(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

fabbie, what i meant is to give bb water at nite instead of milk, so that they won't wake up at nite for feed. my mom oso start giving my ger droplets of water, cause she say suck pacifier mouth very dry???

fabbie,
think my boy n ur gal can shake hands..same..so fussy during feeding...always make alot of noises..

bur
My bb also got rashes on the face..very jialat..like big pimple lidat...they say it is milk rash..true enough I stop latching n always wash his face with filtered water/cool boiled water + use the desitin diaper rash cream on his face..now recovering.. my maid say it is the morning's milk that causes it most coz most of the time my milk accidentally kena his face.

I also using ridwind...can just buy from pharmacy..

menses
100% total breastfeeding still can have menses? I call up gynae ask y bleeding..he tell me it is my menses leh...

jowin, hehe, i oso know we very lucky, except to pump milk at nite, else it's sleep and sleep...
i really hope my ger like last nite sleep thru from 9pm to 1.30am, at least we oso can sleep for 4 hrs straight. ur bb still wakes up regularly for feed at nite? we started giving her 1 time FM at nite on fri, then she nvr pass motion for whole of sat till sun morning, we were so worried. then my mom ask me to dilute her FM a bit...

i m back!! Was out with baby since 9.30am in the morning.. ICA was very swift, the moment take the q ticket and hv not even find a seat, is our turn. Taking passport take less than 3minutes!!

Wah..the wait at gynae is the killing one..not much patient yet the wait is 1hr and I fail my urine and blood test again..
which means I never fully recovered from my pre-pregnancy pre-eclampsia and I need to take another blood and urine test 3 months later and if I fail again, i hv to go see a kidney specialist. Sian sian sian

Zach was very very good today.. we brought him to Vivo after my gynae visit and he slept most of the time. Only 1 feed and 1 diaper change..the feeding was done the moment we reached Vivo and fed him in the car.. but when we change him, he spit out quite a fair bit of milk. Realise that these few days he began to spit out milk liao unlike previously and now give him 100ml he sure cannot finish. Today alr wasted mummy's 70ml of milk (from 2 feeding)...sigh

Merydith,
OMG, really mensus?? my boi full month in 2 days time, til now i still have dark brown discharge. not too much tho... but the lochia take so long to clear one...so sick of changing pad everyday liao...

fabbie
I think that is the one for office hours. The 24-hour hotline is 91193502. But this isn't always manned by the midwives from parentcraft. After hours, it's manned by ward nurses, but no junior nurses.

giving water to babies
When I was attending Mrs Wong's class, she said that bf babies don't need to drink water until they are 3 months. If they are hungry and crying shouldn't we give them milk rather than water?

Merydith.

ya. I 100% latched on my babies ... for the previous 2 times, my menses came after just 3 months ... SIAN !!!

Today, I brought Calista for her 1st round of injections at KK ... got the package plus I took the Rotavirus vaccination and the Pneumoccocal injection as well ... paid $770 ..

sigh

It was a blardy long wait btw ... wait to see padia, then wait to the injections, then wait to pay money ... my parking came to $5 plus. I was there at KK for more than 2 hours.

Merydith
haiz.. if my hubbie can take leave this friday im going to parentcraft!

kath
went to parentcraft already?

echo
okai. thanks.. cus i realise parentcraft got two nunmber huh? one day u gave me.. another one is 62514090

Hi Everyone...
Congrats to all! I have been missing for ages partly due to access issues. Nonetheless I do read the forum every now and then.

My little boy came along on Dec 2nd. My hubby did confinement for me.. keke as I am very non-compliant!

Fabbie.. I also have the same issue as you. Besides giving gripewater, I tried to stroke downwards first for the first burp then stroke upwards. It seems to help. But you need to watch out whether the vomitted milk comes in a projectile manner or not. If yes, need to see pd,
concern about pyloric stenosis. (The bottom of the stomach has small outlet.)

BTW, my boy is 6 weeks old and drinking EMB of almost 120ml every 3 hourly. Anybody's bb drinking this much? My niece who is 7 months old
takes only 90ml every 3 hourly. But she gets rice
cereal twice a day. So I am getting worried that I am over feeding him!!

bur and other mummies who have babies with pimples.. eh.. i show u all a pic of my son's pimples.. if as bad or worse then bring to PD then PD will give steriod cream to clear it.. my son's is serious so got an anti biotic cream too.. PD says if not serious, just use plain water to wipe can liao..

2071644.jpg

Phyl,

Ur son so poor thing. Hope his condition is much better. U must be very upset seeing him like that.

bur/Merydith/dbaby/paulyn,

My daughter also got some pimple after her 1st month. Dunno is it common for baby after 1st month since now a lot of mummy say their baby like that.

I read from net that better dun do anything to it. Just wipe with clean water. I try but still got. When my daughter go her nanny place, her nanny put baby toothpaste on her face without our consent. I nearly want to scream at her. Heng, my daughter face turn out much better. Now her face smooth smooth liao.

But I dun dare to suggest this method cause scare different baby will react differently to children toothpaste.

Think better ask PD or GP. Have ur babies taken her 1st month jab? Perhaps can seek this opportunity to ask?

anyone can help me? I went to dye hair this morning. When then i can give baby my breastmilk again?

Last sat bring bb to PD actually wan to jab but end up didnt say 6 in 1 wait till bb 2nd mth. Then we do teh 4 to 6 wks assessment instead. PD say my baby have eczecma when she saw the slight red dotes on my baby face. I thought that is milk rash? wonder 1st visit can consider eczecma already?

he is better le.. there are many different old wives tales la.. i tried alot too.. like give chrysanthemum to drink and wipe, use hazeline snow, put powder, use tea to wipe, blah blah la.. i only havent try using urine only... well.. if not serious, just use water la..

i tried almost all the old wives tales la.. coz i desperate to clear it..

now he leaking pus from head liao.. its also damn sian la.. well.. hope everything will clear soon la..

Jappoh
anytime also can give breast milk.. its okai to dye hair when u are breastfeeding.

Phy
i see your boy photo my heart damn ache sia! and please lolz urine! hahah dun worry he will recover soon. hope before CNY. so be handsome de. =)

Phyl,

Good to know he is better now. Our worries like never-ending type. After my daughter face clear up, now she will scratch her face or got bitten by mosquito. I see liao, very heart pain.

U so funny, urine...

bur,
I dunno if it cause drowsiness coz I only use it on him recently..but before this he already always drowsy when drinking milk..dunno why..like drinking beer lidat

mum2dx,
think urs clearing soon ba...for me I also dunno leh..the gynae never see me already say menses..plus I got some cramps..maybe it is lor..

sam,
izit! but mine only 6 wks n it came..so sian..have to use pad again..did you use the CDA to pay for it?

fabbie,
do update me ok

phyl,
izit u also latch him directly?
mine not really pimple but some acne + redness.. 1 day lidat..then I stop latching n use water + cream ..ok..but then I latch him again, the acne come back again so sian everytime must wash his face.

ypg,
so u still latching? coz mine always come bk when I latch him n kenna his face..esp when I latch him at nite on the bed..too lazy to wake up n clean his face

merydith,
is it true that we latch on baby then they got this pimple like rashes? but my boy one all over his face ler, even ear & on his head...

jes,
I dunno leh maybe it is different rash?
for me is milk rash coz only his cheeks got leh...n is becoz after he dun want to drink he will turn his face away from the nipple..n then the whole cheek kena my leaking breastmilk while I am sleeping away on the bed.

mum2ndx,
i had brownish discharge earlier followed by bright red (menses?) till a few days back. lasted around 5wks.

fabbie,
how much water do you feed your girl a day?

bur,
can feed baby water instead of milk at night once they're 6kg? do you remember how much water?

Phyl,
good to hear that your son's pimples are clearing up.

Merydith,

I stop breastfeeding liao. Call me lazy mum. Not as wei3 da4 as u mummies.

B4 I stop, I pump exclusively, only latch on 2 or 3 times. So dun think the rash on my baby is due to latching.

Some babies have more sensitive skin, I guess. But it is quite common for baby to have ugly skin. They r exposed to all kind of dirt once they out in this world. So different from the time when they are inside our tummy.

Dun worry, I believe such skin problem will go off soon. If u r concerned, perhaps u can ask ur PD?

Menses: My menses came back even when I am still pumping. Very weird type. Only few drop of blood for 1st 5 days then follow by 4 super heavy days. For the next month, only 3 heavy but manageable days. B4 pregnancy, my menses very regular, never experience such haywire mense. So how is ur flow? Heavy or light?

Hi Mummy,

My boi also like phyl boi like tat whole face n forehead. See already heartache. I also try using cool boiling water to clean but dun seem got help.

gill
i use to give her at times when she cry but now not anymore. when she hipcups i just give her a few spoon of water to let her drink. thats all. only Sometimes once in a blue moon just let her drink lor. i didnt see how many oz i give her wor. just anyhow. =X

paulyn.. then if like his then u need to go see PD le.. there is this steriod cream called EGOCORT.. its very effective.. i use 2 days then the redness subsided n all the bumps flatten out already.

now its his head.. so i using PP wash (erm.. its the purple solution thing) to wash his head.. and then i got a different cream for his head.. his head more serious than his face..coz got lots of pus oozing out.. but today use the cream 1 time liao then better le..

nite nite ladies..

phyl,

it's just his face that has the pimples? Did the pedia say it was eczema? poor boy ... can understand why u feel so distressed.

HI

my boy also has rashes on his face. just went pd today for hep b jab. the pd says rash due to oily glands. told me to use a bit of soap when washing his face leh. wanted to do 6 in 1 but doc says bb must be 5kg and above to do it. my boy only 4.6kg. doc also said for every 1 kg, feed his 1 ounce. so baby 4kg must feed 4oz of milk. he only takes 3-3.5oz max. tried 4oz and he spit out milk.

but those are the least of my concerns. While he was hearing the heartbeat, he listen for very very long.. i knew something was wrong. Pd says he got heart mur mur. tmr must go for ultrasound to check.. should be hole in the heart. My heart so pain when i heard this. Altho doc says its congenital, keep thinking i must have done something wrong during my pregnancy.

Dunno what is wrong with Zach these 2 days..I realised after CL left, each time i feed him with EBM, he sure spit up..thir morning i fed him with 90ml of EBM, the moment he finish, i sit him up to burp him, he throw up..i mean literally throw up so much milk till he nearly choke..wonder if it is the reason:

1. Teat hole too big hence milk flow too fast?
2. He always throws himself back after each feeding to stretch etc..his back will be arched. Wonder after this, i sit him up, tat's the reason?
3. I overfed him? But it is only 90ml leh..
4. I shouldnt sit him up to burp..but what are the other method?

I m going to give up pumping liao.. I tink i cannot cope pumping and taking care of bb alone..cos he keeps fussing and I will need to carry him..sigh. hopefully next week when I goes back home and there is help, i will resume pumping..now will juz return to latching. Like today, i only manage to pump 2x leh.. if i continue like tat, my supply will definitely dry up.

Mommies, my boy also have pimple-like rashes on his cheek..it is milk rash lar.. cos if we latch on, naturally some of the milk will kena his face..or after latching, we did not wipe his mouth immediately, they will use their hands / mittens to wipe.and then they tend to use the hand and mitten to touch their face, etc..juz clean with cotton wool n cool boiled water. Pimples that are at other area of bb could be due to maternal hormones..

Is my girl on growth sprout? She is at day 39-40 now. Every 2 hrs she accurate want milk at 120ml. Usually at night, she would stretch thru 3-4hrs for night feed.. but then , tonight, still every 2 hrs wake up for feed leh... super tired like tat...

I dun even have time to rest.. Feed for 30mins, then pump another hr.. 1.30 hrs gone.. Then time for her another feed again.. wa lau...

Merydith/Jes,
The acne and reddness patches could be milk rash. You have to clean bb's cheek with wet towel after feeding. My bb also like to turn her face here and there and in the end her ear, face also got milk. But I usually just clean it off with her towel that all.

Sam,
since you are on total latching, can I check wif you that is it true that latch-on bb dun sleep through the night and even day-time they liked to be carried?

My bfing friends all having this problem of bb sleeping pattern when latch-on. After latching on for sometime, like 20 mins, they difted off to sleep, once put on cot, wake up in less than 10 mins and have to carry and latch on. This pattern continues until mummy got no time to do other stuff except carrying the bb most of the time.

gill, the article nvr mentioned how much water to give...

Echo, we went to mrs wong class too, by right not suppose to give water, but this is so that they won't wake up for nite feed, the article mentioned that bb will feel bored with water thus will not wake up for nite feed. we oso nvr feed our ger water, oni droplets to wet her mouth..

we got an incident early this morning with our ger to share... we were awaken by her cry, she was heard snorting like a pig the whole nite, suspect its nose block cause nvr hear her cry like that b4, my hubby very gan cheong, want to bring her to see PD. thus i was surfing the forum for a PD near my plc and found a thread with bb having nose block, it mentioned to dig /suck out the dig/mucus from bb nose, luckily we had the sucker, which u have to use your mouth to suck, my hubby tried it and realise the the left side is blocked. thus he suck & suck thill he breathless and out cane a huge greenish nose dig... hahaha... save us at least $45 PD charge...

sam,

the pedia say my boy having eczema. To me it just small red dots on his face. But she didnt give me any cream and the redness just go away itself after i stop lactching him. (Now give him EBM). So i guess it milk rash cos when latch will usually gena the cheek as he like to turn here and there. BTW hoe then it consider eczema? Any idea?

bur
i give my boi rid wind as well. wun cause drowiness or sleepness one. its juz to expel wnd in bb tummy. hehe. veri effective. tt dae i prepare fm den i drop med in, can c all d bubbles disappear. hehe.

block nose
can go pharmacy get saline drops to moisture nose b4 sucking out mucus. will be easier tis way.

sam
ur next appt able to get earlier timing? manage to pick up ur ger from sch in time?

phyl
poor hayden. good ting tt its clearing up. =)

kath
my boi will throw up all his milk if i immediately sit him up. so now afta feeding, i will let him rest abt 3-5mins on my lap 1st b4 i sit him up to burp. seems to work. =)

got any good buffet caterers to recommend? me looking ard for buffet lobang for my gal's full mth celebration

normally gotta book how many days in advance??

xuelyn, we order from ylc catering, they got website, can go check, need 4 workings day in adv to order.

phyl, saw hayden pic, so poor thing... hope he start to get better soon...

Bunnipet
Wow, indeed it has been a long time since I last saw you online! Congrats to your new baby
My boy was also drinking 120ml every 3 hourly at 6-7wks old. Babies will know when they've enough so dun worry. Now my boy is drinking 140ml every 4 hourly (2mths3days old).

Phyl
Wah, poor boy hope he is doing better now.

hehe.. thanks for all the concern la.. his face is very very much better le..

PD gave me rid wind.. hmm.. how much you gals feed? PD ask me to give 0.2ml only.. i find it useless.. i give gripe water instead.. i give abt 3ml straight into his mouth...

hi mummmies..

does anyone here taken the dostinex to stop bfeeding? i wan t take the pill but heard that after taking breasts will sag..

i cant take the pumping in between feeds , it really leaves me with no time to do other things or even have a decent nap..

jes.. erm.. i asked my indian friend that day.. then she says she still eat curry ah.. keke.. maybe thats why all indians can take spicy foods ba.. keke.. she is TBF-ing!

kath
same!! everytime i feed my gal.. she will burp followed by a vomit. like merlion.

jowin
its normal my gal also wake up at 2 hrs for feeding. sometimes my hub just pat pat her to sleep n she forget to drink milk

iemik0,

no la .. found out that Dr Daniel only does clinic on Mondays and only in the mornings .. so like damn packed .. I didn't pick up my girl on time ... my hubby took leave and picked her up ...
I scheduled the next appt during hte march holidays so easier for me ...

but really damn crowded man ...

hi bur, u're not wrong, my boy also has rashes on his face.

guess many of our babies are suffering from face and head rash.

phyl, mine is slightly betta than yours but his head has a lot of clusters too! today it seems slightly less red so hopefully it will clear up by itself.

going to polyclinic for his jab instead. wonder if they will have some cream for him...

anyone went to PD for the 2nd jab and then go polyclinic for the subsequent ones??? wondering if i shd go PD so that he can also see the rash problem then next time then go poly since it's cheaper...

i also got 1 opened can of friso.. dunno wat to do with it too! keke.. make milk spa for my son!!! hahaha...

Girl80
I would like to have your 2 tins of Friso gold 1 please as my son is currently on this formula. I've sent you an email with my contact no.