(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

precious bb: im seeing dr ho at tamp.always crowded n long waiting time. Imagine a newborn also have to wait one hour plus..somemore not cheap

kamy: when is your EDD? I also wana induce but heard its more painful and slightly more ex rite? do u have any idea how much more? which hospital u going?
when is your next appointment?

OIC, did you go back to the PD assign to your baby while you're at the hospital? Don't know if we should go back to TMC PD?

dazed, I heard that better to give baby gripe water after 1 month. Are you BF? Baby on BF usually poo poo is watery and will poo alot of times. PD say its normal.

kamy: mine was induced bec bb no grow..quite smooth sailing for me.im v kiasi type..so at least im more prepared. Have u dilated already? I was 2cm dilated when sent to induce. Dun worry even if u need to induce..at least u know bb when can be born

precious_bb: Have you tried checking out East Shore. Do they have PD or children clinics there? I checked with NUH & the HepB + 6in1 (3 jabs option) cost $220+gst... of course there is consultation charges... dunno how much... checked with Clementi Polyclinic, they are charging $290+ for similar package, only thing they include the 18mth booster but NUH stops at 6mths... I'm still in the midst of checking with PD around my area... the last time I sent #2 to Jurong Medical Centre which was run by NUH, same charges as NUH but no crowd at all! So love the clinic... just go at appt time, wait for your turn, then go in, hardly any crowd compared to Polyclinic & NUH itself... I dun send my kids to PDs cos they are all in good health, nothing major, dun need specialists... GPs are good enough... dun need to waste the money... cos I notice my GPs gave same med as my nephew's PD, but sis pays few hundreds on every trip...

kamy: thanks! eh u dun hve FB? ohh cool! it w be ur turn to hold bb v v soon!! dun get so stressed up

privileged: how long do ur bb latch on? i can latch him on for almost 45 min, and aft that, hes till crying for milk..

precious_bb: i didnt use pacifier.. try NOT to use it at all

whats gripe water btw?

piyo: jia you, think all our bb are going thru the same phase and all of us are being 'tortured' in the same way!

EMQ: congrats on seeing results.. and the more u pump, the more milk supply u will get =)

suika: can go crazy hor that they dun wan to sleep. get so worrying leh... so when ur bb dun wan sleep, he wants to carry? or he can be left alone???

sperzz: i dunno leh. i heard b4 that 4th month must cut botak... look like a monk wor..

blessedmum: i have the "i love daddy" bodysuit too. but its so big for my boy. haha..

piyobaby: my baby also got the same problem. cuddle can sleep, once on the cot cry like being tortured!!! haiz. dunno wad to do with him ah...

hi gwen,

my edd is on 22 jan. yah, that's wat i heard too, that it's more painful. I dunno about the extra cost, but just worried that about the whole thing. I'm going to TMC.

I don have next appt already. my last appt was last sat, and dr already said, see you in hospital. and the date he gave is like giving a "deadline". it's really stressful... how about you? when's your EDD?

dazed: you were also induced? but you were already dilated? thanks for the info...

Hi mommies, my little boy too....refuses to sleep unlessbeing carried. jialat man! only started yesterday night! before that he slept alot. When put him down only, he will cry and want to be carried.
As i am doing confinement on my own, i am super tired out man! whole night couldnt sleep at all - until now! Help! Is this how it is going to be all the way? I think i will die......sheeeesh!

mercs,
thanks for the explaination on the jabs... i'll be gg to grnlife too.. cheaper is better lo.. healthway too ex liao..

precious_bb: i have pacifiers on standby.. will try nt to give.. bt sometimes when we cant tahan her whines and cries, den we'll use tat.. so far 14 days, only use abt less than 5times...
for the jabs, u can try asking the GP tat u usually go to and the ones ard ur area bah.. den compare the price... near ur plc will be more convenient for u...

blessedmum: thanks. yah, I have FB, but didn't add you. how should I search for you? okie...I try not to be stressed. actually I also rem you gave birth 1 day before your EDD hor. you also don have any symptoms then right?

mint: thanks!! glad to know it's smooth sailing for induce. I'm not dilated yet, as of the last checkup. dunno about now. so hopefully everything will be smooth sailing for me too!

RE: bb's hair cut
where do we bring bb for haircut ar?? normal barbers/salons? must shave bald? my MIL says can just cut a bit wor... yi si yi si can already...

Sel: My are gers so I only yi si yi si cut for them... then all my gers born with a beautiful head of hair, xin tong to cut off... so only symbolic cut. I guess for boys ok ba... but my nephews also never cut bald lor... hee hee

ni: if my boy no slp he'll cry to be carried lor....if u put him down he'll cry again....u still got maid to help u carry but for mi no lor....actually at nite u leave it to her lar den day time u let her rest more lor u take over...i believe she'll appreciate ur understanding in letting her rest oso mah

Ni: Yeah, I know must pump more often then got more milk, but v diff to pump in day time for me... only night time when all go to bed... but me pumping now while on net... cos both babies sleeping... hope to get at least 30mins to pump... I closed the dr but dunno why open on its own... or MIL or maid... anyway, I switched off pump & went to lock dr liao... it's just so irritating lor... then when I asked for more soup for lunch (usually only take a bowl but caterer provide 2+ bowls each meal), maid came back with less than half bowl... I ask her wa, so little today ah? She tells me MIL took some earlier. WL... dunno confinement food for me or for her lor.... ex-dtb was saying my MIL curious, certainly lor, so curious every meal, every dish she also taste... now she even ask me (sometimes before I finish my meal) you dun want already hor? I take ah... WL, what can I say?

jade : i use normal cotton bud, depends on ur baby nostril, if very small maybe don't try using cotton bud, try using tissue paper roll it inside ur bb nose.

Precious bb : i give pacifier to my gal also, only when after feeding and changing, if she still make noise, it help to make her fall asleep again.

kamy: i was 2.5cm dilated when they inserted the pill thru my vagina to induce contraction. the first hour was bearable, majiam like menstrual cramp. then the 2nd hour was the labour pain lor. i requested for epidural on the 3rd hour. the labour pain was actually bearable lah, just that i kiasi, scared to have long labour, so i faster go for epi liao. don't worry, all will be smooth and great for you. wish u all the best.

ni, suika: did you try to swaddle your babes? i always wrap my baby. she sleeps better when wrapped. perhaps you might wanna try that? sometimes when bb dowan to sleep could be she's hungry or want to poo. usually when she drink till fall asleep, i will leave her in my arms till she's sound asleep liao then transfer her to her cot. then i will tell her that i am gg to do this and that. it works for me. u ladies might want to try.

PVL: so you are the only 31jan left right?

Kamy: my edd is 28 Jan though still 1 more week to go but dun feel like waiting till tat long since gynae say wont be these few days, most prob will be a full term baby. she dun encourage me to induce since theres still some time for the baby to grow bigger. haha.. its the mummy whos impatient. Im going for TMC as well. glad tat u r fully prepared. hope u have a smooth delivery ya. Whos ur gynae btw?

suika...mi mum oso discover a lump in the mid of his chest but unlike most which is sunk in...his is alittle protruding...mi check wif pd yest and he said it's his sternum and it's normal now to protrude but when the chest develop then it will go back to normal....

emq: thanks for ur sharing.. my gal nt much hair.. hehe.. doesnt hurt to shave bald.. bt only worried tat might cut her accidentally..

EmQ, your mil sounds.. er.. don't know wat to say man. can imagine how pek chek u must have been. next time don't just close door. lock it!!

janjan: thanks!! so the standard procedure is to insert pill first... ok, at least more mentally prepared. thanks for the well wishes too.

Felt much better after talking to you all. just now when the CL called, I dunno why I just broke down and cried and cried... but now felt better now already...

janjan: tried all liao...that's y panda now lor

piyo: thanks! u brought ur bb to sun everyday? when u gg back for check again?

Sel: No la, gers dun shave la... cut or no cut, still not nice to b bald wat... then full mth & CNY photos all bald... poor thing le... just symbolic cut ok liao... no worries wil eventualy grow one... u dun c adults with sparse hair right... so wil grow one... I just lucky all born with lots of hair... #3's hair v thick & black, v nice... but dunno inherit from who lor... other 2 had lots of hair but v fine... for #2, can c scalp when washing hair cosa v fine hair..

Hi Gwen & Kamy

Me also still waiting to pop.. my edd is 28th Jan.. kamy.. me jus like ya.. ppl r smsing/calling me daily to c if i pop oredi.. :p Maybe my baby knows i'm a glutton so she wanna let me enjoy my cny goodies first..

gwen: yah... shdn't induce since you still have 1 week to go. Till now I still don wish to induce..just that it's overdue and it's doc's advice. my gynae is dr woo bit hwa, but he doesn't station at tmc..

Jan: Well... I know... which is also y HB rather I dun force myself to bf... he knows how horrible his own mum is... enough to cause post nat depresion... hahaha... but nvm la... I try to ignore lor... just vent here only lor... dun wish to say too much to HB cos last wk when he was home, worse... he was scolding
MIL almost everyday... sigh... often I have to stop him cos not gd e.g. for kids... no matter how iritating she may b...

janjan: same like suika, i tried all methods le. i am contemplating the last method, i.e. to use the sarong... still holding on to the idea. my fren who just gave birth in nov tell me, babies will get settled to sleep pattern when they are 2 months.. how to endure another 5 more weeks!??

suika: i try to take care in the nite, den daytime my maid take care. but my son reject me all the time. this is making me so depressed leh. make me cry n cry, cos he reject me...

EMQ : u r such good wife and DIL

ni : check with pd if your boy got colic ? cause last time my boy also had this pattern crying even after feeding or changing, also very light sleeper, very depressing...but my gyne precribed RID WIND ( if i'm not wrong ) for my boy, cause my boy a lot of wind lar...but luckly after 2nd month he is much better and all the crying stop.

If ur bb has a lot of wind, there is other way to try and ur maid should know, if she is from indo.

piyo/ni: aiyoh.. all method try liao ah. mariam said ni also gave in to pacifier liao. guess boys are more active ba. jsut gotta endure lor. poor ladies.

EmQ: me also mah. my mum comes and cook, then everybody looks at me while i eat. i feel like an exhibit man. think my mum over gan-jjeong, mother me so much until i feel so miserable. i know i should be happy, but i alr feel miserable abt cfm, still she mother me all the way, i cannot tahan ah. the more she want to nag or mother me, the more i dowan to do lor.

then one day i went to mil's place cos she say she cook mah. i reach there, got hb sis and sil. they start to nag at me. first the sis ask why i come out of house (then i shoot back cos mil ask me to come and i'm gg to seebb at hospital after dinner). then they all stare at me while i was eating. don't know why ple all like to kapo when we having our meals leh. then the sil or sis, don't know who, saw me pick out all the ginger and comented why i dowan to eat ginger,then the other sis and sil all start to chip in and say must eat. then i almost cried and shout back i dowan ginger. then they all shut up

the ultmate came 3 days ago. hub for no reason say that even after cfm i still cannot go out. i think he must have learn from his sis ba. walao. i cannot tahan liao. cried. then my mum walk in and say: CONFINEMENT CANNOT CRY!!!

aiyoh, really no freedom wor. want to let out some distress via tears also prohibited. i really feel miserable man.

i think if they continue to do this to me, i will get into depression ah.

Ni: You might want to consider just letting baby sleep with you in the afternoon... cos babies best sense is his smelling now... they identify us by our smell... which is why most cases, they should stick to mummy... however, these days, we have CL, we have MIL, mum or maids helping us... so baby also take in their smell...

No worries... the more baby smell you, the more he'd stick to you... if fact if too much, also difficult.. esp when we are returning to work...

My #2, she was a little upset when we (HB, #1 & me) went Europe when she was abt 2mths+. Even then, we had given her the sarong which I practically wore for a few days before we left, even purposelywipe my persperiration on it... but SIL did note that baby was calmer when sarong was placed in her cot.

So dun b disheartened... baby is ours, they will come to us... just let him nap with u, try swaddling him & leaving your hanky with him... I used a hanky to wipe away perspiration... cos perspire a lot, esp after drinking soup or taking hot drinks... if u do that to, keep that hanky with baby... nvm if we think it stinks with our perspiration, it's comforting for bb... maybe ur maid has stronger bo that bb can detect better...

sel: i sent my boy to huaxia taimaobi to shave botak leh...then the tai mao make into brush...got $38 one...but my boy hair too little must make the smaller brush which is $98. morning full month, i trim abit for him only before go pray ancestors

jan & ni: dont cry during confinement!!! dont u all feel after crying the eyes so uncomfortable...then see things abit not clear??...but i understand la, the hormones just acting by itself...little bit of things only agitated us...me only start to settle my emotions towards the end of confinement man...
this week my CL will leaves, so i am trying to wake up in the middle of the nite to pump milk as well to get use to it..

ni: i also gave my boy pacifier...tried whatever methods to make him stop crying man...starting dont want to carry him...now dont carry also cannot...i also dunno what to do...

emq: hehe.. shall see hw bah.. might just cut a little nia.. i also dun hv thick hair de.. when i was young, parents wld shave my hair quite often, till even when i was 3, my hair still look sparse..

mercs: thanks ya.. so u sent him to the taimaobi on the day of the 1st mth or after that??

ni: sayang... we sayang each other lah. ya, my mother say cry will affect eyesight.
mercs: can't help it leh. the more they treat me like baby, the worse i feel. why can't they just leave me alone?

mercs: i'm oso making the brush

ni & mercs: u all gave in to pacifier? i'm still holding on...dun noe can tahan till how long

Hi bawbaw, suika & ni,

I guess most babies are alike. They need to be carried around most of the time. I guess it's due to the fact that they'd been carried around in our tummies for 9 months and they cannot suddenly adapt to a new environment.

My baby is the same too. After feeding, cannot sleep. Put her on the bed, less than 1 min, cries already. Once pick her up, she will stop crying. And yet she still wants me to carry her around cos if I just sit down & hold her, she will also start crying. And when she is finally asleep in my arms, put her down, she will wake up again. (The cycle repeats again lor) I have to really carry her till she is in deep sleep then can able to put her down on the bed. This can take up to at least 1-2 hours. Oh gosh, really super tiring and frustrating.

What makes me stressed is that my MIL keeps commenting to others and also to me that it's ME who spoilt her - said I always carry her around that is why now my baby is "spoilt", difficult to handle, always want carry carry. Even at times when I carry her around in the living room, I can sense that my MIL is bit "upset" with me. But my baby is still so young, only 2 weeks old, I can't just leave her to cry to sleep right?

I read from some sources from the internet that this method of leaving baby to cry to sleep may result in baby growing up to be "insecure" and "unemotional". Is it true?

sel: CNY baby? dun think so "zun" lar.. if not, after CNY still not out yet.. still gotta induce rite?

tumble: so r u going to wait for him to come out naturally or induce? when is ur next appointment?

kamy: so u r going for induction this fri? if im opting for induction, think i mayb admitted on the same say as u depending wat my gynae say when i c her tom. haha..

actually im still in dilemna, feel like inducing earlier yet pple say let the baby decide when he wana come out unless hes overdue.

kamy/tumble: do ur feet swell till they hurt when pressed? i even feel pain when walking too much. sigh.. but gynae advised to walk more if i wan baby to come out earlier. but i have walking n squatting a lot yet still no signs.. mayb i got strong muscles? haha...

janjan,ni n suika: I also cry during my confinement for my boi. I cried for 2 mths. But this time rnd, better onli cried a few days. I think its normal for us o cry this time as our hormone r playing tricks again.

Gwen, me waiting for her to come naturally.. unless the doc say fluid is low and gotta induce then no choice.. i prefer to let her decide when she wanna come out..
My next appt is tomorrow so shall c wat the doc says..

My water retention is really bad as well.. but it doesn't hurt when pressed.. for me, it's my fingers that hurts whenever i wake up in the morning.. can't even bend or clench my fist.. my doc also tell me to walk more if i want baby to come earlier, but me can't seem to walk much these days.. walk abit tired cum backache oredi..

my bb cord drop off just now... scarey... hehe... day 5...

mummies, does your bb hiccup very often? like 2 or 3 times a day?

kamy, i was 1 cm dilated when admit. but on edd. and hor my edd is based on ultrasound, my health book states 42 weeks gestation (based on lmp)

me also cried on day 3, din start until angry with hb cos he din see my point of not going kk A&E but insist go back to SGH nursery... then start liao very difficult to stop.