(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

haha terrible 2 vs terrific 2..

Noel now is both can be super sweet at one moment and turn to monster at the other second..

whitegalz, noel he too change the lyrics of songs and when he call daddy, daddy didnt ans.. he will shout "NICHOLAS" dunno wan to laugh or cry.. and he nv share toy since he was young.. remember that time u all came my place.. haha...

Oh ya his fave phase now is "I dun wan" and love to instruct me to do things.. they seem to have their own thinking now..

i was potty train him now.. to save on diaper b4 mei mei come out.. nowaday at home either he will tell me that he wan shhh shh or i wan periodically bring him to toilet... but problem is he will just forgot to tell me he wan shh ahh when he is engross in playing..

whitegalz,

hayden oso does tat!!! she will just suddenly clenched her fists and shiver... but purposely to let us see onli... wonder y kids like to do tis...
hayden share her toys depending on her mood... haha... sometime she does share, sometimes she dun wan...

Yaer, i think Kylene is really so angry n happy until she clenched her fists n shiver.. they really cant hide their emotions..

I just created a naughty corner for her and she really stand there straight and not moving! But my MIL intervene and saved her out.. End up, defeats the purpose of naughty corner... So far, I have not use it before..

Anyone introduce naughty corner? Issit good for the child?

Morning mummies, been a long time since i reported here.

Wishing all mummies and babies a Happy CNY and also a Terrific 2nd Birthday for our todds !

Haa, Like Noel, Joel can be an angel at times but sometimes hmmm.. quite terrible.. haha

Anyway, for cake ideas, i ordered a cake at Smiling Orchid at Ghim Moh and personally i loved it, my guests tot it was pretty good too.

The design was great, the cake was soft and fluffy without being too sweet...

whitegalz,
me oso have naugthy corner at home near the staircases... at first it is still effective lah... she will stand there n cry until i ask her to cum... after awhile she will just stand there n move abit, touch here touch there... until now... she just stand there for a few sec, den slowly move to the staircases n sit down when i didnt look at her... sometimes even lie on the staircases... me dun noe wan to cry or laugh... haha... so to me naughty corner cannot use too many times... it will lose it effect very fast...

whitegalz,

i don't have a naughty corner. before i can reprimand or punish any bad behavior, she says sorry to me, give me a hugs and kisses, and even shake hands with me. i agree that they are really sweet and amusing now!

may i know which milk are ya babies drinking? Sarah has been passing motion like once every 4-5 days! shldnt be normal right? but she has been like that since a bb. goodness...

sandy,
hayden recently suddenly like to hug n kiss me... always run to me when i came back from work... she dun do tat last time... haha... feel so happy...

sy,
Hayden drinking nan pro 3 now... so far she been pooing everyday... tink nan series is quite good for intestines...

hi mummies, been a long time since i posted here!

I'm also in midst of potty training, experimenting along the way, so far it's a 2hrly timing for my gal, bringing her to toilet directly or potty. But i'm clueless how to teach her to poo cos she usually stand up to poo and worried if i take off her diaper during her poo time, she'll hold back and cause constipation later...hmm... And also wondering whether i shld bring her to toilet outside during this initial stage of training if we're out...

Happy, saw ur post on zoophonics, u wanna try Growing up gifted, read good comments on it. But I'm actually wondering if zoophonics will confuse them if they already recognise abc.... any comments? Or are there any courses which are good and have billingual lessons?

SY, my gal is also on nan pro 3... poo everyday too. Maybe more veg, fruits and yogurt for her..

Terrible 2 - yes have been getting that already even before she turned 2 last wk...!

thanks yaer and ginn

i bought enfagrow before seeing your replies.geez. and she dont like to drink it! haizz...i will continue trying if not try nan pro 3 too....eeeks....

sy, my boy also poo on average every 3days. during CNY worst! he hold it for abt 7days! everyday i keep asking him, "got poopoo? got poopoo?" he also bo hiu me.
i think as long as Sarah still eat well, sleep well and her stools arent exactly hard, shld be ok. of course the ideal is poo every day lah...

my boy has been sick every other week since going to CC in Dec last year. haiz.... i really hope he can get thru this stage soon...

Terrible 2:
haha, yea, terrible at times but other than that, very sweet! I think i m enjoying this stage most. So cute!!!

catmomo
oooh, so sarah is not the only one..ya, she held for 8 days during cny too...goodness..so i brought her see doc n got the medicine to loosen the stools...gosh...seeing the poo poo is like striking lottery everytime...

Hi Hi mummies! just dropping by to say hello! Hope you all still remember me. I was the mummy who went thru difficult pregnancies giving birth prematurely twice before, and was so lucky to manage to hold my girl till 34 weeks (expected due date in feb, but she came out in jan, but I am very happy already! Thanks to the support of all mummies here!).
Re: terrible two - saw the thing about terrible two? yes yes, my girl is already 2 years old and is very terrible! haha. but it is all along since baby. haha. Once she wants something, she needs to have it, else she will scream and cry until the whole world can hear.

Re: birthday - I held my girl's birthday at aranda country club suite, and was quite big n nice. I engaged a party entertainer over to entertain the kids.

Talking about toilet training, I have NOT started, too lazy, sigh. My elder started late at about 3 plus. sigh, think I really a lazy mum.

re: zoo phonics! I think it depends on centre and teachers. My girl attended for a term, and she didn't like it, neither do I. I found it rather boring.

Regarding enrichments, my girl is with happy train (used to know as little neuro tree), she loves it. All the activities and flashcards throughout the whole one hour can really keep her occupies. It is something like shichida. If any of you are keen, you can give it a try. Personally, i find it not too bad!

My girl is also with christofori baby mozart. But not good, dun recommend.

Re school: My girl is with playgroup at tots house since jan.

Re 2nd child or 3rd or 4th etc: congrats to all who are expecting (sorry couldn't keep track). I am happy with my elder boy and younger girl, close shop.

Re toys: agree, our kids now need more imaginative play like kitchen set or doll house etc. I jus bought a wooden cake from bulk purchase to my girl, and she loves it, cause she can put the strawberries, kiwis and other accessories on the cake anywhere, then can cut the cake and sing happy birthday song. Good toy!

And I agree, although our kids are in terrible twos, but the way they talk to us now, and walk and run are soooo cutie cute!
!!

all the best and happy new year to all feb mummies!

btw, those who have added me previously in facebook, I had stopped that account due to issues with students. Pls add me again. My email: [email protected]
or you can search for me "incrediblesmum". thanks!!

SY:
whaha.. Sarah also ar. I agree leh, everytime he poo there's this great sense of relief in me. Teacher in CC also quite concerned leh. They say how come Caleb's tummy hard hard one, does he poo? for 2mths he's there, i think he only let the teacher wash butt ONCE! How lucky for the teachers if every child is like my son right?! wahhahah :p (just joking)

I m not sure if he's keeping all the toxic in his body that is causing all the itchiness on his body recently. He gets heat rash, esp on the neck and back area quite easily these days... haiz, love to scratch himself like a monkey, until i think it's becoming a habit for him already!

Dear Mummies, it's been a long time since I last logged in, not sure if u all remember me, I was the one whose son falls sick quite often and more often since I put my boy in childcare in late December. This year's CNY was the worst, we stayed at home for the whole of the 5 days to take care of him as he caught a virus and had gastric flu, was vomitting and having diahorrea on new year's eve, so had to rush him to doc.

I agree with many of the mummies here that they are cute now with their surprises but also very unreasonable at times.

Any mummies here know of any bulk purchase for toys like kitchen set, playhouse etc? My boy also likes the kitchen corner in his cc, a must-visit for him before he goes into his classroom.

Sorry mummies, forgot to ask just now, how to strengthen the little one's immune system? My doc advises not to take too much vitamins as it is chemicals, some colleagues recommend cod liver oil, any other things i can give him? Really scared of him falling sick now as once he falls sick, all of us will fall sick with him after taking care of him in the nite, my whole fmaily been sick since mid Jan and spent almost $1000 on medical bills!

Hi liting,

of course i remember you lol.

regarding immune system..the best is daily consumption of natural vitamin c (fruits, green leafy veges), good nutrition (minus the junk and processed food) and plenty of water. it is very common to fall ill frequently if the child attends CC and falling ill does help them to get stronger. a child with good immune system is not one who does not fall ill, but is one who falls ill but recovers quickly. doctors will always encourage natural sources of vitamins from daily food intake but there will be circumstances where the child does not like fruits or certain foods that provide vital nutrition. in such situations, we have to weigh the pros and cons of taking vitamin supplements. if the child doesnt take enough vit c through daily food intake, then vitamins supplements might be more helpful than harmful as compared to falling sick and taking medications for a prolong period of time(which are also chemicals). does your boy eat fruits on daily basis? if he doesnt, maybe you can start off by giving him 2 serves of fruits per day. if he doesnt like to eat fruits, u can juice it and offer it fresh. another option is to give him yogurt as it has a good source of lactobacillus that is good for their digestive tract.

regarding cod liver oil..i have come across articles that reported the disadvantages of it. cod liver oil is derived from the oil found in the liver in cod fish. cod fish itself is one that has relatively high mercury content and they are most concentrated in the liver of the fish because liver is responsible for filtering toxins. moreover, liver is high in Vit A and too much vit A can be detrimental to development. if your boy is not taking fish regularly (2-3 times a week), then fish body oil (for kids) is better than cod liver oil. hope this helps

hi, sorry to disturb

can you kindly help vote for my 2 lil ones... thanks a bunch..

Please click on the link below n "like" the page "singaporemummy"

http://www.facebook.com/singaporemummy

Then (album 5, photo 101 )

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=196785520350645&set=a.196491317046732.54304.166984169997447&theater

n this (album 5, photo 97)

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=196785477017316&set=a.196491317046732.54304.166984169997447&theater

THANKS n have a nice weekend ahead.. =)

I am proud to annouce that my little one turned 2!!!!! 3 days ago....haha......a pat on the back for surviving the past 2 years, woohoo......

Hi Sandy, thanks for remembering me! And thanks for the good valuable advice on building immune system. My boy seldom takes fruits except now a little at childcare as my MIL thinks fruits will cause him to cough or have phlegm. Sometimes, I do give him some apples, but for myself, I usu take fruits everyday, though nowwadays lesser as I have no time, seriously, really no time with my little terror clinging onto me.

Hi mummies, anyone staying near Woodlands and would like to find companion for your little ones on weekends? I am thinking of organising some playgroup at my house or if anyone would like to offer their house, also fine, for a few hours on weekends, just to let our little ones have companionship and to occupy them so that we can have some time to 'rest' a little while watching them play....

am organising sprees for sambucus and childlife colostrum... pls join me if keen...

in case u wondering, they are pretty effective for my gal tat's why i wanna get more... but i oso need quantity to save on shipping... so if more ppl join me, i can save even more...

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/5155647.html?1298733365

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/5153867.html?1298733341

if u need to collect elsewhere, we can do some pte arrangement...

Kinderland@ Robinson now open for registration for babies born in 2009.
for enquiries, pls contact me at 98270284.

Attractive discounts and freebies not to be missed!

5160686.jpg

Liting
I don't mind playdate, but will only be back in mid oct. I want zac to have some fun with kids at his age! I realised he doesn't like to play with kids. Hope he's on the right track.

SY
Thanks for the infor! Am looking for something for him. Till now, he's still squeezing inbetween me and hubby. Wish to get him out of my queen size bed soon!

Enrichment classes
Could I ask, at the age of 2, what is the norm that a kid in singapore should know/learn? I realised, singapore education system is really far ahead compared to many of the rest of the countries. Will be sending him to sch next year, don't want him to feel inferior for not knowing what he is 'suppose to know'! This mummy is so lazy, other than play play and play, didn't really do much with him. Boo hoo hoo.. if only we could stay this way forever.

Nap time
Do they still nap at this age? I realised he's dragging all the time he wants to nap. If he dont' nap, he will get cranky, but he doesn't really seems to be tired to need a nap.

the_simz:
yes, they still do nap now... till much older, i think... u shd put him to bed before he displays signs of tiredness... so even if he says he's not tired, juz tell him to rest for tat 1.5 hrs or so... i can bet u he'll definitely fall asleep!

simz, ya just have to drag them to bed at a fix time daily, best after lunch, otherwise they sure wont wanna nap! They shld still require nap, good for them.

There are classes which teaches phonics. Can also teach chinese words...

the simz,

if you are referring to the different milestones that a two year old should reach, you can check out this website (http://www.babycenter.com/preschoolers). these milestones are usually reached by the child at their own pace and at the same time, influenced by the quality of the experience they have at home; not necessarily something they can only achieve through enrichment classes. so dont worry if you are only playing with him because playing is actually very very important for development and achieving milestones.

there are different programs that cater to different needs. the mainstream toddlers program aka playgroups are usually developmentally appropriate programs that focuses on the basic skills that tyically kids should have at the age (such as learning how to socialise and play with other kids)they are at and no so much of learning facts and knowledge. on the other hand, there is another category of programs that we may call it enrichment classes and these include phonics, early reading, shichida lessons etc. although there are children who possess these knowledge early but be assured that these are skills that are not actually required for 2 year olds to know. it is good for the child to know but not knowing how to read, not knowing ABCs or not knowing phonics at 24 months does not mean the child is delayed in his or her development.

to answer your question better, i'll relate to you what naomi's teacher said to me with regards to how they judge if the child is ready for preschool (i.e. 3yo prenursery in singapore's system). firstly, the 3yo child should be independent enough for basic self care like able to eat and drink on own, wash and dry hands, dress and undress, remove and put on shoes on own, at least started toilet training if not trained. in terms of knowledge, it would be basic shapes, basic colors, alphabets and numbers. i guess these are the very least that a 3yo is expected to know if i based it on what i gathered from naomi's teacher.

p.s. sorry for the long post but hope it helps a little in alleviating your concerns

Thanks sheepish, ginn and sandy!! That was a fast reply!

Zac napped right after lunch. However, for this past week, he can lie on bed at 1pm and only manage to sleep at 2-3pm. By the time he hit the sack at night, it will be almost 11pm.. =(

Thanks sandy! That's a very detailed information! Basic self care seems like the impossible. I don't know what have I done wrong, but he don't like to self feed. I have to hold his bread for him cos he finds it dirty. I tried to ignore him and ask him to hold his own bread, but not very successful, cos he will insist that I clean up his hand right away. Have another 10 months to teach him all the basic things that he needs to know.

sim, dun worry.. they have their own pace.. maybe zac just love to be clean.. hee..

Noel dun like to nap.. basically he dun like to sleep at all.. even yawning liao he still wan to play... afternoon nap only abt 1 hr then nite will be ard 9pm till 6am... i think he not sleeping enough cos got panda eyes like me liao...

simz, maybe physical workout for zac before lunch and dinner will tire him out more easily, like run or long walk...
Same! my gal also scared hands dirty!

Mrs Lim
Yeah! I think Zac is napping the same hour as Noel! Why can't he napped more so that I can have more peace!!!!! Boo hoo hoo!

Ginn
Ya, maybe should bring him out for a walk!! He has been staying at home with me all these while. Maybe a walk will do him good! Thank you for sharing this!

I want play companion for little Kaz but he is a monster, he beats people as a form of saying "hi". Sigh.....it started recently.....sigh....

Receive a promotion email from Today's Motherhood on :
"Special Promotions At My Little Genius Open House 19 & 20 Mar 2011"

I am interested to go see during next week Open House and if possible sign up my 2yo boy.

Anyone interested, lets refer each other and get 5% off our term fee! They have location at Hougang (near Kovan) and Jurong East (near MRT).

During open house got $50 waiver registration fee and free color memory kit if sign up.

PM me if anyone interested? Their website with details as follows:

http://www.mylittlegenius.com.sg/display/Promotions.asp?NAVID=2169

Dear mummies, anyone has lobang for babysitter to recommend? I am looking for one staying preferably near Woodlands or Yew Tee for my #2. I will need the babysitter somewhere in Jan 2011. A bit kiasu to look for one now but difficult to find a good one leh, so must start early. My #1 is draining all my energy and time away every minute that he is awake, so we thought maybe need a babysitter for #2.
Please pm me or post here if anyone has any lobang, ok? Thanks a million!

The Simz, I am ok to arrange playdates when u are back, but maybe we arrange again in Oct, maybe more mummies want to join as well? Is it ok?

hi starbright,

im not too sure bcos dont hv experience with it but just a guess, is it possible that he was still having the automatic sucking motion as he was used to the pacifier been in his mouth. when the pacifier was there, his teeth grind against the pacifier but now the pacifier is not there, the teeth grind against each other?

star bright,
is it becos all the while he has been biting the pacifier?? do u need to change his pacifier often... cos my gal oso like to bite rubber things... she always like to bite her water bottle straw until bits and pieces cum out... always got to change the straws.. so fed up... if it is, maybe give him sometimes to wean off the habit...

yes biting!!!! if the grinding is temporary i am okay. just worried if it will become long term. otherwise his speech and feeding all okay at the moment.

ya rox, her dentist said it will take a few weeks to fully sprout..i remembered it was reallly a few weeks that she doesnt want her back teeth touched..but its just a phase so dont worry so much

Brought baby overseas under package? I was thinking how come need to pay the amount a few hundred lesser than adult fare for our 2 yrs old child? There is child fare for airplane but they dont eat much and in fact, can share our food. I doubt they going to give a separate portion for our child...hmmmm

hi SY,

according to the airlines, children above 2 years old need their own separate ticket. they say they charge a few hundred for children 2 years and above. imagine for infants less than 2yo, i already had to pay 20% of the adult fare.

however, so far the tickets that ive bought, the child ticket cost exactly the same as the adult ticket! in other words, i paid the price of 3 adult tickets for 2 adults and 1 two year old. sigh. on the bright side, they get their own seat and this is much needed because she gets to chill in her own seat while i get to do my own things

Hi Sandy

I realli hope the air tic is worth it cos im taking midnite flight...most probably she will be sleeping on me...

i paid 1300 plus for her for the whole package . while i check the air ticket only cos 700 over..so it means 600 for food n hotel...hmmm..she only eats a few mouth of food!!!

also, recently Sarah has been eating very little...haizz...skinny bone!!