(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

elijah'smummy, hahahaha...then i really must go centerpoint already cos got both robinson and mothercare. and the crystal jade korean has great lunch special...yumyum going to sneak out when hubby free.

pretty bunnie, hmmm...i'm one of those blur blur mommies, maybe buying new breast pump easier ahh, my fren passing me electric pump and i also dunno which part need to change or steam leh. maybe i should see the condition before buying.

btw, just heard from one of my fren that she actually bring home her placenta, wash it and plant it under soil, she did it with 2 of her kids placenta, she said it's somekind of japanese tradition, hmmmmm...interesting ahhh.

Hi ladies, if you are keen to buy brand new Medela breastmilk bottles and breastmilk bags at a special price, please let me know. My girl is turning 3 months old next week, and I did not use these items at all after I gave birth.

You can contact me at [email protected]

Pe@nut, wohohoho u indeed have a great time shopping at the fair.

i only bought 2 packs of pureen maternity pads at the fair. Instead i went JL sales & bought lotsa of tibits. *sweet tooth* :p

Kim, thanks for the message. hb ordered freestyle (US set) online for me 2 weeks ago. Just nice it reached my plc this morning. Wohohoho.

Just came back from gynae's visit. gal gal is now 1.9kg. Still breeched. In fact, my gynae said it's unlikely that she'll turn looking at her position. She was holding her legs up. So also good that I've decided on C-section. Already booked for C-section on 18 July. 6 more weeks to go!

Reg the visitor's rule for TMC,

it's restricted to 2 visitors each time. You have to register at the info counter to collect the visitor pass before proceeding to the ward. It's transferable unlike KKH.

HBB
Thanks for reminding me on that! Haha, luckily u told, else forgot that she might add herbs that aren't suitable for him.

My hb's colleague is the son of one of the big med shops here. Hehe. So happy coz he has offered to help us buy some the herbs at wholesale price. Yippee, can save $$$. Maybe i'll buy more cordyceps so that after the confinement, i'll use that to cook for my boy.

Went for my 32weeks gynae visit. Baby growing well 1.989kg, head down already. Doc very funny, he said 'hmm... still male'... haha, sound like can change one...

gina, dun say insensible lah, cos i also like that, hehehehe, well last time we got no burden mah, work hard must sayang ourselves also. my weakness is handbags and jeans. yes same like u, after got kids, must put their needs ahead of us, hahahahahaha, buy also must think twice. but at least we can pass down or share our vintage handbags with them in the future, LOL.

lamagier oh ok will take note bout the sun screen.. i also duno ok to use anot so dun dare but tot better ask 1st... thanx alot =)
cos dh booked a vila w pte pool to celebrate our anni and tot if she goes along she b expose indirectly to the UV rays thou we will keep her under shelter...

gina
not insensible la... like cool kero say those good old days no liability haaaa
i used to say wan fly where then jus buy ticket n fly tag along w dh whenever possible.. now aug supposed to go Germany... giving up the idea liao cos gotto tink of the money now for the lil one...

gina
haha.... im a SAHW also.. jus do some small biz for show hahahahaaa
dh will let mi tag along if i want to but most of the time if he goes to europe i dunt ag along cos i been to most of the places already... boring n waste of money...

dun tink of urself w empty life yea
not good...
at least u woke up =) u got a goal liao!! thats good!!!!! if buyign that 1 pair of ferragamo once a while canmake u happy..why not? not askign u to buy every other weekor month lar hehe
every other yr i also indulge in LV or watsoever to make myself happy.. make up for the time lost between dh n I ... hehe at least when i use the bag make mi remind of my dh hehe
now we saving up for another house.. hope we can achieve it in 3 yrs =)
so everydayi NAg NAG Nag and say dun spend unnescessarily to him haaaaaa

gina, dun feel sad or ashamed, cos i've become a SAHM after #1 also, same like you i feel guilty at times for depending on him financially. the arrival of this baby for sure will give you a new purpose of life, she'll be your sun and moon. the only difference last time and now for me is that, wif my own working money, i buy handbags on my own, and buy wat i like without consulting him. but now after being a SAHM, i restrict myself to splurging to buy on my birthday. HBB, envy you have a skill that can work from home, hehehehehe...

wah, Peanut, thanks for the comprehensive list at the babyfair at expo. I'm probably going down with hubby tmw to check out the Cordlife booth, but other than that, I was not keen on going at all, especially with big belly...probably have to walk around with my arm in front of belly to defend against people bumping it!~

HBB,
yah.. hope i can really go on ML in end June.. think my feet really gotta hang it up..haha.. it swollen like really terribly now.. my hubbie says he feels scared to see it ballooned up liddat..=P

Prettie Bunnie,
thank u!.. u tk care too..=)

anw mummies, i went back to the neighbourhood plaza at where i used to live last time.. i owaes liked tt bb shop there.. n jus nw wen i went back, i managed to get a few stuff including pram!... haha.. i got it at a price of oni 89.90 and the brand is lucky baby.. =D finally, i found one pram tat looks good n not tat expensive..=S somehow, i feel still these type of neighbourhood shops sells things much more cheaper tha others ya...

hope all mummies have a nice weekend~..=D

<font color="aa00aa">Gina, HBB</font>
I was watching my taped episode of Tim Gunn which runs after project runway, and he was making over a mum. Her old lifestyle is filled with being a mum to a toddler, wife and her work, so the so-called lifestyle therapist made her wear hats for the different roles she has, and write down what she does for those roles. When it came to a cap with her name on it, she has very little, almost nothing that she does for herself. So I think with the number of hours in a day, very easy forget about us as an individual which isn't about doing things for others. So good to do something for ourselves so we feel our own existence too. I got my own guilty pleasures too, somewhat like stress relief for working so hard whether it is food or shopping, quite important, otherwise I'll go bonkers.

<font color="aa00aa">34weeks checkup</font>
I just went for my gynae checkup this morning, baby hasn't put on much weight over these 2 weeks, only 2.24kg (34weeks), about 500g increase, while I spurt another 1.5kg because I fell behind on my milk powder regime, and fell prey to noodles and white rice. She still down, doc says she probably will stay down now, just that still facing the side. Filled in my pre-admission form, which the clinic recep say they will coordinate and pass on to the admission staff for me, and got an admission letter from my gynae with details of my blood work, medical history, drug allergies and PD for the baby. We spoke about the painkiller arrangement, so going to start with gas first then move to stronger painkiller, last epi, since she inform me epi can be quite expensive and with 1st child, don't know my pain threshold yet. I didn't disagree either cos reading the hospital bill threads, seems like the charges for the epi gets escalated by the number of dosages/vials you end up using too. For the first month, I'm going to take one of the PDs on the FBI programme in TMC, so can use the FBI to offset some charges, then get another PD closer to my place.

jes
my gf was saying my feet swelling liao which i can feel also my pumps which i bought for this pregnancy and my birkies all v tight till gt lines already... jus now i ate too full... walk like a handicap penguine....

thanx sam for consoling us on our indulgence
but i realy agree sometiems we do too much for others that we forgot to b nice to ourselves hee...
so long as we spend within the means n dun fall into debts .. i guess not a big prob hee

sam so early choose PD liao ah?
my gynae nvr tok to my bout pain killer arrangement thou... mayb monday he will?

im freaking out now cos monday i tink he will do VE on me liao...heard its darn painful...

<font color="aa00aa">Babyfair</font>
I dropped in on the fair, but walked out empty handed too, since I got most of my stuff already. It's kinda narrow to navigate thru the fair or maybe cos I feel so very pregnant now that I like a wider berth of space around me. Some more a lot prams moving about the place, I had a toddler ran across my path which I stop to let her run across, and some lady pushing a pram just ran her pram into the back of my feet while she window-shop. Yar a lot of insurance companies trying to sell endowment funds programmes. We were only interested in that handles hospitalisation and medical from newborn, so only wanted a quick sales talk and info. One guy from Prudential started his sales pitch, badmouthing the competition, so my hubby (feeling a bit tired already) told him to cut it short to what we want to find out, and stop bad-mouthing his competition. The guy say he is like that, and hubby just walk off, haha, I just trail behind him lor. The nicer/polite ones we spoke to were at HSBC (but their junior care programme is for 1yr old upwards), and most likely fitting what we want is NTUC's enhanced insurance, which I already am an health insured, so probably look at upgrading it for more cover since it covers from 0yrs up.

<font color="aa00aa">HBB</font>
Not sure if it is early, but she was preparing the admission letter for me, and there's a field for PD, so she ask us which PD we want, got gender preference a not. Actually we also wanted to ask her for recommendation too at the same time, so can scout a bit now. She says when baby just born, a PD in TMC also convenient cos can get him to come in to see the baby, but also because I digged thru my FBI stuff and thought since join already, use one of the PDs on the list first. Unfortunately, the list doesn't have a PD that's close to my place, so after first month, I'll probably switch.

sam
ya.. if u stay far away fr tmc... its advisible to get 1 nearer to ur home
esp so when tmc pd hardly gt slot for u to walk in when u need to see doc one... and we cant predict when bb need doc!

gina - wah if u want to sell more stuff let us know....
i dun mind buy 2nd hand as lng as brand new or almost

today i 33 weeks, went to see new doc,specialist in hi risk preg. new doc v nice, assure me tt tho bbies are small n low fluid they seem to be doing fine, ask me to aim for next milestone of 34 wks. my hubby n i v happy after we saw doc

BB FUNITURE
any sugg on where to get nice drawers n wardrobe for nursey other than ikea n mothercare ? thks

bestberries
glad that ur babies r fine hee... guess u can rest easier now

the drawers i tink... ehh if ur ealy wan those design for kids one hor u can try united square... got 1 or 2 shops thr...
else try those neughbourhood furniture shop.. those r normal furnitures drawers thou

bestberries, happy for you too
Keep your mood up and positive.

I'm also looking for drawers or closet. Shall try United square some day.

HBB
whether VE is painful or not depends on the skill of yr gynae. When i had #1, my VE was done by a covering gynae. Wow... i developed a fear after his. It's so painful and after that, i bleed... really a lot. During labour, again, i hated it when he did it. I find the midwives did a better job than him.

Last Mon, my own gynae did a VE for me. I told him of my fear. He's so cute and reassured me that he will be gentle and said if done properly, shouldn't cause any bleeding at all. And indeed, i feel no pain at all when he did it. I'm seeing the covering gynae on Mon again. Told my hubby no way am i going to let him do any VE. Die die must wait for my own gynae to come back then check.

Lamagier and pretty bunnie, you 2 fr nus too? I oso took the perfume and cosmetic module before but as a cross fac module

Twinkle, went for my 34wks checkup today. BB's head is finally down but not engaged yet. Hav been talking to him the whole of last night &amp; glad he listens. He's now 2.7kg, gained 0.6kg in 2wks. Hopefully can reach 3kg by delivery time...

cool: u no wat brnad ur friend passing to u? if it's an avent uno eletric pump (single pump) you only need to buy 1 avent manul pump as replacement parts. medela i canot comment cuz i not familar with it.

bestberries: tt's great ... sometimes a doc makes a world of difference about how u feel towards your pregnancy!

drawers : haiz, now i starting v hard at ikea catalogue ... and racking my brains what furniture to move where. I need to get new cupbaords/ drawers since my boy stuff will take over the space my gal clothes are currently occupying, so I need space to store her clothes in my room. my own cabinet not friendly so i tot of getting 1 cabinet just for her lor ... hubby sure scream ;P

sam: my gal hospitalisation policy is with NTUC also, the one with enhanced rider (zero co payment) but not sure if they still had it. Very useful, I bought it as soon as I can (other than some problems with NTU and GIRO - i fedup already everytime GIRO also cannot go thru end up some of my policies terminated becuz of that but I dunno why they cannot giro, when my prudential policy sum is 4 times the amount and can go thru. I re- signed the GIRO form dunno how many times and now they ask me to talk directly to my bank, so my bank got prob. *faint*) anyway tt time when my gal was 7 months old, she was hospitalised, bill came up 3K plus but we paid 0 cents. so good to buy hospitalisation policy first, never know if it comes in handy.

kitty: I was from NUS, but my era is prob long time ahead of you. I rem that particular module being a GEM or Breadth module but it's not me taking the module lah *ahem* it's people like you taking the modules and I happen to erm ... monitor people like you =) so you can guess my "vocation" now.

2.7 kg is a good weight! mine is 35 weeks and barely 2.7kg. anyway I will stop my durian diet liao ... now not nice =( so I willl start on my beef diet hehehe good to boost my iron also!

To add on to wat mashy mentioned abt the visitor's rule at TMC, the 2 visitors are on top of the companion (hubby).

HBB, my gynae oso ask me to choose my PD already and went thru the options of anesthesia during labour with me. I think yours should be discussing with u soon

So fast, i'm going for my checkup every week now.

babyethan: my obgyn say i can always be delivered by a covering doc and i told him no way!!!!

one thing v cute though ... he was doing a scan for me and he say, wah ur scar very well hidden hor. I suan him, u praising your own skills is it. He say no lah, the real test is when u wear a bikini and no one can see ... so i said, ya lah ur skill v good lah, all my massage ladies say ur stitches very neat ... and I wear bikini no one can see, but my big tummy hiding it lah! he then rolled his eyes and say "buay tahan you ..."

prettybunnie
lucky u... my scar from prev delivery was so obvious. my gynae always tell me this time if i opt for c-sect, will take away my scar and make sure cannot see. He seems so confident of his skill.

kitty: wah, my next checkup after 35 weeks, is in 2 weeks time, on obgyn cheat me >!?!?>!? hahaha

anyway I won't say anything about the 2 visitors rule to my mum, i will just tell her no no ... only hubby and my gal!!!!

i'm sticking to the PD my obgyn recommended for #1. my gal loves him and his jabs are painless (she never cry before unlike the covering PDs) - it's a long wait to see him and pple say he exp (cheaper than some other PDs I know though) but since my hubby medical coverage can claim most of the $$, cheong ah!

babyethan: u change gynae? my gynae also recommended by the JE sinseh, which I was lucky to get a slot within 2 weeks. My hubby friend who recommended us the JE sinseh couldn't get a slot with him for a few weeks. I guess end of the day is "yuan".

in fact, we got so much "yuan" until we stay same condo *rofl*

Pretty bunnie, u muz be one of the facilitators
hee... U taking beef to boost your iron mah? My iron content still seem low despite taking neogobion. But i can't take beef during to religious reason

Re: pretty drawers
I'm oso looking around for cabinets with reasonable prices. Wanted to go tampines ikea to see today after the expo fair but ended too tired &amp; went home. But definitely getting those toyogo drawers to store some first.

pretty bunnie
No.. i was with the same gynae. just that for #1, he was overseas when baby due. So was delivered by his covering gynae. This time, i kept asking him if he will be away again during my EDD. He always says no. But who knows, when i went last wk, he told me he will be away the whole of next wk. so i keep telling my gal to hang on and not come out so early. Dun wish to be delivered by the covering gynae again.

Hopefully i have some "yuan" with him this time round.

kitty: not facilitators - i not qualified. I just push paper around :p well actually they are all stacked on my desk :p

i not taking any supplements at the moment, in fact I hadn't been taking any supps at all :p call me lazy but i have a phobia of taking pills and such :p u can consider taking liver soup if u cannot take beed. liver soup is good to boost ur iron too, same as spinach. my gynae always shake head, after asking me if I need more supp, I will always say the last box still untouched :p

I waiting for hubby to go reservist on Monday then I cheong Ikea to look see ... cuz when he is ard he will nag non stop .. i cannot take it since he is not the one packing the place! I got limited space and very specific measurements, so far, some of the ikea stuff can fit in, and the pricing is OK, so I'll be getting ikea stuff lor.

bayethan: i c ... my obgyn is going away last week of June, so tt's why i going for C section 37.5 weeks. I really don't want to risk having any covering doc, since I am already v comfy with him, even though he seem so confident of his covering doc :p

babyethan: I just picked NTUC for sheer convienence ... never really compare but u no, each company will always say theirs is the best. most of them shd have the enhanced riders, meaning zero copayment or minimal, but u need to check out things like, max claim for what, within how long, etc ... and of cuz how much it costs :p i am not going to pay arm and leg for a policy that offers a slight benefit over another, so u have to weigh the pros and cons lah.

Pretty bunnie, i hav no idea why my gynae wans to see me every week now. But my last checkup was 2wks ago. So i'm quite surprised she said she wans to see me next wk.

babyethan, i hav jus sent you an email to get your details as a referral but the sending failed and I can't pm you oso.

babyethan: u with cordlife rt? are u going to sign up for #2 as well? i asked hubby but he not keen ...

kitty: as long as no extra charge, never mind =)

ok lah i go and sleep liao ... tomm long day ahead with a long list of errands to run and we letting the maid take a day off ...

bbethan
den I must act dumb ask gynae if VE v pain Har? so he will do it painlessly lol

pretty bunnie
I fr 35week to nxt appt aso 2 week...

re; hospitalisation policy

best to sign as soon as u get birth cert ie within e confinment mth. cos for one thg is it onli take effect aft bb is 28 day old (nt sure is it all insurance co r same)n aft e 28 day still gt a window period to pass if u sign up late
touch wood if kenna say fever n get hospitalise in day 29 , might nt b covered.
my nephew kenna lo.. day 30+ gt hospitalise end up can't claim!!
so must b kiasu on tis.sign up asap!

Hi BB Ethan and HBB,
the VE, is done using hands or machine? My doc did a scan for me below using machine.. Stuffing some machine up and checking on the cervice area etc.. while my friend in KKH told me he doc uses her hands to check on her.. Hmn.. How are yours done or going to be done?

Bestberries,
Good to hear that your bbs and yourself is doing well!! :D

I know i am suppose to be on bed rest but today I went over to Kidsloft at upper Thomson area to get some my mattress for the playpen and cot. Its quite a bargain with 50% off regular mechandise and my friends also tagged on me to get their bb stuffs. haha.. Good bargain! A pity is that they do not have that much of variety of things to get. But if its bedding, its definitely quite reasonable!

Went for my 35wk checkup this morning &amp; did the StrepB test. Can only get result next wk. Didn't scan baby so can't tell how big is she right now. My gynae said it's not necessary to scan in every visit since my following visits will be @ 1wk interval liao. So we just listened to bb's heartbeat. Bb's position is head down but not engaged yet. So I asked the doctor whether it's true that 37wks is considered "full term" &amp; I could get ready by then? He said no, 37wks is called "term". If "full term", it's still our EDD.

Re: Motherhood Fair
Came back with following stuffs:

1. Bumwear diaper package @381 (10 diapers, 25 inserts &amp; 100 nappy liners)

2. Mustela barrier cream promo package (comes w/ a few samples for their other items) @$12 only. Quite a good buy (thanks to Peanut on the info for Mustela). I also bought the non-rinse nipple cream @$14.

3. Nursing bra from Moms R Us, @$33 for 2.

4. Sweetest Moments' table set @$9.90 but can get the $10 voucher to be offset should we order their full mth package (plus 10% disc if we're FBI member)

Eu Yan Seng is having 20% discount. Thinking to go back tomolo morning w/ my mom to shop for my confinement needs as I'm not too sure on what to buy.

For bb insurance, looks like NTUC one is good. Anyone have contacts? I dun feel like walking around the insurance section at the fair as they're all quite hard-sell

bb changing table
Did anyone here bought a bb changing table for your little one? If yes, where did you ladies got it? Am still contemplating if I shd need to get one or not. :D

HBB
I got feeling u'll be the 1st to pop out.. hehehe
These few nights, I kept having same dreams. My water bag leaks &amp; got "show". Then, rushing to hospital
Thinking too much maybe cos' we're all almost there now.. Guess it's normal..

HBB,
That sounds abit scary. Maybe you try not to move around too much.. just sit and rest most of the time..

In fact, I am also feeling alot of pressure at my cervic area.. Espscially when I go toilet to pee and do other business.. Am so worried cos I have only just hit my 34 weeks only... And now I find that if i dun take my ventolin, i seem to expereince some cramps. Not sure if its physchological or what.. I rem you saying that you are afraid to go toilet.. am having the same feeling as you now.. So scared will see blood or what.. sigh.. I am really trying very hard to relax and speaking to bb to be good and come out only on EDD.. :D

LS (perline)
Wow, you are really good, still able to go shopping at week 35, same as HBB.. very good stamina! Good to hear that all is well with your bb.,. But not sure abt u, for me, knowing the bb'w weight is real paramount to me! haha

Anyways, I have to admit that I am feeling so tired lately.. maybe ite becos of my contractions conditions and I am on medication. I had a lunch with a couple today and she was telling me that I dun look so big for a 34 weeks.. and my bb last weighed at 2kg is really average.. So really dun understand why I am feeling so tired.. Seriously, I also dunno why I am so lousy too. hmn.. I din even like gained alot of weight.. so far only 12kg.. which i think is quite average.. hmn.. puzzled..