(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Ivy,
Nope i dun work for ICA.

Phyl,
I recently kena yeast infection AGAIN! He gave me pessary this time rd. And he warned me not to eat too much carbs n sugar = glucose (too much) = frequent yeast infection. So me now cutting down carbs and sugar. Just to share that if you cutting down on sugar - there are some high sugar fruits that we should avoid as well.

Phyl,
I rem tat u can deduct $40 off the price of the whole package. But my thinking is that it's oni $40 n I am not exactly interested in buying expensive strollers, so just take it lor. If I am not wrong the stroller retails at $159? I rem seeing it on offer during the Metro Expo sale in Aug/Sep.

llig - ok, i have just voted based on the 2 names.

llig/winnie - so polyclinics do have 5-in-1 jabs eh. but the Dr at polyclinics are not really PDs right? or they have specially allocate Drs to look at babies?

Hi Mummies, just thought I'd let you know...Maternity Exchange at Marina Square is offering

15% off purchases (including diaper bags and bella bands!) and
2 extra rental credits for any package bought
(Now till 2 Oct)

You might want to hurry down this weekend before it gets difficult to drive into the Marina Area because of the F1. Road closures only start on 23rd, it's safe to drive down before then. Do grab the chance!

You can also shop online at their new web store. Visit www.maternityexchange.sg

phyl,
besides selling it away, you can use the stroller as a baby chair at home to feed him nxt time too..

Date: 4th Oct 08
Venue: Swensons
Timing: Lunch
1. Snowger (2 pax)
2. LuthAdel(2 pax)
3. iemik0 (2 + 1 pax) Lunch 2pm onwards / ok with all 3 venues =)
4. Meilik (2+1 pax)/ Lunch 1pm onwards / Suntec
5. Phyl
6. bubblepearl
7. Jowinbaby
8. Loveangel/Pris
9. Mimi
10. Ikeike/Christine
11. emeraldbride (2pax)
12. Ivy
13. Carmen (2pax)
14. Merydith (2pax)

1. Snowger (2 pax)
2. LuthAdel(2 pax)
5. Phyl
6. bubblepearl
7. Jowinbaby
8. Loveangel/Pris
9. Mimi
10. Ikeike/Christine
11. emeraldbride (2pax)
12. Ivy
13. Carmen (2pax)
14. Merydith (2pax)
15. 2ndbb

Hi mummies-to-be,
I'm intending to either buy a new stroller/car-seat for my baby or to get a second-hand one. Any good deals out there? Either for new ones or second-hand? Where can i buy new ones then which will not cost me a bomb?! Anyone selling strollers/baby car-seats?

busy day at work today. went to PS after work, have decided to do a scrapbook for my boy. btw, who else here is doing scrapbook for her baby?

Lavendery,
My gynae din do any tests. He just looked at the rashes and told me its very common in pregnancy and known as PUPPP. The cream he gave me also not a total cure, it only helped to sooth the itch a little. Then he say if put liao no use then have to see skin specialist. He said the rashes are caused by hormonal changes during pregnancy so the only way to get rid of it is to try not to irritate the skin or else the rash will spread...

My other pregnant fren's doc just prescribed her calamine lotion to sooth the itch also...

Hi luthadel
the Ikea bath tub is in stock again

Can go n buy
I bought 2.. one for my home, one for mummy home

Hi phyl
yes.. went to eat high tea.. after UOB card discount is $25nett... wow.. ate till i super full.. 1st time ate so much in my pregnancy... Food variety.. quite nice.. u can go try one day..

Abt the stroller, if u dun wan, just minus $40 only.. abit not worth lor...

Me same as snowger.. just hack n use 1st..

mimi, me doing scrapbook for baby at the moment! Hee.. quite enjoyable but is an expensive hobby lor.

For my itchy skin (appearing at my arm, underarm, etc, my gynae prescribed me with hydrocortisone cream together with hospigel shower gel..) so far so good leh, after shower, apply the cream, will not be itchy and leaves no scar at all..

Jo, which hotel u went for hi-tea? Managed to buy anything tis time round?

So we still confirm 4th Oct as meet up date rite?

2ndbaby, i went to 'Made with Love' at PS and bought some cute stickers but i have not bought the album. maybe emeraldbride can guide us along.

jowin, where u had your high tea?

emeraldbride, yup agree that doing scrapbook is an expensive hobby. btw, need to ask u something, is it advisable to get album with plastic sheets inside? meaning i do up the page liao then slot into the plastic sheet? that is to protect the deco is it?

btw, i went aussino at PS jus now. did not see any 50% for the bedding set. guess i got to make a trip to paragon tmr... and i received my 40% birthday card from aussino.

juzyounme
pd consultation at kkh is more ex than outside pd. jabbing at kkh can equals to having it jab at outside pd coz outside pd charge cheaper consultation rates but vaccines more ex.

for kkh package, its abt 450++. includes 2 jabs of Hexa(6-in-1) n one jab of 5-in-1 as well as consultation by pd. u can choose any pd u wan. we got quite a few. =)

if ur baby c dr on sat when i'm on, den i can help u jab. coz we rotate staff on sat. =)

llig
tink u got d wrong person. mi not tall n slim. =(

My gal's PD charges varies but vacination charges are the same. So far have been 2 PDs, and the consultation charges range from $35 to $45.

Morning, been awhile since I last post, only skim through, busy recently.

PD : Well I've only bring my son to c PD when he's abt 1 week old for routine. The rest I just bring him to c GP near my place. For me I dun c a need to c PD unless special case lah. There was once I brought him to c PD at TMC for a very bad cough/flu, no use oso. Anything serious will bring him to KKH rather than waste my time at PD liao. GP charges is much cheaper and the med quite effective for my son so far.

Confinement: Normally I do not use cool boiled water to brush my teeth or wash my face. My mum told me just use lukewarm water. add few drops of glutinous rice wine to it can liao. It's only when shower time have to use all boiled water with the herbs.

Jabs : My son takes all the jabs at polyclinic, for infant/babies, very fast, normally wun take too long. I just take the normal packages, no additional, think paid less than $100 for all visits so far. I did not add megnintitus(wrong spelling) jab, chicken pox jabs etc...

iemik0 - most likely will go for Sat one eh, if i opt for kkh. does it mean that i only need to bring the baby down for 3 times for vaccination & to see the PD? i think that time someone was saying about rotavirus vaccination, that one can request after baby is 5th mth? what other vaccination to take, how about those for the flu-like problem which can cause handicap, starts with "P" and how about other jabs like chickenpox or flu vaccination?

juzyounme
onli hav to bring baby down 3 times. 2, 4 n 6 mths.

rotarix (rotavirus) - from 6wks to 6 mths (afta 6mths, no prove tt it is effective.)

prevenar (pneunomococcal, menigitis, otits media) - can be taken from 6wks as well up to 9 yrs old (do note tt different ages / months will require different no of jabs. eg. if taken at 2 mths, baby will need total of 4 doses. )

varilrix (chicken pox) - 15 months onwards

all d above mentioned vaccines r optional.

Juzyounme, my gal's PD is Dr Dorothy Ong at Bt Timah Plaza.(West Area). She had all her jabs at PD clinic. Polyclinics do offer free complusory jabs for bbs. Tink can make apptm and dun have to q.

What jabs to take? Just follow the health booklet.

Morning Ladies
Another day of tiredness due to the fact that i can hardly find a suitable and comfortable position to sleep. Countdown for me, 66days more to go!

Jowinbaby
Hey thanks for the info. Already bought my tub on Thurs when Snowger sms me
I like the colour of the tub despite it being blue

2nd Baby - bt timah plaza still a distance from my house.

reddates - don't know eh. seems that polyclinic does charge for jabs afterall, according to llig and winnie. how come urs only $100+? just worried that GPs are unsure of the medicine doses to give babies. the drs at polyclinics do check on baby's development well?

iemik0 - wondering those optional jabs can be taken at polyclinics or not...

i was thinking of getting a baby tub to contain the boiled herbs water for my bathing. don't know whether it's a gd idea...

have no idea how red traditional tub looks like, coz never have customary wedding... ;P

Hi emeraldbride n Mini
I went to Royal Plaza on Scotts.

Had a "long" half day yesterday. Went for high tea 1st.. then went to First Few Years at Paragon to see breastpump...I went to ausinno again.. left abt 3 sets of the 50% bedsheet..

Evening, went to HarbourFront/Vivio to meet HB there for dinner and went mothercare n get the maternity pads with wings.. At nite went Giant buy grocery n Ikea to get the bath tubs.. hee hee!!!

Juzyounme,

Those compulsory jabs u dun have to pay, only nominal sums, cannot remember the exact. I din let my son take those extra which needs to pay more 1, coz to me not necessary as last time we oso dun have, so I dun c the need. Chicken pox jabs is not 100% fool proof, only will lessen the outbreak, correct me if I'm wrong. To me, chicken pox is to get rid of the toxic in the body, it's natural, so y should I stop it from "coming" out. Doc will check on the development of the bb, just follow the health booklet, when u need to c doc and when to take jabs only. It's actually quite fast when u have appt.

As for GPs, well same thing, when we r kids tat time, my parents oso bring me to c GP only, there's no such things as PD or wat. So I feel that it's alright to c GP. Coz my GP quite good, so I feel that my son is safe in his hands. Depends on whether u r comfortable anot.

I am keen to breastfeed till my baby gal ard 6mth.However do not wanna to invest in ex pump.Any model i can get below $100 for a breastpump?I dun mind 2nd hand, but read forum for WTB section, so many of them selling not sure if its ex or gd anot.
Confused now...haizzzz

hi 2ndmum
ok la.. high tea sat down ma.. only walk to get food... i get tired easily and legs can sore n cramp as i shop.. so sit down as n when lor... Energy level cannot compare to b4 pregnancy and at 1st trim lor..

Yeah...stepping into 3rd trim...

Summer, if budget is $100, for brand new ones, can get manual. If not, second hand from WTS section. U can neg e price with the seller and make sure its in gd condition.

reddates - how u make appts at polyclinic to see Dr & get baby jabbed, got appt line to call? can do it on sats too?

i felt that last time we don't go the infant care or child care that early & even for kindergarten also not full-day... so the chances of getting illnesses spread is lesser. maybe i will leave chickenpox vaccination out, but the other 2 optional vaccination, i'm still keen... although sounds like a bomb.

still somehow sounds cheaper to get injections in polyclinic... like what i had from kid to adult. and i don't have to travel so far, just that i scare of polyclinic drs... always annoyed me after seeing them.

ok, i will test out the GP i usually see to see if he is good at baby as well. at least i find him good with seeing pregnant woman, he knows what drugs to avoid, he also told me his days in O&G department & also how he knows his wife was going to give birth. he said got 1 type of smell, which of coz i won't know what he is talking about.

juzyounme
tink polyclinic shud hav all d optional jabs ba. can call n enquire.for those jabs tt they charge shud be hexa n 5-in-1. polyclinic onli give d basic jabs required.

jowin
u reali alot of energy. mi walk abit cannot tahan liao. kip having cramps. wondering how m i gonna go chinese garden c lantern wif my boi ltr.

hei thr..todae went for my glucose test at TCM..ended at 11am..but i dunno the result as they will send it to my gynae directly. Headed to Borders to get myself some book and a nursery rhyme book for baby.

I did drop by Aussino, Paragon but could not see any 50% bedset, so we bought one of the set thr with 20% disc which cost us $55 and extra cotton-fitted sheet..then went to Robinsons Centrepoint to see how much is Ameda breastpump ($388 with 20% disc), end up buying clothes napkin, BabySafe pillow and bolster and extra blanket..hehehe

Jo, did u happen to see how much Ameda is selling at FFY? So tired.. shop from 11.30 am to 5pm straight!!! Hahaha..until feet also got blisters, come home sleep like pig for 2hrs then wake up to cook dinner for hb..keke..

Hi emerald bride
oh. yesterday i saw 3 sets.. tues i went, still have alot... maybe today weekend, no more already..

I din get to see ameda from FFY...

went to ikea alone. saw the bathtub at $12, i thot i can buy cheaper at market, so didn't buy... bought other stuff n drag them back. legs cannot tahan liao.

iemik0 - that means the compulsory jabs are different fr hexa n 5-in-1? wah, babies need so much jabs?

juz, u sure u can use the baby bath tub for ur herbal bath?? better separate baby use and adult use for hygiene purposes.

Not sure if market will be cheaper for bath tub but the one i bought cost me $23.90 but it comes with non-slip mat and another piece to raise baby higher during hair washing..hehe

Hi Emeraldbride and Juz
I saw at Giant and scare me off with the price.. 2 design.. all at $29.90..

Remember that Ikea only cost $12, so we just hop opposite to ikea n get it..

Hello ladies! Went for gynae check-up earlier this week; saw bb blinking eyes and opening and closing his mouth. So cute...hee...

Officially in the third trimester this week. Tired and emotional all the time. Quarrelled with DH yesterday for no good reason. Think he's all confused about my emotional state now. Got my first BH last week. Wah the whole tummy like harden up from top. It's not painful, but a little alarming...

BB Bathtub: I switched from TMC to Mt A. Found out they give away a baby bathtub upon discharge. Too bad already bought one...

1. Snowger (2 pax)
2. LuthAdel(2 pax)
5. Phyl
6. bubblepearl
7. Jowinbaby
8. Loveangel/Pris
9. Mimi
10. Ikeike/Christine
11. emeraldbride (2pax)
12. Ivy
13. Carmen (2pax)
14. Merydith (2pax)
15. 2ndbb
16. Spaghetti (2pax)

Juzyounme:
U can call the polyclinic to make appt, sat can take jabs only, if the visit call for Doc review, then will be weekdays.

I get tired easily as well, walk for awhile have to sit down. Now in my 28th week liao.

1. Snowger (2 pax)
2. LuthAdel(2 pax)
5. Phyl
6. bubblepearl
7. Jowinbaby
8. Loveangel/Pris
9. Mimi
10. Ikeike/Christine
11. emeraldbride
12. Ivy
13. Carmen (2pax)
14. Merydith (2pax)
15. 2ndbb
16. Spaghetti (2pax)

Hb not joining..he paiseh..so ask me to go on my own instead..haha

Juzyounme - yesterday i went ikea (alexandra one) with my hubby too. Was there at 3+ to 4+. Bought the bb bathtub and cabinet for bb. Think $12 for a bb bathtub is considered cheap le. Cos saw 1 at Kiddy palace at $16+.

2nd baby
do u go chinese garden every yr? tis yr range like all similiar like tt. either on cars or bike. hehe. like veri F1. walked for 2hrs. cannot tahan. too crowded.

juzyounme
d compulsory jabs are all seperated. eg, dpt 1 jab, hep b 1 jab. for 5-in-1, its all in one jab. so u spare baby from multiple jabs but gotta pay for it.