is not permanent. It's just very painful (!!!) to see that on your child :-(

hbb - ROTFLOL!!!

Hbb

then prob the scalding wasn't serious for u. When I was young, there was once I was on my way to my granny's house and I saw a neighbour boy crying and walking naked to the ambulance. Apparently he fell onto the boiling soup pot at the corridor (his grandma used charcoal to make soup outside). Later I heard from my aunts that he died from it. So poor thing.

Yan

Sorry to hear abt gareth's injury. there are creams for scars think u can ask the skin specialists. But u need to apply asap coz the later u do, the more permanent the scars will be. It also depends on gareth's own healing power. Don't worry abt it even if it should be permanent since it's on the lower leg. Can hide with long pants. Most importantly is that don't let him have emotional scarring coz some kids tend to feel conscious of their scars.

He seems much better as the fluid has been release by the doctor and its drying up nicely. And he seems to b doing ok. I was so shock as i only left him in the living room for 3 mins to scoop up porridge in the kitchen for his dinner.

And he manage to dig out my tiger flask from the bag and open it and press down the button to pour it on his leg! How he manage to do all these i really have no idea... dont know to say he smart or stupid...

I was oso hoping as wat hbb say coz its water and not fire burnts so hoping the scarring wil not be permanent. Fingers cross....

Thanks for all the well wishes and have a great weekend mummies...

Yan
Hope Gareth is feeling better now. He (and you!) must be so traumatised...

Pink
Signed up with schoolhouse by the bay for next year - it is a Mon to Fri, 2 to 5pm program for kids from 18 months. Situated at junction of Fort and Mountbatten.

In ancient Greece (469 - 399 BC), Socrates was widely lauded for his wisdom.

One day an acquaintance ran up to him excitedly and said, "Socrates, do you know what I just heard about Diogenes?"

"Wait a moment," Socrates replied, "Before you tell me I'd like you to pass a little test. It's called the Triple Filter Test."
'Triple filter?" asked the acquaintance.

"That's right," Socrates continued, "Before you talk to me about Diogenes let's take a moment to filter what you're going to say. The first filter is Truth. Have you made absolutely sure that what you are about to tell me is true?"

"No," the man said, "Actually I just heard about it."

"All right," said Socrates, "So you don't really know if it's true or not. Now let's try the second filter, the filter of Goodness. Is what you are about to tell me about Diogenes something good?"

"No, on the contrary..."

"So," Socrates continued, "You want to tell me something about Diogenes that may be bad, even though you're not certain it's true?"

The man shrugged, a little embarrassed. Socrates continued, "You may still pass the test though, because there is a third filter, the filter of Usefulness. Is what you want to tell me about Diogenes going to be useful to me?"

"No, not really."

"Well," concluded Socrates, "If what you want to tell me is neither True nor Good nor even useful, why tell it to me or anyone at all?"

The man was bewildered and ashamed. This is an example of why Socrates was a great philosopher and held in such high esteem.

Have a wonderful weekend, mommies!

chiyojade.. =D

mashy
ehh, water pour on us and we drop into boiling water is different!!!! when water is pour on us, the temperature drop, if u drop into boiling water, the temp remains more or less the same. mayb that why =)

yan
oh water from the hot water flask... means the temp is not as high as those really boiling water(unless u jus fill it up with newly boiled water) since temp might have dropped.. so means lesser chance of bad scarring too. dun worry he will be fine.. its painful for the adults to watch for sure... heart pain!!!!!!

foz
so austen not gg for playclub?

Yan,
I think if you are really worried, may be good to check with a dermatologist. Needing to drain fluid from the affected area sounds serious.
Not to scare you. I had melted plastic drop on my foot and a red hot iron burn my shin before. All left scars.

Lamagier, take it as a compliment that when her baby teeth comes later, it means her permanent teeth will also come out at later age than our babies, hence, last longer for her to enjoy more food in adulthood.

Lavender bear, Pinky &amp; all mommies with babies experiencing great discomfort,
I pray for your babies to have peace and rest during this time.
K had been changing his preference of food after he cut 8 teeth (4 molars &amp; 4 canines) all at same time 3 months ago. His edginess just stopped recently, but there are some big change in food preference.

Biting babies
I just listened to my "Mighty Mommy" podcast, and she has some good tips on dealing with biting babies/ toddles, hoep that helps.

Scalding
Just a short note to share..
Besides categorising burn into degree from first degree to third, Our body is being "divided" into different percentage. The term scalding is usually a first degree burn. To treat this is to cool the affected area with cold running water until the pain subsite and at anytime when the pain is felt (usually under the skin), the treatment is to be repeated until no more pain is felt.
Since babies are unable to tell us pain, we just have to keep cooling the area.
For second degree burn, you'll see blistering, by this time, cooling is no longer as effective but it is still necessary. NEVER to break the blister as it actually protects the wound from infection.
For 3rd degree burn, it is very very severe usually there is breaking of skin, i.e. the flesh is exposed, and there will be charring of skin. Usually this degree of burn is permanent and skin grafting will be required.
As for percentage, even the smalles percent (private part) but 3 degree can cause death.
I strongly recommend you get some sort of hospital use cold blanket to standby at home, it is jst inc case.
Please also let your primary care giver know how to treat when this occur.
Hope all babies be safe this week. God's protection reign.

Gotta go!

Hi Dino-mum,

The tickets were sold out a long time ago. I have them and then my nephews tried to get some, but all sold out.

BTW, if any mummies happen to come across the "Magic Ring" in the BP, please let me know.

It's like a small rubber/silicon type ring that you put around the formula milk scoop so that the spoon can stick to the side of the tin. I had one but then it got thrown away by mistake (not by me)! Boohoohoo ;-P

hi ladies, long time no see. tomi just turned 15 month and took his MMR. i didn't know there is a 2 in 1 jab that include chicken pox (MMRV), so i was confused at the doc's office cos i didn't know which one to choose. the doc say if take seperate jab, the chance of fever is lesser. so in the end poor tomi got 2 jabs.